Style image original

2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69

76 Reviews

Latest review about 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 10/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Ioniq Hy bird"

Just took a trip in the car filled up only 3 times the whole trip to Denver. Drives great on hills, keeps up the speed. There is enough room for 4 adults to sit confrortablely.l

Pros
Great car!

Cons
It's get up and go is slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/21/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Ioniq Hybrid has great fuel economy"

I've had my 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Blue for almost 6 months now. The car has a nice ride for a light vehicle with great gas mileage. It looks small from the outside but has more room inside than you would expect with a large trunk space.

Pros
Great gas mileage with a comfortable ride which is the main reason I purchased this car. Radio sound is better than average. Large trunk space.

Cons
The split window in the rear impairs the view. I would rather it had a separate "starter" battery. The USB port seems to have trouble charging my cell phone while using Android Auto for navigation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/28/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Ioniq Hybrid"

Our first venture into hybrid world has been satisfactory to date.

Pros
Fuel economy. Comfort.

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"53mpg"

Great car for the money. I purchased the car for fuel economy. It cost about $45 to drive 1000 miles. I do drive the car like any other car I have owned. I am not a hypermilerg

Pros
Mpg

Cons
Blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/25/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Lots of problems"

I've had nothing but trouble with my Ionic. Three days after buying the check engine light goes on. It seems after 4 trips to the service dept for the same problem, they say it's a computer glitch. Yesterday the entire system shut down. Car completely locked up. Every warning light came on and car completely disabled. Service manager at dealership is unavailable suddenly. Obviously they don't want to deal with it anymore. Don't buy this model.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/24/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"What a great automobile"

I love the look and comfort, but, I live in a very rural area and the gas mileage is great. I save on gas but without losing power or elegance. i love my car.

Pros
The price was right, it's beautiful and it is a joy to drive. I love that it gets great mileage but I don't lose power. When i need it my car responds without hesitation. I can't believe the bells and whistles. I'm still finding things I didn't know I had.

Cons
I would have liked a cd player - minor thing I know - but it would have been nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/16/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ioniq Hybrid 2017"

Not sure what to put here. Enjoy the car very much.

Pros
Great gas mileage!

Cons
No windshield wipers on rear winder; "pillar" between front & back door blocks view when merging and getting in and out we have to "duck" to avoid hitting out heads on roof.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/10/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"IONIQ the car deserves 5 stars but have to give it 3. wanted and was told that could have bike hitch. wrong."

great gas mileage 60+ large trunk comfortable lifetime battery guarantee only negative....cant attach bike rack. battery underneath trunk

Pros
BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK. GREAT GAS MILEAGE 60+ LIFETIME GUARANTEE ON BATTERY COMFORTABLE.... LARGE TRUNK (IM AN ARTIST...TRUNK GREAT TO HAUL PAINTINGS) GOOD RESPONSE GREAT GAS MILEAGE 60+

Cons
BIG NEGATIVE. CANT PUT A BIKE HITCH ON CAR....BATTERY UNDERNEATH TRUNK. exterior front not attractive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/02/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Initial oil change"

Question: Since the gasoline engine is used so little, should the 1st oil change be done so early? Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you! Barclay

Pros
Sips so little fuel!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ioniq's a well made fun car to drive, and wonderfully effecient"

She's been much more fun to drive than I had ever expected. Quick, precise and efficient. It has a much more traditional feel and power than the Prius I had test driven. Exceptional handling for any car, hybrid or not. Miles per gallon are on or above stated values for the approaching 10,000 miles I've driven. Excellent value, quality workman ship.

Pros
Intelligent well thought out design that works. I love this car.

Cons
Small stuff; I'd like the speedometer to read both digitally and conventionally at the same time in the base model I own. When you stop, now and then it will pull forward if you don't have your foot on the brake. Not a lot, just takes a little getting used to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"IONIQ"

Incredible, awesome car

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/03/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love this car"

Comfort. Style. Gadgets. Looks. Perfect.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/03/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"ioniq"

the car had a major failure in 4 days it's at the dealership where purchased

Pros
looks good

Cons
major failure after 4 days

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/02/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Doesn't feel like a hybrid"

We drive country, highway, and city daily for a total of about 52 miles. We only need to get gas every two weeks and overall we've gotten 53 mpg. The second time we got gas was over 1100 miles. This hybrid drives nicer than my mother's 2009 Chevy Cobalt and 99% of the driving feels like a normal car.

Pros
Drives like a normal car but gets 53+ mpg.

Cons
Replacement parts will be expensive because everything is specially designed to be light and aerodynamic. I was told the rim of the tire alone was over $600 because it was aluminum. It doesn't come with a spare or replacement tire, it comes with an inflator kit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very satisfied"

I am really enjoying all aspects of this vehiicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Amazingly Efficient and nice looking hatchback."

My wife saw this car at the dealership and instantly fell in love with it. We never even heard of this vehicle as it came just out before we purchased it. Gas mileage is simple amazing. On the highway using the gas engine, it gets 63MPG average! When driving a mix of highway, backroads on my commute, I can get as high at 76.6MPG on a 31mile one-way trip. Since owning the car, ever full gas tank has netted us over 63MPG total average. The car looks great in and out. Visibility is good and the backup camera is high resolution and bright. When merging on the high way from stop sign, the car should be put into 'Sport' Mode and it is very quick. Accelerates to 60+ in no time at all. Much better than the Volvo S60 Turbo (Huge turbo-lag) we were going to buy before test driving the Ioniq. In sport mode, the car averages about 48MPG but is much more responsive and torqey. Like driving a small sports hatchback. The only grip I have is the seats. The material is to be expected on a 'cheap car', but the foam is very hard. Pretty uncomfortable on longer trips. I hope it breaks-in and gets softer over time, but the only option is to buy the Limited Ioniq model for almost $10K more. (Not worth it IMO). If you drive a lot , this car can save you a lot of $$ and still be a nice and fun car.

Pros
Mileage Efficiency Looks Price Interior space

Cons
Hard Seats No safety features (Automatic braking/Blind spot/Lane Departure warning/Adaptive Cruise control)unless you step up to the more expensive trims. Rear window 'wing' sometimes in the way when looking through the rearview mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/31/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2017 Hyundai Ioniq SEL"

It's not as boring to drive as a Prius.

Pros
Gas mileage Better looking than a Prius

Cons
Road noise Stereo sound is a little weak

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/31/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Gas mileage"

Gas mileage

Pros
Ride nice

Cons
MPG is not up to what it said.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Beautiful"

The car is really fun to drive in both eco and sport modes. the overall appearence is awsome.

Pros
Looks are awesome and a lot of fun to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/30/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best New Hybrid"

You may have trouble finding one depending on where you live in the U.S., but it's worth the wait! Best MPG of any hybrid I tested out there. And reasonably priced for all the great features you get. First time I bought a new car in a long time, and not disappointed.

Pros
Bought top trim level, Limited with Ultimate package...only way to go. Fantastic audio system on the Limited/ultimate. Great MPG as advertised. So many great navigation and media features it's hard to use them all! Looks sporty, plenty of room.

Cons
Limited availability. Was hard to find one. Head rests tilt forward too much putting neck in awkward position. Acceleration response could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 76 in total