ReScore Reviews™ (5)
You are quite right I am upset just as much as you are about having to bring your car back the second time for a simple burb that was not performed right the first time.
Sorry again for the inconvenience and thank you for your feedback. Steps taken not to repeat same mistake again.
You were right a clerical mistake was made in our part. It was corrected and we issued a refund to you.
Sorry for our mistake,
Thank you, THEO
Thank you very much for your responce and your review.
Based on 98.3% positive five star reviews (for over 1045) I don’t take kindly to get one with two stars and here is why.
Your issue and codes we were getting were based on either a problem with low oil pressure, intermittent acting cam sensor or a very expensive fix of replacing the Vanos unit.
It was explained and agreed upon to take the first route by flushing your oil (sometimes that takes care of the problem) the second time we replaced the cam adjustor solenoid and before we let your car go we drove it and rechecked it and there was no code active or pending.
Now you claim that the check engine light has come on again. First of all, we don’t know if it’s the same problem. If it is the same issue then we will procced with the more expensive repair and apply the money you have paid so far on this repair, (this way you gain and we lose)
We did all these repair steps for your benefit so you don’t have to spend a lot of money for a repair that you might not need.
Instead of slapping us with this two star review and especially since you were told the steps we were taking, you should have come back and lets us finish this repair with the third and most expensive option.
Thank you, Theo
Thank you for your review and Merry Christmas.
They told they found two leaks in the valves in the AC system and fixed them.
After driving the car for two weeks, the issue popped up again.
I returned the vehicle to them.
I was told that there was another leak in the system and they've fixed it.
The leak could've been found out during the first inspection itself.
Therefore, I'm giving them 2 stars.
Hope this issue won't popup up again.
Mr. Antony, we do our best to diagnose and fix problems the first time. In the case with your AC what we found the first time was just the Schrader valves were leaking (both AC hoses were inspected and they were not leaking at that time). We replace the Schrader valves and pressure tested the AC system and no further leaks were detected.
On your second visit it so happened that one of the AC hoses was leaking and that is what we replaced.
Please note, as a good will we did not charge you again for evacuating and recharging your AC.
So in fact it did not cost you anymore than you would have had to pay if we were to fix both leaks at the same time.
I hope this response has clarified your issue.
Thank you, THEO
Both of us had a bad experience with your vehicle. We have spent countless hours without charging you for our work. You vehicle was and still is in a bad shape. As you were explained and also pointed out to you your vehicle had multiple Mechanical issues due the high mileage and lack of maintenance as well as multiple electrical, rust and wiring issues due that this vehicle had taken multiple mud baths on the swamps of Louisiana. You were informed all along and shown what we did and why, and I am surprised with this negative review.
Had we known that your vehicle was in such a deplorable state before we started we would never have taken this car in for any type of repairs. I guess this time we learned by our mistake.
PS: We still have the old parts that we removed that you claimed did not need. You can come and pick them up at any time.
I believe you were aware prior the last repair that we did in your truck that you had an issue with contaminated fuel but you chosen to ignore it at that time. The failure this time is not what we have worked on previously it is because your fuel is contaminated and your gas tank needs to be removed and cleaned. In any case we will try to help out if any further repairs are needed.
Thank you, THEO
Here are the facts, we did send you a text message with our free electronic report to you phone here is the link. http://2um.me/52ag which indicates whatever you have mentioned above need to have taken care of it.
Since you did not reply to our message and request to have this done we did not do the work of course without prior authorization.
If you look at your invoice you will also notice that these items are also recommended on your next visit.
PS: if you do not have a smart phone you would have not receive our text message and we are sorry about that. In the future should you want to deal with us please advice that you do not want to communicate with text messages.
You are the first one out of nearly 700 positive reviews to accuse us of trying to rip you off.
We charged you for your battery plus a minimum charge to test your charging system.
When you picked up your car and complaint about it, then out of courtesy we removed the charge for replacing and testing your charging system.
PS: if you were to check our website estimator the nominal charge should have been for that service $137.00-184.00 for the battery and replacement, Plus Charging system diagnosis $46.00- 49.00.
So the average charge for those services should have been $216.00, SO YOU PAYING US $154.00 YOU GOT YOURSELF A GOOD DEAL.
AC Service is not free, We had to spend over an hour to go trough the steps, to evacuate, check for leaks under vacuum, recharge wirh freon, add leak detection fliud etc. and then check for leaks under pressure and also check system pressure when the system is in operation in order to determine if the system works and how well is working.
It is impossible to check the AC system without following all of the steps above, and yes sometimes after all this it s possible to find out that the system needs more work to make it 100% operational.
Our service charges for what we do are posted everywhere we are also gladly given estimates for all work needed, we are also have an estimator on our web site which anyone can check and find out what each service cost. Should you have asked us how much to replace the AC compressor, Drier, Expansion Valve etc. we would have given you a FREE estimate.
We have spent a considerable amount of time to verify the integrity of the system, them based on our findings we gave you an estimate to have this vehicle repaired which you declined. Should you decide to have this repair done we would credit this charges towards the repair.
It is obvious we can not work on your car all this time and do our diagnostics for free. Further more you did not pay us for your brake inspection; it is a courtesy inspection which we do free of charge to anyone.
Thank you, Theo
I thank you very much for your review and appreciate taken the time to respond bad or good. It sounds strange that we did not hear the noise when we took your car for road test. I am sorry we disapoint you and we did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for your review. I apologize that it took so long to have your car completed it appears as my service manager told me, somehow your order fell trough the cracks.
The issue with the battery disconnect that you wanted an electric and not a manual one was not relayed from the front office to the shop that is why we installed a manual disconnect.
We have told you however that we can take of this mistake at no charge should you decide to bring your vehicle back. Should you decide not to bring the vehicle back, please let me know and I will refund the full amount you have paid us for that part of the job.
Again I apologize for this screw up; we always are trying very hard to do things right but it obvious sometimes we fail and we promise you to do better next time.
Before making my first visit to Theo’s for some front brake work, I called to obtain an estimate. Based upon research of similar brake repairs, I agreed and took my car in for the repair, primarily due to the great customer reviews.
During the repair process additional parts were required, so my estimate (Parts & Labor) went from $300 to over $700. After some review of service items we could eliminate, the revised estimate came down to $600. I thought that the brake caliper prices were high, and asked if they could do any better on the part price. Well, they did not reduce the part prices, so at this point there is not much you can due but pay-up to get your car back.
After the repair, I called the same supplier Theo’s buys their parts from (NAPA County Auto Parts) and got my price for exactly the same item. My price was $45 (including lifetime warranty), they charged me $90. I am confident that Theo’s gets a lower cost than the retail price I pay, so that’s 100% profit on the parts alone.
Don’t get me wrong, Theo is entitled to mark-up part prices to help shop profitability, but something like 40% - 50 % is more realistic.
I called and asked to speak with Theo regarding part mark-up being a little high, and was told he wasn’t in the office, but Jim left a message for Theo to contact me. That was a week ago. I called again a week later, got the same answer from Jim, and still no call from Theo.
Guess their slogan is correct Theo’s is “not your average garage”. Customer Service usually begins with at least communicating with the customer.
Apologies for my late reply to your complaint, as I just returned from a two week trip.
Our standard shop policy is to a) give the customer an estimate prior work performed; in your case for front brake calipers, rotors and brake pads replacement, and b) we have a price guarantee trough RepairPal as outlined in our web-site. You were quoted and charged $599.00, and our estimate was not lower and or higher as our price guarantee as per RepairPals online estimator.
As far as your claim about our mark-up etc.., its irrelevant how much our parts cost us or how much you can buy them for yourself; we are a business and we provide a skilled service. Like any business there are costs - like paying $25 for a steak at a restaurant you can get for $7 at the market; you aren't just paying for the meat.
In regards to not “your average garage”, as per RepairPal nationwide statistics an average garage has 0% positive reviews, while Theo’s Automotive has 98% positive reviews out of nearly (400 from customer’s reviews). I'm sorry you felt the need to post an unfair review when you were quoted and charged fairly.
There always is and always will be price variations, however, you need to take in consideration the quality of the work and the type of parts used.
Our shop is fully ASE Certified, we offer two years 24K miles Nationwide Warranty and we don’t use cheap foreign imitation replacement parts.
When you visit our website there is tool that is recognized throughout the US, that you can verify the cost of any repair.
In your case you were quoted for a direct fit catalytic converter replacement including both gaskets for $890.12. If you had checked our price estimator on the website, you would have been quoted between $438.00 - $1,196.00.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.