2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(529 Reviews)
Latest review 18 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CB
CECILIA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
2019 KOMA
great vehicle xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
love everything about it except for lack of a power lift gate

Cons
wish it had a power lift gate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Chelsea L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Super!
We love our 2019 Kona! I got the Surf Blue and it is the prettiest car in the parking lot 99.9% of the time.
I love that my base model is anything but basic. The color may have caught my eye, but the safety features kept my attention. The front collision detector has already saved my life. The lane assist works fantastically! My backup camera gives me so much more confidence when maneuvering around tight spaces in ATL. I actually back up into parking spots now! And even though it’s safe, that doesn’t mean it’s slow! The Sport drive feature is fun for when I need to pass cars or speed up onto a busy highway. It’s got a little pep in its step!
The warranties really helped me feel confident that buying new was the best option for my family.
The interior is beautiful and is holding up really well. It still looks like we just drove it off the lot. The back seat is just big enough for our two Akita’s to lay down in inside of our seat canopy. We love the space in the hatch. My very favorite thing about the radio is the Apple CarPlay. I use it every single day and it’s so easy! The radio screen is the perfect size and in the perfect position.
We love that this car will be able to handle our family as it grows. We look forward to our Kona being in our family for many years to come.

Pros
Very cute
Nice features
Safety
Apple CarPlay

Cons
Buying new is a hard decision
If you’re looking for the SUV size, this isn’t it. It’s a crossover. It’s spacey but not super big.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Brian W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Fun car
Going from a large car to the Kona was questionable but after driving the car for the last two months changed my outlook on smaller car. Great on gas, fun to drive and roomer than I thought. A lot of people stop me to ask about what kind of car and how sporty it looks. A Great Purchase I would recommend it

Pros
Fun to drive, great on gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MARY ANN F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Excellent design
Exceeded my expectations; a pleasure to drive a safe, efficient, nice looking vehicle. I’m pleaded with the vehicle in performance, and safety, for the price. The interior is interesting, and does not feel cheap.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jenebah M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2019
Great Car
Great Car, Good on Gas, handles the road well. Great value for the money. I would definitely recommend this car. it is easy to drive and has some good features like the sports mode and the manual feature for those who like the idea of driving a manual transmission car. It is definitely not a luxury car, not the most comfortable but it is overall a great value for the money.

Pros
Great Car, Good on Gas and handles the road well. Great value for the money

Cons
Not very stylish. Seats are not the most comfortable. A little small for a crossover vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KEIR P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Great small SUV
Economical, versatile, and surprisingly fun to drive. AWD with good clearance make this a good option for winter driving, while many other manufactures' crossovers don't even have AWD, The 1.6 lt turbo engine is surprisingly quick. Good interior and controls. Exterior styling is unique, and not too busy in an age of fake vents and 2-tone paneling. Stands above Toyota, Honda and domestic offerings.

Pros
AWD and ground clearance in a small vehicle. 1.6T engine is punchy and responsive. Safety features and tech options comparable to Japanese makers.

Cons
Styling might not be for everyone. Horn needs an upgrade.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
PAUL E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Love my Kona
I love my Kona, it gets great gas mileage and is easy to drive. I have a new driver and it is easy for her to handle and I love the safety features. Any time she strays out of the lane it makes her aware that she needs to move over, saving me from being the bad guy for over correcting.
I recently went on a trip and the 2 hour drive was comfortable. Driving on the busy highways of Pittsburgh I was loving the blind spot warning system.

Pros
.

Cons
.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lorraine H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
Absolutely in love with my new Kona!!!
Finally decided to give in and buy a new car after driving my '07 Kia for 12 good years. Searched around and researched different vehicles and decided the Kona was the one I wanted. I am so glad I decided on it. Of course warranty and safety standards etc are excellent. Handling, fuel economy etc great. Looks are on point. So happy with this car 😊
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
ROBERT F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
Loving our 2019 HyundaI Kona
My wife's Kona is feature packed and priced right. She is short and appreciates the great view through the rear windshield in addition to the car's beauty. It has great safety features and is very driver friendly.

Pros
Appearance, fuel economy, safety, driver friendliness

Cons
Ride is a little hard and acceleration from stop could be quicker.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
Kona
Need better passenger seat. It is not adjustable. Should have power sear option for passenger seat. Need more rear storage space. Great for safety and fuel economy. Head lights are a big asset for night driving.

Pros
Head lights, safety

Cons
Passenger seat,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
ROBERT D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
We are extremely happy with our our Hyundai experience. Everything from sales to service has met every expectation. Having purchase 4 Hyundai products since 2009 - all from Fairfax Hyundai we are obviously committed to Hyundai and its products. Our new Kona is now my wife's dream car and she feels comfortable and safe whenever and wherever she needs to drive it
We are extremely happy with our Hyundai experience. We are 5 time Hyundai owners and have never had a bad experience from sales to service. Don Barker the sales rep and Leo the Sales Mgr have always treated us fairly and with respect. We have financed vehicles thru Hyundai Finance and Bill (Fairfax Hyundai) has always explained our options and worked with us to give us the fairest pricing available. We have Never felt stressed or pressured and the car buying experience has always been a pleasant one at Fairfax Hyundai. Add to that the overall top quality vehicle(s) we have and continue to purchase, i.e. Hyundai Elantra Touring., 2 Santa Fe's, 1 Kona nd a Tucson, there is no doubt we are Hyundai customers for life.

Pros
Looks,styling, performance,comfort, interior features, service/sales/finance depts.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Roger W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
It is one of the most enjoyable autos I have purchased in years.
My Kona 1.6 put the fun back in my driving experience. Very good power, it handles very well the steering is quick, but it could be a little
Quicker. Much thought has gone into the way it negotiates the turns as you drive in winding road. The 7 speed double clutch system is great
However down shifting could be as quick as the up shift. Gas mileage is so good it’s hard to believe the performance the Kona pleases you
With is possible! Interior is well fitted and comfortable, the noise level could be a little better. The Radio is very good it is easy to use, a matter of fact the whole dash is well planed easy to use. I do not have to take my eyes off the road to use needed controls.
.

Pros
All

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerald S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/02/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona Ultimate
Bought this vehicle for my wife, she loves it. She likes the gas mileage and the way that the vehicle handles. Me, have a hard time getting in and out with the driver's seat all of the way back. No electric tailgate.

Pros
Great car for my wife.

Cons
No electric tailgate, no leg room in the back seats when the front seats are all of the way back. I am only 5 foot 9 inches tall and my right knee hits the steering wheel when entering the vehicle also my head hits the outside roof getting in. That is with the drivers seat all of the way back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DEBRA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
Hyundai Kona SEL FWD
Love the exterior and interior design very slick. Came with many features. Has excellent acceleration and is very quiet . It drives very smooth and is comfortable. I would recommend anyone to take a test drive in a Kona and you will not regret it. Love my Kona!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VH
Victoria H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
Happy driver
I’m very happy with my kona, all the safety features are great! And I use my heated seats even when not necessary. Easy to drive, hardly no blind spots! Perky little hatch back car. Nice sound system.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
RICHARD E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
My Fun Buy
I had a Velostwr which I loved driving, however I wanted the use of 4 doors, the space I have available in the Kona, and I thoroughly enjoy the comfort, driveability, and control of the Kona. My grandkids love the room they have now.

Pros
It looks and rides great

Cons
Nothing bad to say.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MONICA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
Great vehicle!
With the best warranty in its class, Hyundai hit it out of the ballpark with the Kona. A subcompact SUV with great gas mileage, the Kona drives smoothly, has features that simplify life, and has quickly become my favorite vehicle I have ever owned.

Pros
Great sound system
Comfortable interior
Great gas mileage for a car its size
Sexy exterior

Cons
Lacks a little in acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOSE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2019
the little car that could
So far I like it very much. I did a lot of research and I can confirm that for the price and for that category, Hyundai does offer more than everyone else: 5 year warranty, AWD, independent multi-link suspension, Donwhill Break Control, disk breaks in all wheels, REAL automatic transmission with Shiftronic (not that rubber band piece of junk CVT like others) Android Auto/Apple CarPlay that really sounds good.

Pros
A lot of features for the money.

Cons
Normal Drive might be a little "slow", but you can always switch to Sport Drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROBERT K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
My Kona
I’m pleased with my decision to go with my Hyundai Kona...it’s a great car for the money. I love the look of the car, and the ease of operation. The car pairs nicely with my apple iphone, and that makes any tech applications like gps easy to operate...for me that’s a big deal. I’m just getting acquainted with my Kona, but so far I’m thrilled with the car.

Pros
Good looks, good mileage, easy to operate.

Cons
Underpowered, and too much road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
NICCOLO J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Fun Little Crossover that Drives Well and Looks Great!
Great handling crossover with great styling and abundant features. What I really liked about this car is that the base trim level included all the features I require - adjustable steering wheel, cruise control, Bluetooth, etc. There are times when I wish it had another inch or two of rear-seat legroom, but love the small size when it comes to parking. Furthermore, the handling is unparalleled in this class and the transmission never fails to impress with its clever gear-selection and smooth shifts.

Pros
Transmission
Handling
Features
Styling

Cons
Rear legroom
Rear storage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 529 in total