2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(336 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AA
Adolfo A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/24/2019
I bought a brand new lemon!
Completely unsatisfied with the 2019 ionia Limited. Feels more like a Lemon than a brand new car.

Summary: if you are trying to avoid headaches and frustration, buy a prius.

I'll definitely spread the word to my fellow Veteran friends who are also interested in purchasing a Hybrid...Don't but the Ioniq.

Pros
Great looking car with nice features.

Cons
My Brand New Ioniq Limited is a lemon! I've had it for a month and I am experiencing engine issues. First it was a screeching noise (loose engine part), now, the gas engine is kicking in almost immediately when I begin driving. It's currently at the service department, hopefully they will resolve the issue(s).

In addition, I drive very slow, coasting when I can, to maximize the mpg, but I'm still around 45mpg.

If I had to do it again, I would have bought a Prius. :(

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
john b.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/13/2019
very unreliable
Have had 3 major malfunctions in first months of owning a brand new 2019 hyundai ioniq hybrid. First, unexplained engine warning lights, second unexplained flat tire, third defective water pump leaving me stranded 3 hours from home. It took Baldwin, Missouri dealership 2 days to look at car then 7 days to fix it. The replacement parts were not even available in United States. Auffenberg Hyundai in Cape Girardeau, Missouri, where I purchased the vehicle said they would have car delievered to my home when it finally got repaired. They reneged on this, thus I had to make special arrangements driving 6 hours to pick the vehicle up. I'm very dissatisfied.

Pros
great gas mileage

Cons
not reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MICKAEL P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/09/2019
I had high hopes in the Ioniq Sel
It's a let down when you spend that much on a new car that has only 648 miles on it and the gas mileage is only 24 mpg not even half they stated. I paid cash 100 percent. My first new car. It get less mpg than $80.00 Suzuki esteem that gets32 mpg

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Margaret C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/13/2019
A dude on mpg.
I was told the car would give 55 mpg hyw and 54 city. It has not even been close. Very disappointed for the money spent. I should have bought a VW. A 300 Chrysler has all the features for less money. No one has any answers on why the gas mileage is so bad. I was told the Elantra is getting better mpg than the Ionic. It is sad when a dealership can’t or won’t stand behind what is printed on the paper they put out to the public. Folks this is just my experience yours might be better. Ask a lot of questions before you sign and maybe a little proof.

Pros
It’s a nice car except for the mpg.

Cons
Terrible gas mileage!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Michael C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/30/2020
2019 Ioniq Blue
Leased the car for 3 year and regret it. Car has a nice finish and ride but gas mileage is terrible. I have had the car into the dealership in Loudoun County VA 3 times to address the mpg issues and absolutely no satisfaction. Glad I didn’t buy and will never lease another Ioniq.
Michael

Pros
None

Cons
Poor MPG

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Rupesh G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/12/2020
Not satisfied
Mileage is not upto expectations. As per company combined mileage is 109. I should dream about that mileage to see it. It's cheating. If their is a recall company has to send the notification letter directly to the customer.

Cons
Like tesla should provide free charging stations or provide cards to charge for free.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jon C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/20/2019
Doesn't feel sturdy
Doesn't feel sturdy. Battery does Not seem to be working properly. Fuel economy lower-than-expected. Financing experience less than expected. Customer service less than expected. Would probably not recommend
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mara B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/06/2019
Problems right from the start
I love my brand new car. It gives me great miles and it’s great looking in my eyes. However I have had 2 major problems in the 2 months I’ve own the car. First, 2 days after getting my car the engine light and turn off engine sign came out while I was going 70mph in the highway. Super scary. Had to tow the car. It turn up it was nothing a “glitch “. The 2 time was early of 2 months after purchasing the vehicle. Couldn’t open the doors because the electric key wouldn’t work. Long story short the battery was dead. Had to tow it again because I didn’t know how to open door (no one explained???). So.... crossing my fingers nothing else happens because I’m not very confident about this car. Hope it turns out well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SUSAN D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/14/2019
Electric Battery Too Small To Be of Use
When the dealer said that the electric battery would go 29 miles, I assumed they meant if you used ONLY the battery it would go 29 miles. But they meant in the combined Hybrid and Electric Vehicle (HEV) mode! What good is that? The battery takes 2.5 hours to charge at a pay station or 11 hours at home - and a full charge buys you 29 miles!! NO THANKS! Around town it's okay, but I bought this car to take a trip around the country - so the battery does me no good at all. Aside from that, the car seems okay. The bumpers are 1/4" plastic and will break off if used. There's no spare tire, just a "repair kit".

Pros
Good stying
Apple Play
Nice design
Decent mileage in Hybrid mode

Cons
Battery too small and slow charging
Only goes 29 miles in HEV mode
Bumpers are 1/4" plastic
No spare tire - just a "repair kit"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Chanika C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/13/2020
Ioniq
I'm enjoying my case except the same route has had a slow leak since I've gotten it and I'm tired of adding air! Got it for gas mileage as I travel quite a bit and I'm truly satisfied in that department!

Pros
Gas mileage
Sleek look

Cons
Only children can sit in the back comfortably on long trips if you're tall.
No back windshield wiper
No auto start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MAUREEN M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/20/2020
Making it
Was excited about vehicle until I rode in 2020 Toyota Prius - roomier, quieter more comfortable seating for passengers. No difference in price or gas economy- consumer regret after purchase. Also financial offering was not really much incentive.

Pros
Gas economy styling

Cons
Entry into vehicle and exit fir older person- comfort of seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FN
Faith N.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/19/2020
Trunk
Please explain why the trunk release on the key fab does not work?? There has to be a better way to release the trunk. Why did Hyundai feature a trunk release button only to disappoint it’s customers? Is this a features to come in the future? Please reply.... Thank you

Pros
The car is cool, great gas mileage.

Cons
Trunk release on the key fab doesn’t work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gregory W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/06/2020
This is a nice car.
On the pricey side, but very low gas cost. Very AVERAGE looking car, and I have to come up with more words, so I guess I will add that the thing that pulled me into dealership was the lease price on this car.

Pros
Hot ass?

Cons
No heated steering wheel, but nice warm ASS. I CONTROL the car with my HANDS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 05/06/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

SR
Saint R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/28/2020
Ioniq Hit and Miss
Drives surprisingly well for a Hybrid. Quick acceleration, but after my first 20k miles, the engine seemed a bit loud. Seats are still uncomfortable. Hyundai had a recall on Hybrid filter, so I brought my car in at about 21k miles to have filter replaced. Shortly after, I heard a slight noise when deceleration at about 30mph. Turns out the transmission needed replacing. This is my 5th Hyundai in 7 years, and my 1st Hyundai Hybrid. Never had any issues with my other Hyundai’s and will most likely buy Hyundai again.

Pros
10 year/100k warranty. Lifetime on Hybrid battery . Fun to drive. Handles well, picks up speed well.

Cons
Seats suck. Engine a little loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/03/2020
Wish EV battery was better
Car is average in terms of style and performance. My only concern is I wish the EV battery allowed for 60 or 100 mile range instead Of the average 26 or 28 I usually get. Other than that the car is decent in every aspect.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Craig E.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/11/2020
2019 Hyundai Ioniq
I like the car in general. I consistently get 72 to 74 miles per gallon, just driving on country roads (no highway driving). The only complaint I have is with the transmission/ engine electronics, It stumbles or bucks when driving on a level road on engine power at 40 to 45 miles per hour, as if the computer can't decide whether to go to battery power or not or to change gears( not sure which). I told the dealer about it at my last oil change, hoping there was something like a software update to correct the problem. They told me there were no current updates. The car has 9000 miles, so I'll just have to keep asking the dealer about it because it is annoying,

Pros
Fuel Economy

Cons
Balky Engine/ Transmission at low speeds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marr R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/27/2019
Ioniq Limited only gets 46 mpg
Love my 2019 inoniq limited except for one thing, gas mileage. After doing some post purchase research you prob won’t get 55mpg in the linited. Most users average 43-47mpg. My 2018 SEL was a solid 55 days overv50 deg and still over 50 on days around 40. The linited is 83 lbs heavier and uses a 17” tire. Had they used the 15” wheel are tire combo off the SEL I think a solid 50 would be possible. I’m considering now. Unless your in solid warmer than 70 deg temps I don’t see my limited getting my pre ious 55mpg my SEL got. That being said, I feel a bit duped by hyundai on the gas mileage and looking at buying the 15” sel wheel package. Interesubg note, the 2019 prius that come with sunroofs also are made to come with 15” tires and wheels from their 17” package so I think due extra weight on sunroof package to maintain 50/54 mpg. Other than that the limited ultimate package is a beautifully equipped car. Love the updated stereo, safety features, bluelink, toms of safety features. The bigger plug in hybrid electric motor wouid prin help too as long g as you can live with 45 mpg you will be happy. I drove a 2008 prius pkg 6 for 10 years very happily mileage 46/48 mpg ironically.

Pros
On limited ultimate Infinty stereo tons of legit safety features, bluelink for remote start, mem seats sunroof , Apple car play and android auto, passenger power outlet, beautiful logical interior, great leather, sport mode works really well, nice for when need the extra power. iPad holder in console

Cons
On limited totally disappointing gas Mileage 43-48 mpg, no 15 “ alloy wheel tire option with limited available to maintain 55 mpg. Cheap plastics on door bottoms, no HUD avail on limited like the prius, no auto sensing rain wipers, goes to headlights from DRL too soon in daylight, no LED headlights till 2020. No way to go to dedicated EV mode in hydrid. Motor seems underpowered for limited ultimate package extra weight, a 1.8 L motor wouid be welcome. No glove box light, no split glovebox no rear usb outlets option, on Canadian models offer rear heated seats in North America

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Alan D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/08/2019
2019 ioniq blue.
We bought the ioniq blue because we wanted the gas mileage for a cheaper car. The pros cheap maintenance,rides nice, even the low model has touchscreen and nice interior. In summer I get 57-60 miles per gallon (more then advertised by 2-5 mpg more) intown and 45-50 highway (lower then the 55 mpg they said) after break in. Does well in the snow. Cons: seat bottom is not comfortable for long driving also seat doesn’t “hug you” no support,back window has a bar in the middle that disrupts your view backing up or seeing in rearview. Low mpgs when it’s winter (city 50/highway 40) some interior trim looks cheap even on the higher models. A lot of wind noise. Engine is rough when running.

Pros
The pros cheap maintenance,rides nice, even the low model has touchscreen and nice interior. In summer I get 57-60 miles per gallon (more then advertised by 2-5 mpg more) intown and 45-50 highway (lower then the 55 mpg they said) after break in. Does well in the snow.

Cons
Cons: seat bottom is not comfortable for long driving also seat doesn’t “hug you” no support,back window has a bar in the middle that disrupts your view backing up or seeing in rearview. Low mpgs when it’s winter (city 50/highway 40) some interior trim looks cheap even on the higher models. A lot of wind noise. Engine is rough when running.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jody M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/14/2019
Great midsize car with great gas mileage
Comfortable, sporty, plenty of leg room in both front and back. It’s a little noisy inside when on the freeway. 55-59 miles per gallon. Love the technology. Don’t like the hatch design takes getting use to.

Pros
Great gas mileage, good amount of leg room, comfortable, technology is good, love the style, hatch back has plenty of room. Paint job seems like an up grade from my previous hybrid sonata.

Cons
Noisy when on the freeway, the motor noticeably serges when picking up speed on the freeway. Hard to get use to the hatchback when looking thru the review mirror. Huge blind spots but makes up for it with the passing safety feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mackenzie F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/17/2019
Good value for the money
As far as value goes this car can't be beat it looks good has many options I have the SEL model it's great but things I dislike are the suspension is pretty rough to me and the regenerative braking isn't the best I find that the hybrid battery depletes pretty quick I'm only able to average about 46 to 47 mpg city driving I had a 2017 Prius which was really good on gas maybe about 54mpg and better suspension but it didn't have android auto or heated seats overall this Ioniq feels more like a sports car it has good acceleration in sport mode it's more fun to drive but the suspension bothers me a bit

Pros
Acceleration, exterior styling, standard features,price point

Cons
Rough suspension, hybrid gauge layout not as great as prius,MPG vs Prius isn't the best

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 336 in total