2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(528 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JK
JOHN K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2019
It's cute and comparable to Subaru or Honda HRV
I didn't plan on buying, but I did. Would like a roof rail, didn't notice there was not one. So far the car is doing well. I wanted the green one, but it was the higher end version. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2019
Perfect for me
Love my new Kona. Its perfect size. Quick and nimble. Good gas mileage. Mine is turbocharged. Love the way it looks! Definitely not your typical "old lady" SUV. Already recommended it to my nephew who is looking to trade his Elantra.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
GAIL F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2019
Kona-mazing!!
I love my Kona! It's exterior is sporty and it's interior is comfortable. It has numerous safety features! I am constantly surprised by some of the features this car has to offer. It's money well spent!

Pros
Comfortable for my Husband (5'9") and myself (5'0") to drive.
Many safety features
All Wheel Drive
Sporty design
Comfortable interior with good quality material

Cons
Hatch is a little heavy and hard to close if you have a handful of groceries. I would get the auto open/close feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
THERESA K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
I thought I wanted a Black Hyundai ,Tuscon till I drove the 2019 Hyundai Kona... The only reason I would not go to the dealer I bought from is that I have a Hyundai dealer 2 minutes from my house, the Dealer I bought from is very near my Office...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
ROBERT E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/04/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
Liked the styling and value for the money. Getting older I needed a reliable vehicle and an automatic transmission. Also, wanted a vehicle that didn't require hi-test fuel and was a mini SUV, perfect for me.

Cons
Sound system needs to have higher volume than 47.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TINA S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/04/2019
Right Fit
I don't like large gas guzzlers. The Kona is the perfect fit for me. I have enough room for shopping and no useless space. Cruise control doesn't like to hold and the blind spot indicator is small. Great overall.

Pros
Size, Bluelink system, gas mileage,

Cons
Cruise control doesn't maintain set speed.
Blind spot indicator too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
GARY G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2019
Great auto
Brought for my wife. Loves it. Very good mpg turbo is a great addition. Seating very comfortable.................................. .............. .....................................................
...


...

Pros
All

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SUZANNE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2019
Kona
I have had my sights on the Kona since it was introduced. The car is a great value and included many options for the price. It has great safety options like lane departure and blind spot notification on the exterior mirrors. It gives a great, comfortable ride and has enough leg room both in front and back. It has great pick up for a 4 cylinder and is great on gas. The color, which i believe is called sunburst, is beautiful. I have received many compliments about the appearance of the vehicle.

Pros
Safe, comfortable, reliable, attractive, great options

Cons
Limited rear cargo space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
ELEANOR H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2019
I love it!
I love it! Very happy with my Kona - great vehicle for the size. I just took it on a road trip to Tennessee and it drove like a charm. Enjoyed the radio and the ride. The safety features are a true plus!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tim H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/02/2019
Kona EV Review
Driver’s floor mat does not fit, lock is off 😤. Cargo space not large enough for golf clubs to lay horizontal ☹️ Hyundai’s app is cumbersome. Awaiting new technology, which wii determine if I will continue to be a loyal customers...

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SARAH H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
LOVE this car!
I looked at everything under the sun when I replaced my 2017 Jeep Cherokee. I was considering the Mazda CX, BMW X3, and Volvo XC40. I am beyond impressed with my new Hyundai Kona! It's so cute, I named it "Cutie." The features are awesome and I'm so glad I got the Ultimate trim. The sunroof, BlueLink, leather, it's all awesome. It drives like a dream. I drive over 20k/yr.

Pros
Styling, driving, features, performance, comfort, space.

Cons
Rear hatch doesn't open with a remote or a button. Manual on the hatch itself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RICHARD L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Great car
Great car for my everyday runaround. Not too big or small to drive on the streets and motorways. Plenty of room for passengers and shopping. I love the styling and colour, it looks sporty and really stands out in the blue. Fuel efficient too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KRISTI B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Kona Lease
Went looking for a new car and knew the reputation of Hyundai. Wanted a smaller cross-over and saw this. Took it for a test drive and really liked it. I am very happy. After my lease I plan to purchase it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MAURICE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Hyundai kona
I've bought a few hatchbacks before but this is the best I've owned. Great vehicle, comfortable, great fuel economy, good pricing. The front of the car looks different from alot of new vehicles but I like it I think it looks modern and different.

Pros
Fuel economy, pricing, drives great

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Agnieszka K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
Great small suv
I love my new car . It’s not to big not to small . Perfect size for the city . Not the largest trunk space but we use other vehicle for big shopping trips . Great safety features and AWD is a great plus.

Pros
Great car with a lot of safety features and AWD

Cons
No heated steering wheel ,small trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jeremy R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/01/2019
Unacceptable Regen Braking Noise
There are some major issues I have with the Kona EV, the worst by far is the regen braking noise. I was super excited when I drive the car, but found out quickly that the car has some major issues. The interior car is very noisy, the brakes are borderline broken in their sensitivity, and the regen braking (which happens constantly) is embarrassing to drive around with. I have even tried to take the car back, but Hyundai seems to feel this noise is by design and that customer service doesn’t matter. This has been the worst experience with cars in my life. I will never buy a Hyundai again, and I will make sure as many people as possible know my feelings on this issue.

Pros
Fast and affordable

Cons
Loud interior and terrible regen braking noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DONALD C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
First Hyundai. Always Toyotas.
To early to tell how much I like the Kona. Always have bought Toyotas and the last was a Prius I owned for 10 years. Kona has a big hill to climb to match the performance of the Prius. So far other than the gas mileage, comfort is excellent.

Pros
Warranty. Very comfortable.

Cons
Choppy engine performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GARRETT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
Excellent car, definitely worth the cost
I leased a new Kona after reviewing several cars online. The car is highly rated and reviewed positively for a good reason. The car rides well, gets excellent gas mileage, is comfortable, and for the features you receive the price is reasonable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RAVEN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
This car is a dream
This is my first vehicle I leased fresh out of college. I've had this car for about 3 months and get compliments and stopped and asked about this car all the time. I love everything about this car from the look, to the fuel economy, to the sound system, to the smooth ride. To be honest at first I hated the automatic braking until I got cut off on the highway and my Kona reacted faster than I could and probably saved my life. The fact that this car had so many safety features is truly what sold me, most other cars I would looking out I was looking at an extra 5K to get everything. I leased this car but I'm honestly thinking of buying it already unless they come out with a better model. I love everything about this car and have caught my parents taking it for a joy ride because they love it too. For my first ever vehicle purchase I feel like it's the best choice.

Pros
Fuel economy, sound system, unique look, ride comfort, safety features standard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BARBARA G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Ruby Tuesday
Only 1000 miles, but love it so far. Named her Ruby Tuesday, as she is red and I purchased her on a Tuesday. Haven't had the chance to take her on a long trip so far, but looking forward to vacationing.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Leg room in back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 528 in total