2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1009 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GA
GARY A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Great Styling, excellent value
Best purchase ever. Great gas mileage, excellent acceleration, great styling. Car is actually fun to drive. I look forward to driving my car every morning and evening. The acceleration is the envy of Toyota Prius everywhere.

Pros
Everything is awesome

Cons
Excessive road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
ERNEST W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/04/2019
Ioniq 2017
We are generally very pleased with the car. Have had some difficulties especially thinking we have turned off the car and the ignition button has not worked. ALso, difficulty pairing up the navigation system and the phone system with our car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Nancy S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Review of Hyundai Ionic
I love my Ionic Hybrid. It is so smooth to drive and the get up and go of the engine gives me a feeling of driving a sports car.
I have let others drive my car and they can’t believe it is a Hybrid that gives me 54 to 56 mpg. They expect it to be slow and sluggish but find out very quickly that it has all the power they would expect in a larger car or a sports car.
I am very disappointed that Hyundai isn’t showing them in their commercials. I have people asking me all the time if Hyundai is no longer producing the Ionic as they never hear about it except from me. My dealer didn’t even have one on his lot the other day when I had mine in for an oil change. The manager said he couldn’t get one as they are not producing enough of them. I see this as a real flaw in judgement by Hyundai executives!!!
I was visited today by someone driving a Toyota Hybrid and they said they only get about 34 mpg with their car. They were shocked to hear that I get such good gas mileage as I have a heavy foot!!

Pros
Great gas mileage; great design of car; comfortable driving and sitting; great features; plenty of leg room in the backseat; easy to pack and unpack with the hatchback that doesn’t look like a hatchback.

Cons
None that I have found so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
Faith T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Love my Ioniq is Blue!
It delivers: great gas mileage, ease of exit-entry, great pickup when needed, hatchback perfect for my needs loading- unloading, the spit back seats for hauling. A smooth and quit ride. Get many compliments and questions which I am happy to extol it’s features.

Pros
All of the above plus love the Hatchback design with ability to split back seats when needed or lay them both flat.

Cons
There are none for me! The lease is too expensive for my budget but I’m working on purchasing it when my lease is up if I can afford it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FC
Felipe C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/02/2019
Is a step down in driving quality
1- Mileage is not that good as advertised. Commuting to work, in an area with traffic lights and stop signs at almost every intersection, I'm getting about 42 MPG
2- When slow starting to stay at low speeds the switching from gas to electric drive can produce very rough shifting (the whole car shakes)
3- Driver seat in uncomfortable
4- Car is noisy at highway speeds
5- Transmission shifting through low gears is rough
6- Highway mileage could be very good (even more than the advertised 59 MPG) as long as you maintain average speed below 60 MPH. At higher speeds the mileage deteriorates rapidly

Pros
1- At highway speeds switching between gas and electric driving is flawless, but city driving is something else
2- A/C does the work even in SW Florida summer
3- All instruments and switches are well located

Cons
1- In town mileage is not that good
2- Transmission could be very rough at low starting
3- Driver's seat is uncomfortable
4- Noisy at highway speeds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MI
MICHAEL I.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/29/2019
Great Gas Mileage
The Ioniq is really a great car for fuel efficiency. I get over 50 mpg just pack and forth to work here in Pittsburgh and there are a lot of hills. I only have to get gas once a month. Saves a lot of money. Longer trips to the beach I get well over 55 to 62 mpg. The interior if comfy and well enough but not fancy. The exterior is just fine for a car that blends in with everyone else. Nothing too much stands out from the crowd.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
Meryl N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
Love it!
My Hyundai Ioniq averages 62.5 mpg in the summer in highway or city driving, a bit less in winter. It's comfortable and attractive. I like its safety features, like back-up camera and its standard gear shift. It's cool that if the small battery powering the ignition dies, like in very frigid weather, it can get a jump from the big battery in back with the push of a button on the dash.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Paul D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2019
Outstanding
The Ioniq is a fantastic vehicle. I have over 107,000 miles on it in 20 months and all I have had done is oil changes and 1 set of tires! Fuel efficiency is superb. Summer time I get 56 to 63 mpg and winter 52 to 58mpg. I would buy another one in a heartbeat!

Pros
Mileage and reliability

Cons
Stronger headlights and needs a little more sporty look.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2019
My favorite!
When first introduced to blue Ioniq, I was not impressed but looked inside, studied on what Ioniq can do and test drove the car. I fell in love and took it home. Very reliable, good horsepower, saves gas and comfortable to drive! My husband did t like hybrid but when he drove my car, he was genuinely impressed and realized how much hyundai had improved over the years! Love my blue Ioniq!!!!!

Pros
Rear camera, comfortable front seats, large space trunk and folded down back seats

Cons
Small backseat, panels in the corner of our windowsheild too thick to see when turning right or left

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Richard K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2019
Hyundai Ioniq performance
Best car I ever owned and I get over 60 MPG! No one can beat that. I don't know why Hyundai doesn't put that engine/Battery drive system in every car. And I get so many compliments on its color and looks. I've talked three people into buying a Hyundai. Having gotten two finders fee also. After the Korean conflict in 1955 Korea was flattened.
I believe they introduced their first car into the US in 1995? Anyway thats just 40 years and producing quality autos. Amazing!!! R Kemp

Pros
I has my approval!!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Shirley P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Love it!
On my way to replace my 2012 Toyota Prius with a newer model Prius, I pasted Dick Smith Hyndai. Drove through and spotted the Hyndai Ioniq. Bought it. Best car buying decision I’ve ever made. Had it for two years and love it. Average 55 mpg!!!

Pros
Mileage, features, service.

Cons
Doesn’t handle as well as Prius in curves.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OK
Otto K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Ioniq
This is a great vehicle that has the best gas mileage and is a pleasant looking vehicle, much nicer than the other fuel saving vehicles on the market. My vehicle just passed 42,000 miles, no issues and still on origin set of tires. Every thing on this vehicle is cost saving.

Pros
Gas mileage, nice looking vehicle, interior controls easy for driver to operate, nice looking vehicle both interior and exterior.

Cons
This is not a sport vehicle but great gas mileage, current obtaining 62 mpg driving the speed limits

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Celena G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Wanted to hate it!
I had initially gone to test drive the car to get the commercials out of my head (good job marketing). I tried to find ANYTHING and EVERYTHING to hate this car. I. BOUGHT. IT. THAT. DAY!!!

I love all the technology, and the gas mileage obviously. I was looking for power...and boy did you deliver. The heart of a diesel truck and agility of a motorcycle. It's roomy and stylish.
My only complaints are design flaws.
1. The cabin pressure is not optimal to have only 1 windows open, including the sun roof. Very hard on the ears.
2. The vents seem to let in air even when fan is off, and yet the cabin pressure is an issue???? Really only a problem for contact wearers.
3. THE BAR ACROSS THE REAR WINDOW!! That is the most annoying thing on Earth.
Aside from those 3 things...this is by far the most well designed, mechanically sound, not just another hybrid, car EVER!!! KUDOS KIDS!!!!

Pros
Milage for sure. Excellent tech with Android auto and blind side notice. Back up camera is just the best thing EVER!!! Drives smooth as a luxury car. Sound system not to shabby.

Cons
Bar across rear window. Cabin pressure when one or 2 windows open including only the sun roof. Air vents never fully off. *Doors are heavy and causes slamming....which has now caused the speakers to be loose.
*(This one is very minor, just FYI)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Allen K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2019
My 2017 Hyundai ioniq sel
A no noncense vehicle made to travel in compfort getting great gas mileage
In the 2 years I've owned it i have never had a single problem
I had a factory recall around a year ago for a wiring harness issue but my vehicle wasn't affected

Pros
Great gas mileage 60 mph
Backup camera
Cross traffic warning
Heated seats & mirrors

Cons
none that I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LO
Living O.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/05/2019
all is well !
Well satisfied 2oo times your questions R/E summary takes to long to fill out . when one say's he is satisfied enough said if you want an expanded summary offer a free oil change . No disrespect intended to webb just to many questions seems like being asked the same question in more than one wY....

Pros
mileage hard to beat this is why I purchased this vehicle that and extended warranty as compared to prius

Cons
to little inside width , console needs work to many items fall on the side of the console hard to retrieve . don't need all the radio options a.m. f.m. all thats needed for our use. Purchased this ioniq for mileage and warranty. Have what we asked for !!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
KENNETH F.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
2017 Ioniq
I love my 2017 Hyundai Ioniq. Fuel mileage is outstanding and even though it’s a hybrid, I find it to be a very fun car to drive. It’s hard to believe that I was able to find a car of this quality and comfort for such a reasonable price.

Pros
Fuel mileage

Cons
Can’t think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Karen A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
This is the best car I have owned!
My husband and I purchased two Hyundai Ioniqs on the same day and we have had our vehicles now for two years. We both love our cars just as much today as we did when we purchased them! The day my husband went to purchase his I went with him with no intentions of buying a new car. After the test drive I fell in love with this car so much I had to have one too! I have not been disappointed!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JANICE C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
Money saver
It has far exceeded out expectations for fuel consumption. Sometimes we can get 59 miles per gallon. We had a gas gussler. Sometimes filling up 2x a week. We now fill up about every 2 weeks. Sometimes we can stretch it to every 3 weeks. We love it. Several people have stopped us to ask about the car and it’s performance.

Pros
Fantastic gas mileage. Easy to park.

Cons
We don’t have any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JESSICA O.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Better than a Civic
This vehicle is excellent. I needed a fuel efficient car at a reasonable price, and it delivered. I was considering the civic, but the price was too steep and I didn't like the look of them. This was a perfect alternative that is not advertised enough. The only problem I have experienced was sometimes when I started the vehicle, the lights would turn on but the engine wouldn't; apparently there was a recall on a part that corrected it, and I haven't had a problem since. I like the look of it, ride, comfortable interior, and updated electronic features such as Bluetooth and media USB ports. The best part is the true averaged gas mileage of 59mpg. If you're hesitating, I strongly suggest testing one out for yourself.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Great car
This is a very good car, why don't you advertise it? dlpkdgfdgofjgdsifhsadhawdiasdosaemkfdosdfjdiofhrgrrtgurhgresifaewsodwjdwajdofjsojrogrjtgrotjreotperjotperjtoprjtgortgpojrotgrejotretorjorptyrtoprtojtoptojopyjr

Pros
Gas milage

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1009 in total