Style image original

2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67

468 Reviews

Latest review about 7 hours ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 02/23/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My First Hyundai"

I was a Toyota fan for many years. However, after reading reviews I decided to test the Hyundai Ioniq. In my opinion, its far superior to the Toyota Prius I'd been driving. My Hyundai handles better and gives me a more solid ride. I LOVE my Hyundai Ioniq. The gas mileage is awesome, too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/23/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car"

My Ioniq gets great gas mileage and drives and ride like a luxury auto and I paid less than a high priced auto. I would highly recommend an Ioniq to anyone and it lets me pass gas stations since I get 58 miles per gallon on the highway. I usually drive at 75 mph on the highway and still get that good mileage.

Pros
Mileage, comfort, backup camera

Cons
none for me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/23/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Susan perreault review "

The car is great and I'm very happy with it. Garrett was really helpful. I had a lot of questions and really wanted to be sure that this was the right car for me, and I never felt rushed or pressured. It was a really good experience.. I will come back to this dealership in the future

Pros
It's great on gas and comfortable and runs great

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/22/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my Ioniq. I really, really love my Hyundai Ioniq"

I looked over many on-line reviews before selecting my most recent car. It was the independent on-line reviewers that sold me. Even the reviewers who regularly evaluate BMW, Mercedes-Benz, etc., were excited and impressed with the Ioniq. I agree. It is a great car. I love giving friends rides. I love going on long trips now more than ever. It is safe, efficient, comfortable, snazzy and fun. I have had people ask me about it just off the street. They like the lines, and I admit - I love the attention. It is getting over 50 MPG IN CITY. Fill ups are few and far between with about 500 to 600 miles per tank. I have been able to pack in BUNCHES of stuff. It is surprisingly roomy for storage. My passengers are comfortable and even the music system is grand. It has the ability to jump into high power mode if needed, has warning 'radar' when I am about to switch lanes and lights that really show me the road. The handling is superb. I love my Ioniq. Love it, love it, love it.

Pros
Style, performance, efficiency, power (when needed) room to carry people/stuff, parking and handling are tops, good sound system, fun FUN to drive.

Cons
The trunk space cover screen does not come standard. I would have liked having more color options than black, white and cream.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/21/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Luv my Ionic!"

I'm very happy about my purchase of the Ionic! There's a big savings on gas and I'm loving all the cool features that came with the car!!! I really like the Android app and Google features!!! Body is very sleek looking.

Pros
Electronics, Android app, power seat, savings on gas!!!

Cons
No spare, no automatic truck release, no truck release with key, placement of heater controls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/21/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ioniq"

I love my Ioniq!!!! It is a fun car to drive and I can bypass MANY gas stations!!!!!!!! My husband wishes it were just a little bit larger, but I think it's perfect!! I would be one in every color!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/21/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Prius Competitor Is An Alternative Well Worth Checking Out"

9 Months ago I traded my 2102 Prius 2 on a 2017 Hyundai IONIQ SEL model. In 2013, I bought that Prius used (Certified) with only 16,900 miles on it. It was cute, scientifically fascinating, comfortable enough and a great cargo capacity with a flat floor loading surface from the rear bumper to the folded down real seats. I was able to transport amazing cargo including an 18 cu ft refrigerator and a 7 cu ft foot chest freezer in the original packing. That plus the obvious 50 plus mpg made it the best car and best value I ever owned In 2017, as my Prius was getting "long-in-the tooth," my tires were wearing and the car was well out of all warrantees at 70,000 miles. I saw promos and tests for the new Hyundai Ionic and visited a nearby dealership (Hyundai of St. Augustine, Fl) to look at the IONIQ. IMOP the car looked better than even the updated Prius 2016 designs. The warrantees offered were more thorough. My test drive on the SEL model revealed a car that behaved more like a car, with noticeably better acceleration, braking and handling. Instead of a CVT slow powercurve transmission, the IONIC SEL used a dual clutch 6 speed automatic. Real gears. Real shift points with a choice of shifting manually through the gears or letting the very capable automatic transmission do it. The dashboard was definitely more car-like, with a comprehensive assortment of colorful instrumentation and displays. The only thing it lacked in regards to the Prius was an INSTANT readout of MPG in real time. What you get instead is a "cumulative average" mpg based on the total miles driven by the car up to that moment. The roofline is a bit lower than the Prius. Getting in and out was more difficult. Other than that the cargo area seemed roomier with the back seats up. The fact that the battery pack was smaller than the Prius, lowered the real cargo floor and there was no unobstructed loading floor as in the Prius. The cargo floor was 8 inches lower behind the "lip" making sliding in a load as a large appliance in the box impossible. Plus, the back seats, when folded down, are not flush with the cargo floor as in the older Prius. So, if I could wave a magic wand, I would change those issues. But I am getting a little better than 50 mpg and this Hyundai has PEP! Can accelerate and merge with traffic much better than the "apologetic" Prius.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/21/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Hyumdai ioniq"

Great car. Mileage terrific Comfortable. Good acceleration in mountains Exactly what we had hoped for. Great warranty but haven't had to use it. Price was excellent for value of car. Good space even for big people in front.

Pros
Mileage

Cons
None found

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/20/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car at a Great Price"

I was skeptical of hybrids until I drove the Hyundai Ioniq. The care is extremely comfortable, has all the bells and whistles I want, and gets 52 miles to the gallon regularly. I could not ask for better.

Pros
Great GPA Easy to learn to use all the features Blind spot protection is a great feature Love the back up camera--great view with a large screen Sport mode (while it is not my tire burning mustang) is a lot of fun.

Cons
Can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/20/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best buy out there"

This is the best car for fuel mileage. I drive 80 miles a day. The car is getting 50-53 mpg. That is with me driving 65-80 mph at times. The car has plenty of inside room. This is one one the best cars hyunday came out with!!!!! I suggest you gonto road test one!!!!! James miller happy ioniq owner😊

Pros
To many to list

Cons
Have not found any...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/19/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Ioniq"

I traded my Hybrid Sonata for a Hybrid Ioniq. I love the smaller size and great gas mileage. It has blind spot detection, large screen for CarPlay and other apps. Remote keyless entry. Air conditioning works great. Backup camera works very well.

Pros
Comfortable seats, nice looking small car. Rides well and gets great gas mileage. It’s a hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/16/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love Our Hybrid Ioniq"

We are very happy with our 2017 Ioniq Hybrid. The gas mileage is amazing and the ride is smooth. The adjustable driver's seat is perfect for my back and the heated seats are a great plus in the cold weather. Due to the compact size, the car very easy to park and has plenty of power to zoom on the freeways. The back-up camera is a life-saver! We are looking forward to taking her ("Ionica") on a long-distance road trip very soon! .

Pros
Smooth ride, great mileage, plenty of pickup and go power.

Cons
Limited storage space, no CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/15/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great performance, good price"

Hybrid SEL with Tech package - loads of features at ~ 2,500 less than a Prius. Good mileage so far (only driven it 1500 miles). 45 mpg hwy (I usually drive 60-65 mph), and easily 50 mpg city. Would be better if it weren't so damn cold here! Handles well, lot less road noise than other compacts, but still need to turn the volume up at least half-way up when cruising at 65 mph. Would have loved the option to have quartz headlights on the SEL, but they only provide halogen. In ECO mode, acceleration from zero is poor unless you really step on the gas (they could provide more battery-assist in this mode). Wonderful acceleration in SPORT mode. Smooth transition from ECO to SPORT.

Pros
Great price for a compact hybrid! Good fuel mileage (as advertised)

Cons
Needs better acceleration from zero in ECO mode.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/14/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Hyundai Fans Trying their Newest Effort"

My experience with a 2002 Sonata (sold to a friend and the first needed repair for the car a new alternator at 95,000 miles), current 2006 Azera with 75,000 miles and nearly flawless, brought us to the Ioniq when considering replacement for a 2011 Prius. This is more comfortable and conventional than the Prius, and the important to us interior space is just a bit larger than the Prius though it doesn't have the Prius no-lip hatchback loading - wish it did. I think that Hyundai's are quality cars and good value. Our previous two - and I usually take a Sonata or Elantra when given a rental choice - have been very competent, solid on the road and slightly interesting to drive. We took the Ioniq out on the interstate in a heavy rain last night, and, while it didn't feel as assured as my larger and heavier Azera, it was good enough for a smaller and lighter hybrid. We have one complaint so far: the abundance, variety and in your face-ness of all of its displays, and choices that need to be made about what you see behind the steering wheel and at the audio screen is overwhelming, confusing and distracting. One of the first times out of the driveway my wife drove into some shrubbery because she was distracted in trying to deal with all of the information trying to get her attention. Result from just a short scratch and damaged plastic style pieces on the door was 900 dollars. We've already run down the small battery (which is then recharged by the large battery) because the radio doesn't turn off after turning off the car without holding down the off button for a count of two. When you start the car and even if you have the display turned off you get a screen lecturing you to drive safely and requires that you press your agreement on the screen to remove the page and turn off the display. That's just insulting. When the display is on, even the minimal amount of information is a distraction from the job of looking over the steering wheel and driving down the road. Drives me nuts, and my wife into the shrubs. But that said, this is probably an excellent Hyundai version of hybrid. We're very happy to have it in the family so far.

Pros
Rating 8 across the board based on previous Hyundai experience. We've only put 700 miles on this one. Average about 50 mpg so far in regular city driving. That's in regular Drive mode, and the Sport mode is very responsive with great torque

Cons
Display gewgaws run amok. We're not sure yet whether the heater could do a better job. Though it has slightly more cargo space than the Prius, the Prius has flat floor at the opening of the hatchback and this has a drop of a few inches, which will make it harder to slide things in. 900 dollars to repair a short running dent and broken plastic on the door? C'mon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/14/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Ioniq surpasses Prious in gas mileage"

If you are looking for the best hybrid gas mileage this is the car to purchase. I get 55-60 mpg regularly. It is very easy to drive locally but not nearly as much fun when on the freeway. The interior is comfortable and all of the important safety features are available.

Pros
great gas mileage comfortable interior good looking instrument cluster cup holders

Cons
very noisy interior when driving brakes have extra long stopping distance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/13/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Helping my pocket book and fun to drive..."

I bought my Hyundai Ioniq Blue Hybrid new in May / June of 2017. After one test drive I was hooked. I had my interest peaked after watching some TV ads. I visit my elderly mother a few time a week and after buying my Ioniq it was like giving myself a pay raise. I'm driving the same amount of miles as I did before but I'm spending half as much for gasoline. This past January I drove about 1,300 miles. In my old car @ 25 mpg I would have used about 52 gallons of gas. (52 gal @ $2.35 per gal. = $122.20). With my Inoiq the costs works out to aprox. 50 mpg I used 26 gallons of gas @ $2.35 per gal. = $61.10. I'm enjoying my pay raise and with warmer weather my milage wil get even better. That's more money for me!

Pros
Great mileage! Good performance Fun to drive Really enjoy Apple CarPlay and SiriusXM Satellite Radio

Cons
Wish I had a heated out mirrors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/13/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2017 Hyundai ioniq hybrid sel "

I bought my 2017 Hyundai ioniq hybrid sel 9/5/2017 It is now 2/13/2018 and my Hyundai now has 3,900 Miles on the clock It is virtually flawless, and overall it is averaging over 62 mpg I get gas about every 3 weeks and it is a great car overall, I highly recommend it

Pros
Cross traffic warning, heated seats, heated mirrors Backup camera

Cons
Wish it had push button locks on all 4 doors instead of just front doors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/12/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Neat little car that happens to be a Hybrid-Electric Vehicle"

Perfect car for my daughter to use to and from school. Gas mileage is awesome, sticker said 57mpg and we regularly get between 47 and 51 with lots of heater and air conditioning usage here in Texas during the winter. The "sport mode" option lets you be able to get up and go when needed vs. the econo-sip mode that will make you nervous sometimes getting on a highway. Slip into sport mode and punch it - you can merge just fine.

Pros
mileage room safety ratings features

Cons
usb port to connect phone with android auto lacks enough amperage power to use navigation and streaming audio and not heavily discharge device. 12V power ports will prevent discharge problem, but do not connect to in-dash screen. 12V ports are off when vehicle is off so you can't charge a device while vehicle is off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/10/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ok"

Happy with my vehicle only problem makes funny noises when I open and close passenger door, and hopefully I can resolve the noise of the door and again I'm very happy with my car. that's the only problem

Pros
Great

Cons
Just the noise on the front passenger door

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/09/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Don't have enough positive additives to describe the vehicles"

Love the vehicle cannot stop bragging about the vehicle. Everyone loves the color the comfort and mileage. Smooth do not get tired driving on long trips. Looks small on the outside but roomy on the inside. Actually has a lot of truck like space.

Pros
Comfort, style, runs fantastic. Can not wait to drive. Everyone loves the vehicle, I tell how great the vehicle is.

Cons
Needs a way to hook a netting to the rear area but not a big thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 468 in total