2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(615 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EV
ELWOOD V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Good vehicle for the money
We have purchased 17 vehicles since September of 2009. Eight of them from Daytona Beach or Jon Hall Hyundai. We like the dealership and salesman Rodger Blue. The vehicle is a good second vehicle for the money. Fun to drive. Good MPG.

Pros
Warranty, good second vehicle, nice handling, fun to drive, good MPG

Cons
Value (paying for unwanted heating features in Florida), too low to ground for older people to enter or exit, cheap looking seat material

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Camille P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love this car! My daughter leases a Kona, but I decided to buy one when my other car lease hadn’t yet expired. I wanted the car she was driving, too! It’s big than a sedan, but not over sized like some SUVs. Perfect size for me!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Carson A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
My First EV
Hyundia has produce an exceptional Electric Vehicle from the start so their next generation EV should be even better than this one. The fundamental building block has been set with an extremely high bar for their next iteration electric vehicles.

Pros
Excellent Build Quality
Fun To Drive
Exceptional Range
Great Value

Cons
Wind Noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DOTTIE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
MY KONA GIRL
I DIN'T THINK I WOULD PURCHASE A NEW CAR AGAIN. BUT I WAS SO IMPRESSED WITH THE KONA AND IT'S RATINGS, AND BECAUSE IT'S A FAIRLY NEW MODEL, I DID PURCHASE A BRAND NEW ONE. I AM SO GLAD I DID. iT IS A WONDERFUL CAR

Cons
I CAN'T THINK OF ANY

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Kona EV review
This is an excellent vehicle. Best feature is the large capacity of the battery that enables driving up to 250+ miles when fully-charged. Engine feels quite powerful.

Have only two quibbles. Am somewhat disappointed by "pedestrian warning system" in front of the Kona EV. It doesn't function as well as the sensor system in the front of my late father's Lexus that is 15+ years old. It does appear to literally stop if the front of the vehicle comes too close to an object, but the sensors do not "warn" the driver in advance of coming too close. If I had realized that this is how it works, I would have chosen a less expensive model. The other quibble is Hyundai's early decision to sharply limit the number of Kona EVs brought into the SoCal market, which had the effect of limiting the choice of exterior colors and create scarcity which enabled dealers to charge hefty markups on MSRP.

Overall, it's a very good EV choice. I'm about to drive it on its first long road trip from LA to SF and back.

Pros
Number of miles that can be driven on fully-charged battery.
Powerful engine.
Air conditioning is very efficient and starts up quickly.

Cons
Pedestrian warning system on Ultimate Model is disappointing and underperforms. Stops the vehicle if too close to object in front but doesn't provide aural warning from sensors in advance.
Limited number of Kona EVs available at the time I was shopping caused the range of exterior colors to be very limited and created scarcity that enabled dealers to charge markups from MSRP.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PAULA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
KONA
My engine burned up on my 2007 Tucson so I had no time to shop around. It didn't even break 100,000 miles. And yes it had oil. Went to the dealer to buy another one. But I didn't like the dash. I was going to leave and the salesman showed me the Kona which I never heard of. It was perfect for me. Everything was in reach. I have the sonic silver, great color. I took a 3 hour trip and my car said I got 35 mpg. It was great not stopping for gas. It did come with a sun roof which I wanted. I did qualify for 0 interest.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
Paul E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/09/2019
Nice car
Nice car has enough power and handles great it's even comfortable for going on trips no and has enough luggage room to take whatever you want with you an easy enough to get in and out and don't take up a lot of room when you got to parallel park

Pros
I like it build for your needs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RUTH W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/09/2019
Beautiful sporty little car
This is a beautiful little car, but it could use a bit more pep when in regular mode or eco mode. I dont like the trunk/cargo area, seems like a lot of wasted space and the cargo net and blocks are kind of useless. I wish it was larger and I wish I could put things back there, such as groceries without everything flying everywhere. I had trouble figuring out how to add my own music to it, but got it eventually. The interior while spacious, is all hard plastic that marks up easily. I like how solid it feels when closing the doors, but that solid feel also prevents the cargo hatch from closing easily. I felt like I really had to slam it, and was worried I was going to break something in the process. Luckily I have friends that showed me how to adjust the little black rubber thingies and now closing it is not an issue. Also, I have been having some possible computer issues with it upon start up. One time it wouldnt go into drive mode. Had to put it back into park and then into drive again to get it to move. Two times I have started it up and it had the icon that said my lights were on and they were not. As soon as I started driving that icon light went out, but why did it come on at all?

Pros
Beautiful car. I've never had so many compliments on a vehicle.

Cons
is the computer going to tell me more weird stuff ? Its not a good feeling that it tells me my lights are on when they arent and that it wouldnt go into drive that one time. I need a reliable vehicle that I can feel safe in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
VICTORIA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2019
Sporty and fun to drive!
I test drove multiple SUVs and and ended up leasing a Kona . It is smaller than other SUVs but overall it is stylish, roomy inside....with lots of storage space, and has a responsive engine that makes it fun to drive!

Pros
Functional, sporty and fun to drive!

Cons
None that I have found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Geraldine S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
😄
I have enjoyed this vehicle and so has my family.
,,.............,,.,.,....,...........................,......,,.,........................,
...,..................................,....................

Cons
I would like to have a little more room for back seat passengers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
A whole new paradigm
This is a refreshing vehicle. Actually, I've never felt excited by a vehicle before. I've felt respect and appreciation for previous vehicles whose design and engineering I've admired. But the Kona has so many pluses it's hard to count them: no gas, no oil, no transmission, little or no maintenance, and this list goes on. AND it leaves almost all other vehicles

Pros
Painstaking, tasteful engineering interior and exterior. I enjoy driving in a way I have not before. The car is easy to enter and leave, it leaves everyone behind when a light turns green, and it looks sporty without looking overly luxurious.

Cons
Something may be amiss with the steering, which sometimes seems to take control for a moment at higher speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
PAKUDA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/07/2019
Great small suv
Over all I like this car a lot. I just wish it had a foot more cargo space. Not sure if the rear door supposed to have a latch for emergency exit but it should. Don’t know if it comes with or not. Didn’t noticed it till later. The cosmetics of the interior looks plastic. Wish there was rubber wear the cargo door is so that when loading items it doesn’t impact the area as much.

Pros
Small great suv to drive. Love all the features.

Cons
*Cargo space is not as big.
*The inside quality looks plastic therefore the impression is not
as sturdy.
*The wind noise while driving on freeway is loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Alejandro R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/07/2019
A very cool car!
I love that the trim I purchased has many modern features. I wish all auto makers didn’t have as many trims available. It gets confusing and time consuming. I wish my new Kona was a little higher. I wish it had leather seats but that’s possible.

Pros
All features. Apple connect. Easy handling.

Cons
Too short/low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DENNIS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
Fun and Feisty
Great space for the size of the vehicle. Sharp looking. Accelerates like a sports car. Easy to get in and out of. Good size back seat. Great cargo area and cover. Amazing handling. The features are great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ESTER B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2019
x
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Cons
already listed in the survey.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Edward G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2019
Vechicle
Great vehicle.

What else do you expect, sorry but I have better things to do then to do than 200 characters... I am the customer, and this requirement pisses me off.
It will be the very last survey I take unless this rule is changed......I am thinking or reducing all my earlier good scores and comments.... How does that sit with you? Please let me know in 200 characters minimum.

Pros
vehicle options and service

Cons
getting an appointment for service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EMILY N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
Love it!
I live in the north and needed a reliable car for the winter months. This is the best option for people who can't handle bigger rigs! Safe and will spacey for a compact SUV. I don't think I plan on trading this car in.

Pros
Everything about it.

Cons
I don't have any Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
Gregory N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
Great car
The Kona exceeds expectations. My initial satisfaction with the Kona is higher than any of the 10 previous new cars that I have bought. My only negative is that smart cruise control is not yet available on the Kona.

Pros
Good ride and handling. Excellent power for a small car. Gas mileage better than advertised.

Cons
Smart cruise control not available on the Kona.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Donald K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
My new Kona
I love my new Kona. It handles beautifully and it very sporty. Healey provided roof racks so I can transport my Kayak. I am very satisfied and would highly recommend this vehicle and dealer .Chris Carpenter was a great sale person
Thanks

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kimberly E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2019
Kona
I love this litte car KONA. Beats my old car GMC. I don't have all these extra stuff like the GMC. OnStar, SXM radio etc on it. I don't have anything else to say. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Pros
I just love it. It's going to save me money in gas.

Cons
No CONS at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 615 in total