Business Solutions

2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(10 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(10 Reviews)

CA
Calvin A.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/03/2021
Verified Review

2002 Ford Sport trac

I purchased it used in 2004 so I've owned it for 17 years with very feew mechanical issues I've replaced the clutch brakes and headlights. I also had a problem with the drivers seat breaking twice appears that's a common defect and should be covered by Ford but other then that it's been a dependable workhorse for me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GS
gravatar
GERRY S.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2021
Verified Review

Great Truck

Owned this vehicle for 19 yrs, 115,000 miles. This truck has never haa problem, only routine maintenance, oil change every 3000 miles, transmission flush every 30,000 miles. Replace tires, on my third set, only one set of brakes. Great Truck.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
Roy P.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2020
Verified Review

Ford Pick Up

A pick up truck comes in handy especially if there is a need to haul trash to the local land fill or pick up materials from Home Depot. Pick ups are great for vacations or towing trailing, or taking fishing trips.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TP
gravatar
TOM P.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/11/2019
Verified Review

Had to fix thurmostate

The motor thurmostate which was heating up enough to cause smoke to blow through my ac vent. If I had not taken it to mechanic, there was a good chance the motor would catch on fire. Putting the thrumostate where it is was a DUMB idea. Also had to rebuild the front end so I could buy new tires. Not sure if that is true of all Fords. I did have to rebuild the whole front end on the my '94 ranger, too, which had a great engine when my husband wrecked it in 2017. Never had to do any engine work on it. Hit in rear and tow truck got it and sold it before we could buy it back. BoHo. All it takes is to keep the engine oil changed regularly. Do that with any car/truck.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DOUGLAS J.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2019
Verified Review

17 year old Sport Trac

I bought the vehicle new in 2002. In the 17 years I have owned it I have had to invest in minimal maintenance. It has no exterior rust in spite of being driven in the harsh, winter Midwest weather. I wished Ford would make them again although I am in no hurry to move on from my current, reliable one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DD
gravatar
DAVID D.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/20/2019
Verified Review

Good Overall SUV/Pickup Crossover

I really like the features and comfort of an SUV as well as the Pickup bed. My particular unit was bought used about 2 years ago and spent most of it's previous time in the Baltimore area, so it does have a lot of undercarriage rust. Lately I have had to put some money into it for a fuel pump, battery, brake line and other miscellaneous things but I still feel it is a sensible vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GE
gravatar
GRADY E.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2019
Verified Review

Great Truck.

17 years of reliability. I did a lot of research before I bought this new. It has preformed as I had hoped for. With normal wear and and tear it has required normal maintenance with no big surprises. I expect to keep it for another 3 to 4 years. Did have to remove side steps for rust, but Michigan winters can do that. Still looks great.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AB
gravatar
ANDREW B.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2018
Verified Review

Great looking truck

I love my Sport Trac. It sits 5 and plenty of trunk room. It is a very reliable vehicle. Maintenance is the only thing I keep up with which is normal for all vehicles anyway. I love the fact that it is not all time 4 wheel. I can switch to 4 wheel when needed. The normal 2 wheel saves gas.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CM
gravatar
CHERYL M.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2017

Love my truck

I love this truck - traded in a beautiful Cadillac Seville. I can do everything in my truck!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MW
gravatar
MONA W.
2002 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/14/2015

I like it, but there were some issues with quality

I bought it new, and though it only has 36,000 miles on it, I have had many major issues with it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 10 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Ford Dealer
Integrity Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(56 Reviews)

  • Ford Dealer
  • Oil Change
  • Diesel Services
Automotive Technology Solutions
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(31 Reviews)

  • Ford Dealer
Mike White Ford of Sandpoint
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(390 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
3.0
(1) ReScores

  • Ford Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Car Maintenance
Mike White Ford of Coeur d'Alene
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(5062 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(7) ReScores

  • Ford Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bill Pierre Ford
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1721 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores