2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(685 Reviews)
Latest review about 19 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MB
Marilyn B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2019
Good for what I need right now
I have had my car for five months. It runs good and is great on gas. I miss the room I had with my SUV but this is ok for now. The safety features are great but the audio system with the phone is a problem. My phone was paired and my contacts were loaded. I can receive and make calls with no problems. The BIG problem is using the GPS and Android Auto. No matter what, there is no audio on my phone and the map does not appear on the screen. This makes it dangerous because I have to look down at my phone which defeats the purpose. I may have to unpair my phone which will make that entire feature useless.

Pros
Good on gas and the safety features are good

Cons
Acceleration is not the best and the GPS system just does not work.
Also, I purchased the car new and it did not have any mats in the car. I mentioned this to two different sales reps and all they could say was "that is strange." Wasn't very happy of how that was handled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Robin A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
Kona EV
I love passing gas lines and don’t miss watching the dollar amount rise as I filled my car. The kona is well made inside and out. The drivers seat is quite comfy and easy to adjust. Heated seats are a huge plus since running the heater cuts down on mileage. Next time I’m getting a heated steering wheel as well.

Pros
Easy to drive.
Easy to understand the electronics.
Looks are great inside and out.

Cons
Absolutely none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HARRY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
Awesome little vehicle
The turbo charged engine makes this almost a sports car. Great handling, acceleration and quite fun to drive. Good gas mileage and we love the instruments like braking, warning lights, etc.The turning radius is excellent and makes for easy parking.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2019
2019 Kona
I bought a new Kona from Coastal Hyundai in Melbourne after haggling between 3 dealerships. The car seems to run great as I took it on a 3000 mile trip. A comfortable ride with plenty of getup and go while on the rode. Touch screen works well and has a good design. I averaged 38.3 mpg. The car has 3875 miles now. So far so good.

Pros
Reasonably priced, good drive, great gas mileage. Nice height for getting in and out.Good car for the money!

Cons
This is the base model and the interior is as expected. Lots of plastic. Remember it is an SUV and not a car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LEANDREA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2019
Well made with all the bells & whistles
I researched thoroughly Kona, from mpg to motor, & of course price. I purchased Limited Lime twist, for more powerful motor & the color(can't miss it in a sea of parked cars). I get about 39 mpg which is close to what I was getting in my previous car. Price I negotiated was fair for both sides. It is a fun car to drive.

Pros
Connects phone to car for hands free driving
MPG is great
Great safety features

Cons
Needs a bit more trunk space
Downgrade engine brake does not engage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Ed S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
Fantastic SUV!
Fun vehicle to drive with good zippy performance while still delivering great 35 mpg fuel economy. Just big enough to be versatile without feeling the least bit cramped! Vast assortment of technology provided at a reasonable price.

Pros
Comfortable, versatile storage, peppy turbo, great technology and excellent fuel economy!

Cons
A little more road noise than I would like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
COLLEEN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
Love my car
Love it ! Please don’t ever make them push to start I like putting the key in the ignition to start! Can’t wait till my lease is up to maybe upgrade to bigger or upgrade my Kona with tinted windows. I love the color and how great on gas it is ! Keep up the great work
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Billy F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
2019 sel sunset orange
I fell in love with my kona online before actually seeing one in person. Ive had mine about three months so far and almost two thousand miles with zero complaints. It's really fun to drive it gets great gas mileage the ride is smooth, the 6 speed transmission is very smooth it's just a really well put together vehicle. The awd is handy to have when there's snow on the ground. It's got a ton of safety features. I traded my dodge charger in for this and it's been the best decision I've ever mad. Just a fyi dodge is garbage. Hyundai for the win!

Pros
The whole vehicle is a pro for me. Pretty orange metallic paint, fun to drive, great on gas, the design.

Cons
None so far. :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/16/2019
One person car
This is definitely for one person and not a family. The family would not fit in backseat and have trouble putting a lot of stuff in trunk. Has good pickup and turns on a dime. Love the electric seats for driver. Front passenger seat does not adjust height, just back and forth and seat back can be adjusted. Electric seats was a deal breaker. This was the only one on the lot with it.

Pros
Turning space, engine pick up

Cons
No passenger leg room, small cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robin R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
I love my Kona! Great price!
My buying experience was fantastic! My sales agent Charles was friendly, professional and knowledgeable! Truly a great experience. I’m not impressed with the service dept. I came in for an oil change which was suppose to be free and was told I I had to pay for it unless I had purchased a maintenance plan. I also spent almost most of my day waiting for my car to get done.

Pros
Great value

Cons
Have had some hesitation on accelerating and gas mileage isn’t as good as I expected on city mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2019
Kona 2019 7 month review
Outfrickinstanding ! There are a few problems , its not all wheel drive , headlights on low way to dim , roof rack and receiver should have been standard equipment , put love of driving back in me , the speed is well lets just say i know how fast it goes lol , love my kona ,

Pros
Speed , power , fun , cornering , sound system , rear hatch , full size spare , long term seating comfort , auto stick is a blast , breaksand tire grip awesome , love driver side view buble mirror saves you from cars you cant see

Cons
No all whell drive , no roof rack and receiver as standard equipment , low beam to dark , no remote start , oh yeah no accessories gor it like in the channel rain guards to keep rain out of window electric buttons grrrrr!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Donna F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
No regrets!
I bought this 2019 Hyundai Kona one year ago and have loved every minute of driving it. Lots of pick up, very agile, reliable. Great features. One of my favorites is the Heads Up Display which I use all the time. Keeps your eyes straight ahead. Haven’t had a single problem with it. Handled well last winter ( I got the four wheel drive). The negatives would be it’s noisy on the freeway, even difficult to carry on a conversation and I have to turn the radio up high. Also it’s a bit of a rough ride, which I don’t mind but passengers might (my husband does). Overall, I love the car!

Pros
So much fun to drive. Lots of features. Great safety features. The Heads Up Display is so useful!

Cons
Noisy on the freeway. Bit of a rough ride. Can feel every bump in the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MICHAEL A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
mikes review
the vehicle I purchased off the lot just came off the truck,was perfect timing for us..i wanted more blue color but it worked out and the 2019 was better deal than the 2018 for us,i am very happy with the purchase and didn't look back,it has plenty of pick up and great performance,stays clean..great vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
Jorge E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
Kona
I love the sportiness and the overall vehicle is great I would recommend this vehicle to everyone that ask me about my kona my wife also bought a kona that goes to show that the Hyundai kona is very reliable..
Love my kona

Pros
Entire vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HL
Hedda L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Love my Kona
I love my Kona. Great to drive, nicely equipped, sharp looking. Back seats a little tight so it’s probably not for a big family with pets or anything but really, other than that it’s great. Hyundai has so many other vehicles to choose from.... there’s no going wrong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Hyundai Kona 2019
Great car, would only improve seating- passenger seat needs button controls to raise the seat. Also when I disconnect Apple Car Play it immediately goes to radio and wish there was a setting to not have that happen. Overall I love my car and would only make minor adjustments

Cons
Improve seat comfort. No seat controls on passenger seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Darlene P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Love It!
I've always wanted a small SUV ..and Truthfully The Kona is Perfect!
Its Comfortable, It Drives Beautifully & Nice on the Eyes...My Kona is fully equipped with all the safety features which is wonderful!! Practically drives it self. Anyone looking for a small comfortable drive The Kona is the way to go....

Pros
I've only had my car a short time..But So Far So Good!! Very Happy with it!

Cons
Really have No Cons At this Time...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jennifer K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Hyundair Kona 2019
Love Love Love my Kona!!! It is adorable. Am happy with the size, not too big and not too small. Love the orange color! So different. Service at Hyundai has been quick and people are so nice. Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Kona Ultimate
I’ve had my car one year now and absolutely LOVE it. Got rid of my Acura and bought this Hyundai. My Kona is easy to drive, has a little pep in its step, easy to parallel park and fun to hit the road with.

Pros
Styling. Peppy. Easy to drive. Lots of features.

Cons
Would love if back hatch had an electric closing feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joseph M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2019
I like my Kona.
The Kona is a great value . It's fun to drive and packed with features. I'm still finding cool stuff every day. The 1.6 liter turbo is a must get, it makes the car adifferent animal from the 2 liter. Acceleration is smooth and powerful.

Pros
acceleration,seats,and overall visibility are great, There are lots of features for the price!

Cons
cramped cabin could use alittle room and a cup holder onleft of driver. Reverse is balky and could be a whole lot smoother.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 685 in total