2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8
(60 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JL
James L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/29/2018
Hyundai kona 2019 sel 2.0 engine
Put my first 1000 miles on. Solid, comfortable vehicle. For me knowing AWD when needed is all the difference in the world. Travel a lot in mountains to San Jose area, winter time it’s a big plus. Getting a solid 32 to 34 mpg, not even broke in yet. That’s traveling 71mph generally. Happy with car.

Pros
So far great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2019
Really enjoy this car
for being the least trim level there is quite a bit of tech, sorry I didn't go for a higher trim lever like the SEL, I didn't know about the EV that should be on peoples shopping list for that type of Vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roxana S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
awesome
very sporty, comfortable, to drive, love the looks of it, I like tat it is all wheel and four wheel drive, love the features on the Kona, especially the mph, coming up on the dash board. That is a very cool feature

Pros
4 wheel, all wheel drive

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
Elaine E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2019
Love it
Had it only one day but so far I love it. Seems like it will be good on gas. Comfortable to drive. Love the safety features. Lower to the ground than most SUVs that I’ve driven which is great for me since I’m short.

Pros
Design inside and out. Safety features and comfort

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Charlie P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/21/2019
highly impressed with kona
the kona is the top the line.it has speed ,good braking ,an acelation.the front warning works, the sides work.backing out works great it warns you oars. i drove it for 650 in one day. the car was not bad on my body.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Andrew G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2019
Andy G
The 1.6 Turbo has excellent power and gas mileage. It can accelerate in a heartbeat. It can turn on a dime. Excellent for turning in tight spaces. It does take bumps a little hard. I wonder if it is because of the 18 inch wheels. The ride is very comfortable other than that. The technology is excellent. It is a beautiful looking vehicle. The interior is very nice, but a height adjustment on the passenger seat would benefit a shorter person.

Pros
Acceleration capability. Absolutely amazing. Great gas mileage. Uses regular gas.

Cons
Hard on bumps. Passenger seat is low for a shorter person.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sharon D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Hyundai Kona
I purchased the Kona on December. 27, 2018 and I love my Kona. The gas mileage is great. I do a lot of highway traveling and am very pleased with this vehicle. I have already put 4800 miles on my vehicle.

Pros
The menu screen is big, body style, mileage.

Cons
No email alert on phone system, manual trunk opening.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charmaine G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2019
Kona
I have driven a Hyundai for years my last car was a sonata 2012 and I have never really wanted to drive a SUV however when I went into the dealership to trade my car in the sales person showed me and allowed me to test drive the Kona which is not to me like a suv but more like a cross over I love it and then I expressed that I was gonna retire in a few months and only wanted to pay a certain amount and they worked it out for me and it is great on gas so it all worked out thanks to the team and or staff at the dealership thanks Jennifer
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Leticia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
Love my Kona!
I love my Kona. It has all the features I requested in a vehicle. The exterior is dmsll but the interior has a lot of space. It has safety features. I know that I will be safe. It's great for driving during winter weather. I never got stuck in the snow or didn't slid on the ice. It started without problems in the frigid cold weather. I love the style and the way it looks. The Ko a was my first choice. I am happy I purchased it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Margaret P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
The Kona is grrreat
I drive a lot and the gas mileage is better
Than advertised. In the snow it holds the road and zooms up the hills where I live.
All in all 1 complaint, no rear windshield washer squirter. Love my bright orange Kona.

Pros
It looks and drives like a sport
Car. Good gas mileage. Like the back up camera and CarPlay.

Cons
Passengers in the back feel the bumps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
Victor D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2019
Love it
I own the Ultimate and i love it. The gas mileage and safety sensor features are great. Love Bluelink, but pissed i have to pay so much to maintain it after my 3 years are up. I hope this car is built to kast as i wanted low gas mileage and durability, so lets see...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brian B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
2019 Kona SEL Great vehicle with lots of features.
I purchased the Hyundai Kona SEL AWD because of it's affordability in relation to all the amenities you get without having to purchase the top of the line model. I've had the car about a week now. It drive's really well and handles great. The steering feels tight and responsive. The Kona does feel a little sluggish when taking off from a dead stop. But really it's not that bad. The interior is comfortable and all the instruments are neatly placed and easy to access. Some of the features like the braking assist are defaulted off so you must navigate on the dash using the steering wheel controls to turn on.The radio AND Sirius XM are a little bit intimidating compared to using basic radio controls in my old car, but I'm sure it will all get to be second nature. I can't wait to see how it handles in AWD but for now I will have to wait as it's not almost April and winter is over.

Overall I am very happy and pleased with my purchase.

Pros
Hyundai's 100.000 mile powertrain warranty & bumper to bumper warranty
AWD availability
Keyless entry
Push button start
Backup camera
Brake assist
Blind spot monitor
Lane keeping assist
Lane departure warning
Cross traffic alert
Amount of amenities you get for cost of vehicle

Cons
Interior feels a little cheap with lots of plastic. Don't like the two tone interior trim with gray and black trim.
Engine feels weak when needing to step on peddle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jay S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
Kathy Slaughter
Great car, love the color, sporty yet economical. The interior design is great. The pickup and go is great. Easy and fun to drive. We bought the lime green one. I love, love, love the color. Would recommend.

Pros
Sporty, fun to drive, great visibility and gas mileage

Cons
Would like to have a way to open the back hatch from inside the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beth H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Love My Kona
Have received many compliments on the car. Roomy for passengers. Rides well. Easy handling. Love the styling. Had remote start put in and works well. My only complaint is that they no longer put CD players in 2019 vehicles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Andrea L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2019
I love my Kona!
My 2019 Hyundai Kona 1.6 Turbo is by far one of the best cars I have ever purchased! The gas mileage is great, right now I am averaging about 36 mpg. The car is fun, peppy, and has great safety features. There is only one thing that I would change, there is not a light in the trunk/cargo area. For most people this probably wouldn’t be a problem but I go to work at 4 am and getting my work gear together in the back is kind of difficult. Other than that, I love my Kona!!

Pros
Fun
Fast
Built Well
Stylish
Great Warranty

Cons
No Light In The Cargo Area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Shawn P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2019
LOVE MY KONA
We worked with Thaddeus Hoffman who was my sales representative was great. He answered all questions, was great to work with and has followed up many times on how much I like my Kona. This is an amazing vehicle, very smooth on the road and gets great mileage. Lots of space throughout the vehicle all seats are very comfortable for adults and the cargo space holds everything I need.

Pros
BlueLink, Center Touchscreen, Infotainment, the Safety Technology, LED headlamps, Cargo Space

Cons
Sirus XM free trial should be longer than 3-months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mary L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/09/2019
Perfection
Perfect car for me. Small but plenty of room for outdoor gear. Cute exterior. Good on mileage. I added a rack on top for my kayak. Only problem was cover on inside back, the chord broke second day, could be sturdier.

Pros
All

Cons
I broke the chord on the inside back cover, just by closing the back. Could be sturdier

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kimberly R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
Kona
The Kona is very sporty looking it drives nice and has just enough room for my family the lane assist is a pretty cool feature and I like the slap shift option the price is affordable and I would definitely recommended it

Pros
Affordable, lane assist, efficiency

Cons
No heated seat option

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Deborah F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2019
Best vehicle I’ve ever owned
I love my Hyundai Kona, it’s the best vehicle I’ve ever owned and I highly recommend it. I just wish there was more trunk room. It is quick, quiet and fairly good on gas. I also like the safety features. I wish I could turn off the lane beeping sound.

Pros
Love the look inside and out. It’s comfortable, quiet and fun to drive.

Cons
I wish there was more trunk room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Daniel H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
My 2018 Kona is absolutely great. I'm a 72 year old grandpa raising my 17 year old grandson now for 12 years. I use My Kona for driving Uber/Lyft. So far the car has done great. Very impressive during the winter on snowy and icy roads especially when in the mountains and in the Tahoe area during snow storms. Before the snow hit I did put Bridgestone Blizzack studless snow tires on. I've put 33,000 miles on it in just about 9 months. The Kona's been perfect. So far averaging 28-30 mpg in the city. My only complaint like others have mentioned is no cd player. My grandson is now driving my 2013 Elantra GT which is also a very nice, safe, vehicle, just not an AWD like the Kona. I'm very pleased with the Kona and with the Hyundai service department here in Reno helping me to keep this car perfectly maintained and running great. I wish Hyundai had a way to install a cd player but I've asked and they can't do it.

Pros
Great car, handles real nice and easy to maneuver. So far perfectly reliable and very comfortable.

Cons
No cd player !!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 60 in total