Style image original

2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5rating 4.59

66 Reviews

Latest review 11 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 08/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"IONIQ"

Incredible, awesome car

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/03/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love this car"

Comfort. Style. Gadgets. Looks. Perfect.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/03/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"ioniq"

the car had a major failure in 4 days it's at the dealership where purchased

Pros
looks good

Cons
major failure after 4 days

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/02/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Doesn't feel like a hybrid"

We drive country, highway, and city daily for a total of about 52 miles. We only need to get gas every two weeks and overall we've gotten 53 mpg. The second time we got gas was over 1100 miles. This hybrid drives nicer than my mother's 2009 Chevy Cobalt and 99% of the driving feels like a normal car.

Pros
Drives like a normal car but gets 53+ mpg.

Cons
Replacement parts will be expensive because everything is specially designed to be light and aerodynamic. I was told the rim of the tire alone was over $600 because it was aluminum. It doesn't come with a spare or replacement tire, it comes with an inflator kit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very satisfied"

I am really enjoying all aspects of this vehiicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Amazingly Efficient and nice looking hatchback."

My wife saw this car at the dealership and instantly fell in love with it. We never even heard of this vehicle as it came just out before we purchased it. Gas mileage is simple amazing. On the highway using the gas engine, it gets 63MPG average! When driving a mix of highway, backroads on my commute, I can get as high at 76.6MPG on a 31mile one-way trip. Since owning the car, ever full gas tank has netted us over 63MPG total average. The car looks great in and out. Visibility is good and the backup camera is high resolution and bright. When merging on the high way from stop sign, the car should be put into 'Sport' Mode and it is very quick. Accelerates to 60+ in no time at all. Much better than the Volvo S60 Turbo (Huge turbo-lag) we were going to buy before test driving the Ioniq. In sport mode, the car averages about 48MPG but is much more responsive and torqey. Like driving a small sports hatchback. The only grip I have is the seats. The material is to be expected on a 'cheap car', but the foam is very hard. Pretty uncomfortable on longer trips. I hope it breaks-in and gets softer over time, but the only option is to buy the Limited Ioniq model for almost $10K more. (Not worth it IMO). If you drive a lot , this car can save you a lot of $$ and still be a nice and fun car.

Pros
Mileage Efficiency Looks Price Interior space

Cons
Hard Seats No safety features (Automatic braking/Blind spot/Lane Departure warning/Adaptive Cruise control)unless you step up to the more expensive trims. Rear window 'wing' sometimes in the way when looking through the rearview mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/31/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2017 Hyundai Ioniq SEL"

It's not as boring to drive as a Prius.

Pros
Gas mileage Better looking than a Prius

Cons
Road noise Stereo sound is a little weak

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/31/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Gas mileage"

Gas mileage

Pros
Ride nice

Cons
MPG is not up to what it said.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Beautiful"

The car is really fun to drive in both eco and sport modes. the overall appearence is awsome.

Pros
Looks are awesome and a lot of fun to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best New Hybrid"

You may have trouble finding one depending on where you live in the U.S., but it's worth the wait! Best MPG of any hybrid I tested out there. And reasonably priced for all the great features you get. First time I bought a new car in a long time, and not disappointed.

Pros
Bought top trim level, Limited with Ultimate package...only way to go. Fantastic audio system on the Limited/ultimate. Great MPG as advertised. So many great navigation and media features it's hard to use them all! Looks sporty, plenty of room.

Cons
Limited availability. Was hard to find one. Head rests tilt forward too much putting neck in awkward position. Acceleration response could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Ioniq"

Excellent mpg of 55 Rides nice
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Hyundai Ioniq SEL hybrid 2017"

Overall, very positive. I enjoy the vehicle. The primary issues I've noticed are twofold: 1) The vehicle pulls slightly to the right when the steering wheel is in the 12 o'clock position; and 2) The automatic transmission seems to have delayed responses when shifting up into the next gear during normal city driving (25 mph to 60 mph). It feels like it lingers in the lower gear for too long before it shifts up to drop the RPM's.

Pros
Overall, very nice car.

Cons
The primary issues I've noticed are twofold: 1) The vehicle pulls slightly to the right when the steering wheel is in the 12 o'clock position; and 2) The automatic transmission seems to have delayed responses when shifting up into the next gear during normal city driving (25 mph to 60 mph). It feels like it lingers in the lower gear for too long before it shifts up to drop the RPM's.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/29/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love My 2017 Hyundai Ionig"

It is sporty and has great gas mileage. I had a Toyota Prius and love this so much better. It has all the extras that are nice. Don't waste your time; go drive one today! The warranty is is the best on the market.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/28/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Wonderful overall EXCEPT middle console armrest"

Love it in every way except; 1) lack of tint on very wide window spaces = HOT in Southern California summer time. 2) Middle console armrest is made for tall, long legged people. It needs to be about 6 inches higher and 6" longer for us shorter people. 3) Beverage holder should not be behind the gear shift, but in front of it - closer to the dashboard like most cars have it.

Pros
Unbeatable gas mileage, literally unbeatable. Smooth ride. Great handling.

Cons
Middle console armrest is too low and too short. Beverage holder design needs to be re-done.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/28/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Carialee"

The best car I have ever owned. Super gas milage, easy to drive, quite on the road, confortable and great safety features .

Pros
Everything good so far.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/28/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Design !"

Very Satisfied !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/28/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"This is AMAZING"

I went to Hyundai anticipating purchasing a Santa Fe but test drive the Ioniq on a whim and ended up with it instead. It drives well, has amazing mileage, and looks nice.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/27/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car!"

This car is wonderful. I love driving it and the features are fun and convenient.

Pros
This car is fun to drive and nice to look at in the driveway. The features are top notch even if you don't get the top tier model.

Cons
No cons so far!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyundai Ioniq 2017"

Great car except for the wheels.

Pros
Great MPG

Cons
Lousy wheels

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2017 Ioniq hybrid."

Great fuel economy, looking forward planning a long trip vacation.

Pros
Excellent fuel economy almost perfectly matched to the advertised MPG.

Cons
Doesn't offer navigation addition to the Blue package. I had to buy an add on package with a bit of a difficult placement problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 66 in total