2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(776 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RD
RENE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/01/2019
HYUNDAI KONA
A close friend traded in her Sante Fe on a Kona and was extremely pleased.
That is mainly why we bought a Kona---We already have an Elantra!!
For our type of use, it seems to fit the bill well!! THANX
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
RICHARD P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2019
Fun and functional
Planned on replacing my leased Tucson with another Tucson but opted for the Kona. It's smaller size makes it fun to drive. And, the load capacity with the seats down hasn't failed me yet. It's speedy2
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2019
Kona sel
Love my sporty looking Kona. Never thought I would like a White Vehicle but the Hyundai Kona has a beautiful two tone with the Black accents on it. I am extremely happy.
Every one at Herb Chambers especially Stan we’re very informative and professional
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
KENNETH N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2019
Great small SUV!
I looked at and eventually purchased my KONA at the recommendation of my wife. I did some research reading up on specs and reviews on YOUTUBE all of which were positive. I took a test drive and fell in love with the car. This is my first NEW car in about 20 years and I have not regretted the purchase. The salesman, and dealership were great. I was given a fair price for my trade in, and the cost of the car. Wish I could have gotten the turbo version, but I'm happy with this KONA.

Pros
Great looking vehicle. I am complimented all the time on its looks, and color. I have the black roof and red body scheme which I haven't seen anyplace.

Cons
Although you can lay down the back seats I found the trunk space is a little small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
ERICK K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2019
my kona
i like the car it is a little snug for me i am 6 feet 3 inches so i am used to it. It preforms well and has good features i espeically like the collision alert it works well and is nice to know it works when i need it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2019
Great value for money!
I like far too much about the Kona "ultimate" to list the reasons you should get one. I dislike far too little about the Kona "ultimate" to try to talk you out of getting one.

So, just take my word for it: You should get one.

Cons
It's impossible to say, after a month and less than fifteen hundred miles, how reliable the vehicle "is" (will be). So far, though, it has started when I needed it to and gone in the direction I have indicated I wanted it to go. Speaking of going, though, this thing is plenty zippy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Asheby C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2019
Love it
We got a Kona to replace one of our Velosters (we had 2) because we needed a 4wd due to winter. We have fallen in love with our Kona! With its car handling characteristics, it’s a pleasure to drive. It’s hard to beat the value you get for such a good price, not to mention our insurance drop a lot when we traded.

Pros
Great price, great awd performance with awd lock and hill decent control, and handles like a car.

Cons
Lots of very hard touch plastics on door panels and interior that scratch pretty easy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Gary L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2019
Great
Great vehicle and Our salesman was very good. Jeff Griffin. This was our second time leasing a vehicle and the experience was very good. Jeff helped us navigate the panel on all of our features. He was our salesman both times and would only have him again.

Pros
Great ride and a great salesman Jeff Griffin. He showed us how to navigate around the panel

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lee S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2019
Hyundai Kona
Excellent , stylish, easy to drive, great service department. I have found this vehicle is great for city and road trip driving. The sound system captures the true sounds of the artist, even when the windows are open. Access getting into the cabin is easy with comfortable seating. I love (and appreciate) this car!

Pros
Reliable, good gas mileage on open roads, comfortable to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PATRICIA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2019
Love this car
I am in love with my car. I have been stopped several times by strangers asking about it and I have been happy to recommended it enthusiastically. Two of my family members are seriously considering it.

Cons
No interior or foot hatchback release
No heated steering wheel (it's cold in the Northeast)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Marilyn B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/21/2019
Good for what I need right now
I have had my car for five months. It runs good and is great on gas. I miss the room I had with my SUV but this is ok for now. The safety features are great but the audio system with the phone is a problem. My phone was paired and my contacts were loaded. I can receive and make calls with no problems. The BIG problem is using the GPS and Android Auto. No matter what, there is no audio on my phone and the map does not appear on the screen. This makes it dangerous because I have to look down at my phone which defeats the purpose. I may have to unpair my phone which will make that entire feature useless.

Pros
Good on gas and the safety features are good

Cons
Acceleration is not the best and the GPS system just does not work.
Also, I purchased the car new and it did not have any mats in the car. I mentioned this to two different sales reps and all they could say was "that is strange." Wasn't very happy of how that was handled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Robin A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2019
Kona EV
I love passing gas lines and don’t miss watching the dollar amount rise as I filled my car. The kona is well made inside and out. The drivers seat is quite comfy and easy to adjust. Heated seats are a huge plus since running the heater cuts down on mileage. Next time I’m getting a heated steering wheel as well.

Pros
Easy to drive.
Easy to understand the electronics.
Looks are great inside and out.

Cons
Absolutely none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HARRY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2019
Awesome little vehicle
The turbo charged engine makes this almost a sports car. Great handling, acceleration and quite fun to drive. Good gas mileage and we love the instruments like braking, warning lights, etc.The turning radius is excellent and makes for easy parking.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2019
2019 Kona
I bought a new Kona from Coastal Hyundai in Melbourne after haggling between 3 dealerships. The car seems to run great as I took it on a 3000 mile trip. A comfortable ride with plenty of getup and go while on the rode. Touch screen works well and has a good design. I averaged 38.3 mpg. The car has 3875 miles now. So far so good.

Pros
Reasonably priced, good drive, great gas mileage. Nice height for getting in and out.Good car for the money!

Cons
This is the base model and the interior is as expected. Lots of plastic. Remember it is an SUV and not a car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LEANDREA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2019
Well made with all the bells & whistles
I researched thoroughly Kona, from mpg to motor, & of course price. I purchased Limited Lime twist, for more powerful motor & the color(can't miss it in a sea of parked cars). I get about 39 mpg which is close to what I was getting in my previous car. Price I negotiated was fair for both sides. It is a fun car to drive.

Pros
Connects phone to car for hands free driving
MPG is great
Great safety features

Cons
Needs a bit more trunk space
Downgrade engine brake does not engage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Ed S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2019
Fantastic SUV!
Fun vehicle to drive with good zippy performance while still delivering great 35 mpg fuel economy. Just big enough to be versatile without feeling the least bit cramped! Vast assortment of technology provided at a reasonable price.

Pros
Comfortable, versatile storage, peppy turbo, great technology and excellent fuel economy!

Cons
A little more road noise than I would like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
COLLEEN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2019
Love my car
Love it ! Please don’t ever make them push to start I like putting the key in the ignition to start! Can’t wait till my lease is up to maybe upgrade to bigger or upgrade my Kona with tinted windows. I love the color and how great on gas it is ! Keep up the great work
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Billy F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2019
2019 sel sunset orange
I fell in love with my kona online before actually seeing one in person. Ive had mine about three months so far and almost two thousand miles with zero complaints. It's really fun to drive it gets great gas mileage the ride is smooth, the 6 speed transmission is very smooth it's just a really well put together vehicle. The awd is handy to have when there's snow on the ground. It's got a ton of safety features. I traded my dodge charger in for this and it's been the best decision I've ever mad. Just a fyi dodge is garbage. Hyundai for the win!

Pros
The whole vehicle is a pro for me. Pretty orange metallic paint, fun to drive, great on gas, the design.

Cons
None so far. :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/16/2019
One person car
This is definitely for one person and not a family. The family would not fit in backseat and have trouble putting a lot of stuff in trunk. Has good pickup and turns on a dime. Love the electric seats for driver. Front passenger seat does not adjust height, just back and forth and seat back can be adjusted. Electric seats was a deal breaker. This was the only one on the lot with it.

Pros
Turning space, engine pick up

Cons
No passenger leg room, small cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robin R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/15/2019
I love my Kona! Great price!
My buying experience was fantastic! My sales agent Charles was friendly, professional and knowledgeable! Truly a great experience. I’m not impressed with the service dept. I came in for an oil change which was suppose to be free and was told I I had to pay for it unless I had purchased a maintenance plan. I also spent almost most of my day waiting for my car to get done.

Pros
Great value

Cons
Have had some hesitation on accelerating and gas mileage isn’t as good as I expected on city mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 776 in total