2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(721 Reviews)
Latest review about 11 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VE
VICKI E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/12/2019
Hyundai Kona
This SUV has everything I need or want in a new vehicle. It's very comfortable to drive and maneuverability is great. In other words it's a fun little car to drive. I am especially pleased with the fuel mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Edward M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2019
Loved It!
Our Hyundai Kona is great on gas mileage and comfort, it is a small SUV but for my g-friend and my needs it was exactly what we were looking for. It is fun to drive with the performance, and its reliability cannot be beat. Hyundai is a great car to have no matter what style is chosen and one cannot beat the warranty, 10/5 warranty. I know color may not mean much to owners, but the color that we chose was the Sunset Orange, it has a tinge of yellow in it, beside the orange and red combine, and when the sun shines on the vehicle at a certain angle it looks like a streak of gold is in it (the tinge of yellow), Gosh we love it, we still get looks from people when we gas up and all our friends still, and they all ask what color is it, and where you got this fantastic vehicle, We said SanTan Hyundai!, it is the best in Gilbert, AZ!

Pros
Great to Own! None like it!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Marie T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/09/2019
Fun suv to drive
This car drives like a sports car. Has plenty of room and has great gas mileage. This is my third Hyundai. And there’s an excellent chance my next car will be a Hyundai too. I am retired and it’s a great car for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
WALTER A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/09/2019
Best Car I have ever owned.
A beautiful car catches my eye fast. I wanted a car that stood out in styling and in color. Car colors are so drab and boring. My last car was black and that doesn't work in an Arkansas summer. The Kona looks different from all its competitors. It is the perfect size for my family and fits in my garage well. The Lime Twist color is fantastic and it accents the interior wonderfully. The turbo doesn't eat gas and the acceleration is great. I feel like I got a great car. I know I did.

Pros
The looks, the ride, the comfort.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CAROL V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2019
My Kona
A new car has been in the works for a few years. I wanted to enjoy that new car smell i had heard so much about! A family member suggested another make and model. I was set on a burnt orange but found it terribly uncomfortable. The family member set up a test drive of the Kona and it was a perfect fit. Returned with my husband and we closed the deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2019
2019 Kona
Excellent fuel economy and comfort. better than expected in all aspects of comfort and visibility. A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Pros
All positive

Cons
none so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PAUL F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2019
Best car I’ve ever owned!!!
Handling, power and great gas mileage! Not a family car but acts and looks like a sports car but easy on the gas. Super fun to drive!!! I’m 6’2 and there is plenty of room. Back seat is small so might not be the best transportation for 4 adults.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHARLES S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2019
Exceeded expectations; Ironman edition
Very comfortable, handles surprisingly well. Great looks, especially exterior, with Ironman edition. Would have no problem buying another Hyundai. No opportunity to require AWD yet. Note no adaptive cruise control, no heated steering wheel the biggest issues.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SY
Sheila Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
Great car!
I love my Kona! It’s the perfect size, good on gas, awesome in the snow and blue link is the best thing ever! It has more features than I know how to use. It is taller than a car but not a monster like some SUVs. This is my first car with seat warmers and they are great.

Pros
I love everything about my Kona

Cons
Wish it washed itself!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JUANITA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
Winner
The Kona is an excellent vehicle. We purchased 3 weeks before going on a road trip. Great gas mileage, handling and comfort, Would recommend purchasing. Bob Oley at the Freysinger dealership is great to work with,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Brian D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
2019 Kona
this car has exceeded all expectations. We love driving it and love the way Hyundai has brought the best of several vehicles together. We feel like we are in a big SUV with the great gas mileage and the maneuverability of a small car. It is one of the best cars in the snow that i have ever had and it gives us the piece of mind that we haven't had in the past with let's say our F_ _ d. Can't wait to buy my wife a new one so i can get this one! :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Suzanne B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
2019 Kona
My 2019 Hyundai KONA is the first brand new car I have ever had. It is a wonderful car. I love the way it rides, and the seats are
very comfortable, especially since I have a bad back. And passengers in my car say the seats are very comfortable. The car handles
very well on highway driving. I love everything about my KONA. I would recommend it to anyway who wanted a new car. It is not too
small or too big, just right. It is also very easy to get in and out of, which is also good for my back. It is overall, a great car.

Pros
Overall, there are all Pros, no Cons. I love my KONA. I would recommend it to anyway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2019
The best vehicle I have ever had.
I have owned at least 18 vehicles in my lifetime some large and fast, some high end and some small.
I am so impressed with the Kona that my wife and I both have one.
Yes it is a smaller vehicle but it does not feel like it. It handles very well and with the turbo it is quite quick.
It is very comfortable and looks great. I definitely recommend this vehicle. :-)

Pros
comfortable, quick and good looking

Cons
the rear gate is manual

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/06/2019
My favorite ‘orange’
I really love my car. She’s ORANGE (both color and name) and gets great milage. Not a full year owned and I have driven over 17,000 miles. Love the ability to have AWD and Front-wheel change quickly.

Pros
AWD

Cons
Not real strong on acceleration from stop position.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANGELEE P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
I Love My Kona!
I love my Kona! It's fun to drive, nimble, goes well in the snow. The systems are very user friendly. I love the simplicity of the interior. It rides great and gets excellent gas mileage. And it looks sweet! So glad I settled on a Kona. I researched other subcompact SUV's, but the Kona was the better car for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SHERRY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Hyundai Kona
This was not my vehicle of choice but I do like it a lot. As a retiree living on SS I have to get a car with a payment I can afford. I had never heard of this car but it came the closest to my payment range.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
See above
See above........These comments are TOO MUCH BULLSHIT.....JDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDHDHRHRGEHDHDGEHEHEJ3URHRHDBHDHDHHDHDHEGDHRUjdjdkdjdkdkdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjd

Pros
See abovexxxccccccccccccfdhdjxhdhdgdhdjxjsndndndndnxnxnxncnxndndndnxncnxnxhdhdhdhdhehdhehehdhhxhdhdhhehdhdnxhdndhxjdjdhdhchchchdhdhdhhdhdhdhdhdhdhdhrhdghehrhehdhdhdhehehrhehehehehehehehehehdhehehdhdhehehenrhrhrhrhdhdhdhdhdhrhrh4hrhrhdhrhrhrhrhdhfhfhrhrhrnrhrh

Cons
See above.......skskskskskskskskskwkwkwkwkwkwjwjejdhdhdjejehehejejehehejehehehehehehehehdhdhdhdhdhrhdhdhdhehrhrhrhdhrhdhrhrhrhfhfhrhrjrhrhrhrhrhrhrjfjrhr...enough of this bullshit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KENNETH G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Great Car!
The style, and beauty of this car are second to none. The color, the looks, everything about this car is beatiful, it's easy to see why this was the car of the year, two years running in the U.S. I want to buy another one for myself!!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jo S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
2019 Kona - purchased 08/19
Note: I had an Elantra for 10 years and really miss some of it's comfortable & convenient features. This is my first SUV/hatchback (in 40 years of driving).

Positives about Kona 2019:
Car is fun to drive!
Safety features are very responsive to driving conditions
Love the heated front seats & their contour is comfortable
Sound system is clear
Find the keyless entry convenient
Windshield readily clears from fogging
Back seats easily go up & down

Negatives about Kona 2019:
Back seat/trunk storage room is too small; when seats are up have very limited storage space (and leg room)!
I need to reconfigure space use too often for basic, routine purposes.

Available custom 'net' for trunk secures to floor (like a tent) rather than providing a verticle 'pocket' for storing grocery bags, etc.

Trunk door practically needs to be slammed to close tightly; it looks closed but needs considerable force to ensure that it's locked.

Overhang design above rear window prevents cleaning well by commercial carwash

Big black box around rearview mirror closes in view of full windshield; vehicle is small and I would prefer to have more expansive view

Too much plastic in interior; it scratches easily and feels/looks 'hard'
Interior materials are 'cheap' and I doubt that they will hold up well over time! Should be of better quality if owner chooses to keep car for duration of warranty!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DEBRA E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
Don’t purchase for lane keep assist safety feature
The lane keep assist feature works nothing like it does in the Santa Fe we own. It rarely shows as active for a significant length of time, even when conditions suggest it should be. You can barely feel the steering wheel pulling you back into the lane when you cross the line. Took it back to dealership where they adjusted the camera; no difference. Dealer drove 2 other Kona’s on the lot and they reacted the same way (meaning they hardly reacted at all). Disappointed since safety features were one of the reasons I purchased the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 721 in total