2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(776 Reviews)
Latest review 17 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KW
Kathleen W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
LOVE my cute little mini 'ute!
This car is very peppy, cute and easy to drive around town. You won't be disappointed! I have the fully loaded turbo model. My only complaints are: there is no heated steering wheel option; no interior driver side trunk release button. Other than these two minor things, the car is fun to drive and did I mention, cute?

Pros
I have the fully loaded turbo model. Very peppy, easy to drive and maneuver around town as well as on the interstate. I get lots of compliments on the car from people in parking lots!

Cons
My only complaints are: no heated steering wheel option, and no interior driver side trunk release button. ☹

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OL
Octavio L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/02/2020
Average
Good car need better material. Emergency brake need to be in the floor.Radio music goes down when you put the car on reverse.Too much road noise inside cabin.More space needs in the back seat for legs.Driving lights not too bright.

Pros
Good price

Cons
Poor materials

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
RONALD R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
Ron's Great Kona
Great value in an economy sized SUV. Consistently 34-36 mpg in all types of driving. To date, very low operating cost. Only issue has been an overly sensitive left lane change sensor, which picks up side of the road items when no other vehicles are in the area. However, overall I'm impressed!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Halston H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
Very Happy!
No issues and a joy to drive. Great features and safety for the price. Very easy to dive around town and on the highway. Gets great gas mileage and has plenty of power. Plenty of room inside. Great build quality. Would definitely buy again!

Pros
Safety
Power
Handling
Comfort features
Reliability
Sound system

Cons
None so far!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MICHAEL P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2020
LOVE my Kona !!#
I must say that my first 40 days of ownership of my Kona have been awesome!!! It is easy to drive with all its features. Very comfortable, love the heated seats. Love the color (Sun-Set Orange). Plenty of room for my two dogs when we go on adventures.

Pros
Awesome, stylish all the bells and whistles. Plus Siris XM radio!!!

Cons
No cons !!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Michael G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
2019 Kona
First new car purchase, and I bought the Kona. I would purchase again. All wheel drive option is a must in Upstate New York. Plenty of creature comforts make the Kona a good choice for a family vehicle.

Pros
Price and reliability, styling as well

Cons
Low power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Daniel R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Kona
I love the car! It’s fun to drive and the features are excellent. It’s comfortable to sit in and drive. I love the radio features and the back up camera. The interior is stylish. I love the color!

Pros
Sporty

Cons
Wish hatch was bigger and didn’t gave the cover

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carl K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
2019 Kona
Exceeded my expectations. Comfortable, economical and loaded with features. Didn't think I'd use the HUD much, but won't drive without it. Liked it so much we bought two. Would recommend to anyone looking for a compact SUV.

Pros
HUD, heated seats (too hot sometimes, but keeps the carry out pizza warm), acceleration, appearance.

Cons
A few blind spots, but getting used to them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CHARLES F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
Great purchase
We checked all the models similar to the Kona and chose the Kona because of it's safety features, great fuel consumption, exceptional warranty, a very pleasant purchasing experience, price for all of the features, Blue tooth pairing, having any maintenance is so so easy, and quick. We felt like our dealership, and especially our sales person, really wanted our business and they followed up on how we liked the purchase and vehicle.

Pros
Safety, Cost, Warranty, and very nimble

Cons
Some road noise during long drives.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Bernard D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/30/2019
My 2019 kona
Very nice and sporty looking vehicle handles really well great gas mileage would recommend this vehicle to all seeking a small suv would buy another one i traded in a Nissan sentra for this kona tell you the truth Hyundai makes better cars and treats their buyers like family not just like a paycheck. I would and always will recommend lou the sales person that took his time and worked with me in order to purchase my kona no hard sales with lou.

Pros
Good gss mileage

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Allan H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
Yoda, My Kona Rocks
There I was driving along and I saw it out of the corner of my eye. Something green was lurking amongst the other Hyundais. Lime Twist is the actual color I found out. Just for kicks I took a test drive. Sorry Tahoe, you are about to be replaced. Day after Christmas 2018 I bought the Ultimate and all the other cars are in my rear view mirror fading away. Yoda has made driving fun again!

Pros
Everything...Size, styling, different from anything else, warranty, front view with the headlights. You name it, it had it with a price tag the beat all the competition

Cons
What are Cons?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
WINNIFRED G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
My new Konai
I love my new Kona. Great gas mileage . Comfortable ride and beautiful interior and exterior .i really appreciate all the awesome features. Stereo sound is excellent. It is easy to get into and out of.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kathleen G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
Kona SEL
Love my Kona SEL. It is a great little SUV for great gas mileage. It is also large enough to carry my disabled husband's electric power scooter. If you are looking to carry adult passengers in the rear seat you may want to pass on this and look for a larger SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tamara H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/27/2019
Driver side window issues
Having issues with the drivers side window, large amount of wind noise. Passenger side is not as noisy as the drivers side.
Very distracting when listening to audio books on my long commute to and from work. I know some wind noise is normal, but this is significant.

Pros
Great on gas
Love the Apple features
Cute
Great warranty.

Cons
Having issues with the drivers side window, large amount of wind noise.
Very distracting when listening to audio books on my long commute to and from work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sarah D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/27/2019
Kona brake line installed incorrectly
I bought a 2019 Hyundai Kona and three weeks after owning it the brake fluid light came on. The dealership discovered that the brake line was not installed correctly. I was scared to find out I had been driving my 5 month old daughter in a vehicle that was not assembled correctly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/27/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

MF
MARTIN F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2019
Martin Fox
Very satisfied with the Hyundai and salesmen. I’ve had Hyundai for many years of releasing this Hyundai Genesis. The Kona is my second vehicle so I purchased it planning to keep it for many years. My experience with Hyundai has been very satisfying and plan on releasing my genesis every three years
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2019
Ironman edition
Very cool, unique vehicle! Fun to drive and turns heads. The turbocharged engine has good power and the vehicle handles well. Brakes have good feel as well. Very nice that the Ironman edition came with a car wash and detail kit from Dr. Beasleys (needed for the matte finish paint). Overall, very satisfied with this vehicle.

Pros
Matte paint looks great and a lot of features unique to the Ironman edition.

Cons
Passenger seat only has manual adjustments. Should have Jarvis for the navigation voice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/23/2019
2019 HYUNDAI KONA (ULTIMATE)
The 2019 HYUNDAI KONA(ULTIMATE) handle EXCELLENT. The gas mileage is "GREAT ". But, I do have a noise problem w/my windows and underneath the car. But, otherwise the Vehicle is "EXCELLENT "!!
JOHN W DANIELS,JR.
CUSTOMER

Pros
Gas Mileage is "EXCELLENT"!
Speed is "GREAT"!

Cons
The noise problems!
The Media/ Control System doesn't work at time during Rough Roads or Highways.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
RUTH M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Great Car
This is a great car for the north country of New York. I drove it all last winter with no worries. The heat works great in the winter and the air conditioner is wonderful in the summer. I will being lookin at another one in 2021!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joe P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/21/2019
Overall happy
Overall, I am very happy with the car. The main selling point of the car for me was the lifetime warranty on the battery. That gives me a little Peace of Mind knowing that I won't have a huge expense in the future. The car rides nice, quiet, and I feel like I'm doing something responsible for the environment. My Con list is little longer than my Pro list, because I want to give constructive feedback to Hyundai in hopes of making improvements in the future, but these are just little annoyances that wouldn't stop me from recommending the car to anyone else.

Pros
Battery range. battery lifetime warranty. Nice ride. Attractive "normal" looking EV. Full $7,500 federal tax credit, and no sales tax in NJ made it affordable, otherwise too expensive.

Cons
Interior design flaws such as the under console storage and USB port is unusable because it is too hard to get to. Brakes are WAY too sensitive. Remote start only works with a Bluelink subscription. Bluelink app is SLOW..takes a minute just to get status WHEN it works, which is only about 50% of the time. Lastly, I have no idea when my brake lights are going on... something that you take for granted when hitting the break pedal, but since most of the time I'm using regenerative braking or the paddle to brake, I now have no idea if drivers around me know I'm stopping. This is a safely issue that you would think would be readily available, but this information doesn't seem to be available anywhere from Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 776 in total