2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(953 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LD
Louise D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
Love it
Sporty, great gas mileage, good in snow. Very quiet, great safety features. Roomy interior for a small suv. Compared to other vehicles this size, ite Kona is definitely the best value in looks, price and features.

Pros
Comfort. quiet, great gas milage.

Cons
mileage. trunk release inside car or on fob.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Thipwan W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
Great car for all around driving.
What a nice experience the service department always makes my wife comfortable when she takes her Kona for service. A lot of Mechanics use big words she doesn’t understand. D’arcy takes time with each customer so they understand repair and adjustments to car.

Pros
Feels bigger then it is. Great handling car I like the way you can change to Sports performance the car can move pretty quick.

It does not drink a lot of Gas.

Cons
It is not Red!!!.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JASON R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
Perfect car at the perfect time.
This is my first brand new car and my second Hyundai. I have had this car for a year now and at first I was skeptical about purchasing a new car that was also new model. The more I drive it the more I love it. I was impressed with how quick the motor responds. I like the button that gives the boost of speed when it is needed. Turn the button off and you get around 350 miles per tank of gas. The style of the body is very nice, i get compliments all the time. The seats are very comfortable even on long trips. The technology along with the system, is easy and convenient. This is the only car on the market, from the ones i have seen, that has an option to pause or rewind on the XM stations. The only ting that my car did not come with that I was disappointed about, is remote start. Overall,I am very happy with my choice.

Pros
Motor, Comfort, Safety, Reliable and Fun to drive

Cons
Wish it had a little more space in the hatchback.
Would have liked the option of remote start and blue link.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JESENKO J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2019
Great car
Great car fast reliable and great gas mileage. The leg room in the back seat is pretty much non existent if you have tall people up front. Truck space is tiny. Other than those issues the car is great fun to drive and a pleasure to own

Pros
Gas economy
Styling
Handling

Cons
Leg room in the back seat
Trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JON T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/16/2019
great corssover
Plenty of tech such as Android Auto and Apple Car Play, support for FLAC, auto climate/headlights/bright lights/windshield wipers. Performance tires. Great AWD in snow. Turbo is powerful and sets the Kona apart from all other crossovers. Head up display is a nice feature. Entertainment screen is sized right and easy to use. Nav guidance is ok. Lights do blind other drives at night. Engine idles rough on cold starts and gear shifts can be rough at times. There is a button to put car into Sport mode - would like to make that the default setting.

Pros
Turbo
LCD Screen
Sound system
Android Auto / Apple Car Play
Auto climate/headlights/bright lights/windshield wipers
Wheels/tires
AWD with locking differential option
Power driver seat
Car control from smartphone

Cons
rough idle on cold starts
rough shifting at times
cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
FAYE W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
We love this car!
We owned our Kia Soul for 7 years and were very happy with it. I happened to see a Kona out on the hwy one day and loved the look of it. We weren't looking to replace the Soul until I saw the Kona and are very happy we bought it!

Pros
Fun to drive, very responsive with excellent handling

Cons
A little laggy when trying to accelerate quickly but still not bad for a 4 cyl engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kathleen R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Love our Kona!
I so wanted a car with a different color. The surf blue of the Kona is beautiful! I never have trouble finding my car in a parking lot. We have been asked by several strangers if we like the car and why. One woman asked to see the inside and sat in the drivers seat to try it out. We bought a large recliner that the salesperson said would never fit in our small car. We put both back seats down and the chair fit! The salesperson could not believe it and came out to see for herself that the chair did fully fit in the car. The Kona looks small from the outside but can hold a lot.The gas mileage is amazing! The highest has been 30.3 MPG. I love the feature that lets us know when the car should have service. I don't have to think about or remember to take care of it. The Kona does that for me. The seats are very comfortable. I love the split seat in the back. You can still load the car while having 3 people with you. We have taken several trips in the Kona. Long distance driving is comfortable. We feel confident taking long trips due to the Kona's reliability. The great gas mileage also makes travel better. It is fun to drive. I love the back up camera and the sideview mirror warning system. They are such great safety features. The car looks great, runs great, and we love it!

Pros
All of the above

Cons
No rear AC

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Maria T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Kona
I love my Kona. It has everything I need. It has definite get up and go. It handles very well. I'm still learning how to use a lot of the technology it offers but I have enjoyed all of it so far. Great gas mileage as well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOHN D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Great Cross-over SUV !
My 2018 Hyundai Kona Limited AWD is a Great Vehicle and is fun to drive. It has many safety features and it has all of the options that I wanted. This car is great on gas: 29 mpg city/ 31 mpg highway. It handles good and with the push of a button, your car has 4 wheel drive which is good in the snow or for off-road conditions. The car is well built and will last you for many years. I highly recommend this vehicle for anyone looking for a smaller SUV!

Pros
Great Ride, Great Features; & Well Built!

Cons
Small Trunk Area however, the rear seats fold down giving you extra storage space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Ausra K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Satisfaction with Kona
I love my Kona was an adjustment from a midsize SUV. But I am not as much of a pack rat now. Drives great and handles great. My niece asked me how I liked mine told her she went and test drive one and bought a loaded newer model so I guess when this lease is over I might upgrade.

Pros
Got stuck in snow this past winter put on the option to help get you out and it worked great

Cons
None that I can think of maybe a cup holder off the center console for drinks without putting the back armrest down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carolyn G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2019
Room for improvement
Good enough for every day commute. Will save money on the gas, but have to put up with a few nuisances. Feels nice cruising on a long drive, very little drivers fatigue. Wish the rear mirror dim headlights automatically

Pros
great gas mileage and looks, will need the warranty to make it to 100k

Cons
check engine light on at 6000k for cylinder misfire.cheap plastic interior/ exterior scratches easily, limited internal and trunk space. difficulty entering/exiting rear seats due to small entrance space. Poor acceleration 0-45mph,(bumper car feel). trunk latch doesn't catch 100%of the time. need to lift up right wiper first to clear space to lift left wiper off windshield. Intermittent wiper speed starts out high to low(counter intuitive), couldn't find one with a sun roof. Seats need more padding for the long run

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRISTOPHER B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2019
Kona: Good choice for young drivers
KONa = Potassium, Oxygen and Sodium?! They should have stuck with the AZ/NM city names and called it the Winslow or the Kingman or the Roswell or the Tempe.
The Kona is a great option for young drivers, with AWD, good visibility, great steering and handling, and top safety ratings. It costs about as much as a sedan in the same class yet offers the versatility of the crossover form factor. It has been a great car - faultless and efficient, and with enough style that it doesn't get confused for a dishwasher.

Pros
Easy entry/exit and comfortable seats
Good cargo space for its size
Unexpected agility and good ride. Fun to drive.

Cons
Base version missing some features, like heated mirrors. I guess it never snows in Korea.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Love my Kona
I had an accident and my year old Elantra was totaled. Needed a new car. Was introduced to the Kona and right away found that it fit me to a “T”. Perfect size. Great safety features. Nice ride and fun to drive. Reasonably priced. Have had it eleven months and have no complaints. Nice vehicle that I am very satisfied with.

Pros
Fun to drive. Dependable. A style that will look good for years.

Cons
Acceleration a little slow getting on to the highway but then great performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PEGGY P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Hyundai kona.
I bought the car after researching 5 sub-compact SUV's. Safety ratings, driver reviews and price drove my decision. Stop forcing a word count, it's annoying! I won't fill the surveys out in the future if I have to say more than I want to.

Pros
Overall, a good buy.

Cons
Road noise at highway speed can be a bit loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joni B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Love my Kona
I love the ride, feel and comfort, but had master brake cylinder failure with less than 5k miles on vehicle. I have the 1.6T engine, which has awesome pickup. Vehicle handles very well and has a decent amount of cargo room. Sport mode is fun. Great gas mileage, averaging 34mpg in city with A/C on

Pros
Love the look and 1.6T engine

Cons
Need more convenient area for cell phone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Robin O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
❤️❤️❤️
I really like my Kona. It is roomy and comfortable. I like the push button start and the back up camera feature. I like the side mirror warning alerts to alert you if someone is in your blind spot. I like the computer screen
It runs great, I have had no problems with it, after owning it for over 18 months. My passengers love it too. It's a keeper.

Pros
Side mirror alerts
Backup camera
Computer screen that sincs to Google maps
Push button start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sylvia C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Kona 2018
Fun small SUV to drive whether in city or highway. The seats could use a little more padding but overall very comfortable. Easy in and out of traffic. Easy parking. For a small vehicle the back seat and cargo area have quite a bit of room. Some road noise but not as much as you would expect for the price and size. Very easy access to spare tire. Averaging gas mileage more than expected. Overall, from my experience, an excellent vehicle for one person or a small family. The upkeep on the Kona has been very reasonable.

Pros
Fun to drive. Easy in and out of traffic and parking. Averaging between 37 and 40 mpg, combination city and highway. 34 mpg city driving only. Pretty comfortable ride on long trips.

Cons
Wish the seats had a little more padding. Also wish the back floor mats could be clamped down like the front ones are. Back seat occupants push them under the front seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Love my Kona!
I love the sporty look! The rear camera, dual heated seats and safety mirrors are wonderful and make me feel really safe driving the car. I also like how the drivers seat can adjust to sit higher up! We got a great deal! I was able to get a lot of options on this car that I couldn't afford on a car anywhere else and I get a lot of compliments on it.

Pros
I love everything about my Kona.

Cons
I haven't found a con yet, and I don't expect to!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
Walter B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Kona experience
The Hyundai Kona is the best car I've ever owned in it's price range. Great body style,great performance. A very solid and secure feel. Instrument panel is set up perfectly.
Drives great around town and on the highway, and the gas mileage is excellent. A lot of fun to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Joyce W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/10/2019
2018 Kona
Car is comfortable and a pleasure to drive. Good gas mileage. The only downside is the amount of road noise that is heard while driving. Passengers in rear seat state they are quite comfortable even the 6 foot tall passenger.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 953 in total