2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(49 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

WC
William C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Great car great price!
I like the solidity and the handling and over all performance of the Kona. The fact that it can tow small trailers is great also. The cargo space is good and flat. The styling is sleek and nicely done.

Pros
Great buy for the money. Fuel economy sporty design solid feel.

Cons
the back seat is a bit small perhaps for children. But I don't have a family so that isn't an issue for me and I typically don't give lots of people rides except in the front seat where there is plenty of room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARY G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Very happy with my Kona
Enjoy driving my Kona very much. I have only had my car for about a month. I don't feel I can be completely objective on these answers as the car is brand new and new to me.
I do not know what else to say about this survey for the car. I liked the salesman and the dealership. I received calls about my satisfaction a few times and have expressed my pleasure about this several times.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JANICE G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Great Little SUV!
Finally, the perfect car for me arrived on the market. The best car for me over the years had been hatchbacks, but I'd had a sedan for the last 15 years. I wanted an SUV, but didn't want the size or reduced gas mileage for the types of driving I do. I needed something smaller and preferred something sportier. Enter the Crossover! I looked at them all and had narrowed it down to a short list, then as I was doing my research, I saw this Kona popping up in the top 3 slots on most list, including a few #1 spots. I figured I'd better take a look. I am so glad I did. It is a great little SUV! It is quick, responsive and fun to drive. It handles great. Those were the key things that I didn't want to sacrifice with an SUV.

I was taking a step down from owning a luxury sedan prior to this, so I was worried about feeling like I was in a cheap economy car (read: plastic). While it doesn't compare to a luxury model, it certainly is not cheaply appointed. I got the Ultimate model and it is loaded with technology. I wish there was a class to take to learn all about it (like Lexus has), because I think a lot of people won't know about half of the great features on the car.

My favorite feature of all is the heads-up display. On this car, due to the smaller size of the vehicle or the shape of the windshield, the HUD has to project onto a little pop-up screen rather than on the windshield itself. Personally, I think that's pretty cool when it pops up!

Overall I have been very happy with this car.

Pros
On the Ultimate model:
Heads-Up Display
Great handling
Quick and responsive, fun to drive.

AWD: Noticeably improved traction in rain & wet leaves, no noticeable decrease in gas consumption while in AWD.

Very cute!!!

Loaded with technology.

Cons
Rear of vehicle gets very dirty on a daily basis under normal use.

Dual clutch/7-speed transmission takes a bit to get use to. In stop & go, slow rolling traffic, it sometimes feels like the car is stalling because it is going back and forth through the low gears so often.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
EULA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
dealership with crain automotive group a nightmare
dealership was rude and insulting. Could not provide title without filing a consumer complaint with atty generals office. Service dept could not provide parts and renighed on promises to fix the problem
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRIAN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
Hyundai Kona 2020
The Kona is a nice size SUV. Drives great and gets great gas mileage but space is limited in the trunk so it is not good if you need to go places with a lot of stuff. The limited model is nice, but should have at least 3 additional features for a limited and ultimate package - power passenger seat and automatic trunk opening mechanism on the key FOB and a button on the trunk to automatically close. Other than that, I really like my car.

Pros
Gas Mileage
General Look
Comfortable seating

Cons
Passenger seat is not a power seat
Key fob does not open the trunk it only unlocks it
The trunk does not have a button to automatically close it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANA G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Absolutely Love!!
I absolutely love my 2020 Kona! I was so excited to finally be able to get one and the exact one I wanted. It drives great. It's quiet and super comfortable. It handles on the road really well and I love all of the features it has. Lifelong Hyundai driver!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELENA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2019
Kona SEL
Very sporty and Stylish. Interior, drivers seat is very comfortable and feels like it is cradling your sides. Makes me more confident driving the car. Visibility while driving is very good and comes with lots of great safety and collision control features. Back up camera and AV displays are great. Car performs well when passing in sport mode. Car performed well in recent snowstorm. SEL has AWD and a little more clearence.

Pros
Interior and Exterior stylish, sporty. Perfect size SUV for a petite woman. Interior styling really provides confidence while driving. Good visibility, lots of safety features.

Cons
Could use a little more pick up or a larger HP engine. 160 vs 145 HP would be ideal and improve performance when passing. The Sport mode really improves driving performance, but isn't as smooth a ride.
Price right on target for my first new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DUANE B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Fun to drive unique looking sub compact crossover suvt
This unique vehicle has all the bells and whistles, surprisenly fast and very nimble. Great looks and solid build quality. Thrilled to drive every time I get in. I'm very happy and proud to own the Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Great little SUV for around town
We got this car to keep at our retirement home while we are transitioning. Fun car to drive, practical, good inside space, and as with my other Hyundai's excellent quality and good value. Exactly what we were looking for! Oh, great tech!

Pros
Great little car for around town, but was also very comfortable on a three hour trip.

Cons
None that I've identified. Excellent quality and design for the dollar, i.e. great value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
kona
xxx - I don't have time to waste on this any more-- thank you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELIZABETH B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
Sporty SUV
Joy to drive. Hugs the road, drives like a sports car, very comfortable, great safety features and phone integration. Good value for the price. Just the right size vehicle, between a sedan and and SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JASON K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2019
Great ride and looks cool
Everything that’s included in the ultimate trim is great. But lacks front parking sensors which should have been included too at this trim level. Konas sold in other countries come with front parking sensors.

Cons
Interior needs some colors. Like two tone or more contrast.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SUSAN L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Awesome purchase
When I was looking for a new car I considered a few. When my friend came into town in her new Hyundai Tucson and I liked it I started to look closer at the Hyundai’s. It’s just me, so the Tucson and Sante Fe were a bit too much for me in size. When the Kona popped up and I thought it would be perfect for me I started reading the awesome reviews and watching the awesome you tube reviews and fell more and more in love with it! When I got in to test drive one I fell even more in love!! Didn’t take anything to talk me into buying one. I was so enamored I forgot to even see if I could negotiate a better price. Sigh!! But she’s mine and I love her!! We can’t wait to go on some road trips!! Thank you Hyundai!!

Pros
Gas mileage, smooth ride, lines, comfort, controls

Cons
A touch a crunchy in the backseat but meh!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOHN G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Great driving subcompact suv
Kona wins the subcompact suv category in my opinion. My Ultimate AWD is not only fuel efficient, but fun to drive. Has all essential safety features - lane keeper, pre collision warning and assist, rear cam with alerts, head up display, adaptive cruise control. Love the nav system and how it integrates with the head up display. Did I say this car is fun to drive?

Pros
Fun to drive
Great fuel economy
Excellent safety features
Great styling

Cons
Moderate road noise
No memory setting feature for driver seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JUDY T.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2019
Best car ever!
My Kona rides very well for a small car, it handles great in the rain. Android play is wonderful to have. It gives you access to your maps and other apps without fumbling with your phone.
It's just too stinkin' cute!! I love it so far. I hope that lasts.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mickey G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2019
2019 Kona Ultimate (and it REALLY is the Ultimate)
We've had our Kona Ultimate for 6 months now and absolutely love it. She's named "Sparky" because she's so startlingly quick and handles so surprisingly well. May be too fast for some people (then get the standard non-turbo model). Slightly miss the adaptive cruise control (this is standard on 2020 models) and wish all Konas had brake hold (our CR-V has both). Sales experience with local dealer showroom-floor people was abominable. We switched to the internet-sales people (same dealership) and had a wonderful experience. I'd strongly recommend this to anyone reading this review. HUD is excellent (had this in 2 previous Corvettes and would definitely have missed this). Fuel economy is strong - better than EPA estimates. Ride is a bit firm but no problem. We got FWD instead of AWD since we live in the south. AWD also gives you independent rear suspension which improves ride and handling. The Kona is shockingly fast (as fast 0-60 as a 1964 GTO which was the original "muscle car"). Interior space isn't as big as some in this class but it's never been an issue for us. We HIGHLY recommend the Kona - you'll never regret it. We recommend it so highly that my sister-in-law has just bought one up north where she lives so she got AWD in an SEL+ trim.

Pros
Nearly everything. Ride a bit firm and interior space just OK. We thought the lime green interior accents might get a little old over time but the opposite it true - we REALLY like it, even more than at first.

Cons
Wish it had brake hold and adaptive cruise control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DAWN W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2019
love this car
This vehicle is great , I get a lot of complements on it. its wonderful to drive. very nice ride to it. everyone who has ride in it like it very much they say I made a good choice. which makes me very proud.

Cons
could use more space in the rear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
ZACHARY S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Fun to drive and beautiful to see
This is such a fun car to drive and looks great inside and out. Loving every day I get to drive in it and feel proud to own. Also feel good with such great fuel economy. Easy to park and fit anywhere downtown. Love Apple CarPlay and all other features. I got the Limited version and it's perfect for what I need and wanted. Very comfortable seats. Only nit-pick I would say is road noise is a bit much, but it's a small complaint.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
NELSON A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Kona
Love the car thank you for everything miss Gonzales. The care and kindness you guys show us was white glove service. I would recommend you guys to anyone that is looking for a car. The experience was great. Thank you also to Bill
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mike C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
Love this sub compact cross over!
It has lived up to its rankings - fun and sporty driver. Looks great and lots of tech! Handles well and the turbo and sport mode are terrific. I bought the Limited AWD and would recommend nothing less - you don’t want to miss all the good stuff! I’d love to see my daughters get one too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 49 in total