2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1251 Reviews)
Latest review 12 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DC
Darlyne C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/01/2021
Dealership
Kona, great car. People have asked me about the Kona, I like the Kona, it works well for what I need. I have recommended the Kona. If I would purchase another car it would be a Kona. Good job, Hyundai of Jasper.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EQ
ELLEN Q.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2021
Kona
Great car for the price. Took it cross country and was able to get oil changes at dealerships along the way. Easy to drive and you can park in small spaces. Interior front room is comfortable even for larger passengers. Safety features are a plus.

Pros
Ease of driving, style, interior room on passenger size

Cons
A little noisy on high speed roads with windows open

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KAREN S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2021
kona
Great, car, great dealer, great service. Great place to do business with . this is my 4th car from Wile. would never go anywhere else.
Nothing more to say about this dealership. They listen and go the extra mile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ramona B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2021
2018 kona
Just love my little car it does what it has to when it comes to performance and it fits in small parking spots . I would buy another but upgrade on the features. Don't plan on buying one in the future
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kenya S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2021
I love my Kona!
I am so pleased with my purchase. I drive a lot for work and it gets great mileage. It drives smooth and has some get up and go for those of us that like to press on the gas sometimes. I've used it to transport some things and the cargo space is considerable to fit a lot of items.

Pros
Fun to drive
Looks cool
Gas Mileage is great
Sun Roof
Stereo sounds nice
Ample cargo space

Cons
No center console cell phone charging station in this model
No garage door option
Front passenger seat doesn't fold down for cargo transport

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JANICE G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/07/2021
Not reliable
The engine light started coming on when it was only 2.5 years old with less than 30,000 miles on it. 6 months later the dealership keeps telling me they do not know what is wrong with it.
Customer service at corporate is deplorable.

Pros
Really nothing at this point

Cons
The engine light started coming on when it was only 2.5 years old with less than 30,000 miles on it. 6 months later the dealership keeps telling me they do not know what is wrong with it.
Customer service at corporate is deplorable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 04/07/2021
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

DP
DEBORAH P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2021
Kool Kona
Kona is a fun and sporty vehicle yet roomy and comfortable! Terrific gas mileage and all the features are great! The turbo really works well with acceleration! Its an awesome car that is great for anyone!!

Pros
Acceleration and speed are terrific! Roomy front and rear seating. Comfortable seats as well! Bluetooth and touch screen applications work well and are easy to use! Overall fun car!

Cons
Rear hatch area not too big so oversized suitcases do not fit unless you put down the seat. Also the front passenger seat is manual adjustment. The rear seats are not heated.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2021
Smart Money
Dollar for dollar, the Hyundai Kona is the best vehicle I have ever owned. The engineering is great and the safety package is exceptional given the vehicle's price. This is the fifth Hyundai I have purchased since 2011 and each one has improved on the previous one owned. Hyundai vehicles provide great driving satisfaction and value for the dollar. Great aesthetics, as well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DOREEN R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2021
2018 kona
This is a great vehicle. Fun to drive, reliable, and great for seniors. Driver visibility is excellent, very easy to get in and out of vehicle, and the AWD is great for New England winters with ice and snow.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KEVIN P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/26/2021
Amazing Value
This is a wonderful car. Don't expect massive storage space but expect a unique, responsive and powerful compact SUV. Great features and colors and the best night time driving and fun roD trips. All at a great price.

Pros
Powerful engine for a compact SUV. Lots of features. Unique and pretty design. Easy to care for.

Cons
Smaller storage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Debra S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2021
My 2018 Kona ..
is such a great little SUV. No complaints. I would like to have the opener for my tail gate other than that great. Maybe a little more room to put things up front. Live my SUV!!! Cant say nothing bad about anything at the service department or the car department.

Pros
Great car

Cons
Maybe just a little higher off the dirt.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NICOLAS D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2021
Bang for the buck
We needed a reliable car to get to work and back, big enough to put car seat in the back for our child,Great on gas easy to drive easy to park it worked out well for us and after two years we traded it in and got a brand new Sonata 2020.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Karen C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/08/2021
2018 Kona
Love my Kona. Can’t beat the comfort and reliability. This is my 3rd Hyundai. I leased 2 Sonatas and chose a Kona as I need a small SUV due to winters in the Northeast. Kona did not disappoint me in the snow. I felt safe as it made it easy to maneuver in the snow. 5 stars

Pros
Comfort, reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jane M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/08/2021
Great Compact SUV
I love my Kona. I love all the luxury features like driving alerts, heated seats and charging pad to name a few. It is so quiet I can barely tell it’s on
especially while exiting and yes it alerts you if you leave the car without turning it off. It handles very well. I love zipping around. Great pick up.

Pros
Handles well
Easy to drive
Fun features
Comfortable

Cons
Not for tall people
Not a lot of room in backseat area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DANIEL B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/04/2021
2018 Kona
Good price. Good gas mileage. Comfortable - not too big, but not too small. Four door styling allows for easy access. Plenty of trunk room with the SUV styling, Looks stylish. Smooth ride. Great car overall.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2021
Another Hyundai Quality Vehicle
The 2018 Hyundai Kona Ultimate is my 5th Hyundai vehicle since 2011. Each as been better than the other as I have steped up from two Elantras, two Sonatas, and now the AWD Kona. I have the 1.6 turbo and find the power to be more than adequate. The vehicle is loaded with advanced safety features, including a head-up display of your speed, the speed limit, direction, as well as an alert about vehicle approaching on either side of the car. This alert also appears in the outside mirrors. The auto-dimming high beams function is a GREAT standard feature on the Ultimate, especially driving on unfamiliar roads at night. Awesome. My version has heated front seats, a large, but not too large, display, and a great audio system. As with most recent vehicles, there is no CD player what with Blue Tooth and satellite radio. The front-end collision avoidance system is great as is the lane-departure warning. All-in-all, the Kona is a comfortable, driveable vehicle that I would highly recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BENJAMIN D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/01/2021
2018 Kona
Nice little SUV, fast, reliable, awd worked great for traction and handling. Interior noise on the high side
Cargo ties were flimsy, I broke 3 under normal use, would have been better if made of aluminum or stainless steel. I owned the Limited edition, at this level, digital compass and reverse proximity warning should have been standard.

Pros
One of the fastest in its class

Cons
Turbo lag is pronounced

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DONALD D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2021
Kona
The Kona is a great little city car. The ride is a bit harsh and the seats are a little hard for long drives. The lack of high side seat bolstering is great for us older people. High bolstering creates hip discomfort. This is not a sports car and you don't drive around conners on 2 wheels. Leave that to the young and not so smart kids.

Cons
Highway driving requires constant input to maintain a straight line.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2021
2018 Kona
My Kona was one of my best purchases. It is cute as a button. The ride is great. The gas mileage is wonderful and I have had no problems at all! It is a great car for a great price!!! I will buy another Kona when I am ready for a new car!

Pros
Everything except the passenger seat height adjustment.

Cons
No passenger seat height adjustment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KARENE M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/21/2021
Great Sporty Versatile CUV
I really liked the look, size, price and it was my first All wheel Drive.
Overall very satisfied. Not great gas mileage but it is all wheel drive.
I dislike the phone audio, it's very poor quality, echoes on the other end.
I liked the upgrade options and found my color
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1251 in total