2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(154 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AA
Adolfo A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/24/2019
I bought a brand new lemon!
Completely unsatisfied with the 2019 ionia Limited. Feels more like a Lemon than a brand new car.

Summary: if you are trying to avoid headaches and frustration, buy a prius.

I'll definitely spread the word to my fellow Veteran friends who are also interested in purchasing a Hybrid...Don't but the Ioniq.

Pros
Great looking car with nice features.

Cons
My Brand New Ioniq Limited is a lemon! I've had it for a month and I am experiencing engine issues. First it was a screeching noise (loose engine part), now, the gas engine is kicking in almost immediately when I begin driving. It's currently at the service department, hopefully they will resolve the issue(s).

In addition, I drive very slow, coasting when I can, to maximize the mpg, but I'm still around 45mpg.

If I had to do it again, I would have bought a Prius. :(

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
john b.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2019
very unreliable
Have had 3 major malfunctions in first months of owning a brand new 2019 hyundai ioniq hybrid. First, unexplained engine warning lights, second unexplained flat tire, third defective water pump leaving me stranded 3 hours from home. It took Baldwin, Missouri dealership 2 days to look at car then 7 days to fix it. The replacement parts were not even available in United States. Auffenberg Hyundai in Cape Girardeau, Missouri, where I purchased the vehicle said they would have car delievered to my home when it finally got repaired. They reneged on this, thus I had to make special arrangements driving 6 hours to pick the vehicle up. I'm very dissatisfied.

Pros
great gas mileage

Cons
not reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MICKAEL P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/09/2019
I had high hopes in the Ioniq Sel
It's a let down when you spend that much on a new car that has only 648 miles on it and the gas mileage is only 24 mpg not even half they stated. I paid cash 100 percent. My first new car. It get less mpg than $80.00 Suzuki esteem that gets32 mpg

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jonathan C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
Doesn't feel sturdy
Doesn't feel sturdy. Battery does Not seem to be working properly. Fuel economy lower-than-expected. Financing experience less than expected. Customer service less than expected. Would probably not recommend
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mara B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/06/2019
Problems right from the start
I love my brand new car. It gives me great miles and it’s great looking in my eyes. However I have had 2 major problems in the 2 months I’ve own the car. First, 2 days after getting my car the engine light and turn off engine sign came out while I was going 70mph in the highway. Super scary. Had to tow the car. It turn up it was nothing a “glitch “. The 2 time was early of 2 months after purchasing the vehicle. Couldn’t open the doors because the electric key wouldn’t work. Long story short the battery was dead. Had to tow it again because I didn’t know how to open door (no one explained???). So.... crossing my fingers nothing else happens because I’m not very confident about this car. Hope it turns out well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SUSAN D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/14/2019
Electric Battery Too Small To Be of Use
When the dealer said that the electric battery would go 29 miles, I assumed they meant if you used ONLY the battery it would go 29 miles. But they meant in the combined Hybrid and Electric Vehicle (HEV) mode! What good is that? The battery takes 2.5 hours to charge at a pay station or 11 hours at home - and a full charge buys you 29 miles!! NO THANKS! Around town it's okay, but I bought this car to take a trip around the country - so the battery does me no good at all. Aside from that, the car seems okay. The bumpers are 1/4" plastic and will break off if used. There's no spare tire, just a "repair kit".

Pros
Good stying
Apple Play
Nice design
Decent mileage in Hybrid mode

Cons
Battery too small and slow charging
Only goes 29 miles in HEV mode
Bumpers are 1/4" plastic
No spare tire - just a "repair kit"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marr R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/27/2019
Ioniq Limited only gets 46 mpg
Love my 2019 inoniq limited except for one thing, gas mileage. After doing some post purchase research you prob won’t get 55mpg in the linited. Most users average 43-47mpg. My 2018 SEL was a solid 55 days overv50 deg and still over 50 on days around 40. The linited is 83 lbs heavier and uses a 17” tire. Had they used the 15” wheel are tire combo off the SEL I think a solid 50 would be possible. I’m considering now. Unless your in solid warmer than 70 deg temps I don’t see my limited getting my pre ious 55mpg my SEL got. That being said, I feel a bit duped by hyundai on the gas mileage and looking at buying the 15” sel wheel package. Interesubg note, the 2019 prius that come with sunroofs also are made to come with 15” tires and wheels from their 17” package so I think due extra weight on sunroof package to maintain 50/54 mpg. Other than that the limited ultimate package is a beautifully equipped car. Love the updated stereo, safety features, bluelink, toms of safety features. The bigger plug in hybrid electric motor wouid prin help too as long g as you can live with 45 mpg you will be happy. I drove a 2008 prius pkg 6 for 10 years very happily mileage 46/48 mpg ironically.

Pros
On limited ultimate Infinty stereo tons of legit safety features, bluelink for remote start, mem seats sunroof , Apple car play and android auto, passenger power outlet, beautiful logical interior, great leather, sport mode works really well, nice for when need the extra power. iPad holder in console

Cons
On limited totally disappointing gas Mileage 43-48 mpg, no 15 “ alloy wheel tire option with limited available to maintain 55 mpg. Cheap plastics on door bottoms, no HUD avail on limited like the prius, no auto sensing rain wipers, goes to headlights from DRL too soon in daylight, no LED headlights till 2020. No way to go to dedicated EV mode in hydrid. Motor seems underpowered for limited ultimate package extra weight, a 1.8 L motor wouid be welcome. No glove box light, no split glovebox no rear usb outlets option, on Canadian models offer rear heated seats in North America

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Alan D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2019
2019 ioniq blue.
We bought the ioniq blue because we wanted the gas mileage for a cheaper car. The pros cheap maintenance,rides nice, even the low model has touchscreen and nice interior. In summer I get 57-60 miles per gallon (more then advertised by 2-5 mpg more) intown and 45-50 highway (lower then the 55 mpg they said) after break in. Does well in the snow. Cons: seat bottom is not comfortable for long driving also seat doesn’t “hug you” no support,back window has a bar in the middle that disrupts your view backing up or seeing in rearview. Low mpgs when it’s winter (city 50/highway 40) some interior trim looks cheap even on the higher models. A lot of wind noise. Engine is rough when running.

Pros
The pros cheap maintenance,rides nice, even the low model has touchscreen and nice interior. In summer I get 57-60 miles per gallon (more then advertised by 2-5 mpg more) intown and 45-50 highway (lower then the 55 mpg they said) after break in. Does well in the snow.

Cons
Cons: seat bottom is not comfortable for long driving also seat doesn’t “hug you” no support,back window has a bar in the middle that disrupts your view backing up or seeing in rearview. Low mpgs when it’s winter (city 50/highway 40) some interior trim looks cheap even on the higher models. A lot of wind noise. Engine is rough when running.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jody M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/14/2019
Great midsize car with great gas mileage
Comfortable, sporty, plenty of leg room in both front and back. It’s a little noisy inside when on the freeway. 55-59 miles per gallon. Love the technology. Don’t like the hatch design takes getting use to.

Pros
Great gas mileage, good amount of leg room, comfortable, technology is good, love the style, hatch back has plenty of room. Paint job seems like an up grade from my previous hybrid sonata.

Cons
Noisy when on the freeway, the motor noticeably serges when picking up speed on the freeway. Hard to get use to the hatchback when looking thru the review mirror. Huge blind spots but makes up for it with the passing safety feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mackenzie F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/17/2019
Good value for the money
As far as value goes this car can't be beat it looks good has many options I have the SEL model it's great but things I dislike are the suspension is pretty rough to me and the regenerative braking isn't the best I find that the hybrid battery depletes pretty quick I'm only able to average about 46 to 47 mpg city driving I had a 2017 Prius which was really good on gas maybe about 54mpg and better suspension but it didn't have android auto or heated seats overall this Ioniq feels more like a sports car it has good acceleration in sport mode it's more fun to drive but the suspension bothers me a bit

Pros
Acceleration, exterior styling, standard features,price point

Cons
Rough suspension, hybrid gauge layout not as great as prius,MPG vs Prius isn't the best

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KENNETH L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
Great car...with a squeak
Love the car and the fuel economy. Great styling and convenience options. However, there’s a squeak coming from the rear cargo area that the dealership can’t figure out after three trips. So, until they can figure it out, I’m keeping the rating at four stars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CHRISTOPHER N.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Amazing car!
This car is GREAT! The EPA estimates are a bit of a stretch but I still average 52-54 mpg in the Ioniq Blue. Minor hail storm (smaller than dime size), did $3,000 of damage after the first week of ownership. Roof integrity seems a bit week as none of my other cars were damaged.

Pros
Good mpg
Plenty of features for the base model (I was surprised as I also have a Ford Explorer Limited)

Cons
Roof integrity
Slightly lower than EPA estimated mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/22/2019
great car for gas milage, space, and price
nice car for the price, space inside, ride, and gas mileage. The features and styling are very good. very good handling, and safety features. car handles well in winds, rain/wet, heat, and dry driving events

Pros
gas milage

Cons
inside noise level at higher speeds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Madison H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Hyundai Ioniq is a serious Hybrid competetor
The Ioniq has more space then needed. The hatchback makes it easy to carry my boyfriends bicycle, my luggage, or groceries. I have not had an issue with anything. The interior features are nice and the display screen is easy to use.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
STEVEN C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
2019 Ioniq Hybrid
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
PETER T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
great overall experience with outstanding gas mileage
We test drove a number of new cars when it came time to trade in our 2010 Audi A3. We loved the Audi, but it had never been reliable, and it was getting worse. We wanted something we could count on for less than $26,000, with some style, good mileage, and good handling. I'm a car guy, and I do environmental work, so we wanted to avoid the unnecessary bulk, poor mileage and emissions inherent to SUV design. We fell in love with the new Mazda3, really liked the Corolla GT and even flirted with the Golf (even as I heard my mechanic shouting in my ear, "no more German cars!"). We went to the Hyundai dealer to test drive the Elantra GT, the nearest thing we could find, style wise, to our Audi. While there we noticed the sticker in the Ioniq's window advertising 56 mpg. I've always thought hybrids were for people who don't like cars - weird looking, cheap and tinny feeling, with agricultural-sounding motors straining to accelerate through annoying CVT transmissions. The salesman urged us to give it a try; "it'll surprise you. Trust me." We did, and it did. It handled well, moved through the turns with some gusto, felt pretty solid, and had a real transmission. It was nicely outfitted (we drove the Limited version) and comfortable. So that's what we got, and we really like it. Like other people who've reported in, our mileage is way better than what we were used to, but usually well below the advertised number. The only flaw is that the liftgate rattles against its latch on certain types of broken pavement (about the only kind of pavement we get here in the Bay Area). It's annoying in a brand new car, and I'm hoping the dealer can fix the problem. Overall we like the car a lot, and would recommend it to friends.

Pros
gas mileage, features, comfort, smooth ride, good handling, acceleration in sport mode, reasonable styling, passenger and luggage room

Cons
gas mileage doesn't match expectations, liftgate latch rattles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SEAN L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
2019 Hyundai Ioniq
I was looking to switch from a performance sports car to something more utilitarian and eco-friendly. I researched all the hybrid options out there. I feel with the Ioniq I got the most for my money. It has a clean interior, supports both apple and google apps, lots of safety features, and gets amazing gas mileage. However, I feel like the obtaining that excellent MPG is a chore. I find it difficult to anticipate when the vehicle will use EV mode compared to my expectations such as when starting up from a stop-light or cruising at desired speed.

Pros
- Amazing MPG if you can modify your driving style
- Tons of safety features
- Comfortable
- High value

Cons
- Obtaining high MPG is an effort
- EV mode is unpredictable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KIRK K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2019
2019 Hyudai Ioniq Review
I have had the car for about a month. I like how it looks and drives. It has very good gas mileage. The price beat the Toyota Prius. The only reason I have not given it a 5 out of 5 is that I haven't put enough miles on it to do that. If I put 100k miles on it and I do not have any major issues, I will up this to a 5 out of 5. If I have issues, it could lower. Right now, it is 4 out of 5

Pros
Price, style and MPG

Cons
No Spare Tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jim S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2019
Great car with great gas mileage
My only negatives would be that the car is a bit noisey. And the driver's seat is a bit hard on extended trips for a big guy. That said, I am a big guy and there is PLENTY OF ROOM in the seats for me (6'3", 325 lbs). Amazing MPG with this car. If you drive sensibly 60 MPG is possible.

Pros
Sleek little sportscar look, without the sportscar costs!

Cons
Noisey cabin, seats a bit hard. Hyundai's main Customer Service can be difficult to contact and to get satisfaction. The dealer Fortunately has been great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HK
HARRY K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/01/2019
2019 Ioniq Plug-in Hybrid
I was looking forward to purchasing the Ioniq after an intensive search of other vehicles. I was impressed with the plug-in feature, but was disappointed in the amount of miles that the electric charge gives (27 miles). To me, that is a very low number.

Pros
While in the hybrid mode, you get approximately 55 miles per gallon.

Cons
The electric charge will only take you 27 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 154 in total