ReScore Reviews™ (5)
I am disappointed to read this review and see how displeased you are with our services after so many years of your loyalty. After reviewing your invoice I do see that the $292 charge was not only for the install of the battery tender, but additionally, for over 2 hours of diagnostic time, a key fob battery, and the installation of the key fob battery. I do understand that ultimately we were unable to fix the issue, however, our technician did spend a few hours working on your vehicle and therefore should be paid for his time, knowledge, and labor. Furthermore, Jim was your service adviser at your last visit, so if you were speaking with one of the females up front regarding your invoice they would have no knowledge of the work performed, and should have forwarded you to your service advisor. Again, I am very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction and we are very sorry to see a customer go. If you need anything in the future feel free to contact us. Thank you
4 other mechanics quoted 500$ less.
The price we quoted you for a AWD vehicle should have been according to a National repair estimator (which by the way is on our website) between $1228 to $1691.
Labor for a AWD is not as you claim 4 hrs. it is according to the flat rate that all shops use 7.7 hrs.
The price you were quoted to replace the clutch with quality parts (not junk) inluding resurfacing the flywheel, that as you claim "gouging" was prety reasonable.
You are one of the 0.5% of our 1200 customer that have posted reviews, that feel this way.
In regards to check out fee, is a standard for creating an invoice and to have a certified Mechanic inspect your vehicle etc.
This fee would have been waived if we have done the work.
I went through your invoice with my staff, according to their explanation to me is that did not charge you for diagnostics for your in-op lift gate, they only charged you to repair it.
If you were to take your problem elsewhere including the dealer you would have been charged at least one hr. of diagnostic time.
Furthermore before the work was done you were informed and approved the repairs. If you were not satisfied with our quote you could have brought it to our attention or declined the repairs.
To date we have 98% positive reviews on our results, that is an unprecedented number of over 1050 reviews.
These results speak for themselves. I am sorry that the one-star reviews you gave us represents less than 1% of that total.
Have a nice day, THEO
Finally I heard from them in the middle of the second day. I promise I order a part and have the vehicle ready to go by day three. Again the next day did not hear anything from them. They could not get the part as promised which caused another delay. finally on the last day (day 4) it was finished. There were several opportunities to keep me informed and or adjust their workforce so that someone could look at the car. Oh yeah and to top it off I pick my vehicle up finally on Friday afternoon on the drive home the check engine light comes on
I am sorry for your problem and I would like to apologize and acknowledge your issue. This is not how we do business that is why we have out of 900 customers 97% positive reviews.
I was very upset upon my return from vacation to find out about your issue. We had a talk with my guys and it appears that it had fallen into a crack. Again, I apologize for mishandling your problem and lack of communication and we can assure you it will not happen again.
Thank you, THEO
Thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations this time.
We did the best we could to take care of these minor problems, including an explanation from me yesterday as well as a courtesy car for you to drive. Yes I admit a couple minor mistakes were made, however, I was not aware that you wanted to be rewarded. As you can see we have 97% positive reviews (out of 740) on this site alone because we care and take pride what we do, and always do the right thing, however we are human just like you and small mistakes like that are going to happen no matter how hard we try.
And by the way your car had two leaks one major from the lower oil pan silicone sealer that you paid for and the second leak, it was very minor that I found and it was fixed as a courtesy and free of charge. The “unskilled worker” you mentioned on your nasty and long review is a 15 years veteran and ASE certified tech.
Thank you, THEO
First of all you were quoted the total price before repairs were done on your vehicle that you approved. You had a chance to opt out if, as you claim, we were too expensive. Secondly, there are four different spark plugs made for your car retail price starting from $16.38 to $33.64 per spark plug. In fact we charged you 10% bellow suggested retail. Sorry but your one star review is not justified.
I am sure you can also go to Kroger’s and buy a filet minion for $8.00-$12.00 depending on the cut, but that is not the price you would have to pay eating it at restaurant.
Our prices are reasonable and in line, we also gave an estimate before we did this work and you had the option to opt out.
Our work also carries a Nationwide Warranty for repairs for 2 years or 24.000 miles
You should be proud of your self being a handy man, and hopefully this starter is going to last and not get you stuck somewhere with nowhere to go.
PS: There is nothing wrong with my attitude; we have 97% positives reviews from all of our customers, so we must be doing something right (We are aware we can’t please everybody)
Have a nice day, THEO
I am 68 years old and still follow my deceased parents advice, to be honest, fair and to do always the best I can. In your case and all of my customers I follow the same rules and that is why we have 97% + positive reviews on our results.
I am aware no matter what we do we will never reach the 100% that we desire, Christ was a saint man but he was crucified anyway.
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and you are not part of the 97% happy and satisfied customers.
Second shop reported poor quality repair previously done (apparently - according to history given us by Theo's) at Theo's in 2012.
You negative review does not even deserve a response, but I am going to write one any way. You brought to my shop a 20 year old car with 245.000 miles. We charged you $50 for our inspection report which took us over 1 hour to complete. Your claim that someone fixed all the problems in your car for $800 is absurd. That is by replacing valve cover gaskets, front timing cover gaskets and seals, leaking water pump, thermostat and bypass hoses. You claim that someone else fixed the "exact same repair" for $800 in beyond absurb
In response to your one star review I do not believe we did anything wrong or we overcharged you in any way.
On your issue with your check engine light is, the nominal charge for run diagnostics and verify what indeed the problem is between $75.00 to $109.00, I charged you half of that $50.00
On the other occasion your complain about charging you $19.80 for replacing your battery again the nominal fee should be from $40.00 up to $100.00 depending on vehicle make etc.
As you can see on both occasions I really charged you half the price I should have. Your review that as you call it “WE NICKEL AND DIMED" you: is not fair.
Thank you, Theo
It's not by chance we have 98% positive reviews on our work. It is because we employee dedicated, hard working, knowledgeable and honest individuals. You brought in your 2003 Land Rover for a coolant leak and we pressure tested the cooling system (system pressure) and we discovered a leak on one of the coolant hoses behind the throttle body was leaking.
We repaired the leak, and verified it again by pressure testing the system that we had no more leaks. You, as a gentleman, should have either called me or brought your car back for us to verify the source of this new leak, that of course would have been free of charge. Instead, you choose to post this one star negative review.
There will always be 2% of customers that no mater what we do, there will always be something to complain or be unhappy about it, and it'sunfortunate you didn't allow us the opportunity to not be that 2%. Please come back to our garage with the credit card you used and we will issue you a full refund for the $112.00 you paid, and wish you the best in finding someone else for your future automotive needs.
Thank you for your kind review it is greatly appreciated.
We fixed your 19 year old car with 216.000 miles about 6 months ago. Your car was leaking oil and coolant all over. We steamed cleaned your engine to determine where the source of the leaks was and at that time 9o% of them were coming from the valve cover gasket the front timing chain seal and gaskets, also you gad coolant leaks from the radiator.
What we fixed where most serius and obvious leaks and also verified after that there were fixed.
Now 6 moths later you write this negative review. You must rearize an old car like yours and so many miles it has multiple places that you could have other oil leaks.
If you want to make this car leak free you would need to spend more money that your car is worth.
Leaks we fixed you have two year or 24 mile warranty.
I did not get a mile down the road and it was running rough and light was back on.
MR. KIRKES, THIS IS THE NOTE WHICH I WROTE ON YOUR INVOICE WHEN YOU WERE CHARGED FOR DIAGNOSTICS ONLY.
I DID NOT FIX ANYTHING AT THAT TIME BECAUSE YOUR ISSUE WENT AWAY AND THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING SMOOTHLY WHILE WE DIAGNOSING IT. I HAVE ALSO TOLD YOU VERBALY THE SAME THINK.
DIAGNOSE CODES VVT CODE, ALSO MULTIBLE MISSFIRES
CHECK ENGINE VACOUM VERY LOW 5 INC. FURTHER TEST TO VERIFY IF ENGINE IS OUT OF TIMING (COMPRESSION VERSUS IGNITION)
AFTER SEVERAL TEST VERIFIED THAT ENGINE TIMMING IS WITHIN SPECS BUT VERIABLE TIMING THERE IS AN ISSUE,
PROBLEM AT THIS TIME APPEARS TO GO AWAY BY ITSELF AND ENGINE RUNS OK.
IF PROBLEMS COMES BACK THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE TAKEN CARE OF.
IT IS NOW OBVIUS THAT THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE VVT SYSTEM OF YOUR CAR THAT IT NEEDS TO BE FIXED, SHOULD YOU DECIDE TO HAVE IT FIXED THE MONEY YOU HAVE PAID US WILL BE APPLIED TOWARD THE PEPAIRS.
AND I HAVE TOLD YOU SO.
I am sorry to read your negative review but please do not twist the following facts.
Yes your car was here couple of weeks because you told us that you were not hurry for it and also you wanted to spend as little money as possible.
We replaced your fuel pump and also tried to repair your in-op window without spending extra money by replacing the window regulator. When your car was moved outside the window was operational.
When you came to pick up your car the car the same window failed to operate, we gave you however full credit for the window repair and charge you this time for the replacement of the window regulator ( that we should have replaced the first time).
Your ignition lock we did not break it, it did break while we turn the ignition key to work on your vehicle. We called the locksmith to have it repaired without replacing the whole lock assembly (again to save you money)
By the way this lock on your vehicle there are notorious of breaking and that is why there is an update for the fix. We gave you a special deal for the work (plus a 10% discount on our labor) and saved you money and we are not going to assume responsibility for something we have not caused.