Overview

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69

2401 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (134)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.7462701/5Overall Rating 4.7462701/5Overall Rating 4.7462701/5Overall Rating 4.7462701/5rating 4.7462701
Original
Overall Rating 2.40602/5Overall Rating 2.40602/5rating 2.40602rating 2.40602rating 2.40602
94% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review about 1 hour ago

Reviews

Our goal is to provide the most accurate picture of a business's online reputation. To provide the most accurate picture, we use an automated algorithm to help us recommend reviews that are most valuable for visitors to our site. Reviews that are recommended may ultimately become "not recommended" and vice versa based on continued updates and learning from our algorithm. Reviews that are verified through the business point of sale system may post immediately to the recommended reviews section of our site, however, based on the application of our automated algorithm, may become "not recommended".

Continue reading recommended reviews


Knoxville, TN
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/27/2019 Category: Service
Needs work.
The dealership is great. The service department is not. The advisors are very sweet, but the techs clearly don't do their jobs. I've come in 4 times with the same exact complaint for a CEL due to a misfire and all rech does is clear the codes without even fixing the issue. Like what the hell? I don't want the code cleared. I want it fixed. Correctly! My car is under warranty, so I assume they just do not care about my vehicle or the issue it has. Which is very irritating and stressful upon all the other things in my personal life that are stressing me out.
ALEX F. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 06/28/2019

Thank you for making the time to fill out the survey. we apprecaite your feedback. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly


HT
Helen T.
Knoxville, TN
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2019 Category: Service
Recall Concern
Serious recall and wiring harness replaced but had to Erie car within four hours of picking it up due to sams issues as before.
ALEX F. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 05/20/2019

Thank you for making the time to fill out the survey. we apprecaite your feedback. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly


TH
Thomas H.
Oliver Springs, TN
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/12/2019 Category: Service
service for programming
No issues with this service.

NOTE: Sales people should not be coming in to the waiting room to try to talk existing customers into buying a new car.
ALEX F. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 04/17/2019

Thank you for making the time to fill out the survey. we apprecaite your feedback. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly


JR
Josh R.
Knoxville, TN
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/11/2019
**AVOID AT ALL COSTS**
I always take my car to the dealer because I believe they provide quality service and are more honest about what repairs your car needs. Not here. I called for an oil change, was quoted $35.95 and then charged $60. My car takes synthetic oil yet somehow these brainless techs put conventional oil in. The service was slow (almost 2 hours for an oil change when I had an appointment) and they didn't even reset the service interval on my car. Bottom line, unethical, immoral and terrible service!
ALEX F. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 03/14/2019

Thank you for making the time to fill out the survey and share your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly


GB
Gina B.
Whittier, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2019
Poor sales service
I would not recommend looking for a car from this business. On February 11rh 2019 I was in contact numerous times with a sales person about a vehicle on the property. I had let them know we would be driving two and a half hours to their car dealership to purchase this specific car.
When we arrived on February 12th 2019 at 9:25 am the salesman that I had been in contact with numerous times the day before was selling the vehicle to someone else.
He said that this couple had come to the dealership the afternoon of the 11th to look at a different car but noticed the car we were intending to purchase .He said that he told the couple that there was a lady coming to buy that car in the morning and tried to persuade them to buy something else but they liked the car better than the one they had come to look at .
The salesman that I had been in contact with on the 11th proceeded to sell the car we had driven 2and a half hours for.
I would hope that a good business would call and let an intended buyer know that the car they were coming to get was being looked at by someone else so that the intended buyer could be there sooner or let the intended buyer know so they did not drive two and a half hours for nothing.
I understand that in the car business it is first come first serve but when you know a customer is driving 2 and a half hours it would be common courtesy to give them a heads up especially when you had been in contact with them at least 5 times the previous day.
I would NOT recommend this dealership to anyone.

CG
Christina G.
Maryville, TN
2018 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/04/2019 Category: Service
Stay away!!!
Rude, dishonest sales staff that are willing to follow you into the bathroom to have the last word!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will NEVER return to Grayson!!!!!!!!!!

JR
Josh R.
Knoxville, TN
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/03/2019
**AVOID AT ALL COSTS**
I always take my car to the dealer because I believe they provide quality service and are more honest about what repairs your car needs. Not here. I called for an oil change, was quoted $35.95 and then charged $60. My car takes synthetic oil yet somehow these brainless techs put conventional oil in. The service was slow (almost 2 hours for an oil change when I had an appointment) and they didn't even reset the service interval on my car. Bottom line, unethical, immoral and terrible service!

SS
Steven S.
Knoxville, TN
2009 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/19/2019 Category: Service
Does not apply
The car was totaled and towed to this location. My major complaint is this; They charge a storage fee for any car on there lot over night, but at no point was this ever disclosed.
ALEX F. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 01/22/2019

Thank you for making the time to fill out the survey and share your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly


KV
Kasey V.
Oak Ridge, TN
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/17/2018
Mobile site sucks
You cant do anything on their site other than view cars. The service section doesnt even open

RC
Rafael C.
Knoxville, TN
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/21/2018 Category: Service
Poor car quality, poor service
I ended up returning the car. Tucson 2018 is a danger for those who drive it and those who are around. The response time of the service people is very poor at best. It was only when I was able to speak to the manager of all Greysons' that things started to speed up.
ALEX F. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 08/22/2018

Thank you for making the time to fill out the survey and share your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience. A manager will be reaching out to you shortly


TN
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/25/2018 Category: Service
Warranty not honored for design flaws
I would avoid buying a Hyundai. They tell you about the great “bumper to bumper” 100,000 mile warranty. Well they have a design flaw in their cars. An AC condenser that is less than a year old should not break under normal driving conditions. It will not be covered under warranty. The service writers are busy and I get that, but be prepared to not be notified if they need to do additional work and up the price significantly from what they tell you. They also will not tell you if your vehicle is ready or what the status is on your repair if the service writer you started with is not in. That is ridiculous! Hyundai is a cheap car for a reason.
Stacy S., DPSM from Grayson Hyundai responded on 07/25/2018

Dear Hyundai Customer,

I am the District Parts & Service Manager for Hyundai Motor America in the state of Tennessee.  Hyundai Motor America takes it very seriously if a customer states their warranty was not honored. After reading your survey I reached out to the dealership management regarding your vehicle. I was informed that the AC Condensor was damaged due to road debris.  As a resident Tennessee myself, all makes & models of vehicles are seeing more damage to windshields, condensors, tires, and body damage due to tire treads, road construction, rocks etc and shooting out from trucks and cars all over the roads.  I certainly understand how frustrating this can be on a new vehicle but unfortunately this is not a warranty defect just as a cracked windshield from a rock would not be warranty. Our national technical center has the dealer send back parts for inspection to prevent fraudulent claims and if a dealer replaces a part that was damaged from an outside source, the dealer will be charged back for the repair. It is never easy to tell a customer that something is not covered under warranty and I sincerely apologize for that. Hyundai Motor America takes pride in the warranty we offer on our vehicles and to our customers. Outside damage, is not covered under any manufacturer coverage.
Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and wish you safe travels.
Respectfully,
Stacy Shellhammer
DPSM SC Region SC1 Tennessee
SShellhammer@hmausa.com


SW
Stan W.
Knoxville, TN
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/04/2018 Category: Service
Vehicle problems with dangerous hesitation of accelerating from a stop. See review
My comments are not so much about the service department but about the dangerous lag (hesitation) of acceleration of the car from a stop. It does not always do it, and catches me by surprise. It it is my wife's car and I don't drive it most of the time. My old 1999 Jeep Cherokee with over 200,000 miles on it does not do this.
About a year or more ago I called Grayson to see if there was any known fix for this dangerous vehicle behavior and was informed there was not. So, If it were mine I would sell it and not buy another Hyundai. My wife drives less aggressively than me and has not noticed this problem.
Stacy S., DPSM from Grayson Hyundai responded on 05/06/2018

Thank you for filling out the survey.  We  are truly sorry you are disappointed  with your Elantra. You will always be notified directly from the manufacturer if there is a campaign that is applicable to your vehicle.  We are also glad to have a technician drive with you to be certain .
Best regards


CF
charles f.
Maryville, TN
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/04/2018
The dark side of car buying
On 3/2/18 I called the dealership to speak to inquire about an Elantra they had advertised to see if it was still in stock. Matt the salesman answered the phone and he explained that the car was still in stock . I told Matt that I would like to see it in person and told him I would be back in touch. On 3/3/18 I called Matt and asked if the car was still available and also inquired about an Accent that I had found online he said that both were available . I said I would stop by to see them and test drive them both. I arrived and found Matt we test drove the Accent first and my daughter quickly decided that this was not the car for her and we told Matt this as well. I then asked if we could now drive the Elantra to which Matt replied well we cant find the key to the car.
Magically after hemming and hawing around for about 25 to 30 minutes trying to find this mysterious key they decide to have a brilliant idea. The dealership owns this car lets just make another key!. The freshly minted key is placed in our hands and off we go for a test drive. I can tell by how my daughter is reacting that she really likes this car so after the test drive we ask Matt for some family alone time to discuss our options we then went to his office to deal.
I made two very reasonable offers on a used car with some minor condition issues. Each time the offers were taken to the "sales manager" for approval and each time both offers were flatly refused because they were "all in" whatever that means to them. At this point in time and I had previously discussed this with my daughter I was going to offer the walking price no matter how badly she wanted the car people in hell want ice water too. that's life sometime's you just have to walk away.
So I made our final offer to the salesman and told him that this would be my final offer. Matt left the office and returned a short time later and once again the offer was flatly refused. Unknown to me at this time he had also brought the "sales manager" back with him who stood silently brooding behind us and listened to Matt tell us that our paltry pitiful offer would once again be refused no you must pay full price and please pay some more!.
I began to thank Matt for his time and was telling him we would now be leaving when suddenly and rudely and without introduction the Jedi "sales manager" tried his version of the Jedi mind trick on us and interrupted us by saying saying this is not the Elantra you are looking for let us sell you a new one instead or perhaps the Accent we have on the lot. I raised my hand and said I am speaking here not only to teach him some manners but to block his Jedi mind powers.
At this point I was completely soured on the deal no matter what they offered simply because of the tactics of the Jedi "sales manager" and his rudeness and unprofessional behavior a few more mind tricks were blocked at which point he stormed off so easily flustered at our resistance to his perceived powers of persuasion. Before leaving he blurted out in desperation I can only guess " If you dont like what we have or wont deal with us (pay full price) go somewhere else" . Hmm I mused alone in my thoughts what a fabulously brilliant idea.
We left and traveled a few light years away to the planet of Twin City Hyundai located in the Alcoa system there we were greeted by Edward Naser (Yoda) and Greg Stewart ( young luke). We found a car that we were actually looking for yikes their mind tricks were working on us dont panic I thought. But amazingly they treated us fairly and were extremely pleasant to deal with we agreed to a fair price and they actually came down to meet us!.
We left feeling good about our experience with Twin city Hyundai and it will not be our last. So to sum up and I implore you dear readers I beg of you resist the dark side don't go to Grayson Hyundai please please let my experience guide you make your first stop Twin City Hyundai search your feelings you know it to be true Twin City Hyundai will give you the best deal.
One last question remains however who was that mysterious Jedi dark lord. I guess I will never know he never even said his name....

Knoxville, TN
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/14/2017 Category: Service
Lost in Lala Land
xxx
CLAYTON H. from Grayson Hyundai responded on 12/15/2017

Thank you for filling out the survey on recent experience. We will be sharing it with our management team. Someone should reach out to you shortly


JS
Jeffery S.
Knoxville, TN
2017 Hyundai Elantra
This review violates the SureCritic Review Policy.

WM
Wheeler M.
Knoxville, TN
2017 Hyundai Elantra
This review violates the SureCritic Review Policy.

AL
Anne L.
Clinton, TN
This review violates the SureCritic Review Policy.

Loudon, TN
2012 Hyundai Veloster
This review violates the SureCritic Review Policy.

BS
Brandy S.
Powell, TN
2013 Hyundai Sonata
This review violates the SureCritic Review Policy.

PK
Philip K.
Knoxville, TN
2012 Hyundai Azera
This review violates the SureCritic Review Policy.