2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(668 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JK
Jennifer K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Hyundair Kona 2019
Love Love Love my Kona!!! It is adorable. Am happy with the size, not too big and not too small. Love the orange color! So different. Service at Hyundai has been quick and people are so nice. Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Kona Ultimate
I’ve had my car one year now and absolutely LOVE it. Got rid of my Acura and bought this Hyundai. My Kona is easy to drive, has a little pep in its step, easy to parallel park and fun to hit the road with.

Pros
Styling. Peppy. Easy to drive. Lots of features.

Cons
Would love if back hatch had an electric closing feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joseph M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
I like my Kona.
The Kona is a great value . It's fun to drive and packed with features. I'm still finding cool stuff every day. The 1.6 liter turbo is a must get, it makes the car adifferent animal from the 2 liter. Acceleration is smooth and powerful.

Pros
acceleration,seats,and overall visibility are great, There are lots of features for the price!

Cons
cramped cabin could use alittle room and a cup holder onleft of driver. Reverse is balky and could be a whole lot smoother.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeri M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
Best small SUV
I traded a Nissan Juke for the Hyundai Kona. I like vehicles that are not cookie cutter designed. It has more room than my previous vehicle but still has character. Performance in weather is very good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SURELLE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
A Sports Car with 4 doors!
My Kona (Limited) is an absolute JOY to drive!

The exterior styling, QUICKNESS (Turbo), beautiful black leather interior w/lime accents + black headliner.... Wow! This little Crossover is cat-quick and handles just like a sports car, but with seriously better MPG -- I've averaged a combined 30MPG...Plus, the sound system is very rich and crystal clear -- with lots of booming, tight Bass!

Pros
Turbo, MPG, Styling, black headliner + black leather

Cons
No console-based control knob for Display.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diane C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
Hyundai Kona_2019
I love my new Kona. It has become important in so many ways. I have a son who is handicapped and I drive him to and from work. He is a large man and fits in the passenger seat easily. I can go shopping or garage-saling and load a lot of things in the back and still have room for an extra passenger and my dog in her car seat. The car handles well in all weather and in Alaska, that's so important. It looks good and is fun to drive. Parking is a breeze because of the size and I have saved a lot of money on gasoline, because of improved mileage. I would (and have) recommend Hyundai to everyone and especially Kona to those who need an SUV but not as much room.

Pros
The overall driving is peppy, sporty and fun. It handles well and responds promptly. This car looks fun and it is. I selected it partially because my son is 6 feet, 3 inches tall and he fits in the passenger side fine. There is enough room to load a full day of shopping. I got the basic model and it still has all I need.

Cons
The brakes are a bit grabby and the engine hesitates momentarily, going uphill. Acceleration in lane changes and emergencies is not as fast as a higher powered car, but to be expected. It is also a challenge to see all aspects of the road when driving because of the close proximity of side columns to driver. I've had to learn to use my mirrors better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kevin T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/07/2019
LED running light has water inside in 1 week after purchase
I have never owned Hyundai before and gave a try with Kona 2019 SEL AWD. Within 1 week after purchase, it built up water condensation inside LED running lights. When contacting dealer, they say it is normal and does not want to fix or honor the warranty. I would take Hyundai's "America's Best Warranty" with a big grain of salt.

Never experienced like this in a brand new car with other brands such as Nissan and Lexus. Who knows what nightmare awaits down the road when within first week already had a poor build quality issue with no solution? Next time, I will stick with Lexus, Toyota or Nissan.

Pros
Value for the features, relatively cheaper price compared to competitor

Cons
- Poor reliability,
- Very cheap all plastic interior
- No standing behind their warranty service
- Not impressive engine performance though not a big deal given the somewhat efficient fuel consumption

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUAN S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
KONA A NICE LITTLE CAR
NICE CAR. great design.sturdy………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..………………………………………...

Cons
POOR ACCELERATION

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
GARY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
My KONA
Easy, efficient and stylish way to move around a metropolitan area. Surprisingly roomy interior and comfort level. The ride is solid and the handling is crisp with good steering response. Great climate control.

Pros
Great driving experience

Cons
Small trunk storage. Windows do not clear of moisture when lowering and raising.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
ERIC L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Best SUV in the market
The Hyundai Kona is very quiet, safe and economic. Best value for the money. All the features in most high end vehicles are standard in the Kona. I selected the SEL model due to the smart key. The safest under 25k suv in the market.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LAWRENCE G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Excellent Vehicle, high quality and all of the latest safety and "tech" features.
We did a lot of research on compact SUVs before purchasing this vehicle. The wife loves everything about it. The only complaint is the road noise at Interstate Highway speeds. I also find myself having to adjust the volume on the sound system due to the changes in road noise. Would also like the feature of storing seat position and mirror settings for 2 drivers.

Pros
Almost everything. Very happy overall with quality, features, price and the dealership where we purchased it.

Cons
As stated in the Vehicle Review Summary above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BRENDA C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Kona
I love my kona.it is sporty and saves me on gas.i love the look of an suv but not as big.easy to drive and park.trying to get use to the back up camera.im finding it very helpful.also love to be able to talk hands free on my phone.

Pros
Very stylish

Cons
Rides alittle rough

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Landy G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2019
Kona
I love my car!
It is super quick and I love all the warning signals (like the lane changing).
My car is bright green and the kids in my school call it The Green Machine.
It is the best investment I have made in a long time.
Thank you Hyundai People :)

Pros
Great color!
Great safety signals

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KEELIE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/04/2019
Car is great
I love the look of the car. Its got hreat gas mileage but im not sure if it was made for all the hills that i live in. It doesnt shift like i think it should, the rpms will be very high at the top of a hill before it finally shifts back down.

Pros
Lane assist is great along with all the warnings.

Cons
It tries to take control of the driving. I know these roads better than it does. Sometimes it swerves me over for no reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2019
2019 KONA SEL
I've owned and leased all new elantrs's sonata's tucson and now a kona, have been satisfied with all. The KONA however is loaded with so many safety features, when on the interstates it pretty much drives itself especially in inclement weather and at night tracks the center of the road and lock awd, built in alerts. Just an excellent drive.

Pros
Safety, handling comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ANTHONY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
I dont know what this means
I love my car and the buying experience. We were very disappointed with the trade in. We should have tried to sell ourselves. This survey is too longggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Pros
Cost, great features and warranty

Cons
None at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHELLE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Goldilocks vehicle
Perfect car for mountain commuting. I get really good gas mileage, but it is big enough to feal safe. Super cute and handles well. AWD excellent in snow and the 2.0 engine is peppy in this size vehicle.

Pros
Styling and responsiveness

Cons
None yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SARAH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
great car!
I love this car! see comments below. i traded this car for my 2016 subaru crosstrek and i don’t regret it! it has been great for everything i have needed so far. definitely highly recommend! i never thought i’d own anything but a subaru but hyundai has converted me!

Pros
super fun to drive, very responsive, great gas mileage, tons of features, a good looking car!

Cons
small cargo space, lower clearance than other small suv hybrids

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Johnny M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
Love it
I love it's zippy speed. But no leg room. Everyone complain about the back seat. No leg room. But fun to drive. Disappointed they didn't clean windows on my oil change.they could have washed it too.handles great on freeway.

Pros
Fast

Cons
Not enough floor space. difficult to get your feet and legs in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Tanisha G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
Excellent.
I have no regrets with my selection , the kona is a wonderful SUV and I am enjoying every moment I spend driving my Kona. I would always share my experience with friends and family about the kona.....

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 668 in total