2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(192 Reviews)
Latest review 27 minutes ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CN
CHRISTINE N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Amazing Car
Exceeded my expectations. Handles extremely well considering the profile of a small SUV. The turbo engine option was the best choice as I am used to daily driving an ultra high performance track/street car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Konasunset
So far no complaints. Still very new but it handles much better than I had anticipated. Styling is great and the sunset orange color has gotten lots of positive comments. Gas mileage was also better than I expected.

Pros
Fun to drive. Beautiful styling. Handles excellent

Cons
A bit underpowered. Would have preferred black wheels.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
STACY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Excellent vehicle!
Love the handling and turbo engine! Very comfortable interior and low road noise. Economical and stylish exterior. Really fun to drive. Acceleration is good especially in sport mode. Design is very well thought out and attractive!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
ANDREA J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Love it!
We were looking for a car to replace our 2008 Camry Hybrid which sucked in the snow and its gas mileage was starting to drop.

Our main requirements were good gas mileage, all wheel drive, and a reasonable price. Not an easy combination to find.

We looked at the Suburu Crosstrek, way too expensive. Base price didn't seem bad but everything was extra. Looked at Mazda. CX-3 was too small, CX-5 too big. We were impressed with the Kona's safety ratings and reliability. We saw the Iron Man package online and decided to go check it out. Just to look of course. When we got to the dealer there was a Kona out front and though I loved the look I thought it might be a bit small, we are not small people. We went in and talked to the salesman, reluctantly decided that the Iron Man model was probably not going to happen (maybe if it came with Jarvis' voice for the sat/nav 😁) and went to check it out.

I was totally surprised at how roomy the interior was. So much more comfortable than the Camry. I am very picky about feeling confined or hemmed in, especially when I drive, and I had no problems. My 6' tall husband fit easily in the passenger seat with plenty of leg room.

Took the test drive, loved it! Excellent acceleration, responsive steering and braking, wicked tight turning radius, and best compliment I can give a car, I didn't have to think about driving the car at all. I was totally comfortable from the get go, like I had been driving it for years.

The back seat is okay on leg room, my 5' 6" daughter is comfortable behind the passenger seat if my husband moves the seat up a little and he is okay too. It wouldn't work for us for a very long trip, it's been good up to an hour drive so far, but our other car is a Ford Flex so it's not an issue for us. I did one time have 3 teenagers riding in the back seat with no issues width wise. 🙂 Also, my two dogs, 65 and 35 pounds, love riding in the back. I put the back seats down and they can see everything with plenty of room for them both.

We bought the Ultimate/loaded version that day (same one we passed on the way in 🙂). It had everything we were looking for, all wheel drive, great safety features, and excellent gas mileage, and all for a great price. Only thing that Hyundai didn't offer on the Ultimate that I wanted was a heated steering wheel (I've always wanted one, we live in NH, it gets ridiculously cold 🙂) Maybe on next year's (hint).

Gas mileage has been great, I'm averaging 30-32 mpg. The automatic wipers and high beams are awesome, especially while i was driving one handed while recovering from shoulder surgery.

Pros
Great gas mileage, safety features (lane assist, collision warning, automatic braking, blind spot sensors/warning) heated seats, navigation, Android Auto, Bluetooth, wireless phone charging, 2 charging ports, roomy interior.

Cons
Back seat leg room is a little tight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Diemchi N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Loving every minute!
I did a lot of research before my decision and I’m so happy with my purchase. This little car far exceeded my expectations! I hope it lasts a long time because I really enjoy driving it. I recommend this car to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CHRISTOPHER L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
A great little crossover vehicle!
The Kona wasn't our first choice when hunting for a new car, but once we saw it at a dealership and were able to test drive, it jumped up on our list. Very responsive, great standard features (rear camera, lane assist, etc.), and a nice body style. Not a lot of cargo room, but that's to be expected - we were looking for a compact SUV, so obviously cargo wasn't our primary focus. An easy to drive vehicle with good fuel economy and a decent amount of room was what we were looking for, and the Kona delivered.

Pros
Great standard equipment - Rear Camera, Lane Assist, Bluetooth, Android Auto.
Stylish Design.
Great Fuel Economy.
Good Ride and Maneuverability.

Cons
A little tight for tall/big drivers, but not cramped.
Cargo space is not extensive, but rear seats fold down to expand.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THERESA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Great value, fuel economy surpasses expectations
After a multi year /car manufacturer quest for a vehicle, it was suggested to try the Kona. The dealer sales force was great. Service department respects appointment times. Ownership has been delightful.

Cons
The heated seat button is next to the downhill braking button. Not easily visible for driver.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jameela B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Love this car!
This car is both comfortable and stylish. It is the absolute right size for me with room for passengers, groceries and luggage. I did not experience "buyer's remorse", I just enjoyed driving it from day 1. I recommend this vehicle to anyone stepping down from a larger sized SUV for it's economy and driving versatility. A great car.

Pros
Stying, performance and price.

Cons
Plastic looking interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
ROBERT F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Loaded with safety features.
So far (600 miles) the car has been perfect. I am still trying to get used to all the features I never had before. Leg room in the back is a little tight. I am missing some of the features I would like to have, which are only available in the turbo model, which I did not want to buy.

Pros
Good value, best in class.

Cons
Packaged features greatly limit choice of desired features.

Your questionaire should give N/A as an option as many items are not relevant to all users.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KANDACE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Buy a Kona! You will love it!
I’ve never been so attached to a car! I get compliments from strangers on the look of my Kona. Smooth ride and so dependable! Safely features lower insurance rates. It’s an overall great car! 5 stars!

Pros
Price, style, look, smooth ride, safely features, Hyundai emails teach about special features of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Marjorie K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Love my Kona!
Love my Hyundai Kona! Fantastic gas mileage, comfortable ride and plenty of space in the back for groceries etc. In addition, the color and design are pretty cool! Great features, especially Android auto.

Pros
Great gas mileage, Android auto, great looking car.

Cons
None that I can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RYAN A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
2019 Hyundai Kona
The Hyundai Kona is an amazing vehicle with great handling and performance. It has many features that make it desirable for tech-savvy individuals but make it simple enough for everyone people to use.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Duncan M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Hyundai kona
Overall the vehicle is amazing. I personally have the ultimate package which has everything included from a hud to wireless charging. The gas milage is amazing city and highway is even better. Overall the entire car is just amazing and I'd buy another if I could afford it

Pros
HuD
Wireless charging
Android auto
Bluelink remote start
Highway gas milage

Cons
Bluelink unlock and lock feature

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANDREW S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
Classy and Stylish!!! Wonderful Fuel Economy!
We purchased our 2019 Kona after leaving the hospital, having our second child. We were hit head on and our vehicle was a total loss. We've always been Chevy owners but the sleek design of the Kona along with the fuel economy and the price tag definitely brought us in. The outside is gorgeous to look at, I've received so many compliments. The interior is so beautiful! I'm very satisfied with our purchase!!!

Pros
Beautiful design internal and external. Great fuel economy. Comfortable. Compact.

Cons
Very difficult to steer and drive. Also zero space for children and strollers and travel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YW
YULIYA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Kona 2019
I am very highly satisfied with my new cute Kona. Love that subcompact modern looking SUV. It is light, maneuverable, responsive vehicle. Driving my Kona is comfortable and fun both in the city and in rural areas, holds the roads steady and safely.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JUAN R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Love it
Awesome car for the price. You can’t get this many features on a Honda or a Toyota with out costing you a arm and a leg. Love the warranty. My experience with Hyundai’s have been great. Zero drama when it come down to take care of the car under warranty. I had a Toyota and best believe they always had a excuse why not to honor my warranty

Pros
Many standard features on a level entry cars.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HENRY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Kona is excellent.
Do not change anything with this car, Hyundai! Great to drive. I have the red 2019 Kona and it is a joy to look at each day as I start my day. When I have guests over, they really are amazed with the quality compared to my last car, which was also a new lease at the time in the subcompact SUV class.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
Not much.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CAROL D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Love my Kona
Had seen the information on line and on TV regarding the Kona. Loved the reviews and the size for me was perfect. Had always wanted an SUV, but smaller than the Tuscon. Kona fit the bill. Took a test drive while waiting on an oil change and knew I didn't need to "think" about it any longer. Happy with my decision and find myself looking for opportunities to drive my Kona. Love it, love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
TIMOTHY A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Great compact SUV
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Julia C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Love
Love love love my Kona!!! Everything about my Kona I'm satisfied with, however I would like to see a CD player in it. I sometimes prefer CD's over the radio. I love that I got a 3 year complimentary membership for Blue Link. It's an extremely handy feature.

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 192 in total