2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(825 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
Marie S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Fantastic....
My Kona is great for local driving and I am very comfortable on highways...holds the road in very windy weather and stops quickly when necessary. All the controls are well within reach, especially for a woman, love the phone hook up for driving directions.

Pros
very comfortable on longer trips. Love rear wiper in rainy weather.
very stylish interior/gray with trim color.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Christy G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Love my Kona!
When I first started researching vehicles last year, I could not help but to give this little car a second look. From the first moment, I went on a test drive in a turbo version, I was pretty much hooked. I also looked and test drove 8 different vehicles, but I kept comparing them to the Kona. Finally, I just made my decision and purchased it. I couldn't be more pleased with my Kona. It's unique, roomy enough for my needs, extremely fun to drive and gets pretty awesome gas mileage. What more could you ask for?

Pros
Unique looking, great gas mileage, roomy enough for my needs, fun to drive

Cons
The only thing I would change is that the back would open and close automatically.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Jill N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
LOVE
I always wanted a Mini Cooper. Well this hits all the things I like about a mini, at a price a teacher can afford.
I love everything about this car!!!!
It is fun to drive. I have a sunroof. I like the houndstooth fabric.

Pros
Fun! Small! Edgy! Drive assist.

Cons
Small trunk, but it’s a small car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
David E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
A Gem
I would like more attention paid to opening the hatch. It should be possible from inside the car as well as with a hands free movement of the foot. Otherwise I like the Kona in every way and would but it again.

Pros
Overall quality and performance.

Cons
A hands free hatch lift would be nice.
Opening the hatch from inside the vehicle is absent.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AY
Amy Y.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Love my Kona
Love my
Kona. Great handling. Great performance. Spacious enough for me and three teenagers. Sound system is heavenly. Trunk space perfect for us. I’m so glad I decided to purchase this vehicle I’m going to purchase a Hyundai for my son just because i love mine so much.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HW
Harley W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
My wife and I really like this automobile the mileage is better than we expected we consistently get 31 to 33 miles to the gallon and all the communications options on this vehicle are very helpful and we appreciate them very much

Pros
They advertise the gas mileage at about 28 and we normally get 31 to 33 consistently

Cons
When the front seats are all the way back there’s not much legroom in the back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Dominique V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Best purchase I’ve ever made
Buying my first (new) car was such a hard decision. I knew I wanted a crossover because I love going on road trips and driving friends places. This car fits all of my outdoor needs and I feel so safe in it! Not to mention, I always get compliments on it because it’s just a beautiful car. The only thing is, it has a small engine so you have to stay on top of oil changes (which Hyundai makes it easy to do). I got the SEL package and I highly recommend it!! Overall, I never mind paying my car payment because it really was the best purchase I’ve ever made.

Pros
Safety features, Comfort, Apply CarPlay, Overall vehicle size (not too small or big), trunk size

Cons
Exterior Plastic, Acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Raven Pie W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2019
Great vehicle
I enjoy my Kona! It’s great on gas. It’s a little sporty vehicle and I get compliments all the time. The safety features are great. I love the smooth ride. Whenever it rains, I feel so safe be able it’s very easy to control!!!

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Seating isn’t comfortable enough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Samuel V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/01/2019
Kona
My wife loves the car. She uses it with gusto although some of the features are hard to set up such as connecting her phone to the car. The rear hatch door has to be slammed in order to close fully. Otherwise it is what it is.

Pros
Comfortable, clean styling.

Cons
Not enough features for the price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Megan K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2019
love love love
I love my Kona! I have been driving it for a year now and I am continuously grateful for it. Since I purchased mine, my brother bought one, and I'll continue to recommend it to others! I have nothing but good things to say!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KIMBERLY H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2019
Fantastic fun car to drive
I absolutely love this Little gem. It is very sporty and fun to drive. Mine is the limited which has every single thing you need inside. This particular car has a turbo drive mode but it's so quick you don't even need it. The gas mileage is phenomenal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NF
NAVEEN F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
My lil Kona 2018
Cutest lil thing to drive, the electronics are out of this world. Used to drive a cute Q5. The 2018 Q5 didn't have much of the electronics, even as an option. Besides loving the price, the fuel efficiency is great even though I always drive it in sport mode.

Pros
Excellent fuel efficiency. Compact. Love the electronics.

Cons
Could have a bit more power, I always drive it sport mode.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LI
Lorraine I.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
Kona 2018
I have a 2018 Kona because I wanted a small SUV with all wheel drive that was easier to get in and out of. It's the perfect size. Rides well and handles beautifully. Also the surf blue color is fun and stands out more in traffic. Does have a smaller trunk so can't carry large items easily.

Pros
Good size for driving and handling.

Cons
Small trunk. All seats could be a little higher.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
ROBERT V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
Kona
9.5 on a scale of 10. I will probably release another. Quality at a surprising price. Must drive 25 miles to dealer. :( wish I had gotten a white kona as I live in hot NC. My only con is lack of an interior lift gate release.

Pros
Turbo when wanted

Cons
No interior lift gate release

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Cynthia H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
my car
I love my car. It is good on gas. I highly recommend that you buy a Kona. Maybe my next car I can afford a high quality car. The staff is very friendly. Thank you Hyundai for introducing me to my Kona.

Pros
The quality of my car

Cons
The price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MATHEW B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
A Kick-Butt Mini SUV that has it all
I live in San Francisco and commute far; I hike, bike and ski, so I wanted a compact SUV but one that was sporty, could handle snow, my bikes, my skis, yet had some vroom and wasn't boring. The Kona absolutely delivers on all fronts. I've driven a mini cooper, and to me, in sport mode, this car nails it just like the mini. I can easily pass other cars when I want without having to floor it. It sits higher than a regular mini, yet I sit up a little higher, and the ride on highway is quite accomodating. Unlike a full suv, this thing handles like a car. You'll want to test drive it, trust me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LINDA W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
So enjoy driving this car
I was looking for AWD smaller SUV and this was the one. Easy in/out, all the bells and whistles plus great gas mileage. I don’t need a big car now and the size of the Kona is a breeze to park and drive. Love it!

Cons
Front passenger seat is very low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SHARON R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
Best choice for a compact suv
I have been driving my Kona for a year now. It has performed beautifully in all types of weather and road conditions. It is a pleasure to drive. I still get frequent compliments on how great it looks. Drives like a sports car. Love the HUD!

Pros
Comfort, very responsive, numerous safety features, heads up display, attractive styling,

Cons
Road noise, interior storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Diane M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
Basic but mighty!
Basic but mighty! Those words fit my little basic Kona. Yes I leased the basic model with no bells and whistles, But I wouldn’t trade this vehicle in for no money. Rides well great on gas and it’s a perfect fit for me. The size of it is neither too big or too small. I love it! Try it on for size you just might like it as much as I do whether it’s the basic model or the souped up model doesn’t matter it’s a great vehicle!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANN C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
GREAT VALUE
I LIKE MY NEW KONA. I HAVE DRIVEN SPORT CARS FOR 30 YRS AND NEEDED A FAMILY CAR. IT IS A STEP UP FOR ME BUT NOT ALOT OF SPACE IN BACK HATCH TO CARRY GROCERIES. WILL GET A LIL BIGGER MODEL IN THE FUTURE. GREAT GAS MILEAGE AND VERY SPORTY!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 825 in total