2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8
(723 Reviews)
Latest review about 17 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KH
KATIE H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2019
Decent vehicle
I leased the Kona after having a terrible time with my Ford Fiesta. The Kona so far after a year of leasing has been pretty good. Not any major issues have occurred. It is a bit slow to get started from a complete stop, but it’s not the worst car out there. It is limited on cargo space, a weeks worth of a groceries barely fits in the trunk space, but for me that’s ok. I would have to say overall it is a pretty good vehicle because it is reliable. However I am not purchasing it after my lease term is up because I really wanted a Subaru to begin with, but I didn’t have enough money at the time to purchase one. So for the money the Kona is a decent cheaper alternative to a Subaru, but I don’t believe the quality is quite as good.

Pros
Great stability, looks great, decent fuel economy, overall well built vehicle

Cons
Not quick to get going from a stop, has issues connecting with iPod sometimes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2019
Size comfort
Fun to drive,SIZE style comfort with a good view small but big inside good lighting at nite great safety features helps to prevent acciddnts.people love the color very satisfying car to drive.i would recommend to all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Devon R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
New vehicle review
I have thoroughly enjoyed this vehicle I would definitely purchase it again and recommend it to all of my friends the only problem that I have is that there is no remote start and even though I have emailed Hyundai directly I have yet to receive a email from them showing me how to do it through wireless network

Pros
Small roomy quick, easy to maneuver

Cons
No remote start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARGO W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Beautiful Car. Great Value
I never thought of buying a Hyundai. I’m glad I did. Beautifully styled and economical. I will definitely buy a Hyundai again. I have recommended Hyundai to all of my friends and family. The best car for the money.

Pros
Can go forever on a tank of gas

Cons
Engine Is not as powerful as I would like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeannine M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Amazing Kona
This is the best car I have ever owned. I love driving it!
I feel safe and comfortable when driving this car. After a year, I am still learning new things about it! I am so pleased with my purchase.
I gladly recommend it to friends.

Pros
I have been happy with everything about this car.
I feel safe driving in a traffic dangerous city.

Cons
Have not found any yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SHERRY R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
2018 KONA
I Love My Kona. This is the best compact car I have ever owned. It's stylish, technology savvy, awesome mileage & accelerates like a CHAMP! Would recommend to anyone. Awesome service's too ; ).......................................

Pros
ALL PRO's

Cons
NO CONS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
BRUCE E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
Great car for the money
The Kona is a great small suv for the money, comes standard with many great features is well built and has a peppy engine that gets great gas milage.The cargo space is surprising for a small suv and the great warranty is 10 years / 100,000 miles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Johnnette C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Great ride
Besides being a great looking vehicle it drives smooth and easy. Has a great pick-up and powerful for a small vehicle. Very spacious and lots of cargo space. Enjoyable driving whether for business or pleasure

Pros
Exceptional automobile

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Paul P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Economical and fun to drive.
The Hyundai Kona is a sharp looking utility vehicle that is economical and fun to drive. It has good handling and stability on turns and the power needed to get onto the expressway easily. I am blown away by the up-to-date tech and safety features. This is my first Hyundai and I love it!

Pros
Fuel economy, styling, stability on turns, tech and safety features.

Cons
Not really a con, but I wish it had the option for a leather/vinyl interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
Fernando R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/11/2019
My Hyundai
I am mostly pleased with the purchase of my Kona vehicle .
I most pleased with the engine performance and gas mileage , the AWD performance was ok this past Winter ( the vehicle sits a bit too low for a big snowfall ) . I wish that it had better sound proofing as there is some road noise .
My Kona is comfortable to sit in ( I'm 6'2") and handles well on turns . I like the sound system but was disappointed that my model does not come with the option of the premium audio system , which is very important for me since I am an audiophile .
As far as the overall styling , the one thing that could be improved is the plastic trim on the outside of the vehicle , especially on the wheel wells , the plastic fades or becomes discolored and any scratches to it become very visible and noticeable .
Like I mentioned before , I am happy with my Kona's performance overall and would recommend it to family and friends .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
2018 Kona SEL with Tech package
We took the car on a trip to Virginia, 2500 miles round trip. The lane keep assist really took the strain out of driving 4 10-hour days. The amazing thing was the fuel economy, we averaged 32.2 mpg as computed dividing the gallons into the miles driven. This is an All Wheel Drive vehicle rated for 30 mpg on the highway and we got 32.2 mpg. This was while driving 75 mph on freeways. Wonderful vehicle. Last winter in the snow and ice it was amazing! We love the Kona.

Pros
Love everything about it.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Hector H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/10/2019
Feedback
My name is Hector Hernandez and have been working in the automotive industry for more than 7 years, in analysis areas, quality and new launches... Having said so, this is my review.

I have to say that Hyundai have met my expectations, so far my Kona has 5000 miles and only found 3 issues:

1) In the setup of temperature unit display, I always select Celcius instead of Farenheith, but for some reason after some start ups, the temperature unit always changes to Farenheith, this is a bug in the system which is annoying.
2) The screws that holds the entrance to the gas tank where the hose is inserted looks very cheap screws (home made) and not harmonic to the rest of the assembly.
3) The "manual shift" option available in the automatic transmision is not what I would expect, is very limited the interaction, I cannot go further than 1 shift up or down than my current shift. i.e: If I am driving in 4th shift I only can select either 5th or 3rd shift unless I increase or decrease the speed... Without be offensive but being objective, the VW triptronic is capable to do what I try to do in the Hyundai transmission.

In general I am happy with the vehicle but would like to have a fix in the bug of the temperature unit issue.

Thank you!

Pros
Safety, exterior and interior design.

Cons
Transmission performance,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Deborah M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/09/2019
Kona¹
I like my Kona. I wish it had a bit more of a pick up to it though. The truck us pretty small, I would prefer it to be a little bit bigger though. I had no problem driving in the snow this past winter. I like my little car and it is a good looking vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Karene M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Love it
It's a great car for the price.
Catchy to the eye appeal.
Comfortable features.
I'm stopped all the time and asked how I like it.
I love the color I chose exterior and interior.
I asked for a few simple upgrades that set it apart.
Roomy
It's all around great!

Pros
I've been stopped many times about my vehicle, asking how I like it because they're potential owners.
Yes I like my amenities, look, ride, comfort, ect

Cons
It's my first all wheel drive.
I'm still trying to get use to the milage.
But having an all wheel makes me feel more comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOHN F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Kona SEL with Technology Package
Bought this car for my wife to replace a 2008 Honda Civic. I wanted her to have a car with all the updated safety equipment that is safe and reliable in a small crossover format. The Hyundai Kona is the top rated vehicle in its class. We are both very pleased with it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
ALLISON T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Love My Kona
The Kona is the most amazing vehicle for new buyers, and or drivers. It’s simple to use accessories, and drivability are what stand out to me. It looks like a high end car, inside and out, without the price tag. Hands free phone access(it reads your messages to you!!!), blond spot detection(no more sneaky people), and great steering(look mom no hands!). Definitely would recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
ANALEEN J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/08/2019
“Chunky Funky Spunky”
I liked one reviewer’s description of the new Kona (chunky funky spunky). I’m single and wanted a smaller SUV after driving a Subaru Forester for 15 years. Bought the Kona new a year ago (after test driving, liked it better than the Subaru Crosstrek) and am happy with that decision. Overall fun to drive, comfortable, handles well in snow. Got 4WD but haven’t tested it much. Clearance is low compared to Forester. Tech upgrade was worth it. Wish it got better gas mileage (currently 17mpg average around town). Plenty of interior legroom front and back. Love the houndstooth seat covers. Cargo space adequate with seats down. Love my Konacar!

Pros
Small SUV
Stylish
Comfortable
Handles well
Fun to drive

Cons
Gas mileage
Some unevenness in acceleration
Less cargo space than standard SUV
Front passenger seat has no seat warmer and no adjustment to elevate seat (maybe an upgrade option I didn’t purchase?)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KEITH B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2019
The Kona Rocks
The small Kona SUV is a great vehicle for seniors or a family with small children. The Kona has outstanding Smart Sense safety features is very comfortable to drive. The Kona's heads-up display is the best I've seen on any vehicle and its touch screen navigation/sound system is extremely user friendly. The turbo engine provides a very positive response and the Kona provides a solid/comfortable ride.

Pros
Heads-up Display
Smart Sense Safety features
Usable navigation/sound system
Driving performance
Quality

Cons
Leg room for the back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mary Ann C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Love this SUV
I love this little SUV. It is perfect for me. I had the Tucson which I felt was too much car for me, this Kona is easy to handle and get around with great pick up speed.My passengers feel very comfortable in it too. Great fuel mileage too.

Pros
comfort, easy to handle, great on fuel, looks great

Cons
slight blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jon S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Kons
Good car for our purposes.
Have had previous Hyandi products, Azeras (2) And Genesis Coupe.
Was concerned as they were high end and plush. But this is compareable.
Concern about antenna staying attached.

Pros
Good car.

Cons
Had problems with antenna came off either through weather or car wash. Warranty covered. Was told don’t use car wash, hand wash only be service people. I’m to lazy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 723 in total