2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1041 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JD
JANICE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2020
Kona review
Very happy with this vehicle. It’s the perfect size for us. It’s fun to drive and handles well. The miles per gallon we get is excellent. We wish it had a navigation system without having to use our iPhones. We aren’t having much luck with this aspect.

Pros
Size, handling ability and visibility.

Cons
Wish it had a navigation system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
CLARISSA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2020
Love my Hyundai Kona
I tested 2 vehicles before choosing the Hyundai Kona. I had several factors in mind: Had to be stylish, had to have enough space for 2 large dogs, and had to be within my price range. I also did not want a large vehicle. I read articles about the best rated mini-SUV's were, and Kona was very high on the list, along with the Honda CR-V and the Buick Encore, which are the other cars I test drove. In my opinion, the Kona had everything I needed, and I can assure you my dogs fit in the car just fine! (I wouldn't recommend 3 dogs in the space.) Not only that, it has great gas mileage and the navigation/console is very easy to use. Hyundai also offered a great warranty at the time. The only issue: If I was any taller, I don't think I could comfortably drive the vehicle. I'm 5'11 and that is pretty much the limit. There is barely any leg room at the back seats, so full grown adults will have difficulty sitting back there, especially with my seat pushed all the way back like it is. But I purchased the vehicle knowing it was mostly going to be my two dogs in the back and the seats have been pushed down pretty much the entire year that I have owned the vehicle.

Pros
Great gas mileage, enough storage space and room for 2 large dogs, easy to drive.

Cons
Leg room at the back seat. This car is not built for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Phyllis C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2020
kona
I have been dealing with carbone for many years.
it is so easy to deal with all the employees.
not sure what else I can say,I have always been treated with
respect. I have always been very happy with leasing .

Pros
it's great no matter what the weather is

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SHEILA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2020
Great small suv
This is a great suv if you like a smaller one runs great and smooth love it. It’s great that the headlights turn on when it rains automatically when you use the wipers. It lets you know when there is a car next to you before you change lanes with beeping. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. Have had it a year and no trouble and when you bring your car for service everyone is so nice

Cons
Trunk is smaller then I like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
TIMOTHY G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2020
KONA Limited
Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle Great Vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sasha K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/02/2020
Kona
It’s a great car. It does what it needs to. The only pints I would deduct from is trunk space (it feels like unnecessary plastic bulking out throughout the trunk making it feel inefficient), and sometimes the performance is a little funny. I think also when dust gets on the safety sensors, it alerts errors and quits working. This happened a lot while I was driving roughly 6hrs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RICHARD T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2020
Iron Man edition rocks
The Kona is a fun little vehicle to drive, but if you want something truly special, look for the Iron Man edition. It's not for everyone, but if you want a hesd-turning vehicle that delivers performance and fuel economy, check out the Iron Man edition.

Pros
Gorgeous, with Iron Man references everywhere you look.

Cons
Doesn't fly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Benton A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Better than a Tesla
I have test driven both the Tesla model 3 and the Kona EV. The Kona is so much nicer inside and ergonomically excellent. And the highest end Kona ultimate is much less expensive than the high end Tesla. The adaptive cruise control and lane assist makes it very close to self driving. I love my Kona EV

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Margarita T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Super Cool Car
I love my Hyundai Kona ! The car is comfortable and comfortable. This is a lease and the gas is economical! You can put $20.00 and get to Orlando by making only one stop to put more gas . I love my Kona limited Edition

Pros
Comfortable and economical

Cons
It is a lease and I have to turn it in....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
James O.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
This Kona is an outstanding Vehicle!
My 2019 Kona is a looker and also very peppy for a 4...but it is Turbocharged! Also rides very nice for a smaller car. It is loaded with all knds of goodies...like full power and handles like a dream. Complete with power windows and sunroof! The rear seats fold forward to give added storage straight from the trunk to the back of the front seats!
Plenty of room for four adults in this 4 door baby.

Pros
Meets or exeeds my every expections! My wife loves it Too!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Edna H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/30/2020
FAIR
I AM HAPPY WITH THE KONA, IT IS GOOD ON GAS AND IT DRIVES REALYY GOOD..... I REALLY DO LOVE IT! I CAN PARK JUST ABOUT ANY WHERE! UNFORTUNATELY, THE INTERIOR IS A LITTLE TOO SMALL...…….. BUT IT WILL WORK FOR NOW!

Pros
ECONOMIC

Cons
A LITTLE TOO SMALL

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DARCIE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
The best vehicle ever
I have never been more happy about any vehicle I've been driving! It's comfortable, it's fun, and it's got a great sound system! I have never spent more time in my vehicle than I do in this one since I got. I enjoy driving now and love being in my vehicle.

Pros
comes with a spare tire

Cons
NO CD PLAYER

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marianne H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/29/2020
Hundai Kona
Before I bought my Kona I did some research which led me to my decision to buy it. Generally, I like it but I have had some problems from the beginning. There's a vapor leak in the front windshield which has not yet been addressed; the steering wheel makes a noise and now I have to get a new steering column; and a dashboard light comes on intermittently and I was told they won't know what the problem might be unless it happens when the computer diagnostics can check which I don't believe should be the case. The computers don't always allow the technicians to know the problems with vehicles. Otherwise, I like the vehicle. I has a comfortable ride and handles nicely.

Pros
It handles nicely; gets decent gas mileage. I like the fact that it has CarPlay.

Cons
Sluggish when pulling into traffic. Some build quality issues like a vapor leak in the windshield; need for a new steering column; and intermittent dashboard light coming on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MAYRA V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/29/2020
I love my Kona!
I love my Kona! It’s small and cute and goes great with my personality. Easy to park and travel with. Does great with gas. Gets me to my destination without any problems. I can see me having this car forever!

Pros
Small, easy to park, great to travel with, great in gas.

Cons
Tight inside, seats a bit uncomfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2020
Favorite
Everyone who lays their eyes on my Tangerine Comet Kona, falls in love with the mesmerising color. I agree with them, no doubt. Have always had bigger SUV's but so glad I made the choice to go with the Kona. The 10 year 100 thousand mile warranty is icing on the cake and the Sirius XM is the toppings. Love my Kona

Pros
Bang for the buck... Has a bigger feel for its compact size. 5 doors is awesome. Overall a blast to drive and love the compliments

Cons
Wish I would have sent for the all wheel drive model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PENELOPE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2020
Best car ever!!
I love this car! It’s sporty, quick, handles well, has great head/leg room in the front for a tall person while great seat adjustment for short or tall driver.
I can’t say enough good things about my Kona. 1 year in issue free and very very happy with my purchase.

Pros
Fun, quick, comfortable, good styling and quality feel.

Cons
Not a one!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Alan M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2020
First new car
The Hyundai Kona was the first new vehicle my wife and have have purchased. We ultimately chose it because of the amazing warranty but also the all wheel drive and independent rear suspension. It gave us the ability to go places with friends with enough room as well as add more cargo space . The Kona is a great car for the north east

Pros
Comfortable, can handle snow well, plenty of room and a great driving experience .

Cons
The rear of the car could use a little redesign but it’s not bad.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEVEN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2020
Excellent value, power, and styling
This Kona Turbo is deceptively attractive. After driving the vehicle one notices that even with a small engine getting excellent milage the turbo feature still maintains the great milage. This vehicle is a winner with value, power, and styling.

Pros
Obviously, a great deal of attention has been paid to correcting any small defects from the previous year. A quality product with regard to value, power, and styling

Cons
Slightly difficult to enter the driver's seat—a bit tight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Carol M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
2019 Kona
I have been driving suvs for years but now that I am getting older I decided I wanted something a little smaller but still an suv
So I found EXACTLY what I wanted with the Kona I test drove a couple other crossovers but they weren't as comfortable or quiet as the Kona

Pros
Everything
As a matter of fact a friend of mine liked mine so much she bought one not long after I did

Cons
I haven't found any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
Eric T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
2019 awd ultimate 1.6l Turbo
Awesome car and power will not be disappointed would like to see seat a little more comfortable for bigger guys but it's nice. Would also like to see the head up display be turned into a night vision display or radar display instead of just a simple display find it kinda useless for the money. But overall awesome car power is crazy quick using the turbo and handling is above average. The traction is above average too in the snow and rain love to try it in deep snow .. Very nice built crossover overall

Pros
Power in the turbo comfort and reliable beautiful car

Cons
Seats could be built for a little bigger person but overall nice comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1041 in total