ReScore Reviews™ (1)
I had someone purchase my vehicle that was stock, aside from an intercooler, which is legal to have installed if the turbocharger is unmodified. I sent him to this shop to have the smog check completed because it was close to where he lived. The car failed the visual inspection due to the intercooler and hoses. I replaced the hoses with the factory hoses and it still failed.
I called the shop to get an explanation on the failure and I spoke with whoever answered then phone and then Roman, the tech who performed the smog check. After explaining that on Page 49, the BAR Smog Manual states that if the turbocharger is FACTORY, an EO number is not required for the intercooler. Roman didn't appear to know this and said that because the intercooler was not factory, it will not pass. This shop seems to have precedence or believes that their belief supersedes BAR guidelines. They have also stated "that in doubt, they will fail it" despite it being within BAR guidelines. This is crooked. They're failing my car to force me to pay again to get it smogged. Yes, I can go back within 15 days for a retest, but it should not have failed the second time.
For reference, from the BAR's Smog Manual - " For the purpose of a Smog Check inspection, inspectors are only required to verify the EO as listed in this table. Any add-on or modified part not otherwise addressed on this table must have an EO and be verified during inspection.
I took this to another shop and explained this situation and the smog shop had ZERO issue passing the visual and smog. I told them the information that this smog shop presented and he said "that is what happens when SMOG technicians don't know what they're doing and think they abide by their own rules".
Long story short, these guys made getting a smog a hassle and they don't seem to follow the BAR guidelines for smog. They follow their personal beliefs despite have guidelines laid out for them. I've filed a complaint against this shop with BAR and have scheduled an appointment to bring this car to the BAR Referee for review DESPITE having already passed. The fact they seem to think they can "fail when in doubt" shows a lack of education and contradicts the owners "statement" on why he started this business. It's simply a cash grab for him.
I can't recommend another station nearby as I don't live in this area anymore, but I'm sure there are higher rated places in Sacramento than Smog Mart.
I hope you are ready to still back your technician - Roman for falsifying my smog by saying things were tampered when they were not.
Hello Shelly L. I apologize for the frustration and inconvenience we have caused you. We take all of our customers concerns very seriously. I have thoroughly reviewed your invoice, you requested for us to perform a DMV brake n light inspection for $90. $45 for light and $45 for brake. We found that your rear passenger side wheel cylinder was leaking and needed to be replaced in order to pass the brake inspection. We recommended for the shoes and drums to be replaced at the same time as a preventative maintenance since they were very close to spec. It was cheaper in labor to do it all together.
The reason you received a partial refund was not because we measured incorrectly but was because you declined for us to remove a wheel lug nut that was crossed thread on the rear driver side not allowing us to complete the brake inspection. Since we could not complete the brake inspection we agreed with consumer’s affairs (BAR) that a refund was due.
Regarding BIG O tires claim. We use tools regulated and authorized by BAR for the inspection and show all of our customers the issue’s found. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if there is anything I can do for you regarding this or any other issues.
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. I hope you accidently gave us a 1 star. If that's the case please re score, thank you very much.
Hello Steve Dodd, I am really sorry for your unpleasant experience at our shop. Unfortunately we have to follow the requirements of the BAR smog rules and a torn intake boot hose would be a failure. Per BAR there may not be any tape or glue to hold the hose together.
Regarding the recommendations, I wanted to know if the technician or service writer took you back into the shop to show you what they found. Our process is to show all of our customers the repairs needed to be done so you can see and understand what is going on.
I would like to give you 10% off the smog repairs needed and perform a free smog retest if you would be willing to come back to give us another shot.
Feel free to contact me at anytime.
Smog Mart, Inc.
916 284-6714 cell
916 427-7664 shop
Thank you for letting us know that there is something wrong with the brakes. The first time you come in we drove together and could not hear any brake noise. Please come back ASAP so we can both take another drive to attempt to fiqure out the issue.
Hello Josh P.
I am very sorry for your inconvenience, there is no excuse to why your vehicle was not complete and you had to waste so much time. I appreciate you leaving this review since it helps me understand where and what we are doing wrong allowing us to fix these issues for our customers.
If you have not already had the brake & lamp inspection completed at another station, I would like to perform the service for you at no charge.
Please let me know if that is something you would be interested in so I can set up an appointment for you at your earliest convenience.
Smog Mart, Inc.
Hello Kat, I remember you very well Kat and you are a very dear customer to us. I do remember doing a lot of work on your vehicle especially on the brakes. It seems that you got the issue resolved at another shop. Please call me or respond to let me know what had happened and where we went wrong. I would like to make sure that this does not happen with any other customers and would like to see if there is anything that I can do for you.
Smog Mart, Inc.