2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1166 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KL
Kathleen L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2020
Great looking vehicle
I’m pleased with my Kona. Handles very good in snow & a great looking car. Would like it to have heated side mirrors & navigation in the mirror. Since it is a 1.6 T it is a little noisy. Great pickup. Apps could be a little more

Pros
Great awd in snow
Great Exterior body shape

Cons
No heated side mirrors
No easy open/close rear door hatch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Susan J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/11/2020
2018 Kona
Trunk too small. No leg room in back seats. No UV protection thru windshield and driver and front passenger window. I always get sunburn. I had skin cancer before and do not want it again. Good traction in snow. Can feel AWD grabbing road. Good pickup with Sport mode and 1.6 T. Like the body and front grille style.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Annie T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2020
Car rating
I am very pleased with everything about the the kona. Driving, seating, viewing, comfort, styling, features, liability, spacing, exterior, interior, designing, make, model, built, fabric, color, sunroof
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michael L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2020
Fun, economical AWD vehicle
This Kona has lots of features you have to pay extra on other vehicles. AWD for ice and snow is fantastic. Lane departure assist is almost like having a car drive itself. The backup and cross traffic warning is really nice. Comfortable ride for a small car.

Pros
Features, excellent fuel economy, drivability on ice and snow. All of the safety features.

Cons
None that I didn't know when I bought the Kona.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sorayda C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/09/2020
Yes
Is a very good car and suv I like........................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
Good

Cons
Tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
RACHAEL H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
I Love My Kona
Being the new car on the block may be hard for others, but the Kona SLAYS the competition. The perfect size between a sedan and a SUV. It’s sleek, yet edgy. You can switch into sport with ease! The seat warmers are a MUST!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Robert T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/04/2020
Small back seat area an small trunk space
Back seat area tiny especially when u open the bk doors 2 get things in. Truck cargo area very small.
Its not easy to go away an pack things.
However its good on gas. Its wider than most small suv's

Pros
Wider in the front seat area
Great on gas
Back up camera
Side mirrors notify ya of up coming traffic

Cons
Back seat area small an narrow
Cargo trunk area very small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KARINAH M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/04/2020
It can be better
Overall pretty decent but Minor details are Major to me so stepping up interior options & leg room will be helpful. I would say more but I'm just trying to complete this survey to get it out of my inbox, lol
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MURREL O.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/04/2020
2018 Kona
The styling and comfort to the Kona is very good.
Although the Kona does not have electric passenger seat or CD Player availability, it is still fun to drive.
I have had to avoid a collision more than once and the response to this SUV is exceptional.
Like the Elantra I owned prior to this, Hyundai still has some work to do on road noise inside the cab.

Pros
Great styling, handling, comfort and plenty of power for a small engine.

Cons
No CD player availability
No power passenger seat availability
Too much road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lillian C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/03/2020
Love the car
I’m so happy I purchased the Kona, it’s a great car. I really like all the safety equipment, especially the display on the dash. I don’t have to look away from the road to see my speed or my gps directions. My only complaint is there isn’t a latch for my hatch back. It’s very hard to pull down and if I need to open it , there is no button to unlock it in the vehicle. Other than that it’s perfect!!!!

Pros
All but the release of trunk

Cons
No release in car for trunk ( hatch back) and it’s very hard to lift and close

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HK
Heather K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/02/2020
so so
The car has been ok. The thing that gets us is that we have 30k on this vehicle and the ignition coil has already gone out. We had let it set for 3 or 4 days then started it and that was the end. The car is comfortable and gets good gas mileage when running. acceleration and braking are ok but jerky most of time. The little sport button doesn't really do anything. The windows slant at an angle were rain will flow in on you and controls. With all this, the car is ok and travels well, you just have to pay attention to it.

Pros
good gas mileage, large seats, easy to drive, skid plates cover most of underside.

Cons
See above review

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
ROBERT J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/02/2020
Awesome car
Great car if you don’t plan on carrying adults in back. I have taken this on several trips and have gotten well above the rated MPG, many times 38 MPG..well above my expectations. City driving averages around 28 MPG!!

Pros
Performance, mileage

Cons
Rear seat leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DEANNA K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/29/2020
Great Car
I love this car! Styling is great and so is the fuel economy. Plenty of leg room and head room. Transmission shifts with ease. It has plenty of power under normal driving conditions, however I recently traveled to a region with lots of hills and it had difficulty accelerating fast enough under those conditions. I had to put my foot into it to keep up with traffic.
Also, you will feel every bump in the road. The interior cabin noise can be a little loud at speeds above 45mph. Overall it’s a great car and I absolutely love it!

Pros
Love the styling.
Plenty of leg room and head room!
Love the fuel economy

Cons
Excessive cabin noise
Terrible shocks or struts. This definitely needs to be improved!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
CYNTHIA H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/28/2020
Kona
I love my car. I am just making suggestions for your next year vehicles. Someday I hope to afford a Sante Fe. Thank you for my Kona. Also, my saleman was very good. He made me feel comfortable because I was very nervous and unsure if I wanted to buy a new car. My old car chevy trax was in a very bad car accident. I almost passed away. I decided to stop buying chevy cars.

Pros
good car

Cons
the inside front driver seat could be a little higher

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Gail C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
2018 Kona
I really enjoy my 2018 Kona. It is exactly the right size for me, and it fits in my small garage space. I have to confess that I have hauled much more in it that I ever thought I wold have. It is easy for me to lower and raise the back seats when needed. It handles well in traffic and is easy to park. I get good gas mileage. The backup mirror and blind spot warnings are nice features. I appreciate the radio and hands free cell phone use access from the steering wheel.The heated seats are a luxury! I wasn't looking to trade the day I bought my Kona, but I have no regrets a year and half later.

Pros
I have recommended this vehicle to my friends and my college grandchildren.

Cons
It is difficult to clean the top of the rear window using the squeegee at the gas pump.I have to use the paper towel to reach the top 4" due to the design of the room overhang, although I like that styling design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Walter S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2020
Nice Car
Love this suv and have driven it for a year now. No problems with it and very nice driving it, good mileage, and quiet writing. The only thing I find fault with Is that it has no CD player and I find the back storage area extremely small and not able to put more than one or two grocery bags in back. The rest of the car I highly recommend for a great little SUV.

Pros
Great overall

Cons
Very small storage in back and no CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Malik S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Bilooo
It’s best and very nice for small family good for fuel saving. I like it and it’s price is very reasonable and best SuV car of this category, my wife also like and we enjoy the ride and I believe the next model is more comfortable

Pros
Good

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kathleen N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Kona
Best of the small SUV. ".......... .................................................................................................',,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Hyundai Kona
Traded in a Prius for a Kona...Great mileage, Better Price and best Warranty. Built well, drives great. Having traded in a Prius, I decided not to get another Prius because the small difference in gas mileage, ( I have been averaging 35miles per gallon) was made up for in the quality, warranty and Price of the Hyundai Kona

Pros
Price
Mileage
Warranty
Service

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Barbara W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2020
Really enjoying my Kona
I like everything about the Kona except the tailgate is difficult for me to pull down with one arm (not as young as I used to be). I knew this when I bought it. However, when my lease is up I will not buy again unless there is an improved tailgate door. That being said, it drives nice and has a lot of safety features, back up camera, lane changer signal, lane warning going over the lines, etc. Looks good also!

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
Wish the front seat went back further.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 1166 in total