2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(680 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ES
Ed S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
Fantastic SUV!
Fun vehicle to drive with good zippy performance while still delivering great 35 mpg fuel economy. Just big enough to be versatile without feeling the least bit cramped! Vast assortment of technology provided at a reasonable price.

Pros
Comfortable, versatile storage, peppy turbo, great technology and excellent fuel economy!

Cons
A little more road noise than I would like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
COLLEEN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
Love my car
Love it ! Please don’t ever make them push to start I like putting the key in the ignition to start! Can’t wait till my lease is up to maybe upgrade to bigger or upgrade my Kona with tinted windows. I love the color and how great on gas it is ! Keep up the great work
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Billy F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
2019 sel sunset orange
I fell in love with my kona online before actually seeing one in person. Ive had mine about three months so far and almost two thousand miles with zero complaints. It's really fun to drive it gets great gas mileage the ride is smooth, the 6 speed transmission is very smooth it's just a really well put together vehicle. The awd is handy to have when there's snow on the ground. It's got a ton of safety features. I traded my dodge charger in for this and it's been the best decision I've ever mad. Just a fyi dodge is garbage. Hyundai for the win!

Pros
The whole vehicle is a pro for me. Pretty orange metallic paint, fun to drive, great on gas, the design.

Cons
None so far. :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/16/2019
One person car
This is definitely for one person and not a family. The family would not fit in backseat and have trouble putting a lot of stuff in trunk. Has good pickup and turns on a dime. Love the electric seats for driver. Front passenger seat does not adjust height, just back and forth and seat back can be adjusted. Electric seats was a deal breaker. This was the only one on the lot with it.

Pros
Turning space, engine pick up

Cons
No passenger leg room, small cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robin R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
I love my Kona! Great price!
My buying experience was fantastic! My sales agent Charles was friendly, professional and knowledgeable! Truly a great experience. I’m not impressed with the service dept. I came in for an oil change which was suppose to be free and was told I I had to pay for it unless I had purchased a maintenance plan. I also spent almost most of my day waiting for my car to get done.

Pros
Great value

Cons
Have had some hesitation on accelerating and gas mileage isn’t as good as I expected on city mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2019
Kona 2019 7 month review
Outfrickinstanding ! There are a few problems , its not all wheel drive , headlights on low way to dim , roof rack and receiver should have been standard equipment , put love of driving back in me , the speed is well lets just say i know how fast it goes lol , love my kona ,

Pros
Speed , power , fun , cornering , sound system , rear hatch , full size spare , long term seating comfort , auto stick is a blast , breaksand tire grip awesome , love driver side view buble mirror saves you from cars you cant see

Cons
No all whell drive , no roof rack and receiver as standard equipment , low beam to dark , no remote start , oh yeah no accessories gor it like in the channel rain guards to keep rain out of window electric buttons grrrrr!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Donna F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
No regrets!
I bought this 2019 Hyundai Kona one year ago and have loved every minute of driving it. Lots of pick up, very agile, reliable. Great features. One of my favorites is the Heads Up Display which I use all the time. Keeps your eyes straight ahead. Haven’t had a single problem with it. Handled well last winter ( I got the four wheel drive). The negatives would be it’s noisy on the freeway, even difficult to carry on a conversation and I have to turn the radio up high. Also it’s a bit of a rough ride, which I don’t mind but passengers might (my husband does). Overall, I love the car!

Pros
So much fun to drive. Lots of features. Great safety features. The Heads Up Display is so useful!

Cons
Noisy on the freeway. Bit of a rough ride. Can feel every bump in the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MICHAEL A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
mikes review
the vehicle I purchased off the lot just came off the truck,was perfect timing for us..i wanted more blue color but it worked out and the 2019 was better deal than the 2018 for us,i am very happy with the purchase and didn't look back,it has plenty of pick up and great performance,stays clean..great vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
Jorge E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
Kona
I love the sportiness and the overall vehicle is great I would recommend this vehicle to everyone that ask me about my kona my wife also bought a kona that goes to show that the Hyundai kona is very reliable..
Love my kona

Pros
Entire vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HL
Hedda L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Love my Kona
I love my Kona. Great to drive, nicely equipped, sharp looking. Back seats a little tight so it’s probably not for a big family with pets or anything but really, other than that it’s great. Hyundai has so many other vehicles to choose from.... there’s no going wrong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Hyundai Kona 2019
Great car, would only improve seating- passenger seat needs button controls to raise the seat. Also when I disconnect Apple Car Play it immediately goes to radio and wish there was a setting to not have that happen. Overall I love my car and would only make minor adjustments

Cons
Improve seat comfort. No seat controls on passenger seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Darlene P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Love It!
I've always wanted a small SUV ..and Truthfully The Kona is Perfect!
Its Comfortable, It Drives Beautifully & Nice on the Eyes...My Kona is fully equipped with all the safety features which is wonderful!! Practically drives it self. Anyone looking for a small comfortable drive The Kona is the way to go....

Pros
I've only had my car a short time..But So Far So Good!! Very Happy with it!

Cons
Really have No Cons At this Time...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jennifer K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Hyundair Kona 2019
Love Love Love my Kona!!! It is adorable. Am happy with the size, not too big and not too small. Love the orange color! So different. Service at Hyundai has been quick and people are so nice. Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Kona Ultimate
I’ve had my car one year now and absolutely LOVE it. Got rid of my Acura and bought this Hyundai. My Kona is easy to drive, has a little pep in its step, easy to parallel park and fun to hit the road with.

Pros
Styling. Peppy. Easy to drive. Lots of features.

Cons
Would love if back hatch had an electric closing feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joseph M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
I like my Kona.
The Kona is a great value . It's fun to drive and packed with features. I'm still finding cool stuff every day. The 1.6 liter turbo is a must get, it makes the car adifferent animal from the 2 liter. Acceleration is smooth and powerful.

Pros
acceleration,seats,and overall visibility are great, There are lots of features for the price!

Cons
cramped cabin could use alittle room and a cup holder onleft of driver. Reverse is balky and could be a whole lot smoother.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeri M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
Best small SUV
I traded a Nissan Juke for the Hyundai Kona. I like vehicles that are not cookie cutter designed. It has more room than my previous vehicle but still has character. Performance in weather is very good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SURELLE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
A Sports Car with 4 doors!
My Kona (Limited) is an absolute JOY to drive!

The exterior styling, QUICKNESS (Turbo), beautiful black leather interior w/lime accents + black headliner.... Wow! This little Crossover is cat-quick and handles just like a sports car, but with seriously better MPG -- I've averaged a combined 30MPG...Plus, the sound system is very rich and crystal clear -- with lots of booming, tight Bass!

Pros
Turbo, MPG, Styling, black headliner + black leather

Cons
No console-based control knob for Display.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diane C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
Hyundai Kona_2019
I love my new Kona. It has become important in so many ways. I have a son who is handicapped and I drive him to and from work. He is a large man and fits in the passenger seat easily. I can go shopping or garage-saling and load a lot of things in the back and still have room for an extra passenger and my dog in her car seat. The car handles well in all weather and in Alaska, that's so important. It looks good and is fun to drive. Parking is a breeze because of the size and I have saved a lot of money on gasoline, because of improved mileage. I would (and have) recommend Hyundai to everyone and especially Kona to those who need an SUV but not as much room.

Pros
The overall driving is peppy, sporty and fun. It handles well and responds promptly. This car looks fun and it is. I selected it partially because my son is 6 feet, 3 inches tall and he fits in the passenger side fine. There is enough room to load a full day of shopping. I got the basic model and it still has all I need.

Cons
The brakes are a bit grabby and the engine hesitates momentarily, going uphill. Acceleration in lane changes and emergencies is not as fast as a higher powered car, but to be expected. It is also a challenge to see all aspects of the road when driving because of the close proximity of side columns to driver. I've had to learn to use my mirrors better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kevin T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/07/2019
LED running light has water inside in 1 week after purchase
I have never owned Hyundai before and gave a try with Kona 2019 SEL AWD. Within 1 week after purchase, it built up water condensation inside LED running lights. When contacting dealer, they say it is normal and does not want to fix or honor the warranty. I would take Hyundai's "America's Best Warranty" with a big grain of salt.

Never experienced like this in a brand new car with other brands such as Nissan and Lexus. Who knows what nightmare awaits down the road when within first week already had a poor build quality issue with no solution? Next time, I will stick with Lexus, Toyota or Nissan.

Pros
Value for the features, relatively cheaper price compared to competitor

Cons
- Poor reliability,
- Very cheap all plastic interior
- No standing behind their warranty service
- Not impressive engine performance though not a big deal given the somewhat efficient fuel consumption

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUAN S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
KONA A NICE LITTLE CAR
NICE CAR. great design.sturdy………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..………………………………………...

Cons
POOR ACCELERATION

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 680 in total