Business Solutions

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(21 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(21 Reviews)

KG
KATHY G.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/01/2022
Verified Review

Awesome

I got this vehicle used and we love it .. one of the best driving vehicles I have ever owned has a lot of power and very quiet running and rides really well lots of room inside . We're l we really like it a lot it's been fun to drive I don't know why Toyota stopped making them . they are a very good vehicle I would recommend this vehicle . lots of fun . gets decent gas mileage as well. very impressed with it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TN
gravatar
Tomi N.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2021
Verified Review

Best recreational vehicle out there!!

Bought used, think it may have been in a flood, but due to the waterproof body no harm was caused except wiring for towing lights. Blind spots are bit of a problem, drive accordingly. Biggest complaint is that the back windows don't open, would be nice for pets or if you don't want to get windblown to death in front. So awesome truck, fun, roomy, comfortable, subwoofer, ac/dc plug etc etc etc. Oh, did I say FUN?!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KS
gravatar
Kirby S.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2020
Verified Review

IN LOVE WITH THIS VEHICLE

I love the height, power, control, and fun level. I am officially addicted to this style of vehicle here on out. My mom bought this vehicle brand new so I have been driving this car since off the lot. Recently it has become mine full time and I couldn't be happier.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CB
gravatar
Cheri B.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/12/2020
Verified Review

I love my FJ

It gets me around in snow and ice no problems. I can haul large objects in it. I have moved furniture in it. I ski and it gets me safely up and down the Mts This is like a tank. I was T boned in it when a car ran a red light and hit me not breaking at all. I had the driver doors fixed and saw a chiropractor physical therapy and I am back sking. It would have been a lot worse in any thing else. I have had it for 10 yr and plan on keeping it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LP
gravatar
LOLA P.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
Verified Review

Love my FJ

Comfortable. Pretty much handles everything better than any other SUV ive ever owned (and ive owned several) the only down side is, they stopped making them. But when they figure out that they need to start up manufacturing them again, ill be the first in line. That is, when mine just wont go anymore.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DB
gravatar
Doyle B.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/19/2019

Undercarriage rust

I have 33,734 actual miles on an 11 year old fj. It's basically totalled because of rust, the control arm rusted right off the axle, gas tank staps rusted through so the tank is about ready to drop off, most of the brackets holding fuel lines brake lines etc. have rusted completely off at the welds, brake shields rusted away and pretty much all the suspension parts. If it was ever driven on salted roads I sure don't remember doing it and I ALWAYS washed the undercarrige if I drove in sand. When I contacted Toyota I was informed that it is after all 11 years old
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AC
gravatar
Andrew C.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/09/2019
Verified Review

Been places HUMWVs couldn't make it

Slight lift, bigger tires and rims but great off road vehicle even with stock equipment. Gas mileage stinks but that's not why you have one. At 184,000 miles...will think about getting rid of it in another 120k.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BD
gravatar
Bob D.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
Verified Review

Love FJ

Best vehicle I ever owned. Love Toyota’s. Good reliable vehicle. Love style. Too bad Toyota discontinued the model. Would like to see Toyota come out with a small 4 WD that’s good on gas and is reliable, plus good off road.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CB
gravatar
Cheri B.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2019
Verified Review

I love my Toyota FJ

I have had my FJ since Dec 2009. I use it to go skiing in the mts. It does awesome on ice and snow. Dec 2018 I was T-bonded by a mid sized suv when the guy ran a red light and hit the driver's side doors. I felt like I was in a tank. The frame was not bent so I had the body shop fix the doors. I take good car of my FJ service it every 5,000 miles wax 2 x a yr it has low mileage. I even bought another car so I could keep the mileage low on my FJ. They do not make them any more. SAD
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CG
gravatar
CHUCK G.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2019
Verified Review

Great Ride

Smooth, Stable, and Roomy Ride. Plenty of room for hauling gear. Plenty of options to create your own look. The half-door are an excellent look and plenty of room to access the back seat. The 2 wheel drive goes every where. Very Enjoyable Overall.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DW
gravatar
DAVID W.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/30/2018
Verified Review

I wish they did stop making the fj

Best vehicle I ever owned. It has good power it look good and it goes anywhere are want it to go it tow my boat good. The Storage is get and plenty of ways to upgrade and customize. I love that the four wheel is a stick and not a button and you can select two wheel high and four wheel dive high and four wheel low and Electric rear differential lock I have a newer Tundra and I like the four wheel drive in the fj.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BH
gravatar
ben h.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2018
Verified Review

Fun/Useful Vehicle

Great vehicle .. OEM tires(Bridgestone) , lasted 70+K miles ... Very few repair issues.. Has made several(6+) trips to central NY , hauling a trailer , cruise set 60-70mph, hills in Pa gave some trouble.. Hauled a 22' pontoon boat around SC...6 speed stick shift fun to drive..The only issue is the MFG , not much different hauling or not , 16-18mpg.... TOO BAD they quit making them...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BH
gravatar
ben h.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2018
Verified Review

Great Vehicle

Bought it new in 2007. Has made several trips to NY from SC hauling a LOADED trailer , with no problems(rt81 Pa hills slowed it down some but). Hauling & launching a 22ft pontoon boat with no problems. Navigating a snow covered old logging in NY no problems. Hauling a trailer to help friends move no problems. The 6 speed stick shift is fun to drive , even in traffic. The cruise control is very helpful , both on long trips & staying within the local speed limits. The only issue is gas mileage for a 4L engine.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CB
gravatar
Cheri B.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2017
Verified Review

Great on snow and ice in 4 wheel drive

Room to carry my equipment and get me up and down the mountain in the winter. Throw my bicycle in the back and go to trail head to ride.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CB
gravatar
Cheri B.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/25/2017
Verified Review

Toyota FJ Cruiser 2008

The FJ is dependable rides great, I can haul big items, my bike, furniture I LOVE IT.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BH
gravatar
ben h.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2017

Great Vehicle

Bought a new 2008 FJ in 2007. Just replaced the original tires at 74+K , never had any alignment problems. Have hauled 22' pontoon boat , 5X10' open trailer w/approx 3K of firewood , 4X8 enclosed trailer packed tight w/appliances to NY , great job except Penn hills. Only real issues are replaced both rear brake calipers/rotors , & alloy wheels appear to be rusting. Great in snow & old logging trails. At 74+K miles , still approx 18mpg , same as when new , says prem gas but I have used reg majority of the time , doesn't seem to make any difference. Great vehicle , too bad they quit making them , see many in the Myrtle Beach SC area.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MN
gravatar
Mitchell N.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/26/2017

Great car for weekend warrior

I love this car and it suits my needs perfectly. The epitome of a weekend warrior vehicle. If you can make it through its oddities then it's a great car. Visibility can be poor because of the windows, or lack thereof. Blind spots are huge and I have lean forward to see if the light has changed if I'm at the front of the traffic stop most the time. It's not super gas efficient but it's so much better than some of the 5.0l v8s out there! It's a toyota so it's solid as a rock and I never have to worry about breaking down. Love this thing.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TT
gravatar
TOD T.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/24/2017

Have had this vehical for about a year and it is a high mileage vehical but have had really no problems. Vary comfortable and sound Truck, capable on and off road. Feel safe and confident at all times!

Would definitely be excited if Toyota decided to bring this product back into there lineup. Would consider trading in for a new model!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AM
gravatar
alan m.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2016

Love my FJ!

I've loved my FJ since the moment I drove it off the lot. In fact I loved them before and had to have one :) 8 years later, still love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RH
gravatar
RODERICK H.
2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2016

2008 Toyota FJ

Outstanding, fun vehicle!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 22 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Toyota Dealer
Automotive Instincts
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1324 Reviews)

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Toyota
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(2237 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Parker Toyota
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(22407 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(25) ReScores

  • New Car Dealer
  • Toyota Dealer
Toyota of York
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10817 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores

  • Toyota Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Burien Toyota
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(7658 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(10) ReScores