2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(826 Reviews)
Latest review 12 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CB
Carolyn B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
I LOVE MY KONA
I LOVE MY KONA. I LIKE THE WAY IT DRIVES, ITS COMFORT, ITS LOOKS AND ALL OF THE EXTRAS, THE ONLY THING I WOULD CHANGE WOULD BE THE TRUNK DOOR. I WISH IT HAD AN AUTOMATIC OPEN AND CLOSE. ITS QUITE DIFFICULT FOR ME TO MANAGE BEING A SENIOR.

Cons
TRUNK DOOR IS NOT AUTOMATIC OPEN AND CLOSE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Suzanne G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Kona
Love it, love it, and, oh , LOVE IT,, Have no other word's that will say how much I love the
Kona. I probably will lease a Kona when my present lease ends. I like suvs but find them too big for me
Kona is the perfect size
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Dino L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Love me a Kona!
I am very happy with my Kona. It is not too big it handles great. I love the lane keep assist and heads up display. The four wheel drive is awesome. The 10 year warranty is great! I recommend buying from Centennial Hyundai in Las Vegas.

Pros
The heads up display. and the tablet style infotainment center. Very user friendly. We drove it to Reno and had so much fun driving it through the snow.

Cons
Dealership service departments in Las Vegas will not answer their phones. They will sell the car but don't want to service them. Centennial is the only one who will work on Hyundais.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Donneta R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
Love my Kona
I love my new Kona, I’ve had it on the Blue Ridge Parkway twice she handles the curves in the mountains beautifully. I’ve taken her on a 700 mile trip across two states handle the highway like a charm,. I am use to a larger SUV but this small crossover is just perfect for just me .

Pros
She handles all kinds of road conditions that I’ve experienced so far for just short of the year that I’ve had her. For the most part is the best ride I’ve ever had. She may be a little smaller for a crossover but she makes up for it in style and performance .

Cons
They only con I can think of is you do have to get out after while to walk around if you go on for long distances driving alone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MEI M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
My Hyundai Kona
I love everything about this car! Stylish snd sporty looking. Easy and so fun to drive. It has all the high tech features. Android Auto works great. Car gets good mileage. Many people have asked me about the car as it was a new model in 2018. I would highly recommend this car to anyone. However, I wish there was a hybrid version. The electric car probably wouldn't serve our needs as we frequently travel to remote locations.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DELORES K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/09/2019
hyundai kona
Good car except for the battery problem I had in the first three months, where it would not start until someone came out to jump start it. One time it was even parked in my garage overnight. . I had the battery checked by an independent dealer and it checked out as having full power.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Janet L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
Hyundai Kona
I Love My Kona! Excellent gas mileage, performance. Looks & handles Awesome!
Also, has an excellent warranty. At Orr Hyundai of Texarkana, all the employees are very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful while you are shopping or getting serviced!

Pros
Everything about it is a Plus!!!

Cons
No cons about it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
Nirsa G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
I love my Kona
I love all the features, sunroof, leather interior, and Apple Play. The ride is very smooth and the size is just perfect for me. I was looking for a small but roomy SUV and this fits the bill. I really depend on the safety features and wonder what I ever did without it. I know it's silly, but I smile every time I get in my car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THOMAS M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
Great
This car is my wife's principal vehicle. She had her pick of whatever she wanted and could afford most anything. She wanted an efficient, good handling car with good visibility and good manuverability. This car had all the features she wanted, performed well, has a great warranty, and just happened to not cost a lot.

Pros
Great value. Lots of features on base model. Apple Car Play. Good cargo utility. Great warranty. Zippy performance. Easy to park.

Cons
Slower than a Corvette.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/07/2019
huh?
Huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh??????????
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Cindy K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2019
Owner?
The trunk needs to have an in-car release, as well as being able to open it from the key fob. The control for the lights should light up at night. I can’t tell if I have just my parking lights on. Trunk alarm is insane. My trunk hatch is difficult to close— I usually have to slam it several times—and I was driving on the highway and it popped open when I hit a SMALL bump. I had to listen to that alarm for 10 minutes until I could pull over and correct it. There is a lot of noise in the car when driving. Positive thoughts: great mileage, roomy, cute as hell, easy to drive, comfortable, lots of storage cubbies, backup camera is good(can’t really use though as it makes me dizzy), love the color — mistake changing the blue on the new 2019 Konas—, love the radio except not sure why it lowers when I back up?! WTH?! Overall, I love my car and don’t regret getting a Kona instead of the Nissan Rogue that I had been researching for 6 months.

Pros
Mileage, roomy, stylish, lots of features.

Cons
Trunk release, radio lowers while backing up, hatch has to be slammed, loud in cabin while on highways, cannot tell when driving if I have just parking lights or regular lights on after dark without turning on interior lights.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/06/2019
Overall satisfaction
Great car love the design and color that's what made me buy it. The only down side is just It lacks power. It needs a bigger engine , then it would get a10 reading from me. I might trade it in at the end of the year because of lack of power

Cons
Not enough power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Hyundai Kona - Ultimate
My previous Hyundai was a Santa Fe and I wanted a smaller SUV with better gas mileage and I got what I wanted. I like the unique styling and the overall quality of the vehicle. The things I would like to see changed in the future are design features (interior venting, road noise sound deadening). I love the way this car drives and I never get tired of looking at it. Thank you Hyundai for adding it to your vehicle line-up.

Pros
This is my second Hyundai and the quality is what I have come to expect from Hyundai. The turbo charged performance is what makes it fun to drive. Handles great in traffic or on the open road. I really like this car.

Cons
The air conditioning vents are one of the worst features of the car. If you have a passenger who wants less air, you pretty much have to completely close off the vent, there's no in between. You can't deflect the air up or to the side. At highway speeds too much interior noise. Needs more (road noise) sound deadening. Not only loud on rough roads, but also on the freeway. Hard to carry on conversation or listen to music at highway speeds. You really have to crank up the volume to hear even "relaxing" music. Keep in mind, I'm someone who really likes this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PAULA C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Great car, with a few flaws.
Overall, I love my Kona. It is not too big, not too small. Can carry a decent amount of cargo, especially with the seats down. It has the turbo engine and has sufficient acceleration when I need it. The styling is nice as well. The only complaints are that the smart-cruise control isn't activated on my 2018, when it was told to me that they would turn it on via an update. It has the hardware for it to work, but just wasn't ready software wise when it was rolled out. There is no reason at all that it shouldn't be working.
Asside from that, the only other complaints are that we purchased the Ultimate trim, and the interior door material seems hard and cheap and scuffs way too easily, and there should be some soft touch material near the top, but isn't. The last thing is that apparently, according to the dealership, we are limited to two keys programmed to the Kona at a time. This is insane. I share the Kona with my wife and another family member, and we are constantly battling over keys for the vehicle as we only have two. This should not be a limitation.

Pros
Styling, performance, size.

Cons
Interior material, missing promised features and limited to two keys.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robert C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Kona 2018
Great ride, tight. Nice looking vehicle and mechanically sound. I’m getting 30 mpg normally, I love that. I’d recommend this car to anyone, and buy
another. Color is rich, love it (red). Comfortable ride with company in the back going out to dinner.

Pros
Looks great, practical, nice tight ride. Fun to drive

Cons
Not enough storage but it’s a reasonable trade off for smaller vehicle which I wanted. It’s enough for me to pack a couple bags and get away for the weekend.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DENNIS G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2019
Great suv
The Kona is wonderful I love driving it I was surprised because I loved my tiberon and was not sure I wanted a suv. But I am very happy and love my Kona size is just perfect the safety features are great and the awd is perfect for New England weather.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOANNE D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/04/2019
Good car
Good car, stupid survey. I don't like filling in comments. Pain in the asssas ssssssssssssssssssssssddsdddsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssszsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CARLOS F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Fantastic Hyundai Kona
Very satisfied, am longtime Hyundai customer and will continue as such.......................................................................................................................................

Cons
Transmission.....previously explained 2 times.
Glove box could be a little larger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Laraine B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Kona is outstanding
For the price point, it is the most efficient, comfortable, smooth ride I have ever had. Gas mileage is outstanding. City driving is over 30 miles to a gallon. Great acceleration, economical, comfortable. It may be small but I can still pack the back with seats down with quite a lot. Best car ever0

Pros
All of the above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
TESHIA W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/03/2019
Great
Wonderful vehicle I have enjoyed getting to know all of tree yeah options in this vehicle. I get comments all the time on this vehicle. Very stylish vehicle and very comfortable vehicle no maps unless you have your phone plugged in

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 826 in total