2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(887 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JD
Jane D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/13/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
If you want a mini SUV AWD, Kona will suit your wants.,KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

Pros
AWD, Easy to park, Great for driver and one passenger, great gas mileage, ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Cons
Cramped inside, interior room insufficient, rain water leaks into vehicle when drivers door is opened.ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ .....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Roberta M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/19/2019
Kona review
Overall a very nice car. Styling Is great. Got the two-toned black on rd. Brings a lot of questions. Good size for my needs. Could be just a tad bigger. Like the grou clearance. Great safety features and comfort systems-especially the heated seats.

Cons
Noise issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
ANDREE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/29/2019
Great vehicle
I love everything about this vehicle. From the looks interior and exterior to the handling. You get a lot for your money. Ability to make hands free calls, bluetooth compatibility. The stylish front view.

Pros
Everything except what is listed in cons

Cons
Don't like that the wheels have those huge plastic portion above them. Also, wish there was more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KEELIE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/04/2019
Car is great
I love the look of the car. Its got hreat gas mileage but im not sure if it was made for all the hills that i live in. It doesnt shift like i think it should, the rpms will be very high at the top of a hill before it finally shifts back down.

Pros
Lane assist is great along with all the warnings.

Cons
It tries to take control of the driving. I know these roads better than it does. Sometimes it swerves me over for no reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joseph M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/11/2019
I like my Kona.
The Kona is a great value . It's fun to drive and packed with features. I'm still finding cool stuff every day. The 1.6 liter turbo is a must get, it makes the car adifferent animal from the 2 liter. Acceleration is smooth and powerful.

Pros
acceleration,seats,and overall visibility are great, There are lots of features for the price!

Cons
cramped cabin could use alittle room and a cup holder onleft of driver. Reverse is balky and could be a whole lot smoother.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/15/2019
Kona 2019 7 month review
Outfrickinstanding ! There are a few problems , its not all wheel drive , headlights on low way to dim , roof rack and receiver should have been standard equipment , put love of driving back in me , the speed is well lets just say i know how fast it goes lol , love my kona ,

Pros
Speed , power , fun , cornering , sound system , rear hatch , full size spare , long term seating comfort , auto stick is a blast , breaksand tire grip awesome , love driver side view buble mirror saves you from cars you cant see

Cons
No all whell drive , no roof rack and receiver as standard equipment , low beam to dark , no remote start , oh yeah no accessories gor it like in the channel rain guards to keep rain out of window electric buttons grrrrr!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/16/2019
One person car
This is definitely for one person and not a family. The family would not fit in backseat and have trouble putting a lot of stuff in trunk. Has good pickup and turns on a dime. Love the electric seats for driver. Front passenger seat does not adjust height, just back and forth and seat back can be adjusted. Electric seats was a deal breaker. This was the only one on the lot with it.

Pros
Turning space, engine pick up

Cons
No passenger leg room, small cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Marilyn B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/21/2019
Good for what I need right now
I have had my car for five months. It runs good and is great on gas. I miss the room I had with my SUV but this is ok for now. The safety features are great but the audio system with the phone is a problem. My phone was paired and my contacts were loaded. I can receive and make calls with no problems. The BIG problem is using the GPS and Android Auto. No matter what, there is no audio on my phone and the map does not appear on the screen. This makes it dangerous because I have to look down at my phone which defeats the purpose. I may have to unpair my phone which will make that entire feature useless.

Pros
Good on gas and the safety features are good

Cons
Acceleration is not the best and the GPS system just does not work.
Also, I purchased the car new and it did not have any mats in the car. I mentioned this to two different sales reps and all they could say was "that is strange." Wasn't very happy of how that was handled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Christopher P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
Not bad for the Price
Hi all. Back in Aug 2019 I totaled a 16 Tucson SE. Was in Need of another vehicle. As I wouldn't be able to ride my Harley in winter. Had to be AWD. Saw this as a Leftover 19 model. Test Drove. Was surprised by the way it handled. And the price was affordable. As I didn't have a trade in. And just did a lease buyout on the Tucson about 2 weeks earlier. This is a Leased vehicle. I will most likely buyout at the end. The only thing I wish I could've done differently, Got a higher trim line. With Fog lamps and wind tint. SEL model. But Finances and Need outweighed my wants.

Pros
Good MPGs. AWD Handles pretty well in emergency situations. Have tripped the FCA on multiple occasions.

Cons
Brake Squeal when cold. First few stops. Or after sitting awhile. Started in Nov when the weather started getting cold.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jo S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
2019 Kona - purchased 08/19
Note: I had an Elantra for 10 years and really miss some of it's comfortable & convenient features. This is my first SUV/hatchback (in 40 years of driving).

Positives about Kona 2019:
Car is fun to drive!
Safety features are very responsive to driving conditions
Love the heated front seats & their contour is comfortable
Sound system is clear
Find the keyless entry convenient
Windshield readily clears from fogging
Back seats easily go up & down

Negatives about Kona 2019:
Back seat/trunk storage room is too small; when seats are up have very limited storage space (and leg room)!
I need to reconfigure space use too often for basic, routine purposes.

Available custom 'net' for trunk secures to floor (like a tent) rather than providing a verticle 'pocket' for storing grocery bags, etc.

Trunk door practically needs to be slammed to close tightly; it looks closed but needs considerable force to ensure that it's locked.

Overhang design above rear window prevents cleaning well by commercial carwash

Big black box around rearview mirror closes in view of full windshield; vehicle is small and I would prefer to have more expansive view

Too much plastic in interior; it scratches easily and feels/looks 'hard'
Interior materials are 'cheap' and I doubt that they will hold up well over time! Should be of better quality if owner chooses to keep car for duration of warranty!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DEBRA E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
Don’t purchase for lane keep assist safety feature
The lane keep assist feature works nothing like it does in the Santa Fe we own. It rarely shows as active for a significant length of time, even when conditions suggest it should be. You can barely feel the steering wheel pulling you back into the lane when you cross the line. Took it back to dealership where they adjusted the camera; no difference. Dealer drove 2 other Kona’s on the lot and they reacted the same way (meaning they hardly reacted at all). Disappointed since safety features were one of the reasons I purchased the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/06/2019
My favorite ‘orange’
I really love my car. She’s ORANGE (both color and name) and gets great milage. Not a full year owned and I have driven over 17,000 miles. Love the ability to have AWD and Front-wheel change quickly.

Pros
AWD

Cons
Not real strong on acceleration from stop position.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mary M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
Kona 2019
This is my first SUV and I love the size. It is easy to change the settings and handles great in either front wheel or all wheel drive. The only issue I have with this car is it doesn't come with an auto start remote, I have to use a blue link app which so far hasn't worked properly. Luckily I have a smartphone since Bluelink only works if you have one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SUSAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
So far, very happy.
Car has less than 1000 on car. So, far very satisfied. I felt I could not give car 5 stars yet. Ask me when I have 10,000 miles on it. Car rides well. Still have not figured out all the safety features and buttons.

Pros
Easy to exit. Great safely features. Great warranty. Great mileage.

Cons
Some trouble with local dealerships, but very minor stuff. Some trouble loading App on phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
BARTON T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/14/2019
A fun little car
I like the Kona, except for the ride of the low profile tires and the little storage behind the rear seat, other wise it is a nice little car and fun to drive, a little underpowered for the open highway. All in all great sound from the sound system. Something else thar Hyundai has to address in a lot of their cars is the front passenger not being able to adjust their seat..

Pros
Fun to drive, Great sound system, Looks good, Plenty of room in the front.

Cons
Rear storage, Low profile tires,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joe P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/21/2019
Overall happy
Overall, I am very happy with the car. The main selling point of the car for me was the lifetime warranty on the battery. That gives me a little Peace of Mind knowing that I won't have a huge expense in the future. The car rides nice, quiet, and I feel like I'm doing something responsible for the environment. My Con list is little longer than my Pro list, because I want to give constructive feedback to Hyundai in hopes of making improvements in the future, but these are just little annoyances that wouldn't stop me from recommending the car to anyone else.

Pros
Battery range. battery lifetime warranty. Nice ride. Attractive "normal" looking EV. Full $7,500 federal tax credit, and no sales tax in NJ made it affordable, otherwise too expensive.

Cons
Interior design flaws such as the under console storage and USB port is unusable because it is too hard to get to. Brakes are WAY too sensitive. Remote start only works with a Bluelink subscription. Bluelink app is SLOW..takes a minute just to get status WHEN it works, which is only about 50% of the time. Lastly, I have no idea when my brake lights are going on... something that you take for granted when hitting the break pedal, but since most of the time I'm using regenerative braking or the paddle to brake, I now have no idea if drivers around me know I'm stopping. This is a safely issue that you would think would be readily available, but this information doesn't seem to be available anywhere from Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OL
Octavio L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/02/2020
Average
Good car need better material. Emergency brake need to be in the floor.Radio music goes down when you put the car on reverse.Too much road noise inside cabin.More space needs in the back seat for legs.Driving lights not too bright.

Pros
Good price

Cons
Poor materials

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Derrick F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/04/2020
Kona
It is a great car even just the 2 wheel drive does good in the snow. I have the SE model it is great if you dont wanna spend alot of money. It also gets good gas mileage and doesn't cost alot to fill up.

Pros
I like most of the car drives great and looks awesome

Cons
The only thing I would like different if all sub models of the car came in AWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Brian C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/06/2020
AWD and great mileage
Great tech and mileage. Could definitely use better sound insulation. Overall a pretty fun car to drive. Would love to see a performance model with a manual would be great. Sound system is a little lacking for an Infiniti system.
Will probably buy at the end of the lease or purchase a 2023!

Pros
Fun to drive and great fuel mileage.

Cons
Road noise!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JAMES K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/14/2020
Transmission
Should be smoother when on highway ramp to get on freeway........................................................................................,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,....................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 887 in total