2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1165 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RG
Randy G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
Awesome Vehicle
We love the style of our car, the size is a little smaller than we would like, but it handles nicely in all weather. We get great gas mileage. We would definitely recommend this crossover to anyone looking for a smaller all wheel drive vehicle. We miss the size of our Tucson but for the most part this one has proven to be a great size for our needs. Would highly recommend this car. We haven't had any problems with it this far. Runs great, Rides great. We live on a dirt road on a hill and have never had to use the all wheel drive yet. Awesome stability of weight and great traction.

Pros
Really nice car for a small family and for smaller hauling needs. Economical and safe vehicle.

Cons
Size has been an issue a few times when we were hauling stuff while buying supplies for projects at our home, but other than that, we haven't seen any cons with this vehicle. Average daily use there are no cons to report.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Marilyn L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Great Car
We purchased our Kona to replace a Sonata that had been totaled in an accident. We went back to the dealer where we had previously purchased vehicles even though it was far from our home. They had provided us with great deals and service before. The Kona was new, so we drove it and loved it. The styling, size, maneuverability, and mileage was very attractive to us. They helped us get a good deal, and we are very satisfied with the vehicle. The only concerns we have had are with hesitation when accelerating from a stop and wind noise. Otherwise, a great car!

Pros
Styling, economy, maneuverability

Cons
Wind noise, engine hesitation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
What a blast!
When I walked in to McCarthy Blue Springs to purchase a car, the Kona wasn't what I was planning to buy. But once I test drove it, I LOVED IT! Since buying my Kona, I have been to mountain tops and the beaches in it. People were always asking me what kind of car it was and what I thought of it. I loved telling them how fun it is to drive. The Kona is an absolute joy to drive with plenty of giddy-up and go, great gas mileage and it looks pretty good too. Thanks!

Pros
Too many to list

Cons
Nothing yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OG
OLIVIA G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/19/2020
Excellent 1st Car
When I was ready to purchase my first car I wanted to make sure I got something that was safe and had great gas mileage! When I found the Kona I realized that it was not only the perfect size car I was looking for but that it had everything I needed and more! The features it has make me feel safe while driving and the added bonus of apple car play make me comfortable knowing that I’m hands free! I use my car mostly for work as well and it was important that I had a lot of space. The Kona may not look like it does at first but with a few quick adjustments all the seat lay completely flat and I’m able to put anything I need to in my car! So happy I made this purchase!

Pros
Easy to drive
Great engine
Gas mileage
Comfort and space

Cons
Interior lights dim
No A/C for back seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Shannon J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/19/2020
Do not waste your money
This vehicle has had so many issues. Despite paying extra for a warranty, that was a waste. I have had to pay out of pocket for most of the repairs needed. I have barely owned it for 2 years and its cost me much more than what its worth.

Pros
Technology

Cons
A/C broke and service department took a while to replace
Battery already died
Horn is broken
2 Charging ports are broken
Tire warranty is useless

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 04/22/2020
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

AB
Alma B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/17/2020
I love my Car Kona
I bought 3 cars, so far with Hyundai but my Kona is the best car so far. .......................................................................,........., ............... .....................

Pros
The rear view camera and the signal when cars get too close too my car

Cons
Since I bought my car in 2018 there is a knocking on my left side of my engine that has not gone away

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MAXIMILIANO F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2020
Best
Best car I’ve ever had. Credit score willing next year I’m leasing another one. Very useful and practical SUV, fun to drive, powerful, very elegant, stands anywhere we go, fuel economy is incredible, mine makes over 30 miles per gallon.

Max Fernandez, RN

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
William R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2020
My Kona. A great decision
I have previously owned BMW's and Mini's. I was attracted to the Kona the first time a saw it. After driving it for 18 months, I am very satisfied. It's a great vehicle fro me in my retirement. Not too small, not too big. Great gas mileage. Sympathy ride. Plenty of pickup, much more than I expected. Love the tech. Overall, I couldn't be happier with my purchase on the Kona. Highly recommend.

Pros
Fun to drive, Good gas mileage, Love the tech

Cons
Wish it had a heated steering wheel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lauren M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2020
I love my Kona!!
Hyundai gave me the best car leasing experience I’ve ever had as well as my favorite car of all time - the Kona. It’s fun, drives smoothly, and I just love it!! It has a youthful style and never fails to make me smile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
LINDA K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/11/2020
Kona 2018 Review
Overall, I love my 2018 Kona Ultimate and have not experience any major issues since my purchase in May 2018. We bought the Lime Twist color and couldn't be happier with our choice, since we haven't seen that many Lime Konas out on the road. Coming from a 2017 Hyundai Veloster Turbo in Vitamin C Orange, the Kona offers a much more forgiving ride and easier entry and exit for me because of lower back issues. As much as I loved my "fun" Veloster, it was time to switch to a vehicle that offered more comfort but still was fun to drive. The Kona fits that bill perfectly for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GREGORY R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/11/2020
2018 Kona SE AWD
Great car, you should buy one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Great MPG

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
KARIN E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/08/2020
Kona basic
With all the gadgets and electronic things put in cars now, I have to say it, again, I am missing REAR FOG LIGHTS. They are standard in Europe and most other places and should be a regular feature in any car, truck, bus and what have you. Also, on my basic Kona, which I love, the fog lights in front turn on when I switch on the driving light. I think that is not necessary since the fog light are a lot brighter then the regular lights. I hate it when trucks and other cars at night come at me with the fog lights glaring. I understand car manufacturers have to make money but that should not eliminate common-sense features.

Pros
Love it

Cons
Missing rear fog lights, idles too high in sport mode

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
Robert J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
Best decision I’ve made!!
Handling, mileage, overall satisfaction is a 10. The safety features are wonderful. My only complaint after having it for a while is the lack of back seat space—but only my dog rides back there, so that’s no big deal!!

Pros
ALMOST EVERYTHING!!

Cons
Back seat space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MQ
MARIA Q.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
Perfect for me
Leasing this vehicle was my first big girl purchase, and I’m so happy the salesman pointed me in the direction of the KONA. I would definitely recommend to anyone. It’s small but it’s mighty. Great on gas, plus looks great inside and out. Comfortable on long drives and comes with all the advanced equipment you need to enjoy the ride. Definitely considering purchasing my current KONA just because a I’ve become so attached!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Troy W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/03/2020
Love my Kona!
A very dependable vehicle in all types of weather. I feel safe driving it in snow. Lots of fun to drive and the paint color is so special.. Get lots of complements about having a very sporty SUV. It can carry a lot when the seats are folded down.

Pros
Exceeds all expectations!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CAROLYN B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
GREAT SUV
I love my Kona. I'm still getting complements even after two years. I would definitely get another Kona. I like the interior design as well as the exterior design and everything in between. One night, this vehicle saved our lives when we were making a left turn and a car was going in the wrong direction. The automatic braking system responded immediately keeping us from running into the side of the car. Thanks Hyundai!

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
No passenger seat automatic controls. No automatic lift on trunk gate.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DEBRA B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
Kona
Great, economical car. Good value for the cost. Could use more trunk room and adjustable front passenger seat. Love the heated seats and its easy to enter and exit for someone with limited range of motion from arthritis.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DEMETRIS L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/29/2020
Beautiful Car
Love the color options of this car just wished it was a little more space inside the car and the trunk and also. Fuel economy is not as good as I thought it would be. It is overall a safe care to drive and very visually appealing.

Pros
Color options, styling

Cons
Fuel economy, interior room, trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
STANLEY V.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Great Kona
Great vehicle would buy it again good fuel economy plenty of power good sound system easy to drive needs a little more cushioning on the front end suspension potholes can be a little rough but it’s a part hole I really like my Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Paul B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2020
Love my Kona
Love my Kona. Fun to drive. Great on gas mileage. 35 to 40 on the highway. 30 to 35 in city. Black color looks soooo good! Now this is telling me I have a 200 character minimum so I am just wasting space and characters.

Pros
Zippy

Cons
Navigation with phone can be confusing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1165 in total