2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83
4.8
(703 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SR
SHERRY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Hyundai Kona
This was not my vehicle of choice but I do like it a lot. As a retiree living on SS I have to get a car with a payment I can afford. I had never heard of this car but it came the closest to my payment range.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
See above
See above........These comments are TOO MUCH BULLSHIT.....JDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDJDHDHRHRGEHDHDGEHEHEJ3URHRHDBHDHDHHDHDHEGDHRUjdjdkdjdkdkdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjd

Pros
See abovexxxccccccccccccfdhdjxhdhdgdhdjxjsndndndndnxnxnxncnxndndndnxncnxnxhdhdhdhdhehdhehehdhhxhdhdhhehdhdnxhdndhxjdjdhdhchchchdhdhdhhdhdhdhdhdhdhdhrhdghehrhehdhdhdhehehrhehehehehehehehehehdhehehdhdhehehenrhrhrhrhdhdhdhdhdhrhrh4hrhrhdhrhrhrhrhdhfhfhrhrhrnrhrh

Cons
See above.......skskskskskskskskskwkwkwkwkwkwjwjejdhdhdjejehehejejehehejehehehehehehehehdhdhdhdhdhrhdhdhdhehrhrhrhdhrhdhrhrhrhfhfhrhrjrhrhrhrhrhrhrjfjrhr...enough of this bullshit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MARIA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Kona turbo - love it!
Bought the Kona turbo new. First Hyundai ever owned and the styling, turbo, warranty and gas mileage sold me. I've been pleased with the gas mileage and handling of the vehicle. The overall interior and exterior body style is attractive for a small crossover/suv. The car feels solid to drive and the sport/turbo mode really kicks in nicely. I don't notice too much of a drop in gas mileage while using the sport mode. Climate control is nice and cabin stays proportionately stable. The 8" navigation/entertainment screen is a plus! Big difference from my previous 5" screen. Cabin can get a little noisy from road sound but not a deal breaker. Looking forward to see how it handles in snowy weather. So far, very pleased.

Pros
Gas mileage, handling, style, turbo, navigation and entertainment system, leg room. Warranty!

Cons
Storage is on the low side but adequate. Cabin noise a little loud while driving highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CHRISTOPH P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2019
Not bad for the Price
Hi all. Back in Aug 2019 I totaled a 16 Tucson SE. Was in Need of another vehicle. As I wouldn't be able to ride my Harley in winter. Had to be AWD. Saw this as a Leftover 19 model. Test Drove. Was surprised by the way it handled. And the price was affordable. As I didn't have a trade in. And just did a lease buyout on the Tucson about 2 weeks earlier. This is a Leased vehicle. I will most likely buyout at the end. The only thing I wish I could've done differently, Got a higher trim line. With Fog lamps and wind tint. SEL model. But Finances and Need outweighed my wants.

Pros
Good MPGs. AWD Handles pretty well in emergency situations. Have tripped the FCA on multiple occasions.

Cons
Brake Squeal when cold. First few stops. Or after sitting awhile. Started in Nov when the weather started getting cold.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN PAUL M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2019
Amazing. Couldn’t be happier.
I absolutely love this car. I personally do not think you can find a better vehicle for the price with a better warranty. The options available in all models are great and help tailor the vehicle to your liking. No matter base model or fully loaded, the vehicle pricing is incredibly reasonable for the quality of the vehicle you’re going to get with the Kona. The vehicle is excellent on gas on the highway and in the city. All wheel drive is great in the snow and not once did I feel like the vehicle was struggling. I live in New England and have to drive through the snow quite often. I recommend this vehicle to anyone and everyone I know who needs a car.

Pros
Great ride and road feel. Car is comfortable and reliable. All wheel drive in the snow is excellent. Styling of the vehicle is sharp. Non turbo model still pretty fun with back roads and tight turns. Gas mileage is excellent for an all wheel drive vehicle.

Cons
Room in the rear is limited.
Acceleration in non turbo model is not amazing, however it’s not a safety issue when merging or need to speed up. Just not as much fun as a turbo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Brittney W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2019
Kona
I love my Kona. It's a car I can see myself happy owning for the full length of my lease if not longer. I love how I can project my google maps from my phone onto the main screen, so I don't have to keep looking down at my phone to figure out where I'm going, especially if I'm on the Freeway going 60 - 80 MPH. It's a small SUV but it's a nice in between size for me. I was driving a small 4 door sedan before and was nervous in the big SUV's. So my next car when ever that happens will be an SUV and it will be thanks to this car that I will feel more comfortable in that.

Pros
Android Auto, Maps, Style and Comfort

Cons
Not a lot of storage space and it doesn't have an automatic starter for winter months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Rudy C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2019
Great car! Everything you need...
This is an excellent car. Very beautiful & great design, full efficient, strong, easy to drive... My wife and kid loves it and we are very comfortable inside. I will buy a second one in couple years...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ALISON H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
Absolutely love it, it's sleek, zippy, efficient, and small while being useful!
Absolutely love my Kona Ultimate. Love the 4WD, the interior features such as heated seats, remote start from my phone, car locator, unlock from my phone, and the interior design are really impressive. I've had the car a year now and I still love getting into it. It's small, can fit in small spaces, but still offers spacious interior for storage and carrying large items. It's comfortable both as a driver and passenger for a long drive. As a shopper, I was highly comparing competition and it came out stronger in comparison to the Honda HR-v, Subaru Crosstrek, Toyota CH-R, and Nissan Kicks. I love my Kona and would recommend it to anyone interested in a CUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
RENE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
HYUNDAI KONA
A close friend traded in her Sante Fe on a Kona and was extremely pleased.
That is mainly why we bought a Kona---We already have an Elantra!!
For our type of use, it seems to fit the bill well!! THANX
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
RICHARD P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Fun and functional
Planned on replacing my leased Tucson with another Tucson but opted for the Kona. It's smaller size makes it fun to drive. And, the load capacity with the seats down hasn't failed me yet. It's speedy2
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ANN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Kona sel
Love my sporty looking Kona. Never thought I would like a White Vehicle but the Hyundai Kona has a beautiful two tone with the Black accents on it. I am extremely happy.
Every one at Herb Chambers especially Stan we’re very informative and professional
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
KENNETH N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Great small SUV!
I looked at and eventually purchased my KONA at the recommendation of my wife. I did some research reading up on specs and reviews on YOUTUBE all of which were positive. I took a test drive and fell in love with the car. This is my first NEW car in about 20 years and I have not regretted the purchase. The salesman, and dealership were great. I was given a fair price for my trade in, and the cost of the car. Wish I could have gotten the turbo version, but I'm happy with this KONA.

Pros
Great looking vehicle. I am complimented all the time on its looks, and color. I have the black roof and red body scheme which I haven't seen anyplace.

Cons
Although you can lay down the back seats I found the trunk space is a little small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
ERICK K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2019
my kona
i like the car it is a little snug for me i am 6 feet 3 inches so i am used to it. It preforms well and has good features i espeically like the collision alert it works well and is nice to know it works when i need it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2019
Great value for money!
I like far too much about the Kona "ultimate" to list the reasons you should get one. I dislike far too little about the Kona "ultimate" to try to talk you out of getting one.

So, just take my word for it: You should get one.

Cons
It's impossible to say, after a month and less than fifteen hundred miles, how reliable the vehicle "is" (will be). So far, though, it has started when I needed it to and gone in the direction I have indicated I wanted it to go. Speaking of going, though, this thing is plenty zippy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Asheby C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Love it
We got a Kona to replace one of our Velosters (we had 2) because we needed a 4wd due to winter. We have fallen in love with our Kona! With its car handling characteristics, it’s a pleasure to drive. It’s hard to beat the value you get for such a good price, not to mention our insurance drop a lot when we traded.

Pros
Great price, great awd performance with awd lock and hill decent control, and handles like a car.

Cons
Lots of very hard touch plastics on door panels and interior that scratch pretty easy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Gary L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Great
Great vehicle and Our salesman was very good. Jeff Griffin. This was our second time leasing a vehicle and the experience was very good. Jeff helped us navigate the panel on all of our features. He was our salesman both times and would only have him again.

Pros
Great ride and a great salesman Jeff Griffin. He showed us how to navigate around the panel

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lee S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2019
Hyundai Kona
Excellent , stylish, easy to drive, great service department. I have found this vehicle is great for city and road trip driving. The sound system captures the true sounds of the artist, even when the windows are open. Access getting into the cabin is easy with comfortable seating. I love (and appreciate) this car!

Pros
Reliable, good gas mileage on open roads, comfortable to drive

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PATRICIA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2019
Love this car
I am in love with my car. I have been stopped several times by strangers asking about it and I have been happy to recommended it enthusiastically. Two of my family members are seriously considering it.

Cons
No interior or foot hatchback release
No heated steering wheel (it's cold in the Northeast)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Marilyn B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2019
Good for what I need right now
I have had my car for five months. It runs good and is great on gas. I miss the room I had with my SUV but this is ok for now. The safety features are great but the audio system with the phone is a problem. My phone was paired and my contacts were loaded. I can receive and make calls with no problems. The BIG problem is using the GPS and Android Auto. No matter what, there is no audio on my phone and the map does not appear on the screen. This makes it dangerous because I have to look down at my phone which defeats the purpose. I may have to unpair my phone which will make that entire feature useless.

Pros
Good on gas and the safety features are good

Cons
Acceleration is not the best and the GPS system just does not work.
Also, I purchased the car new and it did not have any mats in the car. I mentioned this to two different sales reps and all they could say was "that is strange." Wasn't very happy of how that was handled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Robin A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
Kona EV
I love passing gas lines and don’t miss watching the dollar amount rise as I filled my car. The kona is well made inside and out. The drivers seat is quite comfy and easy to adjust. Heated seats are a huge plus since running the heater cuts down on mileage. Next time I’m getting a heated steering wheel as well.

Pros
Easy to drive.
Easy to understand the electronics.
Looks are great inside and out.

Cons
Absolutely none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 703 in total