2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(132 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


PE
Paul E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/09/2019
Got A Lemon
Car makes strange noises. Had for one week and been in service for 2 weeks. They have been unable to fix the problem. No word from Hyundai on how long it will take or what is wrong. No replacement offered yet. Paying for car and insurance but no car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/10/2019
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

RW
RHODA W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/20/2019
Braking and Window
You can't open the windows while driving rear windows the noise & the pressure is terrible and painful to the ear, its like you're on the airplane. Rear will lift right at
slight braking. SHOCKING !

Pros
Nice small car , cute love the color and love most of the package /stuff on the my kona

Cons
You can't open the windows while driving especially rear windows the noise and the pressure is terrible and painful to the ear, its like you're on a plane taking off or landing. This car will almost lift the rear when braking , slight braking will lift the right side of the car. I have passed on information to the engineers at Hyundai hopefully its my car only and can be taken care off as soon as possible.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LYNN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/07/2020
Kona review
This is an average vehicle. Good gas mileage. Comfort is okay. Interior room is tight. Not enough leg room in the back seat. Power around town is great. Handles highway speeds well. Pretty exterior. Love the white paint

Pros
Styling. The exterior is pretty and the upholstery is sturdy enough. The seats are comfortable for a smaller car
Gas mileage even around town
Defroster works great and has great heat
Headlights shine bright and controls are easy to use on dashboard and steering wheel

Cons
Small
Tight interior
Acceleration... engine works hard
Interior storage is small
Back up camera is obscured easily with rain or dirt. I have to manually clean it often. But after being on a wet road it sometimes is too water spotted to see out of.
Does not have enough storage in the hatchback part

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marina H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/25/2019
Did not come with a spare tire
Make sure you look before you buy this car because not all come with a spare but you can buy one for around 370.00 from them...…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………...

Pros
Comfort

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
FERNANDO P.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2019
Nice
Nice vehicle, need to see how it performs in winter. Fuel economy is average but based on performance, a hybrid car would be better. This car has similar 0-60 as some hybrids but less fuel economy. Hopefully they bring a hybrid version of this car that has AWD
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SOON L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/08/2019
KONA ...impressive!
2020 KONA SE,....pretty impressive vehicle for the value. The MPG is great and handling exceeds my preconceived perception of Hyundai vehicles. It proved me wrong indeed.
I purchased this vehicle for my son’s primary and very first vehicle prospectively & I do believe that he would be content with KONA. As a parent, it is reassuring to know that KONA is equipped with many safety features such as lane-departure warning, BSM etc...which are conveniently located within the cabin to engage and control.
The “sport mode” is also very responsive!!
My wife and I are seriously considering a Hyundai for our other son when time comes....

Pros
Design
Performance/handling
MPG
Value
Apple-play & Android capable

Cons
Lack of Wheel/Rim selections (no black or flat/subdued black)
Lack of Passenger side seat functionality (height adjustment)
Manually Folding Side Mirrors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/21/2019
Very nice for the price.
Excellent AWD vehicle for the price. Handles and looks great, smooth ride and loaded with cool reatures. Bluetooth capability with hands free phone feature is the best I've experienced to date with a new vehicle. Would definitely recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
LYNE K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/29/2019
A surprising value
The features and power provided in the Kona Ultimate are surprising, providing a great value. The interior fit and materials are exceptional for this price point. The paint defects and inaccurate navigation system are the disappointments.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Shilpa R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/09/2019
Great car but could improve on a few things
I have had good experience so far. Lane keep assist feature helps.
Just wish the acceleration was smooth and the engine noise was lesser. Can have better colors and the interiors may be made of better quality

Pros
Has all the features that a high end car has
Great price

Cons
Acceleration isn't smooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jason K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/27/2019
Great ride and looks cool
Everything that’s included in the ultimate trim is great. But lacks front parking sensors which should have been included too at this trim level. Konas sold in other countries come with front parking sensors.

Cons
Interior needs some colors. Like two tone or more contrast.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Elena B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/03/2019
Kona SEL
Very sporty and Stylish. Interior, drivers seat is very comfortable and feels like it is cradling your sides. Makes me more confident driving the car. Visibility while driving is very good and comes with lots of great safety and collision control features. Back up camera and AV displays are great. Car performs well when passing in sport mode. Car performed well in recent snowstorm. SEL has AWD and a little more clearence.

Pros
Interior and Exterior stylish, sporty. Perfect size SUV for a petite woman. Interior styling really provides confidence while driving. Good visibility, lots of safety features.

Cons
Could use a little more pick up or a larger HP engine. 160 vs 145 HP would be ideal and improve performance when passing. The Sport mode really improves driving performance, but isn't as smooth a ride.
Price right on target for my first new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRIAN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/05/2019
Hyundai Kona 2020
The Kona is a nice size SUV. Drives great and gets great gas mileage but space is limited in the trunk so it is not good if you need to go places with a lot of stuff. The limited model is nice, but should have at least 3 additional features for a limited and ultimate package - power passenger seat and automatic trunk opening mechanism on the key FOB and a button on the trunk to automatically close. Other than that, I really like my car.

Pros
Gas Mileage
General Look
Comfortable seating

Cons
Passenger seat is not a power seat
Key fob does not open the trunk it only unlocks it
The trunk does not have a button to automatically close it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RONALD A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/12/2019
Very nice styled Vehicle....
I really do not understand how you would expect someone to type 200 words ... I like the KONA so far .***************************************************************************************************
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Teresa L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/13/2019
Love this car!
I love the way it handles! The steering is very responsive, the acceleration is smooth, and the breaking is nice and responsive as well. The size of the car is just perfect for me. I had been a Honda girl for many years until I bought my first Hyundai in 2008. I did trade that car in for a Honda last year but turned around and traded the Honda in for my Kona this year. Best decision ever!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/20/2019
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHRISTOPHER M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/23/2019
Kona is fun
I enjoy my vehicle, it looks bigger on the outside then inside. And the base model sound system is horrible, the speakers sound like you are in a tunnel. With that said I do like the look and how it drives, the safety features helpful.

Pros
Fun ride and its a cute vehicle.

Cons
Sound system and space, not much storage room and when you put the seats back it does't leave much space in back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/23/2019
Kona
bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla bla blabla bla bla bla bla bla Good for the price

Pros
Warranty, style, fit & Finish

Cons
Interior SEL cheap seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Doug M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/27/2019
??????
Not sure what you need in this field but I'm filling it out to pass through the survey for you. BBBBNNNNNNBNNNMHKKKHHKHKKHKHKHKHKHKKHKHKKHKHHKHKKHKHKKKHKHHKKKHKKHKHKHHKHHHKHKHKHKHKKHHKKHHKHKHKHKHKHKHK.

Cons
Transmission gearing fairly high as it's not quickly responsive when needing rapid acceleration.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
John J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/30/2019
It rides like a 1950s pickup but gets great fuel mileage.
The next car I purchase will probably be a Mazda because they ride better than a Hyundai with 45 ratio tires.
After purchasing this Hyundai I went to Discount Tire Co. and purchased a set of 60 ratio tires and wheels to improve the ride quality!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I know the solid rear axle is a cost cutting measure but it causes a rough ride and "bump steer"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Great fuel mileage
easy to drive
Hyundai quality

Cons
Ride is rough even after installing new tires and wheels.
Solid rear axle is a cheap item that promotes a rough ride and bump steer.
The leather seats are toooo stiff for comfort.
This is a top of the line Kona and the idiot "engineers" insist on calling out 45 ratio tires on a car that should be the best riding car.
I had to purchase a new set of tires and wheels 251x60x16!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STANLEY B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/02/2020
First Kona
This is my first Hyundai. The experience at the second dealership was better than the first. So be patient when purchasing a vehicle .I would say the safety features and style of vehicle and the interior are what I expected for the price. Acceleration could be better from a stop.

Pros
Great safety features for the price.

Cons
Accelerating from a stop is underpowered. Rear cargo space is small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 132 in total