2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(298 Reviews)
Latest review about 20 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PL
Pamela L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
enjoyable
we love our new Kona! Just the right size for us. One problem is the passenger seat sits low and unable to adjust, hard for short people to see over the dash. could use a little more pick up when starting out.

Pros
size excellent for older people.

Cons
passenger seat sits to low, unable to adjust!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
ANDREW N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Gray Thunder
Had had this vehicle now for over a month. I really like everything about it. It is fun to drive,easy to park and feel very safe in it.
The gas mileage is very to good too, am looking forward having the awe this winter too!

Cons
A little on the slow side with base engine, but totally acceptable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Absolutely love my Kona but room for improvement
Great safety features, very comfortable, and great to drive. BUT car is noisy when driving, wiper fluid smell is strong in the car when used (even without the air on), and no way to disable air through the vents even when closed, so on a hot day you get hot air into the cabin. Still love it.

Pros
Great safety features, very comfortable, and great to drive

Cons
Noisy, strong smell of wiper fluid when used (even though fan/air is off), also even closing vents still get hot air into car, and recirculate shuts itself off so that doesn't help keep hot air out

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
DAVID O.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Great car
The car is beautiful and efficient love this car just perfect size the style is amazing and the performance incredible every one takes a second look every time I parked the car somewhere they come over to me and asked me the price and where I bought it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PATRICIA C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Krona
Good but interior stains no happy about. Overall experience was excellent with staff etc. Would like for my interior stains to be cleaned and I would be completely satisfied. My experience with Bob was excellent!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Kona - The Best!
There are now more than 12 choices available in the new “Sub-Compact SUV” category. Looking closely at each of the new 2019 choices on the market today, it is clear beyond question that the Hyundai Kona is the best choice - by a wide margin - a buyer can make. Top drawer in every category, and well priced at that!

Pros
* Roomy
* Powerful
* Fun to drive
* All the tech you could ask for

Cons
A few more exterior color choices would be nice . . .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DANNIELLE J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Love it
I am really enjoying my car. I fell in love with the color of the car and the comfort that I felt sitting in it for the first time. Everyone was so nice they really worked with me to get the payment I would be comfortable with.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IM
IRIS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Kona Ironman Edition
I wanted to buy a small SUV and researched online all makes and models. When I saw the Konas reviews and rated top, I decided to go online and make contact with dealership. I indicated that I wanted a Kona, received price and when I stepped in tbe dealership I just fell in love with the Kona Ironman Edition. Its beautiful and a head turner, its edgy yet it feels like a grown up vehicle. Thank you for making this Kona for me Hyundai!

Pros
Great handling, fun to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARGARET C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
2019 Kona
I am very satisfied with my purchase of the 2019 Kona and would recommend it to friends and family. I wouldn't by any other make of vehicle other than Hyundai. My boyfriend, son, his wife and I all are Hyundai owners and are all satisfied with our vehicles. My boyfriend has the Santa Fe, my son has the Tucson, my daughter-in-law has the Electra and I was driving the Sonata but now the 2019 Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
ROBERT T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
Love my Kona
I test drove 2 other similar vehicles and kept going back to the Kona. Some of the features that I really wanted were included in my base model Kona - but I would have had to upgrade in the other vehicles. I am extremely pleased with this car.

Pros
Excellent value for the money spent

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GEORGE H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2019
Kona
It is a sufficient car for the money. I wanted to get out of my lease and the salesman was very helpful in allowing me to get into the Kona. I wish it had a little more pickup when starting out, it is something I am getting used to.

Pros
Affordability

Cons
Wind noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2019
LOVE!
I went from a coupe(2 door) to this. I love everything about the car... my only downside is I was hoping to have more room. It definitely does but the back seats are very cramped when you have someone there. Making them unusable at times.

Cons
Back seat very cramped, sometimes unusable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ALAN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
so easy to drive
We got ours about 1 month ago and we absolutely love the ease of driving and handling of this vehicle.
The price point is awesome and you definitely get more bang for your buck with all the safety features already included.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
PETER H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
Great value for your money
The Kona is overall a fantastic car. The 1.6 turbo engine provides the right power for a smooth ride and all the offered features allow for good comfort. The interior design is simple but ok for the money you pay.

Pros
1.6 turbo engine shows good performance
Cool look
Smooth drive
Great iPhone and Android integration

Cons
Overall interior design looks quite simple

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
GARY T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
Kona
Vehicle, driver assist feature are a nice and valuable feature. Sporty, quick . I get compliments on my choice. The sound system is very good. Mileage around town is 24 mpg and on the parkway up to 32pg.

Pros
Fun to drive. Smaller and easier to park and manuver.driver assist is great

Cons
Not used to a smaller car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANGELICA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2019
Best "first car" ever
It was time to replace my first car (2005 Kia Optima) as it was starting to rust, which is not great in New England winters. This is my first "real" first car and I could not have picked better. I don't do too much driving, but when I do I need something reliable and capable of any weather. My main "wish" when I was looking at cars was a compact, small car, while my parents insisted I also get AWD. This combines the best of both worlds: it is practically the same length of the Honda Fit that I was adamant in buying but it also has AWD for the snowy New England weather.

Interior: While it may look small and compact from the outside, the inside is surprisingly roomy. I do not need much space at this point in my life, so I am content with what it does have. It also comes with Apple CarPlay and the standard Hyundai safety features which you can never go wrong with.

Exterior: Let me tell you, the Thunder Grey color is absolutely stunning in direct sunlight. It has hints of blue and silver reflects... so cool. The actual body profile is so cool looking as well, very tough and rugged looking. It won't be for everyone, but for those who like it, you'll love it.

Overall: test drive one! If you are in the sub-compact SUV market, this might be the car for you! The value for your money is great and Hyundai warranties are unbeatable.

Pros
Reliable, great handling, small profile, adequate storage space, safety features, available in AWD, color options, warranty

Cons
Acceleration is laggy from dead stop/low speeds, cheap "hard plastics" everywhere (doesn't bother me much personally, but something to keep in mind)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jay M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Terrific overall package
I was driving a different Hyundai and saw a Kona advertisement at least 6 months before it was available and then it took another 6 months for a lime twist ultimate model to arrive. It was well worth the wait!! Its a fun car to drive...handles well, has plenty of pep, fantastic safety features and the heads up display is amazing. And it gets really solid gas mileage as well. I'm usually getting close to 26 in the city and 30 on the highway. On a cross state trip, I got 34 miles per galllon... for an SUV, that's awesome. I really cant say enough about this car other than to say give one a test drive. You won't be disappointed.

Cons
Not great back seat room, but not bad either. It's a smaller, sportier SUV.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
David A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
David Andrade
My Kona is a well built and solid car for only being only sold by Hyundai only 2 years!! I love it and it's sporty!! Keep up the Great work Hyundai!!! The only thing I feel is that although my Kona is the lower priced one some of the safety features that are in the higher priced ones should be standard like blindspot warning!!

Pros
Everything, but some of the safety features should come standard like blind spot assist

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kenneth P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Best car I have EVER had!
Purchased the Ultimate with the all wheel drive Turbo. Amazing and Agile! Comfort is excellent and I am a big guy! It drives like a dream and handles better than any car I have ever owned! With the amazing warranty that Hyundai has on their cars, there is nothing to worry about on the road. I have had many compliments on my car. Only negative is small amount of room in the back seats, but I wanted utility so this car is perfect! Fold down the seats and the room is amazing. Love the hidden compartments in the trunk as well. The Infinity stereo is a dream, and matched with Satellite radio and the sound can't be beat! Big 8 inch screen with navigation is perfect too. Head's up display keeps my eyes on the road and the blind spot sensor is fantastic. Have tried the all wheel drive and differential setting on snowy roads and it is a BEAST in the snow! Bluelink is somewhat slow, but works very well. I cannot say enough about my new Kona, and I feel very thankful every time I get behind the wheel!

Pros
Fast when needed and great to drive! Style gets looks and it feels and looks safe and driving is fun! Everyone loves my car!

Cons
Little back seat leg room, (But I am tall) and I wish it had auto hatchback lift.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LISA D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
Kona SEL
I love my new Kona. It's a little smaller than I was looking for, but have found it's the perfect size for me. The turn radius on the Kona is superb! The interior is comfortable and altho I have the cloth seats, I would prefer the leather, but not enough to make up that price difference. It would be nice if the driver and passenger door storage areas was a bit bigger.

Pros
I really love my Kona

Cons
I've only had the Kona for a month, so I haven't had time to really rate any cons yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 298 in total