2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(890 Reviews)
Latest review 30 minutes ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DD
DONALD D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2019
Love the car
TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

Pros
Great car

Cons
Steering, Ride and Interior noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Great Vehicle
I took my Sonata in for service & saw the Kona Ultimate. It was the right size for me, smaller than the sonata & got better gas mileage. I bought it
that day! Alexandria Hyundai worked well with me!!

Pros
Great gas mileage, comfortable & good size for me!

Cons
No CD player!!! Really!!! I don't do Sirius!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ronda F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
Beautiful Car
This is the Best car I have had, LOVE the color, drives like a dream, people are very nice, I have not needed any repairs other than your standard oil changes. I am very happy with my car and Hyundai!

Pros
To many to name.

Cons
Haven't found any yet......:)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nestor C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/21/2019
An excellent vehicle
The 1.6 turbo Kona is a well equipped vehicle with excellent power, handling, and gas mileage. Indeed the gas mileage is much better than that reported by Hyundai. My only concern with the vehicle are the reports of some owners of an overheated transmission. I researched this topic and found that this can occur in dual clutch transmissions (DCTs) that do not have torque converters. This causes clutch to become overheated during slow speed or bumper-to-bumper traffic. In further research of other vehicles with DCT, I discovered that some of the vehicles have torque converters and do not suffer from the overheating problems in heavy, slow-moving traffic. That begs the question, why didn’t Hyundai consider this option in its design of the 1.6 turbo?

Pros
Power, handling, fuel economy

Cons
Overheated transmission in slow, heavy traffic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANNMARIE F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2019
Awesome, Durable, and easy to drive
Awesome, Durable, and easy to drive...great with fuel and the all wheel drive is appreciated in the snow. Great on long trips. The heated seats make my back feel so much better and an enjoyable drive. Just wish it had more trunk room.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Great car.
I like everything about this vehicle!!!! I think that says it all. I get a lot of comments on my vehicle and they all are positive so far. I will definitely consider another Hyundai Kone the next time I'm in the market for a new vehicle

Pros
Performance, fun to drive and styling

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AZ
Amelia Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Hyundai Kona
I love my Kona, easy to drive, nice size for parking spaces,just enough room in the back for my business stuff and play stuff. And I just
love the way it looks, clean lines and snazy looking. Have driven to the mountains and it's very comfortable.

Pros
Very easy to handle on the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Joan N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
I love everything about my kona it’s convenient it has just enough space for me I get so much of compliments on my kona
I will tell everybody to go to Hyundai of North Charleston the people are just excellent and once more I love my konaSo people go down to Hyundai of North Charleston and you will love their service fo

Pros
Hey get the car You will love it beautiful

Cons
You will love it beautiful

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
LAWRENCE F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
2018 Kona
Fun driving small suv with good gas mileage. It has enough room in every seat for a guy my size and I’m 6’1. The basic sound system is also pretty good. The ride is comfortable but does sit a little low for a SUV

Pros
Fun ride and good gas mileage

Cons
Hard to hear on blu tooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PATRICIA P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Great Car
The Kona has turned out to be a fantastic car. I really enjoy driving it. It fits our family well. Still learning bits and pieces. Apple Car Play is great. The stereo system and upright screen are great.

Pros
Easy to handle

Cons
Haven’t found one yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dale S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
2018 Kona Unlimited 1.6 Turbo
Love the styling, just the right size for up to 4 people. Nice quality leather seats. Headlights light up the night for safe driving. Safety features very nice. The Kona runs quietly and I'm getting very good mileage. Very pleased with our purchase and the lifetime warranty and roadside assistance sealed the deal!

Pros
Style, power, leather interior. Perfect size for four people. Excellent ride. Just the right amount of tech for our needs.

Cons
Wished the passenger seat was power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Robert J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
Great car!!
I purchased my 2018 Kona early this year. It was new..a left-over as he 2019's had arrived. This car continues to amaze me. It contains many new safety items which I continue to tell my friends about it. Both sales & Service are absolutely great.

Pros
Great overall satisfaction. Quality of construction is excellent..no squeaks no rattles. Good value for the momey!!

Cons
Transmission works fine at normal driving, but hesitates when pushed. Getting used to the automatic lane control was weird at first, but gradually got used to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Rose O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
I enjoy every part of my Kona. It handles beautifully; fair on gas milage (as I drive mostly around town). The height for entrance is great for me as a small SUV. I would highly recommend the Kona now.

Pros
I lease my vehicles

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GO
GABRIELLE O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
LOVE MY KONA
I needed a new vehicle to replace the small Ford Focus I had purchased in 2011 as my first ever car that I purchased. By 2018, it had served me well and I knew I needed to upgrade. I had searched for Hyundai cars specifically when I decided I wanted a new vehicle. My husband's first and current cars were both Hyundais and they proved reliable to him, so I wanted to go with Hyundai as well. I was looking at the SUVs specifically and realized that the Kona had just come out as the smaller of the Hyundai SUVs. On the website, it looked perfect for my needs. I was simply hoping for a larger car. When I checked it out at the dealership, I loved it even more and ended up purchasing it that day. Overall, I am very in love with this car and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a smaller SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARY B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
HyundI Kona
surprisingly pleased. extremely pleased. very comparable to the Subaru. perfect size if you don't want the larger suv. The performance especially in winter made me feel completely safe driving. It does not slip or slide.

Pros
Very impressed. I was looking for a Subaru, and test drove my Kona, and I wanted it. It has all the features I was looking for. It handles great in any of the weather conditions.

Cons
I wish it had fog lights. I was told it did, and it does not.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CYNTHIA L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2019
Kona
Love it. I hate the typing part of these surveys. I have already reviewed with my ratings. I love love love my vehicle and do not know what else you want me to say about this. I feel like i complete surveys for Hyundai every month
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
Great Cross-over SUV !
I've owned my Hyundai Kona Limited for about 11 months now and there isn't a bad thing that I can say about this car. It's great on gas 31 mpg Hwy/ 29 mpg in the City. It has all the features I need: a 175 hp Turbo Charged Engine, a Moon-roof, Fog Lights, Blind-spot Detection, Rear Camera with cross collision avoidance; and Apple car play with keeps me connected to my music, hands free phone use; and my navigation. I also like the 18 inch Tires and the ability to switch from front wheel drive to all wheel drive with the push of a button. This car has it all, that's why it was named the 2018 motor-trend SUV of the Year!

Pros
Great Features, well-built; & great gas mileage!

Cons
Small Trunk Area.Also, I would not recommend this vehicle for tall or large people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
Cindy O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
Hyundai Kona - My favorite car!
Throughout the years I've had many new cars. I can easily say that my 2018 Hyundai Kona is my all time favorite. It is sporty, cute. peppy, safe, fun to drive..... I could go on and on! I get compliments on its style all the time. I've had it just over a year and have 36,000 miles on it! I just love it and want to drive everywhere!

Pros
Price
Dealership
Style
Miles per Gallon!!
Dependability

Cons
I can only afford one!!! lol.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PAULA J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
LOVE MY KONA
I love this subcompact crossover SUV. It is perfect to drive when it rains. Very comfortable for road trips.
It think this is the best design among the subcompact SUV in the market. I highly recommend it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Elaine M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
Love my Kona
I wanted to lease a different car than my previous Sonata. When I saw the Kona it was just the change I wanted. I have it in White with black trim and think it’s the cutest car ever. I get lots of compliments on it and there are at least 3 other white SUVs of other makes on my block but my Kona is the nicest looking. Oh and by the way it drives great and has good gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 890 in total