2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(405 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JR
James R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
An efficient hybrid that is fun to drive
When my '09 Prius died (battery failure and insidious rust) I checked out the Hyundai Ioniq. What a nice surprise, the car has as much interior space as my old Prius, but was much more lively to drive, and came with nice features that Toyota was not offering (Apple-CarPlay) as well as a 60,000 mile warranty and lifetime warranty on the lithium battery.

I've frankly been extremely happy with this car. In spite of getting 10-15 mpg more than my old Prius (65 mpg in the summer is pretty typical) the car can get out of its own way, particularly if you use the sport mode setting. The dual-clutch transmission makes the car feel less like a golf cart than the variable speed transmission of the Prius. And every 600 miles when I refill with 9 gallons of gas, I smile.

Pros
Excellent fuel economy
Doesn't have that 'hybrid' look
Quick response, fun to drive
Has built-in jump start using the lithium battery
Apple-Car-Play
60,000 mile warranty

Cons
Climate control AUTO setting is inconsistent
No spare tire, although this does result in more interior space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
STEPHEN A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2020
Ioniq
This is a great value and provides supreme gas mileage performance as well as great electronic amenities.I use this car to commute to clients, including one client 90 miles from my office. I love the fact that I can get there averaging 58 MPG and being fully entertained by the technology.

Pros
safety features, lane assist, smart cruise control, use of android and sirius`, supreme gas mileage

Cons
a bit "tinny", I don't like the plastic wheel covers (scuffed and/or broken very easily and far too expensive to replace.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sandra B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2020
2018 Ioniq Hybrid Hyundai
I love my Ioniq and it is great on fuel. It has been 2 years since I bought it and it has saved on my fuel bill. I drive 160 miles round trip and it is comfortable to work and back. Would buy it again.

Pros
Fuel great and great driving it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
STEVEN W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2020
111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111

Pros
1

Cons
0

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Jerome V.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2020
Ioniq beats the Prius
I had driven a Hyundai Sonata Hybrid and was generally pleased with the care through more than 100,000 miles of California freeway driving; was intrigued by the Ioniq although a little concerned about size and comfort. Was pleasantly surprised by test drive - felt ample power to get on freeways and to pass as needed. After two years into lease the car has been better than expected - comfort is fine for typical 400-500 mile drives. mileage is as good as advertised and so far the hardware and fittings are holding firm as we encounter evry bump and pot hole and expansion joint on I 80 almost every day

Pros
Great mileage was expected and delivered. Styling much better than Prius. The ride is good and driver assist devices are much appreciated as is Apple compatibility. Comfort is quite good - even on the horrendous roads in California

Cons
Acceleration is functional and expected for a hybrid

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
RICHARD H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/09/2020
ioniq
everything I expected and more. Hyundai did an excellent job designing the ioniq and when I'm looking in a few years for a replacement vehicle I would consider buying another ioniq. I really like to go to the gas station and purchase half the fuel that I need to purchase in my secondary vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Erik C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/28/2020
2018 IONIQ
I’m surprised that others who own a Volt or a Prius don’t just dump their cars to own on of these Hyundai IONIQ models. How are these cars not heavily used by Uber and Lyft drivers? For that matter, govt fleet cars should all be IONIQ models. They get almost 60 mpg! No other car can beat it.

Pros
Miles per gallon!!!!

Cons
1.) Lag time when changing gears from reverse to drive.
2.) The Blue model needs wider tires to hold the lanes in tight turns.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Gene C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/28/2020
IONIQ OWNER REVIEW
WE ARE PLEASED WITH THE IONIQ. APPEARANCE IS MODERN AND APPEALING. COMFORT IS OK THOUGH MAYBE THE VEHICLE OR SEATING IS TO LOW TO MAKE ENTERING AND EXITING AS EASY AS IT SHOULD OR COULD BE. KEY SYTEM DOES NOT PREVENT MANUAL KEY FROM UNLOCKING AND COMING UNINTENTIONALLY SEPARATED FROM THE REMOTE THAT IT IS INCASED MAKING IT POSSIBLE TO LOSE REMOTE IF SEPARATION IS NOT NOTICE WHEN OCCURRING. NOISE OF FUEL ENGINE KICKING IN TAKES AWAY FROM ELOQUENCE OF THE CAR. CARGO COVER SHOULD BE AN AUTOMATIC PART OF CAR NOT A SEPARATE INVESTMENT. CUP HOLDERS ARE A LITTLE AWKWARD. WOULD THINK IN THIS DAY AND AGE THERE WOULD BE A PLACE TO HOLD A CEL PHONE ESPECIALLY DUE TO PHONE CONNECTION REQUIREMENT TO "CAR PLAY." ROAD NOISE A LITTLE LOUD MAYBE BETTER INSOLATION FOR THIS COULD BE LOOKED INTO. LOVE THE GAS SAVINGS AND TRIP MILAGE THIS PRETTY LITTLE CAR PROVIDES.

Pros
SEE REVIEW SUMMARY

Cons
SEE REVIEW SUMMARY

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lee T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2020
Awesome Car
I bought this car in Jan of 2018, and I love it, my gas mileage is right around 53 miles per gallon whether in town or on highway. It drives smooth and is super comfortable. I don't see any of these cars on the road and I am shocked, since it gets such good gas mileage. I live 50 miles away from work so I travel round trip 100 miles today and the car is still great and I'm at over 60000 miles already. The only thing I wish is that this same engine and gas mileage was available in an SUV or small truck.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tom H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Almost two years
We have had our Ionic limited for almost two years and have 32,000 on the clock. The car has been a great replacement for the Prius that we traded in, even though we had no issues with the 2010 model. The Hyundai has been comfortable for those long trips and fuel mileage has been better overall than the Prius that was replaced. The tires are starting to make more noise as the miles add up, but we have had no mechanical issues. I still wish they would put an emergency spare in the car rather than the inflator, but I suppose the roadside service would offer an option if the tire was severely compromised.

Pros
Great mileage, comfortable

Cons
Tire noise after time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/18/2020
Mileage Master
Happy owner of two 2018 Ionics - great value very excellent mileage nice styling and very dependable transportation. Upkeep as Lai inexpensive plenty of cargo space - only negative is the visibility ability behind the back side windows when checking traffic

Pros
Milage

Cons
Acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MORRIS B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/01/2020
Great car
Great car! Price was good, great on gas, has excellent pickup. Feels safe to drive. A little hard when taking a bump in city driving. Lots of interior room, great sound system. AC is excellent, definitely recommend.

Pros
Great running car, fuel efficiency

Cons
Shocks hard on bumps

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANTHONY B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Hyundai Ioniq
Great car, great mileage and fun to drive. Comfortable and economical. What's not to like?

You want 200 characters? xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Laroy R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
Best Automobile I have ever driven
I am 60 years old and have had several dozen cars in my life, this is by far the best vehicle I have purchased or driven. Excellent workmanship. Wisper interior noise, pleasant responsive ride, averaging 58mpg, rear camera for maneuvering is extremely accurate with green, yellow, red bars that curve when you turn leaving no chance of you hitting something. Blind side warning for lane changing is superbly helpful and you can if you with turn it off. I test drove this against all highbred's and there was no question after driving this had better engineering than anything else on the market today.

Pros
Money well spent, I drove every hybrid on the market and this out performed in every category

Cons
I can not thing of one negative item about this hybrid automobile

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHERRIL H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
Best hybrid on the market
My wife and I have owned several Hyundai autos. We are on our second Santa Fe and traded in an Elantra for the Ioniq. This is my first hybrid and I really like everything about the car. I don't understand why it is not advertised and why more people don't drive this car! We have had the car for one year, and not had any issues with the car at all. The great gas mileage is consistent either in traffic or on the road. It handles well in rain, and the duel controls for heat and air allows my wife to adjust to her comfort level. It is simply a great, well designed car.

Pros
Hybrid
Size, It is big enough
Great consistent gas milage

Cons
Limited colors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Teresa H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
Is great Hyundai Ionic Hybrid
I love my Hyundai Ionic Hybrid. It gets fantastic milage. I am on my battery most of the time. I do not have to plug it in. My battery charges as I drive. Also I do not have put gasoline in my Hyundai for 578 miles. When I put gasoline in my Hyundai Ionic I only use the !lowest gasoline 67%. I wAnted a car with great gas mileage and also heated seats. So that is my Hyundai Ionic Hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Barbara C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/22/2019
Fantastic mileage
I’ve been getting 50 mpg with my hybrid ioniq. I love that I can start the car and even set the front defroster from my phone or using Amazon Alexa These chilly days, I have not had to scrape the windshield once.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kenny H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Ionic is iconic.
I love it. Most fun and comfortable to drive. Best mileage. I just want to drive anywhere I can. Best car I've ever had. I'm starting to see more on the road. The secret is getting out. Better than all other makes and models.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BARRY B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
a great car
runs very smoothly except in the snow but overall a great car to be in.The interior is very nice and the back seats are nice to seat in also. It gives great gas mileage i am getting 26.8 around the city and over 45 on the open road.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Alan P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
Hyundai Ionoc
Hyundai Ionoc has many good features including gas mileage, however, there is room for improvement. It comes without a cover for the trunk which I had to buy separately and without a spare tire I had to purchase. These items should be included. I feel that is was nickel and dime
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 405 in total