2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(951 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CJ
CAMILLE J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/30/2018
Not the best
I should not have gotten new model. This car seems to struggle at acceleration and smoothness. It lacks comfort and the dashboard seems to have issues off and on. I feel like I'm in a low quality car that has issues.

Pros
The back up camera is amazing. I also like the talk to text feature when someone texts you while driving. The heated seats are great and heat up fast.

Cons
The performance of the car, it's slow and doesn't seem to get better gas mileage. It's not smooth and doesn't like to accelerate. If you are not pushing on the gas pedal it will slow way down and you can feel it shift. You'll be the slow car on the road unless you push it to go faster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBIN C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2018
2018 HYUNDAI KONA
Love at first sight, the perfect crossover. Then when I test drove it, I knew immediately that I must be able to drive this Kona everyday. I bought it and have not looked back. Love the spunk, colors - exterior and interior, wheels, handling, maneuverability, price, connected easily with my android, audio sounds are awesome. My salesperson was the greatest so informative, enthusiastic, helpful and didn't drop me after I purchased it. I can still call and ask a question if I need to.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CHRIS L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2018
Love this mini crossover SUV
I do not buy new cars normally. When I saw the Kona, my wife and I gave it a test drive and really fell in love with the vehicle. The dealership was very customer focused and the finance folks worked wioth use to give us the best deal they could.

Pros
Getting great gas mileage - Travel 70 miles a day to work and I am getting 38.1 mpg.
Overall smooth ride. Audio quality is much better than my former Elantra.

Cons
The base car needs to have the same safety features that the mid range car does. All Hyundai cars should have the Blue Link function as standard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
NATHAN/JUSTINE P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2018
Kona
This is ridiculous that it is making me do a minimum of 200 characters to be able to move on. That is unacceptable I have taken my time to do this for you but you won’t let me move on. I will not do this in the future because of this.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LARAINE B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/29/2018
Good choice for economical car. Wanted a simple base model car that is smooth driving and great on gas.i do not feel that the back storage cover is anything I need or want. It seems to prohibit taller items in the storage space.
Great economical small vehicle which is what u wanted. But wish it had more storage space. I understand it was a base model. Handles well, great on gas but disappointed that I am still waiting for automatic remote start to be installed. I do not understand why parts are not available as yet since the more advanced models have it. Since I have not had it very long, I cannot comment on highway performance or inclement weather, but I feel so far it is a good purchase

Pros
Love the look especially from the front. Sleek

Cons
Not alot of head room. Seat adjustment slightly hard to operate as a manual adjustment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
TALAR T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Awesome
Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesomely awesomeness awesomeness awesomely cool addictive and great fun to drive wish I had 2 awesome konas Awesome Awesome

Pros
Sport mode 1.6t

Cons
Still none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Timothy M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Excellent
I really love my Kona and it is best first car I bought with my own money it's such a beautiful car it's out of this world it's beautiful inside and out I really can't stop talking about it I could talk all night long about it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JANICE B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
This car is great!
I'm glad that you have made a smaller suv. I was going to get a Kia soul or Elantra gt until I saw this car on the internet. And fell in love with it. I was tired of sitting on the ground with a old lady sedan and not being able to see around the cars in front of me. This is good on the gas, small to park anywhere, has a better warranty, and looks great!! (much better then the Kia soul) Between my husband and I we have bought about 9 Hyundai's. The first one was the worst car we ever had, (we drove it home, stopped at a grocery and the car didn't start, the dealers help and fixed the problem) so I'm glad that you have improved your cars and are taking on the other companies. I love the Hyundai's and the price for everything that you get. Most of my co-worker tell me how much they like my new car, and I have promoted many Hyundai's to them, two have Honda's right now and are considering a Hyundai! Keep up the good work guys and remember the person that buys your cars and doesn't have tons of recalls or other problems will buy another one and another one. The fact that your not a ripoff company (one that will put in cheap things to make more money) is what l see as the company that I will promote and buy from again and again. Keep up the great!!!! work!!!

Pros
The look!!!!

Cons
It would be nice if you could put a vent where your legs could have some heat on top. And don't have the radio play until you open the door, or at least have it as an option so you don't have to open and close the door to turn off the radio.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
ROBERT A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
So glad I saw the Kona
I came to my dealer for inspection and oil change for my 2014 Sonata. Glad I saw the Kona as I was about to leave the dealer. Discovered its great size and utility for me and how easily I got in and out without need to bend my bad neck. Steve answered my questions with excellent product knowledge and William gave me a great trade in. Couldn’t be happier with my Kona Ultimate!

Pros
Turbo performance with excellent gas mileage with AWD too and with regular gas!

Apple car play, safety features and HUD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KRISTA B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Kona
This is a fun little car to drive. I like the sport mode, large screen and apple play the best. There is no leg room for passengers in the back. I will consider that when purchasing again. I don't like that there is no CD player

Pros
Fun to drive, fun color, nice features

Cons
No leg room in the back, no CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RHONDA T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Loving my Kona
I love my Kona. While I didn't purchase the full package I am thrilled with vehicle. Having hands free controls and a very clear back up camera are wonderful. Has mileage is great. The sound quality is great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRISTINE B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
2018 KONA 1.6T
Great car- smooth, easy handling. ...................................................................................... . . ...:........................................................
................

Pros
.

Cons
.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JESSICA F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Love!
I really wanted this vehicle before it even made it to the states. It has a nice sporty look and interior is very comfortable for the size. Better yet, the price point for the Kona is great! Which is something that was very important to me as a single parent. It great to know I can have a high quality and reliable vehicle at an affordable price

Pros
Affordable
Sporty
Fun to drive
Reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
GLEN D.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
2018 Kina
Almost perfect. My kids are tall, and could use another 4 inches of leg room in the back seat. My boys are tall. 5'10, 5'11 and the youngest at 13 is 5'3. Other than that, I absolutely love, LOVE, my 2018 Kona. Also it only takes about $30 to fill the tank.

Cons
Needs about 3-4 inches of extra leg room in the back seat for those taller than 5'9

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
April S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Great CUV !
I recently leased the new Kona in March 2018. So far in the little time I have had it, I love it! I call it my little smart car, due to the fact it has so many great safety and technology features! I had an old car prior so this is a complete upgrade. I love that it has Apple CarPlay so I can play my music and be super safe on the road. I love that it has lane assist so I can ensure I am always centered in my lane. I love that I am in an SUV style car but since I am used to a sedan I’m not in a car that’s too big for my size, but still am elevated to see things at a higher eyesight. It’s sleek and fierce body design. The LED lights help me see everything at night. The backup camera has sensors to ensure I am see everything around me and that I can see my bumper in my camera to know exactly where I am backing up. I cannot say enough great things about the Kona!

Pros
Bluelink
LED headlights and taillights
DAW
Lane departure warning and LKA
Heated seats
Heated mirrors
Rain sensing wipers
HUD
Front collision avoidance assistance with pedestrian detection
AWD

Cons
Not a huge trunk but still has a good amount of space
Heated Steering Wheel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MICHAEL S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Awesome Kona
Rewis our salesperson was the main UI n reason we bought our Kona Ultimate. It was the best decision we made. The Kona is a great driving experience. It handles great and is very comfortable. The Kona is a total blast!

Pros
Acceleration and handling, comfort and safety.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWIN N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Kona
Very good car, nice size, very goodd#ddddddddddd#dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd,,, ,gooooooooooooooooooddddddddddddddddddddddddddddfdff
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Joanne R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/27/2018
Nice ride
Comfortable, handles well. The turning radius is very good. Tight steering. Engine performance is adequate especially when in sport mode. Ride can be a little hard when on bumpy surfaces. Plenty of interior space.

Cons
Audio system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CRAIG M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
Great vehicle
I have no complaints about my Kona . I chose the ultimate package and love love love it. It's fun to drive , looks good and performs well. I would recommend any curious shoppers to go test drive this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ELIZABET P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
Kona Dream
My Hyundai Kona drives like a dream. Definitely a contrast from my other sports utility vehicle. The audio system is amazing, it drives perfectly, and fuel economy is just as spectacular. Hands down an investment worth making.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 881 - 900 of 951 in total