2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(597 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


PC
Paul C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2019
2019 Kona
As stated in survey responses. We are currently leasing this car. I give the card carver a good marks. As stated again, I can’t fit my golf bag across the back of the car. That is not a good feeling . I am sure u understand that
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WILLIAM S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2019
Enjoying my Hyundai Kona
Sporty, zippy car with sleek styling. Good pickup for a small engine, comfortable seating and mostly easy controls. Great mileage, 30-32mpg. Passenger seat too low, ventilation system blows too much on you, cannot adjust to just circulate air.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
CHRISTOPHER J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/29/2019
Great car for the money.
Bought the 2019 Kona to replace my 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The Kona has more features than my Jeep at almost half the price. I no longer need a big 4WD to get me around, and was looking to downsize to a smaller AWD. Looked at many different AWD vehicles, and the Kona gave me the feature I wanted at a price that was great. The infotainment system is lacking with no navigation, but Apple Car Play takes care of that. overall, I am happy with the Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOSE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2019
the little car that could
So far I like it very much. I did a lot of research and I can confirm that for the price and for that category, Hyundai does offer more than everyone else: 5 year warranty, AWD, independent multi-link suspension, Donwhill Break Control, disk breaks in all wheels, REAL automatic transmission with Shiftronic (not that rubber band piece of junk CVT like others) Android Auto/Apple CarPlay that really sounds good.

Pros
A lot of features for the money.

Cons
Normal Drive might be a little "slow", but you can always switch to Sport Drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerald S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/02/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona Ultimate
Bought this vehicle for my wife, she loves it. She likes the gas mileage and the way that the vehicle handles. Me, have a hard time getting in and out with the driver's seat all of the way back. No electric tailgate.

Pros
Great car for my wife.

Cons
No electric tailgate, no leg room in the back seats when the front seats are all of the way back. I am only 5 foot 9 inches tall and my right knee hits the steering wheel when entering the vehicle also my head hits the outside roof getting in. That is with the drivers seat all of the way back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jenebah M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2019
Great Car
Great Car, Good on Gas, handles the road well. Great value for the money. I would definitely recommend this car. it is easy to drive and has some good features like the sports mode and the manual feature for those who like the idea of driving a manual transmission car. It is definitely not a luxury car, not the most comfortable but it is overall a great value for the money.

Pros
Great Car, Good on Gas and handles the road well. Great value for the money

Cons
Not very stylish. Seats are not the most comfortable. A little small for a crossover vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Edward G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2019
Vechicle
Great vehicle.

What else do you expect, sorry but I have better things to do then to do than 200 characters... I am the customer, and this requirement pisses me off.
It will be the very last survey I take unless this rule is changed......I am thinking or reducing all my earlier good scores and comments.... How does that sit with you? Please let me know in 200 characters minimum.

Pros
vehicle options and service

Cons
getting an appointment for service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ESTER B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2019
x
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Cons
already listed in the survey.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Alejandro R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/07/2019
A very cool car!
I love that the trim I purchased has many modern features. I wish all auto makers didn’t have as many trims available. It gets confusing and time consuming. I wish my new Kona was a little higher. I wish it had leather seats but that’s possible.

Pros
All features. Apple connect. Easy handling.

Cons
Too short/low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
PAKUDA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/07/2019
Great small suv
Over all I like this car a lot. I just wish it had a foot more cargo space. Not sure if the rear door supposed to have a latch for emergency exit but it should. Don’t know if it comes with or not. Didn’t noticed it till later. The cosmetics of the interior looks plastic. Wish there was rubber wear the cargo door is so that when loading items it doesn’t impact the area as much.

Pros
Small great suv to drive. Love all the features.

Cons
*Cargo space is not as big.
*The inside quality looks plastic therefore the impression is not
as sturdy.
*The wind noise while driving on freeway is loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RUTH W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/09/2019
Beautiful sporty little car
This is a beautiful little car, but it could use a bit more pep when in regular mode or eco mode. I dont like the trunk/cargo area, seems like a lot of wasted space and the cargo net and blocks are kind of useless. I wish it was larger and I wish I could put things back there, such as groceries without everything flying everywhere. I had trouble figuring out how to add my own music to it, but got it eventually. The interior while spacious, is all hard plastic that marks up easily. I like how solid it feels when closing the doors, but that solid feel also prevents the cargo hatch from closing easily. I felt like I really had to slam it, and was worried I was going to break something in the process. Luckily I have friends that showed me how to adjust the little black rubber thingies and now closing it is not an issue. Also, I have been having some possible computer issues with it upon start up. One time it wouldnt go into drive mode. Had to put it back into park and then into drive again to get it to move. Two times I have started it up and it had the icon that said my lights were on and they were not. As soon as I started driving that icon light went out, but why did it come on at all?

Pros
Beautiful car. I've never had so many compliments on a vehicle.

Cons
is the computer going to tell me more weird stuff ? Its not a good feeling that it tells me my lights are on when they arent and that it wouldnt go into drive that one time. I need a reliable vehicle that I can feel safe in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
Paul E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/09/2019
Nice car
Nice car has enough power and handles great it's even comfortable for going on trips no and has enough luggage room to take whatever you want with you an easy enough to get in and out and don't take up a lot of room when you got to parallel park

Pros
I like it build for your needs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EV
ELWOOD V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Good vehicle for the money
We have purchased 17 vehicles since September of 2009. Eight of them from Daytona Beach or Jon Hall Hyundai. We like the dealership and salesman Rodger Blue. The vehicle is a good second vehicle for the money. Fun to drive. Good MPG.

Pros
Warranty, good second vehicle, nice handling, fun to drive, good MPG

Cons
Value (paying for unwanted heating features in Florida), too low to ground for older people to enter or exit, cheap looking seat material

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DARLENE L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/11/2019
Sporty appearance...but
I like this vehicle. It was very affordable. Exterior colors looks good on it, smooth lines, very aerodynamic. Interior is roomy and comfortable. Would have given it five stars if it had some power, but that would have driven the cost up. Fun to drive, just make sure you have enough room to get up to speed.

Pros
Price. AWD. Comfort, exterior design, interior design and standard features.

Cons
Sluggish on pick-up for a 2.0 liter. Not much cargo space without putting the seats down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rosalia M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/12/2019
Kona
Love the gas mileage and how it drives on the snow, I don’t have to worry about cleaning my driveway after a snow storm it will pull out with no problem.
I wish it had a better sound system and a little bit more room inside and the driver sit was electric adjustable.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Drive very good on the snow

Cons
Sound system not very good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILLIAM B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2019
Hyundai Kona
The Kona is a really great car. It was an upgrade from an Elantra for us, and it has a much nicer overall feel. Getting in and out is a much better experience, as the Elantra sat much lower to the ground. It's not as bulky as a true SUV, so it still handles more like a sedan. Styling and features are nice, haven't had any complaints so far. Love the keyless entry and start. Very happy with our purchase.

Pros
Keyless entry and start, higher off the ground than the Elantra, great styling and features, really nice ride.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KELLY K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2019
Great vehicle overall. Lacking in space and some options.
Like the handling, gas mileage, color, and most features. A little lacking in space - especially storage. Wish some features came standard. Overall a good for my lease; will likely change in 3 years.

Pros
Gas mileage; handles well; interior noise is lower; all wheel drive; great look and color. I leased this vehicle a month ago, so these are my impressions one month into my lease.

Cons
Standard features do not include power seats, CD player, fog lights, or satellite radio ability. Small storage. As with most all vehicles, seat belt needs the ability to adjust lower. This lease was more expensive than a larger Hyundai three years ago. I’m told that’s all cars now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/17/2019
First New Car
This was my first new car ever. It was such an easy option because of the price point, safety features, warranty and services that come with your purchase. The dealership helped me find the options I wanted, color and installed leather for my seats. It’s a great option for starting a family with the second row of seating that fits young children. The gas mileage is perfect for how I drive and it is easy to park in tight spots.

Pros
Sleek
Comfortable
Affordable
Safety features
Tech packages

Cons
Doesn’t fit tall adults in back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DAVID P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/18/2019
Great Value
I fell in love with the look of this little SUV. It's a great bargain for everything you get. The pros definitely outweigh the cons on this car. My first new car, which actually cost less than the used car I purchased in 2012 (Mercedes C300). Best gas mileage I've ever experienced in a car.

Pros
Great price for all the features. Amazing gas mileage. Great modern use of tech inside the vehicle... even on the base models.

Cons
Must plug in phone for navigation features, plastic exterior can scratch easily, little noisy from exterior noises.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Robert E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/18/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
North American Car of the Year, North American Utility Vehicle of the Year and North American Truck of the Year, not a bad start. I really liked the styling and the color (Sunset Orange). The ride is very smooth and comfortable and great gas mileage on regular gas.

Pros
Great gas mileage, like the styling and color, I bought the Sunset Orange.

Cons
Noisy inside when driving with all four windows open, sound system volume could be a bit louder. Headlights being lower on the vehicle, you can notice limited area brightness at night, seems like there is a certain height that lights up before you need to use high beams.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 597 in total