2020
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(124 Reviews)
Latest review about 19 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LW
LINDA W.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2020
Great Car!!
I have only had my car a few weeks but I love the way it feels. I am very comfortable with all of the new safety features at my disposal. Keep on making this great vehicle and I will continue to buy them

Pros
This is my third Hyundai and I love each car and as the modes continue to evolve safety wise and durability I will continue to buy them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jonathan H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
Great value
This is the 2nd Kona I have purchased thru McDonald Hyundai for my kids and the team there is fantastic! Trenton Hyer, his manager Dave and the finance dept treat you like your family and get you in out quickly! Will definitely purchase with them again!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anna M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
2020 line review
I love driving the vehicle. The alerts for safety is satisfying and wanted with our fast paced drivers. I am easy to find my vehicle in a parking lot because of the blue color. The sunroof allows more light in during non sunny days.

Pros
Fun such to drive with many safety guidance

Cons
The head rests keep elevating without vehicle passengers assisting. The dealership service is aware of the problem and is helping with the solution

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BOBBY C.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Hyundai Kona 2020
Vehicle is great, little complaints. Would prefer scroll wheel to navigate infotainment. Ride can be bumpy. Interior feels cheap but exterior is attractive. Steering is smooth. Brakes feel dull and easily allows car to roll after gently letting off brakes. Would prefer blind spot warning/assist

Pros
Comfortable, compact, comfortable, intuitive infotainment, exterior design is badass

Cons
Brakes feel dull and requires extra effort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
ELIZABETH R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Little Green Dream
This is the sweetest vehicle I have ever driven. The performance far exceeds expectation and far better than some German sports cars I have driven. So fun and comfortable to drive. Highly recommended!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
John J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/30/2019
It rides like a 1950s pickup but gets great fuel mileage.
The next car I purchase will probably be a Mazda because they ride better than a Hyundai with 45 ratio tires.
After purchasing this Hyundai I went to Discount Tire Co. and purchased a set of 60 ratio tires and wheels to improve the ride quality!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I know the solid rear axle is a cost cutting measure but it causes a rough ride and "bump steer"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Great fuel mileage
easy to drive
Hyundai quality

Cons
Ride is rough even after installing new tires and wheels.
Solid rear axle is a cheap item that promotes a rough ride and bump steer.
The leather seats are toooo stiff for comfort.
This is a top of the line Kona and the idiot "engineers" insist on calling out 45 ratio tires on a car that should be the best riding car.
I had to purchase a new set of tires and wheels 251x60x16!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
STEPHANIE K.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Love this car!!!!
When I came to the dealership I had no idea about the Kona and when I saw it for the first time I thought it was perfect! Took it for a test drive and it is fast and mighty for how small of an SUV it is! Storage is good for it’s size and interior is really roomy and comfy! Absolutely love my car and so happy I went with the Kona!

Pros
Safety, handling, comfort, performance!

Cons
Wish cargo was just a little bigger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lucas M.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Fast agile almost flawless
I looked at Hyundai because they dont use a CVT. This car changed my mind about the brand. I love this car. The dealer was great. Please never use a CVT. The awd traditional transmission with a strong small 4 cylinder engine is a great pairing for the size of the vehicle. Wish the trunk was a bit bigger.

Pros
Everything.....almost.

Cons
Small trunk space. Rides low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LAURIE J.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Highly recommend any Hyundai!
The lime twist Kona Limited is awesome! I highly recommend anyone looking for an affordable and fun vehicle to check out the Hyundai brand - you won't be disappointed! I've had 5 different Hyundai vehicles and each one was more awesome then the one before. I started with an Elantra, then the Tucson (2 of them), and then the Santa Fe and now the Kona. The vehicle models changed with the changing of my family life.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
NICHOLAS A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2020
Nice vehicle but flaws
Very Stylish vehicle. Very responsive. The seating is not very comfortable, the steering wheel design does not allow for maximum comfort while driving. There is no way to comfortably rest your elbows while holding onto the wheel. You also do feel every bump on rode as well.

Pros
very stylish, very easy to operate.

Cons
seats are not comfortable, and steering wheel is ill placed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LISA R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Fun&Functional
My Kona is a fun ride-excellent handlling.
Back seats are comfy & there's.plenty of storage in back. Before, I drove the Elantra GT for 5 years. After test.drive in Kona, I preferred sitting higher up. Love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SZ
Stephen Z.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Kona SUV
Love the 2020 Kona. Lots of space and great performance. Looks classy, too! We love the Hyundai brand And will continue to make this our brand of choice. Our Kona is our 5th Hyundai and does not disappoint!

Pros
Great storage and leg room. Quiet drive. Stylish design. Good gas mileage.

Cons
None! Love the car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
CHRISTI E.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2020
Best Of Both Worlds
This little gem of a car has the MPG you want, the styling you love, and the AWD you need! Look no further if you want a car that checks all those boxes and has a sassy and classy exterior and interior. I feel like a teenager when I drive it (and I am 62), and I am delighted with its safety features, and the top-of-the line navigation system, and extras: like lane assist, back up screen, heated seats, and blind spot indicators. The music system is super - love listening to those nice speakers! And Siri is there to help keep you concentrating on driving. You will not be disappointed in this great car! I would give it 100 stars if I could.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BILLIE B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Love my Kone
I absolutely love my new Kone. It is everything I hoped it would be. The people at the dealership were fantastic and didnt try to push me or steer me in any way. I knew exactly what I wanted and they helped me get a great deal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KENNETH D.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
2020 Kona review
First time Hyundai buyer. So far I am enjoying my new Kona. The Kona is very comfortable and smooth on the road. The sport mode give it a bit more thrust and the auto shift is very somth between gears.

Pros
Very nice looking vehicle. Comfortable and smooth to drive.

Cons
Passenger seat needs height adjustment. Rear turn signals need to move higher up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
ENGHEL F.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
Kona
I love this vehicle it works really well and it fits me perfectly. I would recommend this vehicle to anybody that asks me about it I love it and I wouldn't ask for anything else ever. Thann you for this
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JASPER A.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/10/2020
2020 KONA
Overall a great car so far. Will recommend higher trim with turbo to make up for some lack in power for acceleration and uphill drives. No big complaints except for slight lack of cargo space compared to Honda HRV and some noise when driving in higher speeds in a highway.

Pros
Fun to drive, good features in higher trims, stylish, enough room for storage

Cons
Slightly lacking in space for a family, transmission could sometimes be rough in first gear or reverse, slightly noisy to drive in highways at high speeds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TAYLER H.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona
Great commuter car/car overall. Really happy with its realiability, gas mileage, and overall look. Looks great, drives great, would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a new car. Hyundai is my family's preferred car dealer; they are safe, reliable, high quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kimberly B.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
2020 Kona Ultimate
We just leased out first Kona Ultimate after leasing two Santa Fe Sports the previous 6 years. We were a bit skeptical about stepping down in size, but what we gained in features and performance was PHENOMENAL! First of all my wife loves the lime green color, the sunroof, and the heads up display. Brake assist, lane assist, and the variable cruise control features make this car really easy to drive on road trips. The new MyHyundai app integrates with the Kona's climate control system, has remote start, and you can download addresses right from the app into the navigation system! Finally, the handling and responsiveness of the 1.6L Turbo is much better than the 2.0L Turbo in our old Santa Fe. Go into sport mode and the difference is even more pronounced! The Kona is a great car and we are really glad we made the move here!

Pros
Driver features: Heads up display, variable speed cruise control, lane assist, sport mode and AWD lock button in center console base for easy access.

Cons
Trunk is small for gear for more than two people. We miss the remote feature for the trunk opening and closing we had on the Santa Fe Sport Turbo!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CAROLE R.
2020 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/08/2020
2020 Hyundai Kona rating from Nona Kona
Overall a fun car to drive. Solid on the road but weight does not limit the ease of acceleration on the highway especially with the turbo charged engine. Navigates the road pretty well under all road conditions. Audio quality much appreciated. Fairly good gas mileage but I have grown accustomed to better mileage with 3 Honda Civics I owned.Impressive, eye-catching exterior design. Sporty and appealing. Compact vehicle that is very easy to park. Controls are easy to access and well positioned during driving. Hard plastic on door panels is less than stellar but tolerable. A softer material would be more desirable. Trunk space is not ideal, far too small. Safety features and value for the price are pretty hard to beat. The drive/train warranty, roadside assistance and BlueLink features are definately impressive and can easily seal the deal.

Pros
Stylish, Nimble, handles the road superbly, compact, easy to park, great crossover. Fun to drive.

Cons
Extremely small trunk. Better gas mileage would be appreciated. Road noise evident but tolerable.Back seats fits 2 better than 3. Cramped for 3.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 124 in total