2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(308 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BL
BRADY L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Not perfect, but no regrets
I love my new Kona. As someone who was hesitant to move from a sedan to an SUV, the Kona is a great balance of not too big, not too small. It's size is perfect for city driving and parallel parking in tight spaces. I just wish it had a few more inches or rear legroom and cargo space. Feature-wise, it's got everything I wanted in a vehicle--except adaptive cruise control.

Pros
Fun to drive, fun to look at
Impressive safety features
Lots of bang for your buck

Cons
Jerky automatic shifting a low speeds
Stiff ride over bumps
Rear leg room and cargo space are a bit tight
Adaptive cruise control not available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Randy L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Finally hit 3000 miles
Leased my Kona in January 2019. I have not taken any long trips, but several shorts little trips. The car is the right size for what I wanted and handles like a champ. The all wheel drive proved itself during a snow storm back in February 2019. All the safety features work great . A nice riding, easy to handle vehicle and nice to drive. I have told alal my friends about the deal I got and even let them drive the car if they like.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lisa S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Super fun!
My new Kona is more fun to drive than ANY car I've owned! I love all its high-tech features and how much power it has. Even my boyfriend loves to drive my Kona more than his Audi Q3! I'm thinking about buying another Kona for my parents.

Pros
Safety features, nav, voice command, touch screen, good horsepower, great handling.

Cons
Some parts of the owners manuals are not detailed enough for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angel B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Great small suv
I did my research and bought the Kona . I can not say enough great things about it . Super safe , great on gas . Best purchase ever . I would highly recommend this car to any of my friends and family . It’s perfect.

Pros
Lots of safety features

Cons
Zero complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KEVIN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
FUN!!!!
If you are looking for a comfortable, fun to drive vehicle with lots of style and power, do yourself a favor and drive the Kona with the 1.6 turbo AWD model. Fit and form is what the Kona is all about. The design of the vehicle is fantastic and appealing. Corners like it’s on rails with the touring Goodyear tires and 18” aluminum wheels!

Pros
Fast, Great Looks, Comfortable and Fun to Drive

Cons
Can’t make up its mind to be in gear to start unless you gas it from a stop. A little loose at high speeds due to its lightweight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JESSICA K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Love my Kona!!!
I Love my Kona it handles Great. It is fun to drive,. Room enough to bring friends on adventures. And the Dog loves to go on trips with us!! Can't wait to go on a long trip and just drive. Just LOVE LOVE It!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HP
HYANG P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2019
Good Utility Vehicle
It's very nice compact utility vehicle with low gas mileage! Also it's all wheel drive vehicle, and it will be very efficient vehicle during winter time, especially in the mid-west area. It's fog lights are pretty new.

Pros
Low gas mileage

Cons
Need some extra power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WZ
Walter Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Sold on the 5 Star NIHS Safety Rating
The 2019 Kona is a great vehicle! I did my research prior to going to the dealership to test drive it. I was impressed by what Edmonds and Car and Driver wrote about it, and very impressed when I read the NIHS rating. The test drive was great - smooth, quiet, and comfortable ride. The blind spot collision assist, lane keep assist, rear cross-traffic collision assist, and forward crash collision assist all make me feel very secure in the vehicle. I really enjoy having Apple Play available as well as the hands-free capability. I purchased my last new vehicle back in 2007; boy, cars have come a long way!

Pros
Safety features, comfortable ride, quiet cabin, entertainment options, heated seats

Cons
BlueLink not available on all trims, which is quite disappointing. I truly do not understand why Hyundai didn’t make this a standard feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Maria L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
So happy with my selections
I love my kona! Perfect size and comfortable for my preferences. It’s cute and affordable! Am so satisfied with every inch of the kona and it’s performance! Perfect what I needed in my town. Small enough for me, but big enough for my family.

Pros
Love the whole car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carl K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Amazing car
Was looking for a small SUV with the features of a larger, upscale model. Got everything I was looking for and a few surprises. Liked the car so much I wound up buying one for me and one for my daughter on the same day.

Pros
Head up display was an amazing surprise. Didn't think I'd rely on it as much as I do.
Heated seats.
Lane departure and back up warning assists.
Back up camera.

Cons
Wish it had distance following on cruise control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Pamela L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
enjoyable
we love our new Kona! Just the right size for us. One problem is the passenger seat sits low and unable to adjust, hard for short people to see over the dash. could use a little more pick up when starting out.

Pros
size excellent for older people.

Cons
passenger seat sits to low, unable to adjust!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
ANDREW N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Gray Thunder
Had had this vehicle now for over a month. I really like everything about it. It is fun to drive,easy to park and feel very safe in it.
The gas mileage is very to good too, am looking forward having the awe this winter too!

Cons
A little on the slow side with base engine, but totally acceptable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Absolutely love my Kona but room for improvement
Great safety features, very comfortable, and great to drive. BUT car is noisy when driving, wiper fluid smell is strong in the car when used (even without the air on), and no way to disable air through the vents even when closed, so on a hot day you get hot air into the cabin. Still love it.

Pros
Great safety features, very comfortable, and great to drive

Cons
Noisy, strong smell of wiper fluid when used (even though fan/air is off), also even closing vents still get hot air into car, and recirculate shuts itself off so that doesn't help keep hot air out

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
DAVID O.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Great car
The car is beautiful and efficient love this car just perfect size the style is amazing and the performance incredible every one takes a second look every time I parked the car somewhere they come over to me and asked me the price and where I bought it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PATRICIA C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Krona
Good but interior stains no happy about. Overall experience was excellent with staff etc. Would like for my interior stains to be cleaned and I would be completely satisfied. My experience with Bob was excellent!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Kona - The Best!
There are now more than 12 choices available in the new “Sub-Compact SUV” category. Looking closely at each of the new 2019 choices on the market today, it is clear beyond question that the Hyundai Kona is the best choice - by a wide margin - a buyer can make. Top drawer in every category, and well priced at that!

Pros
* Roomy
* Powerful
* Fun to drive
* All the tech you could ask for

Cons
A few more exterior color choices would be nice . . .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DANNIELLE J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Love it
I am really enjoying my car. I fell in love with the color of the car and the comfort that I felt sitting in it for the first time. Everyone was so nice they really worked with me to get the payment I would be comfortable with.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IM
IRIS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Kona Ironman Edition
I wanted to buy a small SUV and researched online all makes and models. When I saw the Konas reviews and rated top, I decided to go online and make contact with dealership. I indicated that I wanted a Kona, received price and when I stepped in tbe dealership I just fell in love with the Kona Ironman Edition. Its beautiful and a head turner, its edgy yet it feels like a grown up vehicle. Thank you for making this Kona for me Hyundai!

Pros
Great handling, fun to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARGARET C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
2019 Kona
I am very satisfied with my purchase of the 2019 Kona and would recommend it to friends and family. I wouldn't by any other make of vehicle other than Hyundai. My boyfriend, son, his wife and I all are Hyundai owners and are all satisfied with our vehicles. My boyfriend has the Santa Fe, my son has the Tucson, my daughter-in-law has the Electra and I was driving the Sonata but now the 2019 Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
ROBERT T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
Love my Kona
I test drove 2 other similar vehicles and kept going back to the Kona. Some of the features that I really wanted were included in my base model Kona - but I would have had to upgrade in the other vehicles. I am extremely pleased with this car.

Pros
Excellent value for the money spent

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 308 in total