2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(396 Reviews)
Latest review 14 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NT
NANCY T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/10/2021
Great car
Easy handling on the road. Provides great gas mileage as I get between 54 -59 mpg. Interior controls are easy to reach. The only drawback is the noise level in the back of the car, I believe it is from the exhaust area.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Loud interior noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MIGUEL R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2021
I love it
I love the blue color I selected, the gas mileage is very good, and being this is the first hatchback I have owned, I like the look. Great job Hyundai making durable and reliable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Fuel economy. Warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROBERTO R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2021
First Electric Vehicle
So far so good, other than the poor paint quality of the rear hatch. This is also an issue with my daughter's Hyundai that I purchased for her brand new and signs of wear appeared after the first year.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2021
Almost a "5".
The good first, Lifetime warranty on the lithium batteries is super with this being a 2019 hybrid ! Gas mileage is good, some trips were 63 mpg. The bad, the seats were hard and uncomfortable, we solved this by buying some memory foam cushions. Also the tires were 15 inch and should have been at least 17 inch. ( A bigger tire will take potholes better )! And it has hubcaps instead of solid rims. Good news though from 2020 on they put 17 inch tires on, but they took away the lifetime warranty on the batteries!

Pros
1. Lifetime warranty on the lithium batteries for 2019.
2. Good gas mileage, some trips were 63 mpg.

Cons
1. Hard seats, uncomfortable.
2. Small tires, 15 inch, with hubcaps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
Julie E.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/15/2021
Great car
The ONLY thing I find unsatisfactory in my 2019 Hybrid Ionic is I cannot pop the trunk from inside the vehicle. And the trunk only locks when my key is out of range of the vehicle. Hyundai should rethink this feature.

Pros
Great mileage

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jose J.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/10/2021
Awesome Mileage!!!!!!
This is a great vehicle for my commute which i drive 100-miles round trip and a comfortable ride. nice sound system. very economical. The federal, state, county, city and power company incentives were great.

Pros
fuel economy
comfortable ride
lifetime hybrid battery warranty

Cons
slow acceleration
short electric only range

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
George H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2021
Great car!
I just took a business trip to N C putting on 1700 miles. The Ioniq as always was trouble free. A very comfortable car, easy to drive and gets exceptional gas mileage! I checked the gas mileage three times, 58 twice and 60.

Pros
Great car!!

Cons
The rear window is to small!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Scott J.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2021
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
We have been ABSOLUTELY DELIGHTED with our Ioniq, plug-in hybrid. Its multiple safety features, INCREDIBLE mileage (over 60 mpg on long trips; about 130 mpg-equivalent for driving around town as we plug it into our regular 110 volt several nights each week—we typically go 600-800 miles on each 10 gallon tank of gas), electronics, sound system, integration with phone, retractable sunroof, handling, comfortable interior and stylish exterior, low maintenance costs, and well as large rear hatchback storage area are all pluses. We really have not found anything about the car that we don’t like.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
HOPE C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/31/2021
Fabulous car/less expensive than a Prius!
Sleek, smooth, environmentally efficient, comfortable and great gas mileage. The pick up is terrific and great reliability! While researching for a replacement for the Prius V, this was the car I chose for its roominess, comfort, plug-in capabilities and teh company's environmental impact commitment!

Pros
Environmentally low impact and great ride. Reliable, Quiet, smooth, great pick up and comfortable!

Cons
Like most electric/ hybrid cars, hard to see out the rear view window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SONYA G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/26/2021
Good Car
Nice car for the money. Good gas mileage for a hybrid, could be better. Does not get the mileage they said it would. Comfortable to drive even long distance for a smaller vehicle. Good value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Frederick B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/24/2021
Great mpg with a few small drawbacks
Tons of space, great mileage. Has been reliable. Road noise is a little on the high side, but otherwise it's a great little car. Looks much better than the Prius (IMO). No issues over 50k+ miles to date.

Pros
Great MPG
Lots of nice features/connectivity
Tons of space

Cons
Noisy on the highway and around town
Pretty low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SIK C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/22/2021
Ioniq 1 year review
Great commuter car bases and the hybrid gas mileage. The control layout is very straightforward. Storage space is great especially if you fold the 2nd road seat. Driving visibility is great.

For highway driving the exterior wind noise does come into play.

Overall a great commuter car.

Pros
Fuel economy

Cons
Cheap interior material

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Wesley S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2021
Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Blue
What a great car! To be honest, I was hoping to get an electric vehicle, but with an apartment, this wasn’t practical. After much research, the Ioniq stood out as a great hybrid alternative. Due to the pandemic, I haven’t driven it much, but it is a joy to drive. It packs more start-up punch when you need it pulling out into traffic than I’d expected. It is noisy on the highway (see cons), but other than that, I am very happy with it. Knowing what I know now, I would be happy buying it again.

Pros
Great gas mileage
Love the mpg reading
Love the scarlet red
Plenty of room in the back with the fold-down rear seats

Cons
Noisy on the highway. I had read this was due to less insulation to improve fuel efficiency. Due to the noise, I seldom listen to music on the highway, as I would have to turn it up higher than I am comfortable with.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
David L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2021
Love This Car!!
I'm so glad I bought this car. I live in a hilly small city and still get about 57 - 58 miles to the gallon. In Florida, where the terrain is flat, I average about 62 miles to the gallon. The Ioniq hugs the road, steers easily, has a fairly short turning radius, and has yet to offer me any trouble. Good ride, economical: can't be beat!

Pros
Solidly built, very economical, smooth ride, good brakes, and I love the sensors that keep me from making a mistake, like moving into a blind spot or backing into a vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Steven B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2021
A great car
I had another hybrid before and this car is so much better looking and stylish. My wife was not hooked on it until she took it out of town. Wow! This car is fun to drive, comfortable, performs well, has great features and super great on gas.

Pros
All good

Cons
I cannot open the trunk automatically

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VE
VIRGIL E.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2021
Most reliable vehical ever and 60MPG to boot
This vehical is what you need if you have a long commute or just enjoy spending less on gas total. This is the most reliable car I have ever had. Put over 90K miles in 2 years of owning it and have only ever needed to have oil changes, tire rotations, new set of tires, and ECU adjustments. No engine, transmission, steering issues.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Thomas L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2021
My Ionic is fun to drive and very economical
The handling of my Ionic is great on cornering and long distance driving. We now take the Ionic on trips instead of our Camery. But why not at 55 miles to the gallon in town and 65 miles on the interstate average. Our best was a trip to Maryland to a fully loaded and 70 MPG. I have received several good comment on the sporty design, as well as interior roominess.

Pros
MPG is great. I've driven an electric vehicle, but there are more gas stations than charging stations. So far gas is quicker flowing that charging stations.

Cons
Since it is only a four cylinder gas engine it will not jump off the line, but slow and steady wins the MPG race.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
Kjell O.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/27/2021
Great Car!
I am in a conferrable with the driving position it gives me, if feel very safe and I like the smoothness of the driving experience. The cargo space is great and, also, in addition to the looks, it also provides car great mileage between refills.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SYEVEN C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2021
Great car, great fuel economy, poor dealership for maintenance.
How else can I say This? I love the vehicle but I hate the frustration of having it serviced regularly. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Pros
miles per gallon of gas

Cons
maintenance difficulties

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ALAN C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2021
Very satisfied with my hybrid!
The fuel economy is great (50-52 mpg in summer, 47-49 mpg in the winter) even without trying to be energy conscious. I actually seem to get better mileage in the city. If I pay attention, I can almost drive through out the city in the battery alone. Not going to win many races, but has enough acceleration to make you feel safe on the merge or entering traffic. The split rear window takes some getting used to, but it quickly becomes a non-issue. The only ‘issue’ I still have (had the car for 2 years, 29k miles) is when I am at the front of the line at a red light, and the engine turns off, and I still say to myself “I really this car start when the light turns green”, and it has never let me down. I preferred the hybrid of the electric because I didn’t want to worry of plugging it in somewhere.

Pros
- Fuel economy
- reasonably comfortable
- doesn’t really look like a hybrid/electric

Cons
- Wheel covers aren’t the most appealing
- in high winds, being light doesn’t help (totally offset by the increased gas mileage)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 396 in total