2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1011 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GM
GREGORY M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Love my Ioniq
A good-looking vehicle and a great commuter car! Can't beat the 600-plus-mile range on a tank of gas! I have a few very minor issues with it, but overall I am extremely satisfied with my decision to go with a hybrid, and this one in particular.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
Hyundai Ioniq
Love this vehicle! Has every option anyone could ever dream of. The gas mileage is great. Drove to Chattanooga from Tampa on less than 15 gallons of gas. This car is a dream to drive and has more power and pick up than my Prius V had. The only thing I would trade it for is if Hyundai came out with a hybrid SUV. My car also is the sweetest looking vehicle I have ever owned, my kids think I am cool now. The people at Hyundai New Port Richey are the easiest and most pleasant people to work with.

Pros
Love this vehicle!

Cons
No Cons!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAMES H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
This is the best car I have ever had and I am 80 years okd
very happy with this Hyundai I tell every one in the family about the gas mi per gal. I have nothing farther to say it is a excellent automobile.I was very on our trip to North Carolina from Thousand Palms California near Palm Springs California

Pros
excellent auto

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
Adam N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2019
Love this car
My son was looking for an economical nice looking vehicle while doing his part for the environment. After much research he settled on the Ioniq. He bought the cheapest but put in leather seats before he even brought it home. This makes the car so much nicer. Also, the ability to have Android Auto is a major plus. Great vehicle. I have now inherited it since he moved to NYC. And I already have an Azera.. Which I love. But this car had been my go-to because of the 65mpg.

Pros
Gas mileage. Sporty looking. Android Auto. Covered storage in trunk area.

Cons
Not as comfy as my Azera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerhard S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2019
Efficient Vehicle
The car is comfortable, offering a very satisfactory amount of space, it is comfortable and sufficiently powerful. Except in very cold weather it is as fuel efficient as promised. In very cold weather quite a bit of fuel is used to heat the car. Very good value for the money.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOHN H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Most economical car I ever used
This has to be the most economical car in its class. I still get 60 + mpg after two years of use. It is very comfortable and easy to handle. The steering is so tight the wheels start to turn with only a sixteenth of an inch turn of the steering wheel. The pros far outweigh the cons and any cons I found may not necessarily apply to everyone.
Overall this is by far the best car I have ever driven.

Pros
Great mpg. Superb steering, and braking systems. Bluetooth audio system is excellent. Back up camera makes parking a breeze even in tight spots.
High quality construction means it will last a long time.

Cons
The only cons I have do not affect me much nowadays. There are only two items.
Insufficient light to the sides of the vehicle makes it difficult making left or right turns on unlit roads (country roads).
The interior and exterior shape of the vehicle viewed from the drivers seat makes parking a little more difficult if you like the car to be precisely placed in the parking spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Roman C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2019
love my hyundai ioniq
so glade i choose hyundai ioniq over the toyota prius , i just simply in love with the ioniq ! super fun drive its great, love the color i got, every one tells me it looks so stealthy and love it, i always get compliments

Pros
mileage, comfort, style, price

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARIE J.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Great fun to drive with exceptional mpg
Had a 08 Prius which has a CVT transmission that I thought I liked until I drove the Ioniq. Talk about a Pruis killer! It has manual sport shift and reg mode. In reg more it can be somewhat of a dog(Pruis like) when merging fast into oncoming traffic but pull shift lever to the left and ya got a hot rod, analogue speedometer become a tech and be careful not to burn rubber! And it's a hybrid that gets 50 60 mpg(better than advertised)

Pros
Mpg and handling and advanced safety features

Cons
Poor visibility due to headrests...loe front clearance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Anna L.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Gas saver!!!
I've had my Hyundai ionic for over a year and half. I'm very happy with my vehicle. I enjoy from 55 to 58 miles per gallon. It is definitely a gas saver. I love the sleek design, the grey interior, the cabin quietness and of course that great gas mileage!!! I had several software updates that were taking care of at my normal maintenance. The dealer has been excellent in taking care of all of my needs. I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Pros
Great gas mileage, nice exterior design, love the hatch back, ample room in the back seating, quiet interior

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARC S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Great Performance
I’m very satisfied with the performance, look, economy, and reliability of my Hyundai Ioniq. The mileage averages just around 48mpg. Easy to handle and quiet on freeways and streets. Comfortable interior for myself and passengers in all the seats
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
NICOLE G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Best affordable ev!
I love this little car. I needed a good commuting vehicle for the bay area. I drive 80 miles round trip Monday through Friday. This car hit all the right check boxes. I get carpool stickers, and the range, while on the low side now, was plenty for me to get to work and back every day. I charge at work, and rarely charge at home. The car is comfortable and I love the adaptive cruise control while in stop and go traffic.

Pros
All electric, adaptive cruise control, fun to drive,

Cons
The rear window is a bit hard to see out of. Range is low, but for the price is fine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Carolyn C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
Love my Ioniq!
I was planning to buy a hybrid and was looking for a used Sonata hybrid. When I took my 2007 Sonata in for service I saw the Ioniq in the showroom and I was impressed with the design. I've had it for about a year-and-a-half and am so glad I found it. The mileage is impressive at 55+ mpg and I'm very happy with the way it handles on the curvy country roads where I live. I especially like the fact that when I'm sitting still in traffic I'm not using any gas.

Pros
Lots of interior room for a small car
Android Auto connects to my phone
Interior finish is very good

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GJ
Gary J.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
Great Car. Great Looks, Ride, MPG, The Car is Quiet, it has Plenty of power, rides very comfortable, can see 360 degrees. I like the features of the music/Navigation. I Love the Bluetooth for my I Phone. Leather Interior, with Heated seats, Adaptive Cruise Control.
No Better Looking car, in the Under 40K range. Ioniq is my Favorite Vehicle. Great Comfort, Style, & MPG The Car is Quiet, it has Plenty of power, rides very comfortable, can see 360 degrees. I like the features of the music/Navigation.

Pros
Looks, ride, MPG!

Cons
No Auto Locking Doors, after Exiting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Edward D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
Ed 'almost' found a Station Wagon!
Good Value - Ed D.

I was in the process of purchased a new car to replace my 2007 Ford Focus Wagon. I wasn't finding a car similar to the discontinued Ford Focus Wagon. I'm a member of NEMPA (New England Motor Press Association) and I hadn't found any wagon type car that I liked or that was a reasonable price. The closest vehicle that I has found was a MAZDA 3 Hatchback. The Boston Car Show was going on in January 2019 and I was just entering the 'floor' when I noticed the roof line along with the rear area. To me it wasn't a 'wagon' but it did have an interesting line. I asked one of the Hyundai representatives about the car and 'what' it was. She said it was a Hyundai Ioniq. She proceeded to tell me everything about the car. I was particularly interested in the roof line. It 'kind - da' looked like a wagon, but it wasn't. The rep. went on and I got interested in the car then I heard that it was an 'hybrid'. She explained what and how it worked. I was interested in the car regarding - how close it was to being a wagon. The more I looked at it the more I saw it as my potential wagon. I thanked her and after a 1/2 hour, I moved on. I went over to the MAZDA, found the car I'd like to have. And, went on to look at other cars.

I attend the Daytona 500 yearly and on one day I wasn't to buzzy. A friend of mine drove me over to the Hyundai dealer in Daytona because I wanted to drive the car and attempt to know what a Hybrid drives and works. I told one of the salesmen that I wasn't going to purchase a car but I was interested in the Hybrid. He joined me in a drive around the area on Rt. 95 and local streets so I could 'feel' how the car drove. I was impressed. Also, I had looked at the car when all the seats were down so I could get a grasp of the inside regarding 'room'. It wasn't a Wagon but it was a car that I could get by with.

When I got home, my wife and I drove to Hyundai of Keene. It's approx. 90 miles from my home. I choose Keene because my father-in-law had leased a car the previous year and was happy with the attention. I went to the same Salesmen, 'Dave' who did an excellent job explaining things that I had been interested in. After some talk I purchased the car. (I still want a wagon but now I want an Ioniq Wagon. Roof rack and all. My service at Hyundai has always been excellent. I like to drive so I take the advantage of driving up to Keene for my servicing. This was a long story , but, is the story. The service is always good and they answer questions that I have related to the car that I haven't figured out. Most of the time I've figured items out but I ask to be confirmed on my thoughts. I always request that I can see the underside of the vehicle. I want to know just how the ware and tear is under the car. So far, it's been excellent. The car handles as good as I've expected. I've studied the 'workings' of the car. It's interesting and the more I study it the better it gets. My mileage in the warm weather has been in the mid 60's in the winter the mileage is around the middle 50's. It's a great car to drive.

Pros
Excellent quality!

Cons
Not a wagon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Larry R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019
Awesome!
How can you not love an extremely attractive vehicle that can get 60 miles per gallon when driving carefully, hauls a ton of stuff in its hatchback when needed and with the sports mode, is an absolute blast to drive!

Pros
Too many to list here!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/05/2019
Smooth drive!
Love driving to work. Saves gas, see what driving style I am, display my gps connected to iPhone, comfortable and blue display! My favorite color! Reliable, economical and comfortable! My husband was impressed and was glad I bought this car.

Pros
Saves gas and smooth drive

Cons
The shift with shiny surface causes sun reflection to my eyes blinding and it needs dark surface that’s not smooth to prevent sun reflection.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beryl H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2019
BH
We love our Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid. Our gas mileage is excellent. We love the way it rides and the way it handles. We also like the fact that the rear seat backs fold down which make handy to handle larger things.

Pros
Excellent gas mileage, quality ride and handling.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Renee N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/02/2019
Can't argue with with the MPG or quality!
I love the 100,000-mile bumper-to-bumper warranty! 5-star safety. I love the tight body lines, gas mileage over 600 miles for an 11-gallon tank, beautiful blue-lit interior and large HD screen and camera. It's low clearance has been troublesome, as I've been in a van for 20 years, and potholes have ruined 3 tires, and I've scraped my hubcaps and bumpers on curbs and parking blocks. It needs a front camera because it is so low. I love the side-object detection system. The seats are very comfortable. The car is roomy and stylish and sporty. It has excellent pickup and stability at every speed. It makes hairpin turns and is very maneuverable. It does make weird airplane sounds and a wobbling sound when driving (maybe the rear differential, maybe a bulge in a tire?). I hear a cable sound when breaking and break noises when it's wet. Sometimes the breaks seem dicy when wet. The sound system is good. The styling is great. The quality and thought put into design and materials is excellent. Oh, a couple of bad things: The black plastic door trim faded in the first few months and the pinstripes came off after a few months of soft car washes (no brush), but the dealer (God bless Thayer) removed the stripes and re-pinstriped the car to my satisfaction! Did I say that I love taking pictures of my dash reporting that I'm getting 90 MPG, or 74 MPG, or 60? Mostly it gets 50 MPG, which drops to 40 when it's bitter cold and can drop to 35 when it's way below zero! Still, I got 44 MPG loaded up with teenage boys and 16 heavy bowling balls on a trek across Michigan for a tournament. Can't complain. It's efficient, fun, and comfortable, is loaded with technology, and it didn't cost a fortune. Perfect! With Michigan roads and careless people, I don't want to pay any more than is necessary for respectable transportation. This car checks all of my boxes, and it pays for itself with gas savings! If it does get dinged or bent, I won't be as heartbroken as I would be if I spent way more. It's practical, sporty, powerful, economical, and safe! What's not to love?

Pros
Like the engine cover beneath car. Like the streamlined stylish design interior and exterior. Love the tight body lines. Nice ride, good sound. Excellent price and fuel economy. Very comfortable seats. Love the big screen, great backup camera, side-object detection, electric seats and mirrors, seat warmers and adjustment. Excellent maneuverability and steering! Love the blue interior lights. Absolutely LOVE the dashboard. Like the cupholders, love the USB outlets. Very roomy back seat and trunk. Can hold a lot of weight.

Cons
Needs to be quieter. Needs front and side cameras to mitigate low clearance. Pinstripes came off. Exterior plastic door trim faded < 1 year. Need rubberized bumper and body undercoatings to mitigate scraping on curbs and blocks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Karyn G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2019
Spoiled by this gas mileage!
I love my Hyundai Ioniq! Very roomy and impressive power off the line! Very smooth and comfy ride. Quiet cabin. I enjoy the electronics package as well. I would recommend a Hyundai Ioniq to anyone and would purchase again!

Pros
Best gas mileage.50 to 60 mpg.
Great pick up and go.
Sporty looks

Cons
I wish the car sat a bit higher because my knees hurt getting out cause I am over 50 lol
I also wish a spare tire was an option

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
Ionic hybrid blue
Great car! The interior is comfortable and the instrument panel is very informative. It tells you everything you need to know, like tire pressure, miles driven, etc. The gas mileage is fantastic! Overall a great car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1011 in total