Business Solutions

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(10 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(10 Reviews)

BC
gravatar
BILL C.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2020
Verified Review

Good car

We don't do a lot in terms of mileage on the car. Haven't needed any major repairs. Cargo area is small. Had been our primary car when there were 4 in the family. Got a little tighter when we went up to 5.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DEBORAH J.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/15/2020
Verified Review

VW Tiguan

Great car. Low maintenance. The only issue I have is it’s small but I still love it. I’ve owned VW’s vehicles (2 bugs) and I fell in love with them. I believe when I shop for my next vehicle it will probably be a VW.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TS
gravatar
Tiffany S.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Verified Review

Never liked an SUV until now

I was convinced that I would never own an SUV of any sort. I'm not one for bulky cars that are overly large, and ultimately have space that goes unused. Enter the VW Tiguan. The first time I went grocery shopping in my Tiguan, I took a picture of my purchases loaded up so nicely in the back. Having 2 kids, this car is perfect for our family of 4 to pack up vacation bags and hit the road. Need to take our 5 dogs to the vet? No problem, we have space for the kids, the dogs, and nobody is squished. We recently added a hitch and purchased a small trailer, so now we can take my tough Tiguan to the dump or to recycle things anytime we need. The gas mileage makes me happy, and I love the engines in a VW. When it is time to replace my car, I'm just going to get myself another Tiguan. Don't think I'll ever want another VW model again...unless my husband lets me get an Atlas.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BA
gravatar
BONNIE A.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2019
Verified Review

Love my Tiguan

It's the perfect small SUV.! Fun to drive, good on gas, I love the silver color & the gorgeous full moonroof, Plenty of trunk space for groceries, compared to the Chevy Trax & Buick Encore, which I also considered but the Tiguan is roomier. VW started to make the Tiguan bigger, renaming the size I have Tiguan Ltd. I prefer this model, the older, smaller size.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DC
gravatar
Donnie C.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/16/2019
Verified Review

Repairs needed

Once we hit 140k miles we have had lots of big $$$ repairs. It has not been a fun car to fix. We have replaced the water pumps (it has two by the way...stupid), the oil cooler, the turbo, and an engine oil leak.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MA
gravatar
Mintcho A.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/04/2018
Verified Review

The worst vehicle in the world

This peace of ...work is the worst thing you can spend money on! Starting with a terrible company that does not take care of its clients to the parts prices and the amount of repairs on a vehicle that for some could be considered new... on 51k miles we have to replace water pump, AC compressor and turbo compressor!!! All of these is $2-3K repairs!!! Horrible horrible and the rides is like driving a terrible contraption with a puny engine! The worst car ever!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LS
gravatar
LISA S.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2018
Verified Review

Tiguan

Love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PB
gravatar
PATRICIA B.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/13/2017
Verified Review

♥️ My Tiguan

My favorite vehicle of any I've owned in the 40+ years I've owned vehicles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SI
gravatar
STERLING I.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/29/2016

It's fun but guzzles gas

I'm really enjoying this car, my main issue is how inefficient it is with gas but that's not a huge issue, just the main one. Driving - It's fun to drive, I find myself popping into sport mode a lot just to get that extra pickup. I thought I wouldn't enjoy switching over to an automatic but the sport mode is response enough. The car's also heavy, which makes driving on bumpy roads a bit more smooth than on other cars. Interior - Really, great, doesn't look very generic and I love the moon roof and leather. It feels spacious which is great for a 6'3" guy like me. I wish that there had been more technological integration, but the bluetooth is fine enough for what I need. The gps system isn't the best, I usually rely on my phone for that. Maintenance - No big issues so far, but with any VW maintenance and repairs are going to be a little more expensive than usual.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
DIANE P.
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/29/2015

great car

really love this car,very dependable, get up and go, handles well on freeway with plenty of power. Just wished it got better gas mileage.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 10 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(201 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(215 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(788 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(376 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores