2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1141 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TN
Tracy N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/26/2019
Konami 2019
Kona is a cute car for the $.
Issues: 1. It is difficult to be on your phone in the car due to road noise. 2. When you put the side windows down the track does not wipe off the rain water at all. Poor design there.
But after 5 months of driving my new Kona, it seems pretty good.

Pros
Cost

Cons
Noisy when on highway

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARY G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/29/2019
2019 kona
I like the car but not happy it is falling apart at less than a month out and I am being told it is my fault and I should pay. I think the makers should reconsider how to hold bumper and wheel well together.

Pros
Love the car it is compact and reliable good gas mileage.

Cons
That it can fall apart so easy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FN
FRANCIS N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/31/2019
kona review
very nice compact suv, fun but storage space limited. love the apple carplay and the turbo 1.5 engine. Car gets good gas mileage, but gas tank is on the samll side.
This question should really be asked after the new car honeymoon is over.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tim H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/02/2019
Kona EV Review
Driver’s floor mat does not fit, lock is off ?. Cargo space not large enough for golf clubs to lay horizontal ☹️ Hyundai’s app is cumbersome. Awaiting new technology, which wii determine if I will continue to be a loyal customers...

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TINA S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/04/2019
Right Fit
I don't like large gas guzzlers. The Kona is the perfect fit for me. I have enough room for shopping and no useless space. Cruise control doesn't like to hold and the blind spot indicator is small. Great overall.

Pros
Size, Bluelink system, gas mileage,

Cons
Cruise control doesn't maintain set speed.
Blind spot indicator too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Robert E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/04/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
Liked the styling and value for the money. Getting older I needed a reliable vehicle and an automatic transmission. Also, wanted a vehicle that didn't require hi-test fuel and was a mini SUV, perfect for me.

Cons
Sound system needs to have higher volume than 47.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/05/2019
Great little car
I have had my car for a few months now and I love it....for the most part. As a daily driver to work and home every day it's comfortable and has all the basic amenities that someone needs. Two issues that really seem to bother me are the following. One the sun visors in this car are perpetually 5" too short, always leaving just the perfect amount of room for the sun to get in on the sides, they need extensions on the ends as a standard feature. Two, tinted windows should be standard, for comparable vehicles in this class, tinted windows are standard my local Hyundai dealer charges nearly 500 dollars to have this added. That being said I recently took this vehicle on a road trip through the Colorado Rocky mountains, and I was a little concerned initially about the lack of surplus horse power, however my doubts were completely unfounded. The Kona was able to take on the steepest inclines with no issues what so ever, I was amazed! I only have the 2.0 not the turbo. The awd and 4*4 handled the slightly off raid dirtroads with no problems even in rainy wet conditions, this little guy gets it done!

Pros
Comfortable, great fuel economy, versatile

Cons
No window tint, sun visors too short

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GEORGE S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/06/2019
2019 Kona Limited
This car more than met comfort, styling and performance expectations. It has a very well thought out phone and media interface and reasonable sound quality although a more robust subwoofer would help audio performance. There are some shortcomings, minor but nonetheless causing the rating to fall short of five:
- The limited has "trick" wheels, that is, in the style of polished aluminum edged up to black lacquer. The next lower trim has a much more tasteful design but is the wrong diameter
- The cladding around the wheel wells is really not needed but we understand it's part of contemporary style. The outline of the cladding is asymmetric around the radius which we find visually distracting. Fortunately, ordering a Kona in grey accomplishes a blending that disguises this.
- There is no height adjustment on the passenger seat which is far too low. Hyundai should set the seat at least two inches higher or provide A simple mechanical ratchet height adjustment.
- There is no spare tire and jack. The fix-a-flat type kit included won't work with a sidewall or other serious puncture. It also won't work when it's very cold outside. We had to pay $300 for a spare kit. There should be an option at the time of sale to select either a fix-a-flat or a spare kit.

After we got used to the fender cladding and wheel appearance, found an internet workaround to raise the passenger seat, and bought a spare, we were very happy with the Kona.

Pros
Drivetrain performance
Handling
Comfort

Cons
Wheel style
Fender cladding
No passenger seat adjustment
No spare or jack

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/06/2019
kona
the car is fine but the survey is taking too long and is quite annoying. ...............................................................................................................................

Pros
good in snow

Cons
too hard to get color of car you want.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Belinda L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/08/2019
Kona Review
Great car, just wish I had gotten a larger version. LOL Too small to carry my 18 month old grandson in his car seat. YIKES! Otherwise the car is nice to drive and looks nice, more like a sport car than a luxury type vehicle.

Pros
Great ride and gas mileage

Cons
Too small inside

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSHUA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/09/2019
Great commuter car!
I am only rating this a 4 for 2 reasons. The first is there is no liftgate release. Not in the car, not on the key fob. It does not exist. I find that odd since every car I have ever owned has had a trunk release. The 2nd is that there is NO get up and go. If you need to bust a move quickly in this car, it is not a car for you. Other than that, it is great! Roomy and quiet. I would consider another Kona in the future, as long as a trunk release is added.

Cons
No trunk release.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
BRIAN W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/17/2019
O
Fun to drive bbbbbbbnnnnnnnjhhgggccxxfyuhgffgfffghjikhfghhhhhhjjijkkkkkkjhgftyuuuhhhhhhjuuhhhhhhhhhhhhgtredfgvvbnnnjjngdgghjuhjjjjhhhhhhbggfdfghjjjjjjjjjbgrrwetyjkkkkkknbbbhhbhjbggffvbbjggvhhhhjhhbhhhh

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Not great pick up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/19/2019
Kona Review
Very nice vehicle for the price. This vehicle comes with a lot of great safety features standard while the tech package adds to the vehicles list of nice attributes. The ride is very stiff and could do better with a slightly softer suspension. The acceleration is not very brisk, but adequate and perfect for teenage drivers; however, the engine revs hard when merging onto a highway.

Pros
Very good safety features and the Tech package is very nice
So far this has been a really good vehicle for the price

Cons
The ride is stiff, transmitting every bump to the driver and passengers
The back seat is tight for larger adults

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
Alla P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/20/2019
review
I have this car for three month. So far works fine. Still learning features . Difficult to use the phone when driving. Radio stations are not easily stored in the car. Like the size, rear view camera, safety features.

Pros
Fun car. Has a lot of safety features. Good visibility. The seat has very little room for adjustment. Good size.

Cons
The trunk door does not close easily. Needs force to be closed. The radio, phone and navigation systems needs time to understand.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/21/2019
Great Car Overall..
Vehicle is great to drive and has a sharp appearance.. The car has great safety features.
Controls are set up for ease of use. Gas mileage is > 30 mph and has averaged in the 34mph range. Keyless entry and remote start with the appl. is a plus.

Pros
Good mileage and very peppy. Easy to get in and out of and comfortable front seats.

Cons
No spare tire and some building materials could be stronger. (ESPECIALLY where plastic is used for handles) Where thin metal is used for weight consideration added protection should be applied as in vinyl shields in the door jambs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/26/2019
Gh
None except trim coming off on passenger door. Salesmen was not very friendly and did not listen to what I wanted. Got high rate and deal when this is my 4 th time buying a Hyundai from the same dealer. Very disappointed
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Linas D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/26/2019
Kona ultimate AWD
Overall a good vehicle. The seven speed dual clutch automatic could use some better programming to make it feel more refined, otherwise the drivetrain is sufficiently capable. Only other concern would be the longevity of the GDI turbocharged engine which could be subject to oil dilution.
The cup holders and storage compartment between the front seats are both quite small.

Pros
Acceleration
Fuel economy

Cons
Small cup holders
Small storage compartment/arm rest

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Paul C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2019
2019 Kona
As stated in survey responses. We are currently leasing this car. I give the card carver a good marks. As stated again, I can’t fit my golf bag across the back of the car. That is not a good feeling . I am sure u understand that
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WILLIAM S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2019
Enjoying my Hyundai Kona
Sporty, zippy car with sleek styling. Good pickup for a small engine, comfortable seating and mostly easy controls. Great mileage, 30-32mpg. Passenger seat too low, ventilation system blows too much on you, cannot adjust to just circulate air.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
CHRISTOPHER J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/29/2019
Great car for the money.
Bought the 2019 Kona to replace my 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The Kona has more features than my Jeep at almost half the price. I no longer need a big 4WD to get me around, and was looking to downsize to a smaller AWD. Looked at many different AWD vehicles, and the Kona gave me the feature I wanted at a price that was great. The infotainment system is lacking with no navigation, but Apple Car Play takes care of that. overall, I am happy with the Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1141 in total