Business Solutions

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15 Reviews)

KB
gravatar
Katie B.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
Verified Review

Ford Sports Track

If you want a great little Truck, I recommend you look into a Ford Explorer Sports Trac, Great little Trucks! They have all kinds of features, sunroof ,back roll down window, air power windows power sets, well mine does Love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TC
gravatar
TIFFANY C.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/19/2019
Verified Review

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

I absolutely love this truck. I bought it as a “lease return” with only 32,000 miles on it in 2003. I have had no problems with it, just doing the regular maintenance, unbelievable. I had wanted one since they first came out but never really thought I would be able to get one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DR
gravatar
Dave R.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/16/2019
Verified Review

2001 Ford Sport Trac

I wish Ford was still making this truck. It's been the best and most reliable truck that I have ever owned. 145,000 miles and till runs strong, I'll hate to replace it. The later model called the Adrenalin was a V-8 and offered better power. I bought the truck with every option except leather seats and 4 wheel drive. The base price was around 26.000 and I paid $19,000 out the door through the fleet department.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TV
gravatar
TERRESA V.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2019
Verified Review

Best ever

I am truly a sports tack girl....for years I have said the Best Buy EVER....and I meant that....this car (truck) has out lasted every other Vehicle that I have owned"...with basic maintenance....and continues to look good.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SF
gravatar
SCOTT F.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2018
Verified Review

My All-Time Favorite Vehicle

This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I bought it new and it has been extremely reliable. We always used it for vacation trips and it seats 4 very comfortably. It is sturdy and well made. My only complaint are with the brakes. They have always been a little grabby. They mostly brake from the front wheels as they wear fairly quickly while the rear have never been replaced and are only half worn after 17 years and 170,000 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DS
gravatar
Dale S.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2018
Verified Review

love it

fun to drive and have really enjoyed owning it. what more can i say.?? this should really be all that is necessary. it has had a few problems but that is just normal wear on a vehicle. am happy i purchased it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DR
gravatar
Dave R.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2018
Verified Review

2001 first edition of the Sport Trac

I am the original owner of this Sport Trac. I have had great luck with my truck. I only wish Ford would continue this truck in their current lineup. I can carry my drums, dirt bike and dogs with ease and style.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
James G.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/13/2017
Verified Review

Truck/car

This vehicle allows you to haul stuff plus Has the room for five people. And if it’s short enough vehicle to get into any garage
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TV
gravatar
TERRESA V.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2017
Verified Review

Best ever

I could not believe how great this truck has been.....I have own a number of vehicles in my time and I am so in love with this one that I don't want it to ever give out.....I have driven it across the U.S.A and up and down the west coast a number of times and it is still taking care of my transportation need....love my truck
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JL
gravatar
JEFF L.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/04/2017
Verified Review

2001 sport trac

I got this thing with really low mileage to be 13 years old. (41k ) and other than a few issues. One broken valve spring. ( very unusual to happen to any engine from my experiences). Other than that I have had it for almost 4 years and only routine maintenance. Unless you haul a lot the short bed is perfect for most anything.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SF
gravatar
STUART F.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2017

Great vehicle

Great vehicle. Multi-purpose, Reasonable gas mileage. Have helped kids move multiple time with Sport Trac. Have a 2001 and thinking of getting another truck. Wish Ford still made the Explorer Sport Trac !
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TO
gravatar
THOMAS O.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2017

Well built, useful and reliable.

I bought my Sport Trac the first year it was manufactured (2001) and I have driven it ever since. It has 174,000 miles on the odo, having traveled in 18 states and countless numbers of local trips. I'm on my third set of tires, have the vehicle serviced at factory recommended intervals, change the oil every 4,000 miles and wash and wax it regularly. The 210 hp V-6 has plenty of power and can run all day long at 80 mph and never break a sweat. I have owned Ford vehicles before and been satisfied with every one of them. It's a shame Ford no longer builds this vehicle in any form.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JR
gravatar
James R.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/17/2016

Incrediably dependable, long lasting, tough SUV. Wish they still made them. I plan to upgrade to a 2010 model this summer.

Love my sport trac. bought it one year old and have had it for 15 years now. Never has had any major mechanical problems or physical problem. Actually been in multiple accidents and had fared excellent every time. Feels like a very solid vehicle and has proven so.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TV
gravatar
TERRESA V.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2016

My Buddy ride

If it quit tomorrow it will still have been and is my best purchase ever.....LOVE M TRUCK
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WT
gravatar
Wayne T.
2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/22/2015

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac - 4.0 liter, V6. Not the best milage - but between 18 and 21 mpg.

I ordered this little truck as my mandantory company vehicle upgrade in 2000. We were allowed to keep a company vehicle for not more than 75,000 miles and/or 4 years, I had put 90,000 miles on this little truck in 2 years. My territory of responsibility ranged from central Oregon to 800 miles into B.C. Canada. I traveled a LOT! I was told to upgrade. Nope, I loved the little truck! Finally, the heat was on. I had to order another vehicle because little truck had 160,000 miles - without ANY service short of regular oil changes and one brake pad replacement. I bought the vehicle from the company in 2006 (good price -nearly SCRAP) ! I retired in 2009. I took little truck to Huddle Automotive and asked Gary to replace the rubber parts - belts, hoses, etc. (Hell - it was all 10 years old and lots of milage!) - and tell me what else might be wrong....NOTHING! Now, we're looking backward at 250,000 miles. I just put a on new set of 70,000 mile tires. I really expect little truck to wear them out. I believe this little truck will go 400,000 miles and more. A great vehicle!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 15 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Ford Dealer
Integrity Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(53 Reviews)

  • Ford Dealer
  • Oil Change
  • Diesel Services
Automotive Technology Solutions
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(29 Reviews)

  • Ford Dealer
Mike White Ford of Sandpoint
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(384 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
3.0
(1) ReScores

  • Ford Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Car Maintenance
Mike White Ford of Coeur d'Alene
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(5049 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(7) ReScores

  • Ford Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bill Pierre Ford
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1721 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores