2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1079 Reviews)
Latest review 11 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AW
Annie W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/03/2020
amazing fuel efficiency
I leased this car because it had better gas mileage than the Prius and was less expensive. But it did not have the solid feel of the Prius and I often felt like I was driving a flimsy car. I often did not feel entirely safe.
One comment I have for all hybrid manufacturers is that they should be tested for cold weather performance. The fuel efficiency dropped by almost 50% in Wisconsin winters.

Pros
fuel efficiency
compact design but not cramped
great visibility
hatchback style is very convenient

Cons
windshield defrost is ineffective
hatchback latch sometimes doesn't engage
car feels light and vulnerable; doesn't hug the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kim M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Great gas sipping and reliable vehicle
The trunk of the vehicle is huge, can put a lot of pieces of equipment without worry of running out of space. The handling is smooth and so is the capable engine. Never felt i needed to worry about getting out of the way of traffic behind me. The dash provides all the information I need. The sensore of the rear cross traffic detection work like a charm, especially when you back out of a parking space. I'm a very satisfied customer. Love my Ioniq !!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Samuel W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
2017 Ioniq Hybrid
It's a great little car, I love it. It's a very comfortable sport little car. It handles just like a sports car & gets great mileage. I just drove it 1000 miles on the highway around trip & averaged 54 mpg. I usually get about 50 mpg in the city. I really love the hatchback, it makes loading & unloading very easy. I hope they put one out soon in that new gold shade.

Pros
Overall a great little car.

Cons
Road noise is a big issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Paula M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
love my Ioniq
Everyone that rides in it love how comfortable. Have had no trouble with the vehicle. Have had for three years and been on long trips and still enjoy driving and not worry about looking for a gas station when I get to a half tank, still have plenty of miles to find a gas station, 600 +miles per tank just love it.

Pros
everything is great

Cons
cannot think of any very satisfied

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DIANNE A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
I LOVE MY IONIQ!
I never intended to look at or buy a Hyundai. I'm so glad I did! I truly love my Ioniq. I wanted a Hybrid and this car is the best hybrid on the market... design, feel, fuel economy, ride, comfort, storage, elegant yet affordable. I highly recommend you test drive one... that was my doorway into this new world of the Ioniq. Going forward, I hope Hyundai doesn't change it too much... it's so good as it is.

Pros
Fuel Economy. Comfort. Elegant yet sporty design. Affordable.

Cons
Head rest too big for my best fit. Not fully confident when driving in snow... vehicle is light.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELIZABETH S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2020
Love It
I purchased this for the fuel economy and it has exceeded my expectations. I also drive another vehicle and I complain that it doesn't get good mileage, however, it does get 38 MPG, but in relation to the Ioniq, it isn't good. The Ioniq has just over 60,000 miles on it, which is generally when I think about trading in a car. I have NO desire to trade this one in.

Pros
Great gas mileage.
For a small car, quite comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jeffrey S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/11/2020
Best car I've ever owned.
I had been driving Infinitis for quite some time for the AWD and the comfort. They didn't have any alternative energy vehicles when I was in the market for a new car. Took it for a test drive and though it's FWD not AWD--that was good enough for me. The Ioniq has lots of "Giddiyup" when you need it and it literally sips regular gas!

Pros
Great handling; Fun to drive;Terrific gas mileage and range between fill ups.

Cons
Trunk lid cannot be opened by the driver--push a button and let your colleague get their stuff at the airport--although the key fob has a button for opening the trunk lid, it doesn't work--that's not a capability on the 2017. I'd be surprised if they have not corrected this minor annoyance in the three years I've owned my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
EDWARD D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2020
MORE FUN PER GALLON
I originally purchased my Ioniq based on the manufacturers strong warranty. I had owned a 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid for 13 years and had 107,000 miles on itr. I keep careful track of mileage and had averaged 46.7 mpg over the 13 years. The though of buying a Prius (which screams "Political Correctness" was antithetical to my personality). I knew it was not time to go fully electric... plus the electricity generated is often less efficient and more costly than gasoline at $2/gal. The Ioniq has been a delightful surprise. I've averaged 59.7 mpg over the first two and a half years. About 65 mpg summers and 45 mpg winters in Maine. The Ioniq has been dependable, fun and good to drive. Transitioning from efficient driving with the Civic Hybrid to the Ioniq took several months to relearn the most effective way to charge and run off the battery system. I had to replace the Hybrid battery on the Honda Civic after 9.5 years and it was covered under the 10 years warranty. The Hybrid battery pack on the Ioniq is supposedly warranted for my lifetime ownership of the car. Since I plan on have this vehicle for 15-20 years this is an important factor. If you want efficiency and reliability in a good looking vehicle I highly recommend you consider the Ioniq.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DIANE B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
Great style and value
My wife has a 2015 Genesis and my Ionic has almost all the same features at half the cost. This Ionia is the best value out of the 20 or so new cars I have purchased in my lifetime. It has great style,performance,and gets great mileage.

Pros
Mileage and quality

Cons
Opening a locked door while wearing winter gloves is difficult

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RONALD S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2020
Best Gas Mileage Available
If you are looking for a vehicle that gets terrific mileage, a 650+ driving range, and great performance, look no further. There are a variety of hybrid vehicles on the market, but the Ionic has a 6 speed automatic, not a CVT. CVT's have questionable reliable and drive like golf carts. With the exception of Kia, all other hybrid vehicles are poorly styled. The Ionic combines attractive styling, durability, comfort, and terrific mileage.

Pros
Gas mileage, styling, transmission

Cons
poor rear window visibility during bad weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Billy C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2020
26899
After having many vehicles including a prius, this is still a prius killer without the bs cvt transmission. Oh I can work on this one! All of the maintenance I can do with most of the tools I have, from all fluid changes including transmission. Best mileage 79 mpg, worst(42) when dealership put in average synth engine oil and dumped my Amsoil in engine for my free oil change by mistake.

Pros
All positive.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Pauline W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2020
best new car i have ever purchased
we are very pleased with this car, it has excellent gas mileage. we are getting on average over 45 mpg. the car is so quiet that sometimes I forget to turn off the engine when exiting the car. I notice to that I have to be extra carefull at crosswalks because people often times to hear my car approaching. The car is very quiet when driving on the road as well. Over all I find the Ioniq to be one of our best purchases of a new car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Samuel T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/05/2020
2017 Ioniq
This is my 4th Hyundai, but my 2017 Ioniq has had a lot of issues with the check engine light. The car drives great and I love the mileage, but I would stay away from the 2017 Ioniq. It was the first year of that model and it is very buggy.

Pros
Gas mileage, handling, torque of the engine, satellite radio

Cons
Lots of recalls, check engine problems, fuel injection issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
WILLIAM A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
Best car I ever owned
Love it. It's fun stylish..drives great..amazing fuel economy.
Peoplecsyop he in marking lits to tell me how beautiful it is..
I will never buy a regular combustion engine car again.
The handling makes me feel very safe
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BRIAN P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/18/2020
I love my car!
From the very beginning I have loved driving my Ionic. It handles great and the gas mileage is incredible. As a music teacher I am impressed with how much storage and space there is for hauling instruments.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
TATIANA V.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2020
second time getting same car. love it! great on gas, easy to drive, looks good and very comfortable.
second time getting same car. love it! second time getting same car. love it! great on gas, easy to drive, looks good and very comfortable. my two teenage kids say they wnat the same car when they are able to drive in a year or two

Pros
second time getting same car. love it! great on gas, easy to drive, looks good and very comfortable.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeremie M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/29/2020
I’m pleased with mine.
Bought it sight unseen and have been happy with it for 50,000 miles. Pretty comfortable. And it goes pretty fast. Good enough pickup and I’ve gone 115 miles per hour. It handles and felt no different than at 70.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Samuel V.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2020
10
I love my new Hyundai ioniq, especially the approximate fifty miles per gallon when we take a trip down south to visit our grandsons. Also the hybrid is very responsive upon entering the interstates, we also enjoy all the safety features, and it's a sharp looking vehicle to boot.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2020
Favorite drive
Blue is my favorite color and I’m so glad the dashboard has blue color inside! Smooth ride, better sound of hearing music (for me but others I dunno) and CarPlay is perfect! I don’t have to hold my iPhone for mapquest!

Pros
CarPlay visibility, signal clearly if I forget to put on seatbelt, etc.

Cons
Front seat and back seat kind of limited for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RYAN G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2020
Great gas mileage with a generally comfortable ride.
Great gas mileage with a generally comfortable ride. There are some issued I have experienced with the handling between EV and combustion modes. It could be a more smooth hand off. The acceleration is good when in sport mode. I really like the adaptive cruise control feature.

Pros
Great gas mileage, great style, nice amount of cargo room, and comfortable to drive on long trips.

Cons
Engine handling between EV and combustion modes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1079 in total