2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1010 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HH
HOWARD H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/09/2019
2017 Hyundai Ionic
Best New car I have ever purchased. Most economical car from a fuel consumption standpoint I have ever owned. Comfort level for a smaller vehicle is more than adequate.Rear vision thru back glass is compromised .

Pros
Exceptional Fuel Economy.

Cons
No service manual provided by Dealership General Manager as promised. Left
Rear Door opening mechanism non-functional at delivery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
Wendy C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
I love my Ioniq!
This car has nearly all the features I need and want, is comfortable in all seats, reliable, drives well, and looks great. A feature I've enjoyed in a previous car but missing here is a weather-band radio. I have no regrets about this car purchase, even in the inaugural production year (2017). I wonder why Hyundai doesn't promote this hybrid more - it performs like an all-gas car (but quieter) but has fantastic mileage, is great for commuting or family trips (4 or fewer people long distance), has good trunk space (we fit large suitcases for 4 people in the trunk), and gives a great ride. There were items I had to buy separately but which should have been included with the car: trunk cover, splash guards, all-weather mats, and a cargo net. I do miss having a manual transmission.

Pros
55mpg typical mileage on the highway
blue exterior
driver controls
sunroof/electric driver seat (mid-package)
good back-seat features (console, cup holders, comfort)
all windows recede completely
sound system
Bluetooth
USB ports in two front consoles
CD port
button lock/unlock on doors
button engine start
back-up camera

Cons
no weather-band radio
can't have all-wheel drive or higher carriage without compromising good mileage
not really leather seats (though they are easy-care)
glove box doesn't lock

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Rosalie D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/07/2019
I love everything about my car. Was made for me in every way.
I think the car is fantastic, great mph. It alerts me to leaving my keys in car, lights on, will alert me if my lights are on. A vey pretty car and it my doesn't get hot because of the color. A very comfortable ride.

Pros
All the above

Cons
I don't feel there are any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
KARINA A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/06/2019
Great car
I like my car. Reliable and comfortable! Great mileage and dual climate control. Love getting great mileage and connecting my iPhone to the car for bigger gos maps. It is well designed inside and looks great outside.

Pros
Great car. Quiet and nice.

Cons
No spare tire. Had to buy one. Issues with Apple car app with iPhones. Keyless remite doesn’t open the trunk. Very disappointed about this.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Arvind R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Amazing mileage and drive
I regularly get 60 mpg with this beauty and simply love the pick-up in Sport mode. The design gives much more practical cargo space compared to compact SUVs. Can't say anything about dependability about the batteries - its too early to judge - but with a lifetime warranty (I dont believe any other manufacturer offers one at this base price) and VERY attractive pricing, this car gives Toyota Prius a run for the money.

Pros
Mileage, Cost, Drive

Cons
Cant think of any for my needs!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DARRELL M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Love it
Price compared to other hybrids, fuel economy is awesome. avg. 52 mpg per tank, had as high as 60mpg per tank. More leg room than Prius for driver due to design of steering wheel. Easy transfer from power mode to efficiency mode with stick. Power mode is surprisingly good for acceleration.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
Phillip A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
Prius killer!!
Drove a Generation 2 Prius to 299,000 miles and had great experience. But.....after 1 year and going on 30,000 miles, my Ioniq has more power, more room, and better mileage! Hope the reliability can keep up with Toyota.

Pros
Power, room, mileage

Cons
Seat comfort on long trips. Need better soundproofing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Cristine M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
57 Miles a Gallon!
I love this car! It has been quiet and reliable and we've had no problems after 30,000 miles. I wouldn't recommend if you actually plan to use the back seat regularly for adults since there is no knee space, but aside from that it's perfect.

Pros
Fantastic mileage.

Cons
No knee room in backseat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
GARY L.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2019
Ioniq Hybrid not all its touted to be
do not expect to get the kind of milage that is advertised. styling is nice, handling is good, accelleration is fair but adequate, some road noise more than expected, NO SPARE TIRE....its a tow job to the dealer if you have a flat tire or blowout. Tires are specialty items and pricey and dealer prices are higher than places like Discount Tire or Tires Plus etc. Metal construction is lightweight and in some places flimsy plastic attachments secure a panel to another.

Pros
Well above average gas milage but not what is advertised.
fun to drive
ample room if you are not much over 51/2 feet tall
Great warranty

Cons
No spare tire
Not much headroom
Flimsy panel construction attachments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jim W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2019
Great car
Drives, handles well. Mpg drops in cold weather. Get 45 to 52 in town in warmer temps. Hatchback provides acceptable storage with back seats up, great cargo space with seats down. XXX xxxxx zzz ccccbbb.

Pros
Styling, features, Android Auto, smart cruise control

Cons
Limited Rear side window visibility, navigation maps SD card is not updatable, as my Garmin devices are. Should include unlimited navigation updates. Leather seating is too firm. Would like to have both A and B trip meters also keep separate mpg averages, as my Prius C did. Spare tire was an optional accessory

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jean O.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
The best vehicle ever
Gas mileage is best specially during warm weather. Price is good. Outside style is nice and spacious. Confort for the left leg could be better because it has to be leaning against the door. Inside plastic is cheap.

Pros
Gas mileage, prices

Cons
Inside plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Richard M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/18/2019
Ionic
I don't know what to tell you about a car that just plain works . Drive it to work or on a trip . I do know one thing !! YOU WILL HAVE TO STOP TO GO TO THE RESTROOMS before you have to fill up with gas !!

Pros
The air ,phone, knobs, the drive , the room .

Cons
The seat bottom for me is bad ,the headlights need some work I thought would be LED . Gas milage is OK but can really change in colder weather . also where I live the speed limit is 80 .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Great hybrid
The Hyundai Ioniq is a great hybrid. Power wise there is no difference between it and the Elantra and it has plenty of power for acceleration. The drivers display is laid out like a standard car. The split rear window is not an issue for visibility but the addition of a rear window wiper would be a plus that other hybrids with split rear windows have. In the summer I am getting 60 mpg.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Could use rear window wiper

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
PETER N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2019
Excellent high mileage vehicle
I have been very happy with my Hyundai Ioniq. Mileage has been great both around town and especially on road trips. It is pretty quiet from a road noise perspective, which was one of my concerns. Performance it good as well.

Pros
Mileage and performance

Cons
Minor functionality with power windows and Apple Car Play

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
Excellent vehicle in its price range
I have very pleased with my Ioniq Hybrid. I have already put 50,000+ miles on it and it has performed well in all driving situations. It consistently has an average mpg of 57. As with my previous Prius it suffers most loss of mpg in cold weather but in warmer weather often exceeds 61mpg. The quality of the interior dash components is excellent and all controls are easily accessible. Occasionally there are glitches in the AV system but nothing that lasts long. I am impressed with the durability and tightness of the body even after 50,000 miles. Wish the seats were more comfortable but they offer good support if not driving for more than 6 hours.

Pros
Reliable transportation in its price range. Good mpg consistency

Cons
A bit fatiguing on long drives because of the economical seats but still decent support

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
George M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Love this car.
Sorry, don't like to type. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Trenda S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Love My Hyundai Ioniq Blue Hybrid
The mileage is exactly as advertised, NO HYPE!!! My average is 52.6 to 58.0 mpg depending on how conscientious i am at driving in optimum ECO mode. The range is between 630 and 650 miles when combined with a full tank of gas. None of my friends or family have a vehicle with mileage anywhere near this car!!! LOVE IT!!!
Combined with all the features I wanted AND the Hyundai 10 yr, 100,000 mile warranty this may be my last car. I am a senior, (although you wouldn't know it when you see me zipping around town) so one day I'll probably just drive it to the nursing home and park it out back, (for a quick escape if needed) because I'm sure it will still be running strong!!

Pros
PROBABLY BEST MILEAGE IN ITS CLASS!!!

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
Frank W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Best car Ever Owned
In the past 55 years I've owned dozens of cars. As unbelievable as this may sound, this is the best car I've ever owned. I love it and would not hesitate to buy Ioniq again. I recommend Ioniq to family members and my friends

Pros
Fantastic gas milage and doesn't lack on performance or comfort.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CAROLYN C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/05/2019
Almost Perfect.
The Ioniq has been a great car. The only flaws are the noise level inside the car is a little higher than expected when driving on the freeway. The second flaw is the lack of a spare tire. Both times the car had a flat the tire was cut in the sidewall from road debris. You can't fix that with a can of flat fix.

Pros
Good gas mileage.

Cons
Need a spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GREGORY M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Love my Ioniq
A good-looking vehicle and a great commuter car! Can't beat the 600-plus-mile range on a tank of gas! I have a few very minor issues with it, but overall I am extremely satisfied with my decision to go with a hybrid, and this one in particular.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 1010 in total