2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(640 Reviews)
Latest review about 11 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KS
Kaaren S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2020
My funky chartreuse Kona
I really like the Kona. I was not happy to not get another Tucson, but the cost had gone up. The Kona has been great as it is fully loaded. It drives really well and has lots of go. I can sure find it on a parking lot with the chartreuse color I have received many compliments on the color and the interior as well. My only complaint is the passenger seat does not go higher only forward and back and not electric.

Pros
Great vehicle to drive.

Cons
Passenger seat is not electric and does not go higher, just forward and back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Gregory F.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/20/2020
It's my favorite car I've owned; loaded, reasonably price.
I drove a 2017 Chevy Trax for 3 years, having had it 1/2 way paid off. About a month before during a slick winter morning commute my car slid out of control and I was almost t-boned. While it scared me, I quickly let it go, but kept what could of been my end in the back of my mind. Went to the Indy Auto show after Xmas 2019 and saw the Kona. I've read about it before and I liked how it looked, so I checked it out, sat in it, got a feel for it. My big regret was not getting AWD for the trax, so decided to pop into Ray Skillman Hyundai in Avon to check the car out. Now the last time I bought a car I settled, so I told my salesperson that I wanted a car fairly loaded (great auto system, heated seats....spoiled by my wife's car lol) but most importantly AWD. They had a white one that looked really nice so I took it for a test drive.

Decent acceleration, as I mentioned, fairly loaded (high end sound system, other perks I mentioned) and the aforementioned must-have AWD. They let me take the car home overnight to get a better feel for it, and after taking my wife for a drive, I fell in love with the darn thing.

Seats are fairly comfortable, the tech is pretty awesome; wouldn't recommend this crossover vehicle for folks with really long legs, and if your kids are much older than 5-7 the rear seat doesn't provide much room. However for either a couple or a single person this car will leave a smile on your face once you test drive it.

I can't necessarily vouch YET (of course once I buy the car there is nary a snow or icy day for the rest of last winter) but in general this is the first car I have not had to alter to get what I wanted. I drive the SEL which is a great combination of price and options for what you get. Highly recommended.

Pros
SEL is very nicely loaded
AWD
price fairly for what you get

Cons
Back seat is for small kids only
trunk space is somewhat limited

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lisa W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2020
Great Little Sports Vehicle
This really is a viable competitor in the small SUV field.Really impressed with the various features and the affordability. I looked at 2 or three other car companies and found Hyundai the leader in many facets.

Pros
A package with affordable options for almost everyone

Cons
Just a little more horsepower!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Malgorzata G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2020
Awesome car
Great car, alot of features drives great and an excellent warranty...................................................................................... ..... .................................................................. . .$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Dale H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2020
Love this little vehicle. Bigger on the inside than it looks
I like the styling, the handling, the inside space, and the standard features. AWD is a big plus! Highly recommend this little car/SUV. My Husky gives it two paws up as there is plenty of room for her. I also like having pretty good gas mileage (not as good as my Cruze)

Pros
warranty
Styling
Inside room
Good dog mobile! My husky loves it

Cons
I cannot comment on reliability, as I have only driven it a few miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DEBBIE S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2020
Great
Love this car. It was a great choice for me. Fun to drive and safety features are excellent. There is plenty of room for seating and trunk space. The ride is comfortable. I would buy this car again from the same dealer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PAMELA R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2020
Great Car
Love my new Kona Hyudai. I have a bad back, and this vehicle is easier to get in and out of versus a standard car. So stylish. And I can still park in the economy car spaces. This car is a winner. I recommend.

Pros
good

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sonia S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2020
Excellent
I get the car for my Husband and he loves it ☺ makes my heart ❤ melt. ..............................................................................................................................................................thanks again..........
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DENIO P.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/17/2020
Great SUV
Nice small SUV. Great pick-up with the Turbo Engine on the Ultimate Trim. Easy to maneuver and park, plus good handling on the road. Great for Road Trips, the enhanced cruise control really makes a difference. Almost drives itself.

Pros
Great Safety Features
Great Adaptive Cruise Control
Comfortable Ride
Easy to get in and out

Cons
No Automatic Rear Hatch Open Feature
No Rear Passenger Air Vents
No Rear Passenger USB Charge Ports
No WiFi for Passengers and Android Auto
No Self Dimming Mirrors
Steering Wheel Cover could be nicer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Brian M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona Limites
Great vehicle for the money. Hyundai gives you the best warranty and fit and finish against many other brands on the market. The ride is perfect and the features are better then any other vehicle in its class across all trim levels available. They hit a homer in with this great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JULIE C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Glad I switched to Hyundai
For years I have been driving increasingly expensive cars (BMW, Audi) and thought this meant I was getting better value and service - not true! Based on a friend's recommendation, I agreed to look into the Hyundai Kona. This car is the perfect size, drives great and incredible fuel efficiency - I cannot believe how much value is packed into this car for the price. Sales process was easy and fast - salesman went over every detail of the car. It drives better than the Audi it replaced and is more comfortable.

Pros
Great value for the price - all the amenities of higher end costly cars. Very good handling and gas mileage.

Cons
Exterior construction - doors, trunk lids could be improved to feel more substantial.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHRISTINA M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Great Compact SUV
Love my new car! Easy to handle, great ride, powerful acceleration, quiet ride, easy to parallel park, sun roof, leather heated seats, all wheel drive, bright red, nice sound and navigation, positive buying experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
EXOR C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Awesome very good
Very good, all questions are interesting and have you, the dealer, a good insight to a purchasers new car. Nothing more to respond to your review. Great job in your questioning. Just follow through with my suggestions.

Pros
The car!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MCKENNA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Really great
The car works wonderfully. I’ve had zero problems with the car and am enjoying all the new features on the Kona such as the heated seats and apple car play. The lane keep assist is very helpful as well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DAVE L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Kona is fun to drive
This is the most fun to drive vehicle I have ever driven. It is comfortable and performs above expectations. The interior is well designed and the features are easy to use. Safety features are very helpful.

Pros
better than expected gas mileage

Cons
user manual could be indexed better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JEREMY O.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2020
Hyundai's Drivin' Me Kona !!!
We purchased the 2020 HYUNDAI KONA AWD ULTIMATE, for our teenage son to use for school, sports, and where ever else the KONA can take him. This is our 4th Hyundai purchase and by far the best one yet. I did a years worth of research comparing several other manufactures vehicles against the KONA, and in the end it was the KONA that won. I went through everything, from the vehicles interior, exterior, all the safety features, warranty, and don't forget the hard to argue affordable price, no other vehicle gave me that warm happy feeling that I made the best decision for the safety of my son. He has the leg, head, and hip room for a 6'1" teenager, driving assist to keep him focused, room for sports equipment (a lot of it), and it still looks SO COOL when he's driving, 2 thumbs up there! No cords to charge his phone, steering wheel has everything right there at his finger tips so he doesn't need to look away. Hyundai has by far proven they have out done the competition in all areas with the KONA.

Pros
Excellent gas mileage, Warranty, Leg room, Cordless phone charging station, Safety features for driving, Navigation/Sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CORWIN C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
Great value
The Kona has sufficient leg and headroom for two adults plus cargo room for all of our luggage for road trips. It has great fuel economy. We consistently got 35 MPG at 75 MPH (maybe a little over). For a while, we were restricted to 60 MPH and the mileage was over 40 MPG. Again loaded with two adults and two weeks worth of luggage.

Pros
I've driven Hyundais for 20 years and they are a great value. For about $20K you get a vehicle that will serve you well for about 150K miles. The drive train warranty is real as I had to use it once and I got a free engine replacement and a loaner to drive while they did the work.

Cons
The Kona has more road noise than the previous vehicles I have owned (Santa FE and Tiburons). It can be very noticeable on some road surfaces. I am considering adding sound-deadening insulation to improve this. A bigger project that I like but may do it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JAVIER R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/15/2020
My first Hyundai
I like my Kona. Bought it after riding on a friend’s. I have also heard these cars are reliable and my friend has had nothing but Hyundai vehicles for over 10 years. I like the styling and coming from a 10 year old car, creature comforts like a backup camera and Apple CarPlay and blind spot sensors are a game changer for me. I am easily amused.

Pros
Fun to drive, good looking, relatively roomy, comfortable. Love the backup camera and Apple CarPlay. It is also reasonably fast given the engine it has. Reliability and warranty are also big pros for me

Cons
Average gas mileage, poor rear visibility, small trunk space, more road noise than I’d like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
My Favorite New Car I've Ever Bought
I am so happy with my new 2020 Kona. I decided to purchase the Kona after a lot of research of many SUVs and choosing to visit a Hyundai dealer first. I drove the Kona and the Tucson and would have been happy with either. I decided on the Kona partly due to cost, but I actually liked the way it drove a bit better. Now, after owning it for three months, I am so happy I made the choice. It looks sharp, it rides great (slightly elevated like an SUV and smooth like a car), and it get incredible gas mileage. This is my favorite new car purchase since I bought my first new car in 1992. My Kona is my first Hyundai purchase, and now I don't think I'll buy anything else. My wife is already planning in trading in her car for a Kona.

Pros
Styling
Gas mileage
Ride quality
Comfort
Touch screen and features
Height for getting in and out

Cons
Rear storage area is a bit small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2020
Exactly what I wanted!
Was looking for a vehicle that sits higher than a sedan but smaller than a SUV with good fuel mileage...found it! Looked at and test drove Buick Encore and Chevrolet Trax but the ergonomics in the Hyundai KONA were MUCH BETTER. All the controls just make since in the Kona. Not to mention it looks way better than the others too. This compact SUV is sooo fun to drive and it's the 2.0l I4 and not even the 1.6l I4 Turbo. I'm getting 34 mpg and this includes both rural and city driving combined. The suspension is dialed in nicely along with the 6 speed transmission. The base SE has 4 wheel disc brakes that stop on a dime and even has Lane Assist and Front Collision Avoidance. The Hyundai Infotainment system is so user friendly it basically works itself. The ONLY negative thing I can complain about is the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay only works with your phone connected to the cars usb port but this is for every car, not a Hyundai issue. Just buy the Kona if you're in the market for a vehicle like I was searching for...you wont regret jt! +BEST WARRANTY IN THE BUSINESS!

Pros
Styling (inside and out)
Features included with base model
Fun to drive
MPG

Cons
USB connection only for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay (bluetooth wont work)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 640 in total