2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1156 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RW
Richard W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2020
Kona
The Kona is comfortable to drive. Fuel efficient. And I like all of the safety features. I do not have anything else to say. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
Great value

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
ELEANOR W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
My Kona
I am a little old lady who drives to the stores and visits others on Utah - so this car suits me perfectly. Thank you. However my grandchildren do enjoy driving my car and perhaps they "have fun" in it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Joseph H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Gas mileage
So I have a 2 year old Kona. No bs in the city I average around 32 mpg. Highway almost 40mpg. Fill up about every 2 weeks. It’s fun to drive. Has good passing ability. For me headroom I can wear a hat and at 6’5” that’s saying roomy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
ANNE V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2020
Kona 2019
I bought this car primarily for its fuel efficiency, which is excellent. I also found myself unable to afford another Sante Fe, which I owned prior to this (and loved!) and the price was right on the Kona. I have enjoyed driving this car, though, more than I expected. I would definitely recommend it to others who are looking for a car in this price range.

Pros
Great gas mileage; attractive, almost sporty appearance; smooth ride; good entertainment system.

Cons
Seats could be just a bit more comfortable, but really not enough to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHEN L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2020
love the car
I am on the road most of the day the comfort of the car is very important
plus the all wheel drive
this is my 5th Hyundai from the same dealership and i will keep on buying them there as long as i can
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Thomas M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2020
Great smaller crossover--perfect for us!
When we were looking for a new car a couple of years ago, we thought we'd trade in our 2011 Tucson for the latest model, but then we saw and test-drove the Kona--and loved it. If you like a spacious interior with lots of cargo space, this isn't the SUV/crossover for you, but we fit comfortably in the front seats and feel there's plenty of space for us. At no point have either of us felt cramped or impeded in any way. The cargo area is good for suitcases and/or groceries, and the rear seats fold down to make room for larger items. Your taller friends may struggle a bit in the back seat, but that's not really been an issue for us. Typically it's just the two of us. The gas mileage is good, and we like the navigation system, as well as the Qi charging pad for our phones. We were happy to discover Apple CarPlay pre-installed, and we're happy with the storage space in the console and glove compartment.

Pros
Tech-readiness
Power
Style
Fun
Backup camera and safety features

Cons
None so much for us, but the Blue Link system was unreliable at first. It has since improved DRAMATICALLY. The back seat may be a bit cramped for taller passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/27/2020
2018 Hyundai Kona
Nice vehicle as far as styling and efficiency. Fun to drive except when road noise exceeds a tolerable level. Interior is well placed but needs a kick in color and finish. This vehicle is highly ranked among sub compact crossover SUV's.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DURAN J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/26/2020
Pretty good
Not bad. Good look and rides decent. Great on gas and the AWD isn't bad either. I feel it's a good buy once all the real adjustments are made after the surveys and trials. Great potential here. Rims do not match the aggressive design of the body and the headlights are really dim.

Pros
Looks great. Great on gas. Feels solid. Great media sound.

Cons
Dim headlights. Bluetooth call quality could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OZ
OLGA Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
Love My Kona!
Out of all the Hyundai vehicles I've owned, this is my favorite by far. The body style and size are so convenient when parking in tight places. Perfect when going on long trips I feel very comfortable
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TO
Theresa O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/25/2020
Love This Car!
This car is very fun to drive and I drive A Lot! During this COVID-19 Pandemic I have become a Courier or Delivery Driver. It handles extremely well, gets good gas mileage and is just a fun little car that helps me get my job done. Plus it looks really nice!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/25/2020
Enjoy
Enjoy auto. I have nothing more to say. I have nothing more to say. I have nothing more to say. I have nothing more to say. Why do I have to have 200 characters? I have nothing more to say. I have nothing more to say.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BARBARA M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
2018 Kona
I love to drive this car, but sometimes I have trouble stepping on the gas. I have to push hard and it causes me to be a little slow getting started from a stop. But then if I step on it hard when the light turns I jump fast way ahead of everyone else because the car has a lot of get up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Hector R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
I'm in love with my Kona!
Great car. Gas efficient, good and fun to drive. I have it for almost 2 years and still the people stops me in different places and ask me questions about it. Congratulations Hyundai, you did it again!

Cons
More space in the trunk would be great. Isolate the noise a little more while you are driving on a highway. Definetly, better speakers!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Shirley B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/23/2020
Disappointed
If not for the dual clutch transmission problem 1-2 gear - I would give the Kona an excellent review. However, my disappointment in the continued juttering I feel driving my car is so distubing - I wouldn't recommend this vehicle

Pros
Nice design, Good gas mileage. Comfortable interior.
Leasing vehicle

Cons
Dual clutch transmission juttering.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lydia A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2020
Love My 2018 Kona
This car is easy to handle and has a peppy engine...Interior is roomy and comfortable..

It feels like a mini SUV,,,,,,,engine runs very quiet. Accelerates quickly... moves steady
This is a fun vehicle to drive

Pros
Fun to drive, nice peppy engine....

Cons
Very Small trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jordan G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2020
Great car
I love everything about this car except the camera frame it looks cheap. I have the upgraded model. Its my 2nd hyundai car and I love this make of car. It's comfortable to drive, easy to clean. They hire great service managers.

Pros
Love it all

Cons
Camera look

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Eleanor C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
My Kona
Love my Kona I love most everything about it I wish it had more power going up hills especially with the air conditioning on I guess most cars have this problem. Hope it continues to work well look forward to many more years with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHUYI H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/19/2020
Great little SUV. I love the styling
I love the styling. Definately, it looks like a more expensive car than it is. Hyundai design team fid a wonderful job in designing this car. But, this car is noisy and the ride is harsh. Besides, it is missing adaptive cruise control that is standard in Honda and Toyota

Pros
great looking and good handling 👍

Cons
noisy, harsh ride, and issue with the AC fan. It is also missing an adaptive cruise control or smart cruise control, which is standard in Toyota and Honda

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Michael H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
Great vehicle
I really like the looks and performance of my Kona. It is the perfect vehicle for me. I enjoy driving my Kona and have gotten very positive comments from complete strangers about its looks and what kind of vehicle it is. My husband and I have had several Hyundais through through the years and have been very happy with them.

Pros
Great fuel economy.

Cons
Interior noise a little loud on highway at higher speeds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
William R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2020
Love My Kona
I love my Kona. It was the right vehicle for me after I retired. Sufficient room for errands and trips. Great performance. Fun to Drive. Very comfortable interior. Very good fuel economy. The styling grows on you. All in All a great vehicle.

Pros
Comfortable and fun to drive. Good fuel economy. Plenty of performance.

Cons
A little too much plastic in the Interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1156 in total