2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(820 Reviews)
Latest review about 11 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CW
CORINE W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2020
2020 Kona ultimate 1.6T
Considered purchased used Kona ultimate at lower price. Decided to go fully new based on warranty and rebates included . This car has plenty of power and interior cabin room to accommodate any size. Sound system is amazing and immersive as the infotainment is equally impressive. Driving for a month now and completely satisfied with my choice to go ultimate .

Pros
Warranty and gas mileage

Cons
Plastic interior feels cheap and a draft at the armrest is disappointing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FN
Frank/Nancy N.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/28/2020
STYLING
THIS VEHICLE HAS A LOT OF CHARM AND PEP, HOWEVER THE GAS MILEAGE IS NOT WHAT IT SHOULD BE FOR THAT TYPE OF CAR. IT LACKS A REMOTE OPENING TAILGATE WHICH I THINK SHOULD BE INCLUDED AS A DONUT/SPARE TIRE. LOTS OF COMMENTS ON THE STYLE FROM FRIENDS AND RELATIVES.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ALE S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2020
Good means of transportation
I really like the car is small not at all what am use to driving my main concern is the small window a blind spot is created by the high back seat head rest. On drivers side while backing up can create a blind spot for pedestrians in the rear view area.

Pros
Reliable so far not driven in snow or ice yet

Cons
Back window to small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Suzanne C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2020
Driving in NJ
Very happy with the purchase of this car. Wanted a small SUV. and the size drive and ride is just what I wanted and needed. I like the rear camera,feel safer with the side window warning and lane shift . Had to stop short recemtly and was very glad with the forward warning and stop feature. Great purchase
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Drakie J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2020
Great little SUV
This great little SUV came equipped with lots of technology as standard equipment for the price, compared
To others in its class. Test drove Toyota and Honda comparable sized SUV found both too pricey and small and not equipped with as much technology which was extra. The Kona is a tad bigger and has a nice smooth and sporty ride. It's also fun to drive, I would definitely recommend the Kona.(and I have) to family and friends.

Pros
Overall styling
Performance
Features and comfort
Value for the money
Warranty length

Cons
No accessory outlets in rear areas
Horn not aggressive enough for a SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Agre B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2020
Great
Experience of the car is Very good !!
But please don’t send to me so long list of questions!
Again I am repeating car itself is very good, but list of questions is really terribly long!
I advising you to make it much much shorter!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Trella H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2020
I LOVE my Kona!
I can't say enough about how much I love my Kona Ultimate. It's zippy with that 2.0 turbo but sippy at the pump. I love the safety features - like the lane assist and blind spot warnings. And I know, some people don't like hatchbacks, but why not? It's so easy to load groceries in and out of the back without having to lean over the trunk.

All this in a fun, sporty design. I've had Sippy for 11 months and I still admire her like she's brand new.

Pros
Economical but sporty.

Cons
A power lift gate and memory seats would have been nice but they weren't available even at the highest trim level.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Alyx H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2020
Great and comfortable
I love this car, not only the bright body color, but the turbo. Once in sport mode it takes off and goes. Very comfortable seating and it feels a lot safer than sedans. The cool features really make driving easy and less anxious. It’s a little loud on the road and the suspension is a little too solid.

Pros
Fast acceleration
Cool useful features
Fun to drive

Cons
A little loud on the road
Suspension is pretty solid

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cody C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona
It’s one of the best SUV’s I’ve ever owned and I can’t thank Hyundai enough for making such an incredibly safe line up of cars etc. that keep me and my family safe on the road each and every day! Will always purchase Hyundai!

Pros
All of it!

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Julia L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2020
Couldn't be more pleased
The Kona has been perfect for our family. Hwy/city miles and mountain miles in the winter, it's handled it all beautifully. For the money, you can't buy a better compact SUV. Just about every feature you could possibly want/need. We often are amazed at the small exterior because when you're driving it makes you feel like you're in a bigger SUV.

Pros
They pack all the features they have available into the Kona at a ridiculously low price
Gas mileage is great
Sport mode makes a huge difference when you need to pass someone
Lane assist works great
Surprisingly roomy interior for a smaller car
Remote start is fantastic for those extreme cold and hot days

Cons
No a/c vents or heated seats for the back seat
Bumpier ride for back seat passengers in the non-AWD model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOHN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2020
Great vehicle
"......."..............".".................................l..l.......l.l.l.l........................."....................................................................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
VIRGINIA M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
2020 Kona
Fun to drive and handles great on the highway. Take a test drive! Good mileage. The dealer was wonderful as well- this was my 5th new vehicle purchase rom Darcy Hyundai in Joliet- great deal for the money.

Pros
Responsive, fun, fun, fun

Cons
Hounds tooth interior- not my cup of tea

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
GAURAV D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/24/2020
Kona Review
This is quite a nice car. It is very comfortable, safe, and easy to use. The price for the car is a very good value and the dealership was very helpful when we were buying the car. Overall, would recommend.

Pros
Accelerates well, quiet engine

Cons
Screen is slightly small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ARTHUR M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
Love my Kona
My Kona is really fun to drive, (I traded in a Mini Cooper S Clubman, and this easily equals the acceleration & handling), is comfortable, quiet, and offers the security of AWD. It also gets good gas mileage, and looks great. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a CUV that's fun to drive.

Pros
It's a really nice CUV - recommended by Car & Driver and Consumer reports, which is unusual. Coming from a Mini Cooper S, it accelerates as fast, handles as well, and is much more comfortable. The electronics are state-of-the art for its price class, it gets good gas mileage. Build quality seems excellent. Also, it's got outstanding warranties (10 years, 100,000 mile powertrain, 5-year bumper to bumper, 7 year corrosion) and it came with 3-year/36,000 mile free service.

Cons
Dealership is not convenient, (but I had a great experience with them) there's a fair amount of tire noise, but that could be because of the OEM tires) .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lance L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/23/2020
kona awsome
First, I like my Kona. Like all cars this one needs more power.(never enough) Why can't the infotainment system stay where I left it. I always have to reset it on start up. Also it is slow to respond. The headlights on bright could reach farther. 4 stars because no car gets 5 stars. There is a lot to like, these are just the stand out negative items.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Gail F.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/22/2020
My Kona
My Kona is everything that I wanted. It is a beautiful little SUV with great styling. It’s safely features are outstanding along with it’s fuel economy. This is my 2nd Hyundai and I will continue to purchase Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANI C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/22/2020
Comfy
Comfy, compact car to drive. Overall experience is good so far. Maybe just the drive is a bit rough (I’ve been told it’s new that’s why, it’ll get softer later). In the beginning I had a little hard time to get used this car being low, as my prior lease was a Buick Encore, which was pretty much higher, and easy to sit in.

Pros
Compact

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DONALD J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2020
Kona is what I wanted
I wanted a smaller size vehicle, AWD. This vehicle has so many features it is amazing. Hyundai's warranties are tops. I have another Hyundai and it has been enough of an experience to keep me staying with Hyundai.

Pros
There is nothing about this vehicle I do not like except the Tire Mobility Kit. It is what I was looking for and it is great to drive.

Cons
Tire Mobility kit is something I don't like I will replace it with the old spare option.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
Jack E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2020
Love my Kona!
Fuel efficient, loads of safety features and tech, and fun to drive!!!! I love the heated seats, sound quality of speakers is good. It’s a quick little car, which takes a bit to get used to, but overall a great little SUV.

Pros
Fuel economy is great, last trip we averaged almost 40mpg, night driving with fog lights and automatic low beams to brights is like driving in daylight!

Cons
Passenger seat needs lumbar support

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KEITH C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2020
Great Vehicle.
I absolutely love my 2020 Hyundai Kona, it has everything I wanted. The sound system is excellent, which is the most important feature that I love. The updated safety features in this vehicle is awesome and there is still a lot to learn from it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 820 in total