2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(398 Reviews)
Latest review about 20 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VA
Vanessa A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Perfect choice
I did my research before I purchased and the reviews were excellent. My husband was against purchasing a Hyundai so 6was on my own when I made the choice. It handles well for me. It is comfortable and will be an asset in the winter when I make nurse visits. As a bonus my husband who was not on board has made it his personal agenda to clean and vacuum my car, and brags to his friends about my wonderful car.

Pros
The technology is awesome.

Cons
Trunk is very small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RANDALL B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Kona Ultimate
Iv'e had my Kona for 3 weeks haven't found anything that isn't fine. The turbo engine was one factor in my purchase. I started with the Toyota near the top but found a cramped seating arrangement. The Kona had ever so much less confining feeling.It was the big decision maker.

Pros
I've had many new cars in my life this one rates near the top

Cons
Nothing negative at this point

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
RIKKI E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2019
Wonderful vehicle
There is more room for the driver than I imaged for it's size. I'm a big person and fit very well inside. This car is fun to drive and has many safety features which make me feel safe while driving at night. Especially with LED headlights. It's a top safety pick which makes me feel even better. Price was great too.

Pros
Lots of safety tech.
LED headlights are a major plus!
Feels fun to drive.

Cons
Truck somewhat small, but it is also a small vehicle. Back seats do fold down which helps.
Limited model doesn't come with cloth seats. Only leather.
Sirius Xm is only 90 days. Some companies offer a year.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
KAYSEE N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
2019 Kona
This vehicle has FAR exceeded my expectations. I purchased the base model due to my credit. But being the base model, it still has so many amazing features! The noise level on the roadway is very minimal. It has amazing get up and go power for being an SUV. I love the lane keep assist feature to keep you from swerving. The Bluetooth capability is awesome. You just get into your vehicle with your phone after pairing it the very first time and it'll automatically pair to keep you connected for phone calls. The clarity of the phone calls through the vehicle is outstanding. The space in the vehicle isn't a ton, but it's just enough for a small SUV like this.

Pros
The lane keep assist feature
Automatic Bluetooth connection
Quietness on the road
Controls on the steering wheel

Cons
The passenger seat could've had a feature like the driver's seat to be able to sit a little higher

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Linwood B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
Great?????
My wife and i really love MY new kona. Its enough room for the 2 of us. The kids love it and we recommend them to your company. We will be going on vacation soon to blow the engine out just to see what it'll do.

Pros
A+

Cons
Needs a CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEFFREY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
Great car for the money
I love my 2019 Hyundai Kona. The gas mileage is better then what was predicted as I have gotten up to 41 mpg for 50 miles on an interstate in cruise. I am averaging around 38 mpg. The car is very comfortable especially on four hour drives as I drive in cruise. The audio system is great and while I am not one of the younger set with i Phones and iPods, I enjoy listening to Sirius XM while driving. I came from a Tucson which had a little more horse power on hills, but the Kona goes up hills fine. I am sure it will perform fine as all of my 5 Hyundai's that I have owned in the snow.

It is a wonderful car and would be great for a family of 4 because it is economical.

Pros
It is a great car and I love to drive it. I care more about performance then looks, but it has a classy style.

Cons
I am not used to push button start and stop yet and the shrill sound to remind me I left the engine on when getting out of the vehicle is hard to hear with other outside sounds.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HA
HEIDI A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
2019 Kona
My new 2019 Kona SEL AWD has been the best new vehicle purchase I’ve made. It’s affordability vs value of options and perks makes it hands down a winner. I was skeptical to begin with because I’ve always owned Honda & Toyota’s but am very happy with what Hyundai has proven to me so far.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sonya S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
Love my KONA
I really love my new KONA It's fun to drive and handles well. Love all the features Seems to be getting good gas mileage. And I like that the seats fold down that I can have more room for yard sale items :o)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MICHAEL D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Hyundai Kona is an outstanding vehicle!
We love the new Hyundai Kona we purchased for our daughter who is about to turn 16. The number and quality of safety features is impressive, which goes a long way to addressing the fears of having a new driver on the road. Our daughter absolutely loves the look, feel, and security of the Kona. She also seems to be rather fond of all the high end technology!! We are confident and fully satisfied with our purchase.

Pros
Safety features
Technology
Styling
Comfort
Performance
Realiability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHERYL M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Sporty
This Kona is a great vehicle , I just wished I would have gone a little Bigger for cargo .{ My Bad } But as far as dependably It is great fun Ride . I love the blue color and all of the safety features . When My lease is up My Daughter will be driving and plan on having her take over . And Me go a step up . It has great Gas mileage and will be a great Car for a first timer . She loves it already .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
FRED F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
NIF Kona
I am loving my New Kona. Sunset Orange color with Hounds Tooth designed fabric seats are awesome and unique. Look forward to enjoying this for years and hope the years ride well on the vehicle. This is my first Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELLEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
Fun car
The Hyundai Kona is a fun car!! I’ve gotten many compliments on the color and the ride is smooth!! The Apple car play feature is awesome. I love being able to plug my phone into the car and being able to listen to music, communicate, and navigate so easily. This is my favorite car yet!

Pros
Great car for the price

Cons
Storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSHUA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2019
Great commuter car!
I am only rating this a 4 for 2 reasons. The first is there is no liftgate release. Not in the car, not on the key fob. It does not exist. I find that odd since every car I have ever owned has had a trunk release. The 2nd is that there is NO get up and go. If you need to bust a move quickly in this car, it is not a car for you. Other than that, it is great! Roomy and quiet. I would consider another Kona in the future, as long as a trunk release is added.

Cons
No trunk release.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERT P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Fun to Drive!
Looked at the Kona many times online and really liked the styling available. My wife and I wanted to step down a little bit in size from our Santa Fe Sport and the Kona seemed like the ideal choice. We test drove and bought on the same day. Orlando Hyundai is an outstanding dealership to by a car. They are extremely courteous knowledgeable! Pricing guidelines for purchasing were very simple to understand and gave us perfect choices. Just a fun car to drive every time I get in it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TZ
THERESA Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
2019 Kona
It is the BEST! Like Goldilocks and the Three Bears...just right. Has the look, the performance and size I needed. Not to forget to mention the best gas mileage. I worked with the best people at the Green Valley Jim Click Dealership from sales to service!! The Engineers in design, the teams working this model to completion left nothing to want for...a perfect car for me. Looking forward to a long relationship with my car and my dealership! Thanks to All!

Pros
Everything

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SUMMER D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Amazing car all around
I absolutely love this car. Nothing bad to say about it except for some small things I noticed. When in sport mode the transmission doesn’t seem to downshift when I think it should while at low speeds but it’s not very often and I understand sport mode isnt exactly used/made for slow speeds so it’s not a huge concern for me. And if you need to take off from a slow speed (merging onto a highway from 20 or so mph) it seems to take a little longer than I would like for it to “kick into gear” and get up to speed fast but again this is a fuel efficient compact SUV so I understand that could be the reason, but again it’s not Something that overly concerns me and doesn’t affect the way I feel about the car as a whole.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Not much to complain about but if I’m being extremely picky I wish the engine had a little more “kick” to it whilst trying to accelerate fast, but this is a very minor concern, more like a personal preference (I like to drive fast lol)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Love my Kona
I LOVE LOVE LOVE my new Kona. I get great gas mileage, it is fun to drive. Everyone at work (who are mostly guys) commented on the nice appearance of the car. We ONLY buy Hyundai. Never had any problems with any of the cars we have purchased.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JEAN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Cute vehicle
I like the Kona much better than the Tucson. Its smaller, easier to fit into a garage, and gets better gas mileage. The only thing that would improve it would be to raise it up about 8 inches. It would make it easier to get in and out of. Other than that it's a perfect mini suv.

Pros
Great gas mileage
Comfortable

Cons
No cd player
No Sirius radio
Too low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Ethel H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Love my new Kona!
This is a great car! Great gas mileage. There are so many options with the basic model. Another thing that surprised me is how well this car handled mountain roads. I drove through the Allegheny Mountains and expected the Kona to struggle a little since it's 4 cylinders...NOPE!...had no trouble at all. The Kona handled beautifully! The technology is more than I expected! It's great if you're tech savvy. My only problem is the bluetooth won't allow for voice activated commands unless the USB is attached to the phone. I'm sure it's me. I will return to the dealership for help if I can't figure it out.

Pros
Ga mileage, performance, features

Cons
Bluetooth ease of use(probably my fault)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Belinda L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/08/2019
Kona Review
Great car, just wish I had gotten a larger version. LOL Too small to carry my 18 month old grandson in his car seat. YIKES! Otherwise the car is nice to drive and looks nice, more like a sport car than a luxury type vehicle.

Pros
Great ride and gas mileage

Cons
Too small inside

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 398 in total