2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(813 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ML
Michael L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
2018 Kona SEL with Tech package
We took the car on a trip to Virginia, 2500 miles round trip. The lane keep assist really took the strain out of driving 4 10-hour days. The amazing thing was the fuel economy, we averaged 32.2 mpg as computed dividing the gallons into the miles driven. This is an All Wheel Drive vehicle rated for 30 mpg on the highway and we got 32.2 mpg. This was while driving 75 mph on freeways. Wonderful vehicle. Last winter in the snow and ice it was amazing! We love the Kona.

Pros
Love everything about it.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Hector H.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/10/2019
Feedback
My name is Hector Hernandez and have been working in the automotive industry for more than 7 years, in analysis areas, quality and new launches... Having said so, this is my review.

I have to say that Hyundai have met my expectations, so far my Kona has 5000 miles and only found 3 issues:

1) In the setup of temperature unit display, I always select Celcius instead of Farenheith, but for some reason after some start ups, the temperature unit always changes to Farenheith, this is a bug in the system which is annoying.
2) The screws that holds the entrance to the gas tank where the hose is inserted looks very cheap screws (home made) and not harmonic to the rest of the assembly.
3) The "manual shift" option available in the automatic transmision is not what I would expect, is very limited the interaction, I cannot go further than 1 shift up or down than my current shift. i.e: If I am driving in 4th shift I only can select either 5th or 3rd shift unless I increase or decrease the speed... Without be offensive but being objective, the VW triptronic is capable to do what I try to do in the Hyundai transmission.

In general I am happy with the vehicle but would like to have a fix in the bug of the temperature unit issue.

Thank you!

Pros
Safety, exterior and interior design.

Cons
Transmission performance,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Deborah M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/09/2019
Kona¹
I like my Kona. I wish it had a bit more of a pick up to it though. The truck us pretty small, I would prefer it to be a little bit bigger though. I had no problem driving in the snow this past winter. I like my little car and it is a good looking vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Karene M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Love it
It's a great car for the price.
Catchy to the eye appeal.
Comfortable features.
I'm stopped all the time and asked how I like it.
I love the color I chose exterior and interior.
I asked for a few simple upgrades that set it apart.
Roomy
It's all around great!

Pros
I've been stopped many times about my vehicle, asking how I like it because they're potential owners.
Yes I like my amenities, look, ride, comfort, ect

Cons
It's my first all wheel drive.
I'm still trying to get use to the milage.
But having an all wheel makes me feel more comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOHN F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Kona SEL with Technology Package
Bought this car for my wife to replace a 2008 Honda Civic. I wanted her to have a car with all the updated safety equipment that is safe and reliable in a small crossover format. The Hyundai Kona is the top rated vehicle in its class. We are both very pleased with it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
ALLISON T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
Love My Kona
The Kona is the most amazing vehicle for new buyers, and or drivers. It’s simple to use accessories, and drivability are what stand out to me. It looks like a high end car, inside and out, without the price tag. Hands free phone access(it reads your messages to you!!!), blond spot detection(no more sneaky people), and great steering(look mom no hands!). Definitely would recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
ANALEEN J.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/08/2019
“Chunky Funky Spunky”
I liked one reviewer’s description of the new Kona (chunky funky spunky). I’m single and wanted a smaller SUV after driving a Subaru Forester for 15 years. Bought the Kona new a year ago (after test driving, liked it better than the Subaru Crosstrek) and am happy with that decision. Overall fun to drive, comfortable, handles well in snow. Got 4WD but haven’t tested it much. Clearance is low compared to Forester. Tech upgrade was worth it. Wish it got better gas mileage (currently 17mpg average around town). Plenty of interior legroom front and back. Love the houndstooth seat covers. Cargo space adequate with seats down. Love my Konacar!

Pros
Small SUV
Stylish
Comfortable
Handles well
Fun to drive

Cons
Gas mileage
Some unevenness in acceleration
Less cargo space than standard SUV
Front passenger seat has no seat warmer and no adjustment to elevate seat (maybe an upgrade option I didn’t purchase?)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KEITH B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2019
The Kona Rocks
The small Kona SUV is a great vehicle for seniors or a family with small children. The Kona has outstanding Smart Sense safety features is very comfortable to drive. The Kona's heads-up display is the best I've seen on any vehicle and its touch screen navigation/sound system is extremely user friendly. The turbo engine provides a very positive response and the Kona provides a solid/comfortable ride.

Pros
Heads-up Display
Smart Sense Safety features
Usable navigation/sound system
Driving performance
Quality

Cons
Leg room for the back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mary Ann C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Love this SUV
I love this little SUV. It is perfect for me. I had the Tucson which I felt was too much car for me, this Kona is easy to handle and get around with great pick up speed.My passengers feel very comfortable in it too. Great fuel mileage too.

Pros
comfort, easy to handle, great on fuel, looks great

Cons
slight blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jon S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Kons
Good car for our purposes.
Have had previous Hyandi products, Azeras (2) And Genesis Coupe.
Was concerned as they were high end and plush. But this is compareable.
Concern about antenna staying attached.

Pros
Good car.

Cons
Had problems with antenna came off either through weather or car wash. Warranty covered. Was told don’t use car wash, hand wash only be service people. I’m to lazy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Linda K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Love!
Favorite vehicle Ever!........................................................................................................... ............... I don't like this survey!......…...….........But, I won't hold it against my Kona or Larson Motors!
....

Pros
Great mileage! Good looking! Reliable! I actually love this car!

Cons
Back storage is a little small. I don't like the message that comes on everytime I start car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CZ
Christina Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Amazing little car
I love my kona. I wanted a small hatchback that was reliable and safe! Offroad and on road its a fun little car. Would highly recommend to friends. If youre a tall person be careful. Small car means small space.

Pros
Fun
Reliable
Lots of features

Cons
Small space wise. May be difficult for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KATHERINE C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Dependable and Stylish
I have owned two new Hyundai vehicles and both have been amazing. There is no comparison between these cars and my previous Volkswagens. We use this vehicle for a family run business so it’s constantly on the go. Within the one year owning it we haven’t had a single issue. We are defiantly a Hyundai family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Rhonda N.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Fun, fast, fuel efficient - I just love it
I've only had this little SUV since November and I absolutely love it! I have the turbo model and it is so responsive to accelerating, handling and braking. Initially, I had to adjust to the "feel" at take off. Though the vehicle is automatic, it's initial take off response feels like I'm driving a manual. This is due to the dual-clutch transmission, which smooths out within a few seconds. I love the control panel layout - it is easy to view, understand, and is not cluttered or cumbersome to operate. The Bluetooth technology is fast, operates smoothly, responds appropriately, is smartly programmed, and has a long range. The fuel efficiency is not the highest in the market but better than most, and certainly better than my previous SUV. I drive 80 miles per day for my job, so, on average, I was spending $320 a month on fuel; my new average is $176 - NICE!
Lastly, I had to have some fun with my Kona. I took it on a road trip to south Texas. My little 1.6 turbo blew past a Camaro and kept up with a Ferrari - I won't admit my speed but it was short-lived fun ;-) And, a vain comment here, but I felt like a total bad*** cruising with my sunroof open and stereo booming out the tunes. Yes, I have my immature moments but life is too short not to have them once in awhile.
If Hyundai keeps up this quality or manages to improve this great little SUV, I will definitely buy another Kona.

Pros
Everything about it. :-)

Cons
The only con I have at this time is about the "shelf" in the cargo area. It is smartly designed to raise up when you lift the gate and is easy to remove, if needed. The beef is what to do with it after removal, especially if you are out and about. My other vehicle had a spring loaded roll-up shade that could be stored neatly away inside the vehicle. The shelf of the Kona is too bulky to store away in the car unless you toss it into the back seats or fold them down. This is not a good option if you have passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PATRICIA S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Love my Kona
Happy with almost everything about this vehicle; great gas mileage, great look, comfortable,roomy, spunky, stylish, drives great, handles the road, peppy enough to get out of its own way, reliable, sporty and yet fuel efficient. win win
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Marleny E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Ms Kona
I love and enjoy my 2018 Hyundai Kona , it’s great with gas , it runs super fast 💨 even though I don’t raise with it 😅, but I would like more space in the back for Storage 🥰🥰🥰! The best car so far I have own !

Pros
Amazing with gas , runs fast 💨, it’s good in the inside & out 🥰🥰🥰🥰

Cons
It needs more space , specially if you go to the supermarket 😅😅!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kristine M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Best overall Sub Compact
This car fits my lifestyle from paddleboarding, golfing, shopping, having passengers, and overall level of technology and comfort are all there. I've taken it on several road trips, great gas mileage, and a fun car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
ESME C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Love my Kona!
Since I'm not needing to haul heavy loads, and my big family camping days are past, this is the perfect car for me...just the right size with spiffy styling. Responsive, quick and reliable ride. Good passenger room in the back, for both humans and German Shepherd dogs!

Pros
Good size, great styling, comfortable, responsive

Cons
A little road noise and could use a bit roomier storage up front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Bertha S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Number One Pick
I am so glad I bought my Kona. I like the way it works and drives. I'm a little person and the one bought suits me just fine. I like the way it holds the road, the back up camera makes me feel safe in small spaces and the look of it gets many comments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PAUL K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Love my new Kona
Buying the Hyundai Kona was one of the best purchasing decisions I've ever made. I love my Kona and will probably trade it for another once my lease is up. 😄
The Kona is a safe, reliable vehicle and I'd recomend when one of my family or friends are car shopping they go test drive a Hyundai.

Pros
Safe and reliable

Cons
Small console with not a whole lot of storage, and condensation on Windows during rain, snow storms and car washes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 813 in total