2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8
(45 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ES
EULA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
dealership with crain automotive group a nightmare
dealership was rude and insulting. Could not provide title without filing a consumer complaint with atty generals office. Service dept could not provide parts and renighed on promises to fix the problem
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANA G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
Absolutely Love!!
I absolutely love my 2020 Kona! I was so excited to finally be able to get one and the exact one I wanted. It drives great. It's quiet and super comfortable. It handles on the road really well and I love all of the features it has. Lifelong Hyundai driver!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELENA B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2019
Kona SEL
Very sporty and Stylish. Interior, drivers seat is very comfortable and feels like it is cradling your sides. Makes me more confident driving the car. Visibility while driving is very good and comes with lots of great safety and collision control features. Back up camera and AV displays are great. Car performs well when passing in sport mode. Car performed well in recent snowstorm. SEL has AWD and a little more clearence.

Pros
Interior and Exterior stylish, sporty. Perfect size SUV for a petite woman. Interior styling really provides confidence while driving. Good visibility, lots of safety features.

Cons
Could use a little more pick up or a larger HP engine. 160 vs 145 HP would be ideal and improve performance when passing. The Sport mode really improves driving performance, but isn't as smooth a ride.
Price right on target for my first new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DUANE B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Fun to drive unique looking sub compact crossover suvt
This unique vehicle has all the bells and whistles, surprisenly fast and very nimble. Great looks and solid build quality. Thrilled to drive every time I get in. I'm very happy and proud to own the Kona.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Great little SUV for around town
We got this car to keep at our retirement home while we are transitioning. Fun car to drive, practical, good inside space, and as with my other Hyundai's excellent quality and good value. Exactly what we were looking for! Oh, great tech!

Pros
Great little car for around town, but was also very comfortable on a three hour trip.

Cons
None that I've identified. Excellent quality and design for the dollar, i.e. great value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charles C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
kona
xxx - I don't have time to waste on this any more-- thank you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ELIZABETH B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/01/2019
Sporty SUV
Joy to drive. Hugs the road, drives like a sports car, very comfortable, great safety features and phone integration. Good value for the price. Just the right size vehicle, between a sedan and and SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JASON K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2019
Great ride and looks cool
Everything that’s included in the ultimate trim is great. But lacks front parking sensors which should have been included too at this trim level. Konas sold in other countries come with front parking sensors.

Cons
Interior needs some colors. Like two tone or more contrast.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SUSAN L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Awesome purchase
When I was looking for a new car I considered a few. When my friend came into town in her new Hyundai Tucson and I liked it I started to look closer at the Hyundai’s. It’s just me, so the Tucson and Sante Fe were a bit too much for me in size. When the Kona popped up and I thought it would be perfect for me I started reading the awesome reviews and watching the awesome you tube reviews and fell more and more in love with it! When I got in to test drive one I fell even more in love!! Didn’t take anything to talk me into buying one. I was so enamored I forgot to even see if I could negotiate a better price. Sigh!! But she’s mine and I love her!! We can’t wait to go on some road trips!! Thank you Hyundai!!

Pros
Gas mileage, smooth ride, lines, comfort, controls

Cons
A touch a crunchy in the backseat but meh!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOHN G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2019
Great driving subcompact suv
Kona wins the subcompact suv category in my opinion. My Ultimate AWD is not only fuel efficient, but fun to drive. Has all essential safety features - lane keeper, pre collision warning and assist, rear cam with alerts, head up display, adaptive cruise control. Love the nav system and how it integrates with the head up display. Did I say this car is fun to drive?

Pros
Fun to drive
Great fuel economy
Excellent safety features
Great styling

Cons
Moderate road noise
No memory setting feature for driver seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JUDY T.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2019
Best car ever!
My Kona rides very well for a small car, it handles great in the rain. Android play is wonderful to have. It gives you access to your maps and other apps without fumbling with your phone.
It's just too stinkin' cute!! I love it so far. I hope that lasts.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mickey G.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2019
2019 Kona Ultimate (and it REALLY is the Ultimate)
We've had our Kona Ultimate for 6 months now and absolutely love it. She's named "Sparky" because she's so startlingly quick and handles so surprisingly well. May be too fast for some people (then get the standard non-turbo model). Slightly miss the adaptive cruise control (this is standard on 2020 models) and wish all Konas had brake hold (our CR-V has both). Sales experience with local dealer showroom-floor people was abominable. We switched to the internet-sales people (same dealership) and had a wonderful experience. I'd strongly recommend this to anyone reading this review. HUD is excellent (had this in 2 previous Corvettes and would definitely have missed this). Fuel economy is strong - better than EPA estimates. Ride is a bit firm but no problem. We got FWD instead of AWD since we live in the south. AWD also gives you independent rear suspension which improves ride and handling. The Kona is shockingly fast (as fast 0-60 as a 1964 GTO which was the original "muscle car"). Interior space isn't as big as some in this class but it's never been an issue for us. We HIGHLY recommend the Kona - you'll never regret it. We recommend it so highly that my sister-in-law has just bought one up north where she lives so she got AWD in an SEL+ trim.

Pros
Nearly everything. Ride a bit firm and interior space just OK. We thought the lime green interior accents might get a little old over time but the opposite it true - we REALLY like it, even more than at first.

Cons
Wish it had brake hold and adaptive cruise control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DAWN W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2019
love this car
This vehicle is great , I get a lot of complements on it. its wonderful to drive. very nice ride to it. everyone who has ride in it like it very much they say I made a good choice. which makes me very proud.

Cons
could use more space in the rear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
ZACHARY S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Fun to drive and beautiful to see
This is such a fun car to drive and looks great inside and out. Loving every day I get to drive in it and feel proud to own. Also feel good with such great fuel economy. Easy to park and fit anywhere downtown. Love Apple CarPlay and all other features. I got the Limited version and it's perfect for what I need and wanted. Very comfortable seats. Only nit-pick I would say is road noise is a bit much, but it's a small complaint.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
NELSON A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Kona
Love the car thank you for everything miss Gonzales. The care and kindness you guys show us was white glove service. I would recommend you guys to anyone that is looking for a car. The experience was great. Thank you also to Bill
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mike C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
Love this sub compact cross over!
It has lived up to its rankings - fun and sporty driver. Looks great and lots of tech! Handles well and the turbo and sport mode are terrific. I bought the Limited AWD and would recommend nothing less - you don’t want to miss all the good stuff! I’d love to see my daughters get one too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LAURIE S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
Perfect comfort and space
This vehicle adds the extra space for convenience, but yet very comfortable with ease to get in and out of. Drives well, with great steering ratio. I added leather to the interior, for a basic model upgrade.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PATRICIA S.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
You had me at Kona
Loved this car when they first came on the market but was undecided if I was ready to purchase. Took one test drive and loved it, came back six months later to make the purchase, sorry I waited so long. This little beauty handles curves and corners like a dream, so comfortable getting in and out of. I love this car and would recommend it to anyone. Of note, this is my second Hyundai, I also purchased a Hyundai for one daughter about eight years ago and another daughter is on her second Hyundai. I think we can be considered loyal and satisfied customers.

Cons
I would like to have had leather seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ANNMARIE M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
Maknae, my 2020 Hyundai Kona
I cannot say enough good things about my Kona. My 2019 Kona was totaled in an unfortunate accident when a gentleman hit his accelerator instead of his brake. I had picked out the Lime green twist Kona online and was very happy when they had one at my preferred dealership. Sadly, after five short months, it was totaled. No one ever wants to know how their vehicle will perform in an accident, you hope you never have one. I now know how the Kona holds up. Other than soft tissue injuries, we walked away from the car. The air bags had deployed in the front and the rear. The side doors had been pushed in and were unable to open. Oddly enough, I was struck by an older Hyundai Elantra. My car was declared totaled and I went back to my dealership and as fate would have it, they had a 2020 lime green twist Kona. I was very happy. Although Sparky (the 2019) will be missed, I have named the 2020, Maknae, Mak for short. I'm sure you think I'm quite quirky, but I have always loved to drive. A car is an important part of my life and brings me great pleasure. I'm thrilled with my Hyundai. Thank you.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TAMMY L.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2019
Kona
Best car ever. Best dealership ever. Everyone is Great. Sales staff, especially the owner is the absolute best. The facilities are state of the art. The car is great, but the dealership and sales experience is what sold me the car. Brown Daub Hyundai is Great. I wish I had more money to buy more cars from them. I'm looking forward to servicing my car there. The service manager is very professional. They make me feel like family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 45 in total