2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1156 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GR
Gilbert R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2018
After initial difficulties car performs well
Drive shaft failed at 270 miles. Extreme vibration led back to Dealer where it was replaced. 45 minute job (per work order of 0.7 hours) took three days. Car is working as expected now, but for how long this time?

Pros
styling, handling, general "drive-ability," value

Cons
original drive shaft failed at 270 miles. Repair/replacement took three days.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Desiree W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/30/2018
Me and my new Kona
I am a hospice nurse, my arrival time is very important to my clients.The 2018 Kona was the right choice, very stylish appearance, good gas mileage. I travel anywhere from 100 to 200 miles a day my Kona and I are ready to travel to parts unknown at a minutes notice, Storage of supplies I need are easily available from trunk which pops right open. The car is nice someone always what kinda car is it and I tell them and then they want to look inside. My Kona is Chalk White in color adding to the sleek look. The staff are friendly caring and work to get you in a car of your choosing, check them out.

Pros
Sleek

Cons
Wish it had a CD player for my music library

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Frederick M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2018
Satisfied customer
The moment I saw the Kona on the lot I knew what I wanted when my current lease was up on my Sante Fe Sport. The looks and size of the vehicle are what caught my eye. Have had several comments from total strangers on the vehicles sharp design

Pros
Looks

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Marian B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/27/2018
Love this car!!!
I really love this car!! I had a 2004 Subaru Forester on its last legs (my 4th Forester) and had finally reached the point where it didn't make sense to keep throwing money at it so began the search for a new car. The new 2018 Forester had gotten a little too big for my taste and the Crosstrek seemed underpowered to me, similar to the Impreza, which we already owned. Because of this, I began to look outside the Subaru line.

After having done a lot of research, I was impressed with what I was finding about the the Hyundai Kona. Once I took it out for a test drive, I was hooked. I bought the SEL (no Turbo) and feel the power is fine for my needs. I love the ability to use Sport Mode for a little extra punch when out on the freeway or on hills. Much better power than our Impreza. It's a smaller, lighter vehicle than the Forester but that's OK for me - even an advantage in a number of respects.

I'm obsessed with the color - Surf Blue - or as I like to call it "In Your Face Blue". Love it! Have had a number of people stop and ask me about the car and they have commented on liking the look of the black detailing - which is very sharp looking! My only worry was the fact that this was the first production year for the Kona. Because I bought my car just as the 2019 was set to come out, I was able to find out that no major revisions were planned for the new model year so that gave me confidence, as did the excellent warranty from Hyundai.

I've really enjoyed some of the features with having a new car. Guess I didn't realize how far behind the technology curve my old Subie was. Am loving the GPS - nice sized scree. Steering wheel control for Apple Pay voice texting very nice and safe. One of the really great safety features is the lane change warning. Really great and not at all obnoxious as I had worried it might be. With the crazy drivers I encounter, that feature alone is worth every penny.

My husband swore that I would never let my old Subie go and I admit to fighting back the tears when I handed the keys over. I'd been through a lot with that great old car but now I'm all about my Kona Blu! Perfect for me!

Pros
Color, styling, lane change warning, Apple Play features (GPS, Voice-text), fun to drive, has some real punch to it.

Cons
Cabin is a bit noisy but quiet compared to my old Forester. Windshield wipers are a little weird when cleaning windshield - have to raise in the right order or they get crossed up. Rear wiper seems a bit small and the rear window under the spoiler is a little hard to reach when cleaning. Minor complaints though and I've gotten used to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lee A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/26/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona
1st seeing the KONA, on display, at the Amsterdam Airport I contacted the local Hyundai dealership in Feb. 2018. Finally available in the Maryville area in April, we test drove and chose our car. New to the marketplace, we were informed it would take 'some time', possibly several months, for OUR model to be available for us. We were contacted regularly, by the sales dept., with updates on our expected date of arrival and within about 4 months the exact color and style we chose was ready for us at Grayson. I absolutely love the 'ride' and feel of the wheel in my Kona. The size and fit are perfect for my needs. The only negative aspect is the 'connectivity', with the car taking over my phone. A safety feature, this needs to be adjusted for better usability of nonaccepted maps for navigation while driving. I have currently 'disconnected' the settings to have use of my phone app navigation maps. Our 4th Hyundai, we are, again, very pleased.

Pros
I LIKE IT !!!
Good ride and feel of the wheel.
Perfect size for my needs.
Great customer service

Cons
Connectivity package, connecting phone to car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Enrique R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/25/2018
Nice Little Car
This car is a nice ride. I bought the basic model. Didn't know there was an intermediate one. I would have preferred additional options. Key less, rear alarm, XM radio.Floor mats. But other than that it rides very nice, great turning radius and good gas mileage

Pros
Good mileage, comfortable front seats,nice ride

Cons
Missing the basics - signals for baking up, key less access, XM radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
David C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/24/2018
More comfort options needed.
Overall, the Kona is a nice vehicle. They need to add cushion to the door arm rest. They also need to offer a tan interior. I am in the California Desert and all black interior gets very hot. There is not alot of leg room in the back seats but I did not purchase it for anyone else but me. So if you have a family, try out the front seats and have someone sit behind you and evaluate the leg room.

Pros
All the safety features are great when I need them.

Cons
Needs more cushion on the doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2018
Slick and sexy
We absolutely love the Kona we have a white with the black and it’s absolutely gorgeous and rides beautifully and it will be nice to have a car that’s good in the winter.
Sincerely
Mr. and Mrs. J Manning

Pros
It’s a gorgeous car and it’s got everything that we need for our family.

Cons
There is nothing bad to say about the Kona or any Hyundai car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KY
Keeley Y.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2018
Great Car
I love my new Hyundia Kona! I have had it for three months now and I do not have one complaint. It runs and drives exactly like I expected. Lots of features including lane assist and sport mode. It is comfortable for my daughter who is in a forward facing seat. I have had an infant seat in it and in the middle it was fine but it would not fit on one of the sides unless the front seats were moved completely forward (this would be very uncomfortable for anyone over 5 feet).

Pros
Lots of features for a great value

Cons
The plain 2.0 lacks a lot of power but it is expected from that motor. Plus, SPORT mode!
Not made for Infant or Rear facing car seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
Frances T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/22/2018
Kona
I love my Kona! It gets amazing gas mileage on the highway on long trips. It costs me no more in gas than my previous vehicle, also wonderful, a Mazda 3. To be so happy with my Kona after a Mazda 3 is saying a lot. Great for my dog, nice for groceries and gear. I love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Elizabeth L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/21/2018
Awesome purchase
I hate to admit how much I love my Hyundai Kona. I've been a Subaru driver for many years. I fell in love with the body of the Kona and then when I drove it, there was no looking back. The turbo engine gives this little gem all the power I need to clear the Colorado mountain passes without skipping a beat...literally. Although smaller then my former Subaru Crosstreck, there is plenty of head and leg room in the front and back seats for everyone to ride in comfort. The head up display is benefit to not needing to take your eyes off the road to see your speed or the next navigational turn. It's truly a joy to drive my Kona.

Pros
Quiet, smooth, quick engine. Great interior design. Great gas mileage: 25 + city, 31+ highway. Cute yet bossy exterior. All around great vehicle.

Cons
Ground clearance is a bit low for my needs. Charging station seems to heat up the phone too much.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kirk P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2018
Fun - useful - and capable.
We love our new Kona. It's gone on several full-day trip drives already. Lots of different terrain, lots of weather conditions (no snow, yet, though, but plenty of heavy rains). We feel it's a great car for us.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sergio C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2018
my Kona
I'm very happy with my Kona it has plenty of power and confort for my needs it meets high safety ratings and what can I say about the looks its attractive and often approached by others for info on it everywhere I go .

Cons
seats could provide more confort although I understand they were desingfor a sportier feel the could be a touch wider

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
Carol N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2018
2018 Kona
Purchased my Kona in May and absolutely love it. This is the first time I have come back to a brand. My previous car was as 2012 Elantra and I was very happy with it. The gas mileage was most important to me and I am glad to say the Kona is continuing the mileage expectations. I get around 40 mpg on the highway at 65 mph and average 35 with combined highway/city driving. Exactly what I was hoping for. The car has pep and the tech package I purchased gives me all the safety features I was looking for. This is the car for those looking for an SUV but with good mileage.

Pros
Roomy inside, smart on the outside and great mileage

Cons
I hear a few rattles from time to time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Connie B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2018
This is the perfect car for me!
I love my Kona! It’s a comfortable, sporty looking compact SUV that’s a great size for me. Little leg room in the back seat but plenty for the grandkids. Handles well. Safety features Help in traffic!

Pros
Sporty style. Size good for negotiating traffic. Easy to handle.

Cons
Backseat leg room is quite limited.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Margaret D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2018
Love this car!!!!
This car is fabulous. Drives well and easily. The turns are good and acceleration is spot on. The size is great for getting into tight spaces. Drives easily. Has features I'm still getting familiar with.

Pros
Great car.

Cons
So far, none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Donald D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/13/2018
Very satisfied
The interior noise level is high. The seats with low bolstering are very comfortable for older persons. The lower entry level is good for shorter people. A heated steering wheel for the northeast should be available in the lower trim levels.

Pros
We are older people and high seat bolstering is does not make entry simple. The Kona seats have lower than normal bolstering which makes entry easy and does not place a lot of presure on the hips.

Cons
Inside noise level is high.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michelle M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona
I LOVE my new 2018 Hyundai Kona. It's got great style , I love the "CarPlay" feature. It has a small turning radius and rides wonderfully. Perhaps the most impressive thing is the great gas mileage. From my house to Plattsburgh and back on less than 2 tanks of gas!!!

Pros
Fuel efficiency

Cons
not equipped with Sirius XM capability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Anthony K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2018
2018 Hyundai Kona.
My wife loves the car and so does my daughter. I'm okay with the car but it lacks power. But it serves it's purpose nonetheless. It work fine for my wife and daughter but I'm a taller person and need my leg room but I can get over it. Has enough cargo space for the three (3) of us also. I like the safety features of the car also. We have not bought a new car since 2014 and were pleased with the added safety features. Overall, we love the car. Thank you.

Pros
Mentioned in summary.

Cons
Mentioned in summary.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mohammed B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2018
The best value for the money. A true luxury for less; top in its class in safety and initial quality.
The best value for the money. A true luxury for less. Top in its class in safety and initial quality. I drove many vehicles before I bought the Kona and the latter was my nest choice. It drives like a sports car but provides the convenience of a CUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 741 - 760 of 1156 in total