2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(815 Reviews)
Latest review 20 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KM
Kelly M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2019
2018 kona
great on GAS- cute- not the most comfortable car - but I am getting use to it - however there is a MOLD MILDEW SMELL every time I turn the air conditioner on for the first time of the day - NO ONE AT THE DEALER CAN FIX IT OR EVEN TRY TO LISTEN TO ME/// It is slow to accelerate- however when you put the sport on it is better- The defroster is slow -

Pros
very cute- great on gas- good size - FUN TO DRIVE-

Cons
slow to accelerate- defroster slow on front window- it would be nice for more tint on windows- THE AIR CONDITIONER SMELLS LIKE MOLD EVERY MORNING WHEN YOU TURN IT ON - hard to have gps and radio on at same time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joseph D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2019
The More I Drive It, The More I Like It
It seems each week I'm discovering either new features of which I wasn't really aware or new and better ways to use them. For instance, my three constant dissatisfactions with the Kona was 1) the noise drastic noise levels inside the car, especially encountered on concrete pavements such is common on interstate highways /bridges and some older asphalt surfaces, 2) not being able to see the instrument panel when using the tilt steering wheel in a comfortable position, and 3) AC/heat system vents that can't be adjusted for maximum driver and passenger comfort. Of these, I recently discovered with the help of my dealer's service staff that I didn't have to rely on viewing the standard needle-type odometer in the instrument panel but could switch to a digital mode. This one discovery seems small but large to me. It means that after a year of driving the car, I could easily view my driving speed without straining my neck to look through the steering wheel or over it. The other two still bug me, especially the road noise, but resolving one out of three helped greatly. Otherwise, I really enjoy this vehicle.

Pros
See detailed review

Cons
See detailed review

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2019
After one year and 13,000+ miles
Highs; Handles great, looks good in red and black, simple but functional controls, great (32 city, 37 hwy) gas mileage, roomy and versatile and easy to keep spiffy outside.
Lows: Poor acceleration and sometimes balky transmission (highly unusual considering the 7 Hyundai cars I have owned in past 16-years).
Otherwise a fun, fun car to drive! I only wish the Corporate people who read this (are there any?) would give some consideration and respond to my not so complementary, but constructive minded comments and not just take for granted my continuous loyalty.

Pros
see above

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SHARIEF B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2019
One Of The Best
The Kona is one of the best vehicles out there! It performs well, as well as looks great! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a sporty new car! I love the detailing and all extras that come along with it!

Cons
not enough leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MENDEZ O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
Excellent but...
I own 4 Hyundai's. The only issue that I have about this car and (all Hyundai vehicles) is the plastic or material (s) used for the interior. These materials become sticky and tacky to the touch, there fore also attracting dust, lint and dirt. These materials are nearly impossible to clean and difficult to maintain its original appearance.
I believe this a real negative issue, because touching, cleaning and the appearance of a car interior is critical to its appeal, use and up keep.
Its important to note that the failure of these interior material(s) is a natural process of its aging, heat, sun, ambient, etc.. and NOT due to cleaners or products applied.
As much as I love Hyundai's vehicles other great qualities, the interior material(s) issue(s) may drive me away to other car brand/make choices if these interior factors are not properly addressed.

Pros
Highly recommended vehicle. On a ratio comparison this vehicle is well above of other vehicles in it class when compare for price, features, comfort, styling and reliability

Cons
I own 4 Hyundai's. The only issue that I have about this car and (all Hyundai vehicles) is the plastic or material (s) used for the interior. These materials become sticky and tacky to the touch, there fore also attracting dust, lint and dirt. These materials are nearly impossible to clean and difficult to maintain its original appearance.
I believe this a real negative issue, because touching, cleaning and the appearance of a car interior is critical to its appeal, use and up keep.
Its important to note that the failure of these interior material(s) is a natural process of its aging, heat, sun, ambient, etc.. and NOT due to cleaners or products applied.
As much as I love Hyundai's vehicles other great qualities, the interior material(s) issue(s) may drive me away to other car brand/make choices if these interior factors are not properly addressed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Enrique R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Great car
I find the Kona a very reliable car and for the price it is excellent. Good gas mileage and maneuvers very well. great turning radius. It gives you a nice feel for the road. My only complaint is that it needs more noise reduction. on rough roads its hard to talk.

Pros
Maneuver
Turn radius
Gas mileage

Cons
low Noise reduction

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHELLE B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
Nice sporty little thing
On my 3rd Hyundai and I’ve loved them all! 2007 Santa Fe, my favorite. 2016 Tucson roomy and great price. Now my Kona which I enjoy the sporty ness of it but not much room to move. I wish I had gotten a better “package”. Feel like it needs some things that are missing. Will definitely go back to leather, bigger tires & probably turbo. I feel like the Tucson has more to offer over Kona. The new Santa Fe is too big for just me.

Pros
Sporty, good gas mileage

Cons
Compact
Base package too basic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Gustavo L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
nice car
I like the kona, is my 8 car in US with Hyunday, Kona is very good, Ill like a little more toys, for example is necessary the camara and lines in the front, is difficult to parking in some parking lot. Also some air conditionate in the back and in the seats.

Pros
easy to drive

Cons
more Toys and forward camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sergio C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
Excellent but needs more Aftermarket Performance Parts Available
Great overall vehicle. Great on gas and driveability is excellent. Interior panels do scratch easy not sure if lower quality material because my other Hyundai is not like that unless you bang into it hard enough. I honestly feel this vehicle needs more support of aftermarket parts and accessories.

Pros
Great on gas. Very reliable. Hyundai has truely stepped up their game over the years.

Cons
Not enough aftermarket parts and accessories for it. Dealer should have options for suspension or other accessories.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RACHEL G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/25/2019
Poor AWD and engine performance
Definitely will not purchase again! Poor AWD handling in snow and rain. Do not feel safe when driving it in extreme conditions. Engine power is pathetic when merging into an interstate. Do not like the delay in the engine when trying to get up to speed!

Pros
Sirius XM and navigation

Cons
AWD and engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Curtis H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Kona 2018
Excellent small car with lots of pep when driving. Excellent gas mileage on the highway. It could use more trunk space when the rear seats are in use. The phone should be able to receive text messages while driving,

Pros
Fun car to drive!

Cons
Small truck space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LANCE J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
I love my Kona!
This is a fun car to drive, the stereo, especially using CarPlay is great, I love the 36mpg I am getting..When I bought it there were few on the road, now there are more, it has all the features I wanted for a good price.

Pros
The auto braking has saved me twice!

Cons
The trunk is a little too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JUSTIN T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Good Affordable AWD
The kona did amazing in the snow and heavy rain. Only complaints would be my battery has some charging issue and it wouldn't start at one point but I fixed that, the car is pretty heavy with it being AWD so more power out of factory would be nice at least for the SE model but overall it's a great buy.

Pros
AWD
Apple/Android Car play
Easy to work on
Daytime running lights
Etx

Cons
Lacks power at least with SE models
Small cargo space but could live with it
Very small aftermarket for this model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
RITA R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Ultimate Kona 2018
Great car but needs some additional elements in the package deal. A DVD player should be standard and so should cooled seats and stable safety distance in Cruise Control. Big tires and turbo will take you anywhere you want! Brakes could be better as mine crunch a lot and sound like I need new rotors. Only have 5500 miles on but dealer said brakes look fine. I am not convinced although they are working fine, just sound funky a lot.

Pros
Needs a few standard features for a top of the line car. A dvd should be standard regardless of cell phone use. That is a serious limiting feature. This car should talk to you instead of having bells and noises. Who in the world knows what all that means. Easy fix. Have the car talk to you and remember certain things. Lots of my friends have cars that talk to them. This top of the line Kona SHOULD too. Upgrade the brakes and braking system. It is the only real concern I have with the safety of this car, although my brakes have performed flawlessly at 5500k they sound like one might expect old brakes do on a 100k car where the rotors are shot. They just make a disconcerting crunchy and grinding noise a lot. Overall, I like this car a lot. I love the efficient but sporty turbo engine. I get an avg. of 35 mpg, more if I use cruise an drive for a few hours. The leather seats are comfortable, but they sure could use and be AC cooled, which is more important to me than heated seats actually. I love the blue color. Car colors were getting really boring the last ten years. Awesome to see some brighter colors on cars and I love this bright blue. Go take a test drive. See what you think. And Hyundai, add that DVD player! Should be a no Brainer regardless of how tech savvy some of us are! Thanks!

Cons
See pros. I put it all together.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mary H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Kona
I absolutely love my new 2018 Kona Sel 2.0. It is runs great and is so much fun to drive! I think it is the cutest model on the road now! The seats are very comfortable and the cargo area is small but fine for me. I haven't needed to put the rear seats down for more room. It is just perfect for me!

Pros
I absolutely love it!

Cons
I wish the passenger seat could be raised and lowered. Also I would like the rear gate to open with a button on the console.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Deborah S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Kona
My Kona is very comfortable, fun and easy to drive. It looks good and gets great gas mileage
Zach and Beau worked very well with me. I feel very safe in my Kona. I like having the blue tooth capabilities. I can talk handsome free. I have my navigator on the screen. That makes it easy for me.to.see.

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GREGORY W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Living up to expectations
Researched the small SUV segment for 6 weeks prior to purchase. AWD is a highly desirable option for CT winters. Lacking AWD eliminated some competitors. Test drove several competitors but in the end it was the Kona's turbo engine that won the day.

Pros
Turbo!
Android Auto (across the range)

Cons
Extensive use of hard plastics in the interior (that's a nitpick in this price range)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
EILEEN D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/22/2019
Kona
Purchased car new, my sixth Hyundai vehicle. I do not believe I would buy another Kona. I would move back up to Tuscon. The 2018 Tuscon surpasses my Kona for interior comfort. I like my heads up, which surprisingly the Tuscon does not have.

Cons
Feel Hyudai skimped on interior costs for seats and flooring, as well as comfort for back seat riders.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2019
Bluetooth
I wish the android app did not have to use the cord to connect to the car. Is there a way to connect to my Kona with out the cord and still be able to use Google maps? And other apps? That would be great!

Thank you
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARIA B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
My Review
the overall looks and performance of the car is okay, however, the suspension at rear wheels are not good, every time I hit some small pot holes it really feels that the car is pushing hard down and you will hear a sudden impact, it needs improvement, the doors are all hard plastic looks very boring it should at least wrap parts to match outside appearance. stereo quality is not high quality, the media is not playing video files

Pros
fun to drive, exterior design is nice

Cons
rear suspension is not good, interior design very simple (boring)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 815 in total