2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(954 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SD
Shirley D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2018
Kona review
The Kona looks nice and gets excellant gas mileage on anything over a 30 mile drive. I have had 37.5 mpg on a long trip. I still get 24-26 in town. I just had my first oil change and was happy with it

Pros
Color, style, seats go down for carrying stuff, easy in and out, cost

Cons
Steering wheel locks after parking and is hard to get started if I don't keep the wheels straight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Cheryl G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2018
2018 Kona limited
Great gas mileage very comfortable, and very responsive. Better than expected. More and more pleased every day. Can't wait for my next road trip with my new Kona. A real head Turner with all the convenience you want in a car at a great price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Clarence W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2018
the KONA
I think the HYUNDAI KONA is an EXCELLENT CHOICE for an EMPTTY NESTER. The ride is good with EXCELLENT HANDLING and GOOD FUEL ECONOMY. Interior fit and finish is excellent. Controls is right where you need them and REAR SIGHT LINES IS GOOD. Though a SUB-COMPACT, INTERIOR ROOM IS O.K IN THE REAR, BETTER UP FRONT.The optional 1.6 liter turbo IS A BETTER CHOICE than the 2.0 4 cyl in my opinion.

Pros
price per value quotient is GOOD, good fuel economy, great handling,great styling no other vehicle in the sub-compact class looks like the kona.

Cons
No usb port in rear, no 12 volt outlet in rear no rear seat heating ducts in rear,rear seat does not recline.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dirk W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2018
Fun and comfortable car
In my opinion the Hyundai Kona Limited is the leader of its class! I don't think my car compares well to the Mazda cx-3, Toyota CHR or Honda HRV. I do think it compares better in build quality to my friends Audi Q3 and another's BMW X1!!! The Kona is quite fast as well. No problem putting everybody in your rearview mirror :-) Most of my driving is city driving and this car is well suited for that. I have taken one road trip totaling 700+ miles and the car is quite confident and very comfortable on the freeway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
Carl N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2018
Changed from Toyota
Our Kona has proven to be more comfortable for my husband. He has back problems and finds these seats more comfortable and easier for him to get in and out of the vehicle, the Camry was lower. Love the Blind sport sensors and back up camera with alert warning. The only negative for me is the a/c vent, can’t point it away from me while I’m driving , don’t always like the air to blow directly on me. Easy to park and rides smooth.

Pros
New, comfortable, easy to navigate, blind spot sensors beep if vehicle beside, back up camer plus alert, car play, lock with remote or button on door, can’t lock keys in vehicle, comfortable riding, easy to park

Cons
Don’t like a/c vent blowing on me when driving, can’t turn off me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Sara A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2018
Love my Kona!
Was looking for a small SUV and the Kona was the perfect choice! Seats fold down flat to allow for lots of room in the back. The gas milage is great in both the city and on the highway. And I just love the way it looks on both the outside and the in. Very stylish!

Pros
Love it!

Cons
Haven’t found any yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Bethany R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Kona love
I love my kona. It is tight on space, so if you want more room, get a higher trim with roof rack options. Very well handling and a smooth ride. Great on gas, and I have no issues with the "slow" acceleration. It is the best you can buy for the price.

Pros
Sleek, looks expensive but is not, great has milage, good technology

Cons
If you like to speed up very fast from a stand still, get the turbo version

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jeffrey G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Love it!
I love my Kona! The ride is way better than my Subaru Impreza and the gas mileage is better than expected for an SUV. The amenities in my vehicle include almost everything I wanted and I love the way it looks! The auto headlights are great - they come on when you turn on the windshield wipers. The "Sport" drive mode is pretty good when you need to get up & go. I'm completely satisfied with this vehicle.

Pros
Comfortable, sits a little higher than a sedan, gas mileage

Cons
The pickup is a little slow but I know that this is a feature of Hyundai in order to improve the gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Debra B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2018
Kona 2018
Love my new Kona. Its reliable, great on gas, dropping the seats for more storage is easy. Great pick up on the highway and excellent maneuverability. There is ample room in the back for anyone who is tall.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Faye B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2018
Fueling
My kona has saved me on gasoline. I am filling up one less time a week. I have gotten ad much as 34 miles to the gallon on the highway. I average 30 miles to the gallon of gas with a mix of city and highway driving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Martin L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2018
Perfect for us
We were looking for a small utility vehicle and loved the new Kona as soon as we saw it. It is just the right size for us, has a very responsive engine and nice styling. We love the leather seats, CarPlay and sun roof. We expect to get a lot of use out of it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Ammar A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2018
Small SUV
I like my new car hyundai Kona it just a very good car and economic gas using and i like the new design for car body and headlights charming design it’s looking like a sport car and in the sane time it’s great car for small family
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Paul C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2018
Great ride!
I switched to Hyundai for the first time. I was drawn to the Kona, at first for its neat design. It had a great sporty look. It took very little time after our purchase to feel very comfortable. I really liked the tech stuff to hook up my smartphone to the system. I took a long trip and it was a wonderful vehicle. The gas mileage was terrific. I am not disappointed for my switch!

Pros
Great desugn

Cons
The leg room for the back seat is tight. The trunk space is smaller that I was used to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sharon B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
kono
overall I'm satisfied with the vehicle rides no issues so far and I would recommend to a friend
just wish it could have been in other colors when I got it which at the time it was only black and white

Pros
no commit at the moment

Cons
no comment at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gordon E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
My Kona
I cannot begin to say how much I am enjoying this car. The MPG is spot on and I travel back and forth to work round 100 miles. It is nice to wave at a gas station twice a week. I am also have with the tech part of the care as well from the back up camera to the signal alerts on my side mirrors. I have a long road trip coming up and looking forwad to try out my AWD in sport mode. All and all i could mot be more happier with this car I do recommend getting the Turbo model though . I did not
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Ted A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
excellent car
I like the way I sit in car up higher than a regular sedan, the gas mileage is better than I thought it would be. it has plenty of power when you step on it goes. the ride is smooth and it handles great. I would recommend this car to everyone
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Ausra K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2018
Fun and sporty vehicle
Went from full size SUV to a Kona. Big adjustment at first but love the look and feel of driving the Kona. Great gas mileage. Still learning how to pack thing in it when I go on escapes. Overall great vehicle

Cons
Could have a little more pickup when need it real fast.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Alesa A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/25/2018
I Love My Kona except for...
So far 2 things... Ive had my Kona for 3 months.
1) The connectivity to my phone is not immediate and more often than not I sit in my driveway for 2-3 minutes waiting for the connection. This should be immediate.
2) Cannot dim the driver display down enough for nighttime driving. Tech display dims greatly, more than needed. It is extremely bright, almost blinding at times. Can this be adjusted further?
3) I actually really miss a CD player; for the price I paid for the vehicle it should have bern standard feature.
4) At times my vehicle has almost stalled upon after startup and initially pressing on the gas pedal. Could sometimes be due to the weather, but watching this.

It will be nice for customers to have different interior color options. I love my black interior, but a pop of color would also be nice.
Otherwise, it's a nice, comfortable drive.

Pros
-Comfortable interior and drivers seat.
-Fun, comfortable drive.
-Leather seats seem to be of quality construction.

Cons
- Tech/Delay of phone connectivity
- Bright driver display, unable to dim to a comfortable level of brightness in the dark
- Cannot open rear hatch from inside
- No CD Player or option to add
- Plain interior color for the price - need option for added touches of color

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shelbey S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2018
Great Value for a Great Car!
This crossover is perfect for what I need at this point in my life. It is the perfect size and the gas is amazing! I commute to work and my tank lasts forever.

Despite only having the base model, I have all the features I could really need or ask for! I get compliments on the look of the car all the time. Overall, I feel like I made a great investment for buying my first brand new car and would highly recommend the Kona to a friend or family member.

Pros
Gas!
Look
Sport Mode
Apple Carplay
Size
Comfort

Cons
Manual seat adjustments
Unable to check tire pressure when in drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Steven F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona review-by Batman!
So far I have been very pleased with my 2018 Kona AWD Limited that I purchased in 5/2018.
The 1.6 Turbo engine is very responsive with good acceleration. I very much like the Technology Package with the safety features such as Lane Departure Warning and Blind Spot Warning. I like the larger display screen-the Nav system is quite good and the Bluetooth works well. When you select the Kona Limited model-there is a LOT of features packed into this smaller car. The highway mileage in this AWD vehicle will run about 30 mpg-not bad for an AWD car.
This may seem minor-but it kind of perturbs me somewhat. It would have been nice if the Limited version of this car came with a heated steering wheel-it does have heated seats. However, I was shocked to discover that the Kona Limited version does come with a heated steering wheel-BUT ONLY IF THE CAR IS SOLD IN CANADA-THIS MAKES ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE AT ALL!!
Does someone at Hyundai think that once you cross over from Canada into the Northern US in January that you will find palm trees and 77 degree weather?? I have been on drives in the Adirondack Mtns. in NY in December, January and February when the outside temps were as cold as -27 F. and often well below zero. To only offer a heated steering wheel on Kona vehicles sold in Canada is truly ridiculous!
Other than that-I have no complaints at all about my Kona car-and I would very much recommend this very nice car to others.

Pros
See my review above. Get the version with the Turbo engine-it has very good response and acceleration!

Cons
No offering of a heated steering wheel UNLESS YOU BUY THE KONA IN CANADA-that makes no sense at all!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 561 - 580 of 954 in total